WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Escape From New York" Remake is Dead

Posted: July 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Escape From New York" Remake is DeadSubmit Comment
After years of development and countless actors and directors attached to the project, Warner Bros has decided to drop the "Escape From New York" remake.

Neal Moritz (Fast Five, I Am Legend) has been pushing the project forward with director Breck Eisner (The Crazies). Gerard Butler, Tom Hardy and Jeremy Renner have been in talks to star as Snake Plissken.

The original movie starred Kurt Russell as Snake, a tough convict dropped into a futuristic New York that has been turned into a post-apocalyptic maximum security prison. He's charged with rescuing the president, who is held hostage by the prison kingpin after his plane crashed within the city walls. Snake is offered a pardon if he's successful, but fitted with a lethal device that will kill him if he tries to run or misses the deadline.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 1:13:27 PM

Thank God for that, I don't want to see another remake, Hollywood just seem to be regurgitating remakes these days at will. Nothing Knew I guess but glad to see this nipped in the butt.

Plus, Kurt Russell is snake, nobody else could play him. I say make another Escape film. We hear the refference in escape from LA of a place called cleveland that snake escaped from, I think set between Newyork and LA. why not visit there. I mean Kurts getting on abit but he still looks ok.

will never happen I know but I think it would be cool to see.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 1:31:42 PM

Kurt is snake, please leave this one alone.

Go rape another classic.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 1:56:13 PM

Drop the rest of the remakes for Christs sake.
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 3:13:39 PM

I fear that this remake is not going to remain DEAD for long. Knowing Hollywood so well, Im sure they still want to do something with this project. :/
SeWerin writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 3:40:37 PM

Snake? Snake?! SNAAAAAAAKKKKKKEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 3:43:05 PM

They should at least make a prequel to Snake Plissken.
Farradin writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 3:49:12 PM

I think only crap films should be remade so I'm glad this fell through. Fright Night looks palatable though!
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 4:14:03 PM

If only Death Race and National Lampoon's Vacation could've had this luck.
iceskateuphill writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 6:08:36 PM

THANK GOD. finally some good movie news. we dont need another f*cking reboot remake or whatever. i know that another kurt russel snake plissken pic is out of the question but damn i would love to see it. i'm glad theyre leaving this one alone
trailertrash writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 6:13:28 PM

Love the original, It's one of Carpenters best films and I'm glad this has been shelved.

I wish they had never made Escape From LA that movie was not good.
iceskateuphill writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 6:21:10 PM

escape from la was silly, but at least it had the original director and actor. i just wish carpenter and russel would come back for escape from america or escape from planet earth or something like that
trailertrash writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 6:43:48 PM

Iceskate

For me LA was the proof Carpenter had lost his touch behind the camera and He's never recovered from that and The Ghost Of Mars which was truly terrible.

His style just doesn't seem to translate to modern cinema which is maybe why he's only made a couple of films in the past 15 years.
iceskateuphill writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 6:46:41 PM

i dont hate ghosts of mars but i literally cannot watch vampires. that movie is unbearably bad. but your right its been so long since he made a decent movie
trailertrash writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 6:56:23 PM

Vampires , James Woods sort of saved that movie for me.

But for a guy who went from Assault on P13 to They Live over the course of 15 odd years and never made a bad movie IMO it is one of his weakest.
iceskateuphill writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 7:53:21 PM

i think it all started with memoirs of an invisible man, right before that was the live which is easily one of the coolest most bad ass movies ever but then 4 years later (not counting his body bags segment here) he returns with an invisible man story that no one asked for
Ranger writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 10:18:09 PM

F*ck me!

http://tinyurl.com/ThereCanBeOnly1-Snake

@tt - dead on. I too liked the original. The sequel sucked farts out of dead cows. And as for Woods saving Vampires... exactly.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 11:32:18 PM

Ranger-Does that scene give you a little wood or a little mahogany?
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 12:15:52 AM

A lot of Epay (ironwood) actually.

Nice quote though... lol.
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 12:28:32 AM

This is why James Woods ROCS!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdIMx_1OEww

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdKJ3zMiWhg

Now... I couldn't find James' interview by the reporter (scene) in 'The Hard Way' but I did find Clint's in 'The Rookie' and this is only reason #783 why Clint is kewl.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X021H4LImUY

You're welcome.


Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 12:32:04 AM

Wyatt I'm at it, I may as well add:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26kXGVolzLQ
Johnnyb writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 12:36:42 AM

At least one good news!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 1:46:03 AM

My First comment when seeing this was "Good" And god damn it i stand by it!
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 1:46:56 AM

and hey Trailertrash you changed your DP!
why lol ?
trailertrash writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 4:02:45 AM

^ I Just fancied a change my good man
trailertrash writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 4:21:08 AM

Ranger

Great clips there my friend.

That Hard way (great film)scene Fox at the end makes that scene with his little qwip at the end, Good stuff ....

Another great Woods Clip

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9v95_3Ox1V0
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 5:51:49 AM

WOW!! I guess birthday wishes do come true.
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 10:31:04 AM

Happy Birthday Dave!

@tt - lol... I KNEW it was that scene just by the title. Priceless.

'We got a partial trace'

'ok... shut-up'

Only a few like Woods, Penn and Martin Sheen can really turn crazy up like that.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 12:24:41 PM

sounds good.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2011 at 1:54:44 AM

9 out of 10 times does a remake turn out to be AS GOOD or BETTER than its original...nowadays i feel like these producers are high school student actors because EVERY other high school just HAS to do the same play THAT year as does producers feel the need that they HAVE to remake this film or that film so they can look back on the all the hate and these actors can get a paycheck?...not on my money they won't
seveltoto writes:
on November 6th, 2017 at 2:57:26 AM

sevelace writes:
on December 12th, 2017 at 10:59:56 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved