WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Captain America: The First Avenger" - What Did You Think?

Posted: July 22nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Captain America: The First Avenger" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Marvel's "Captain America: The First Avengers" is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying a decent 71% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the film is the best superhero flick this year that may rival "Iron Man."

The $140 million film has already earned $4 million from midnight screenings, which is the best midnight gross of the summer for a superhero movie, beating "Thor" ($3.25 million), "X-Men: First Class" ($3.4 million) and "Green Lantern ($3.35 million). It is being projected that "Captain America" will end up with a weekend gross of around $60 million.

Click here to read our "Captain America: The First Avenger" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 8:41:34 PM

I walked into the wrong theatre and ended up watching some movie with Julia Roberts and Tom Hanks. I took the oppurtunity to get myself pregnant.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 8:44:16 PM

Thats a lot of money for a Chris Evans movie.and Bad Chad says not to watch it in 3d and DP gave it a 3/10.

patman2011 writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 8:49:13 PM

EPIC !!!
bandolero999 writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 8:49:32 PM

You must also be from West Virginia and have your own Trailer homr right?
bandolero999 writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 8:52:08 PM

If Evans would of not been casted it would of been Paul Walker,Mark Wahlberg,Channing Tatum,Matt Damon,justin Timberfake
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 9:07:15 PM

If they wanted that shield to really stop bullets, they would have put Rosie O'Donnell's face on it.
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 9:07:36 PM

Oh wait... that's traffic.
rocketman writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 9:17:35 PM

So is it any good? I've read thats its the best super film since Superman 1 and thats its bloody awful,so???
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 9:56:28 PM

Rang

lol


or Rachel Madow
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 10:01:00 PM

Or Sarah Jessica Parker...

http://tinyurl.com/SJPasCAsShield
FBO writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 10:05:57 PM

I really enjoyed it. It's less realistic and more comic book-ish. The humor in it is old school and kinda lame, but i loved it, every horrible one liner. I thought this movie was going to suck because of joe johnson but I think he nailed the WWII feel and set the right tone for the movie from the onset.
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 10:12:15 PM

really awesome. can't wait for the avengers
anaheimducks writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 10:33:03 PM

Great movie best comic book movie this year and its my personal favorite marvel movie can't wait to buy it on blu ray.
Assclown writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 11:23:15 PM

I didn't think it would be any good. i was gonna wait 4 the blu ray, but my friends said they'd pay if i went. it ended up being pretty not bad at all, avengers trailer at the end was well worth it.
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 11:49:40 PM

As you enjoyed it, you ended up paying for your own ticket, yes?
OneTime writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 12:55:25 AM

im going to check it 2morrow ..a matinee...you know..when no one else is in the theatre
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 2:25:01 AM

lol @ ranger
UZZIEMAN writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 2:36:57 AM

I thought it was great in 3d!! But it's not the best superhero movie but it's great to watch for time pass
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 2:44:41 AM

onetime

I know what you mean, I watched (cough cough) Bridesmaids (cough cough) on a matinee performance.
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 2:46:21 AM

Rocket

We have to wait until next week mate ...
manichispanic writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 3:32:01 AM

loved it! and the avengers trailer at the end was awesome!
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 5:36:05 AM

it was okay...the action sequences were pretty lame actually. Everything was in montage form and there really wasnt a whole lot of character development outside of cap and red skull so I didnt care when a certain person died. I'd give it a 6.5/10...if there were more action SCENES more than action SHOTS I would have been more satisfied, but not bad over all
Kurskij writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 6:14:15 AM

@Ranger

Ah, f*ck! My eyes, my beautiful eyes!!!

Still better than Rosie though...

Have to wait till 28th July. Captain America ain't to keen to come to Russia.

Benji writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 6:43:09 AM

Had a blast! Humor was set in the 1940's along with the movie and the frickin Howling Commandos were there! Best of the comic flicks this summer? Tied with First Class that's for sure and there was a great Empire homage in there too!
SACdaddy writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 9:02:56 AM

Can't wait to see it tonight. Been hearing nothing but great things about down here.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 9:18:49 AM

Finally, a Captain America movie that didn't suck.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 10:15:34 AM

Didnt understand all the fanboy hate for evans... Sure he's no downey jr.
That being said, he did a great job. The action was amazing, the ww2 scenes were perfect, the origin story didn't bore me. Which is rare, and howard stark was a godamn BOSS. overall i give it a 7/10.

I had fun, and left wanting more, and tommy lee jones was a bamf.



What else could you want?
technoreaper writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 12:37:33 AM

Hayley Atwell was excellent.
Chris Evans was mediocre but not a total disaster.
Hugo Weaving's Red Skull was terrible. He acts like other people aren't in the room. He certainly was not believable as Captain America's archenemy.
The story was an incomprehensible mess that was poorly written.
The action scenes were phoned in.
Captain America's costume was a disaster. Just use the costume that everyone knows. Hollywood needs to respect the fans and stop changing comic book character costumes to something realistic. If cosplay looks good, then it can work in a movie too. BTW, I know this was supposed to be Cap's WWII costume, but the modern one I've seen is awful too.

For a movie about one of Marvel's flagship characters, this was pretty lackluster. I would compare it to the first Hulk movie that came out from Ang Lee. It's a shame, I really was hoping for a movie that was on par with Iron Man and the second Hulk movie.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 2:04:43 AM

Wouldnt put it anywhere near ang lee's rape of the hulk. He turned marvels king kong into justin bieber on PCP.


The action was amazing, dont know what you were watching^^^

It was, what it was... CA isnt an easy thing to make "believable" but johnston did well. Lets take it for what it is, a COMIC BOOK MOVIE. This was everything and more than i came to expect. People are letting their expectations of a nolan-esque hero superseed what isa family/child aimed genre. Lets put it this way, go watch the original 80's captain america movies.

Yea, you'll appreciaye Evans and johnston for this gift of a film. It was superb. Tommy lee killed it....KILLED IT. without him it wouldnt have been as gnarly.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 3:31:30 AM

It was really boring and not directed well. It pissed me off that they never really went into his training and powers. It's like the super soldier serum automatically made him a bad ass figher?!? Could have been an epic movie, but failed. Didn't really like all the laser guns either. It could have been a really bad ass super hero WWII flick :(
technoreaper writes:
on July 24th, 2011 at 4:23:59 AM

Joe Johnston strikes me as someone who comes from a sheltered life. His view of World War II and the 1940's was very sanitized. The reason why people liked Saving Private Ryan so much was that it depicted the soldiers realistically. They weren't all perfect, happy people. That's partly why this movie felt off. Not much was genuine about it. I don't remember the Captain America comic books being anything like this either. The Red Skull was a lot more twisted.

That's the main reason that I, arguably, will say this reminded me a lot of Ang Lee's Hulk. It was just off, and most people familiar with Cap know it, but can't really tell you why.

I can't really say Chris Evans is to blame; the material he had to work with was terrible. Hugo Weaving was not great though. That isn't up for debate. He's a terrible actor.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on July 28th, 2011 at 11:46:51 PM

Awful awful awful, I played around on mu iPhone for most of the movie because I was so bored

No where near iron man. And the cgi or whatever for Evans to make him look small was sh*t

Joe Johnston should just die

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved