WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King on Universal Pictures Dropping "The Dark Tower"

Posted: July 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen King on Universal Pictures Dropping "The Dark Tower"Submit Comment
Universal Pictures recently revealed that it has dropped Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" from its development slate, despite the film having Ron Howard (Da Vinci code) directing and a lower-budget that the studio has been requesting.

Entertainment Weekly has now reached out to King to get his thoughts on the situation. "I'm sorry Universal passed, but not really surprised," he wrote in an email. "As a rule, they've been about smaller and less risky pics; maybe they feel it would be better to stick with those 'Fast and Furious' racing boys. I bear them no ill will, and trust Ron Howard to get Roland and his friends before the camera somewhere else. He's very committed to the project."

Howard has been planning to develop a trilogy of films with two limited TV series in between each movie. Javier Bardem is on board to play the lead role of Roland.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 1:29:11 PM

Stephen king hates everything.



Which is why i love him.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 1:58:40 PM

Dude-For once I agree!
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 2:10:08 PM

I bet he yells at kids who walk on/near his lawn.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 3:36:15 PM

or curses them thinner!
SeWerin writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 3:42:03 PM

Drop the Bardem and get William Fitchner for Roland and we got a deal
Farradin writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 3:59:54 PM

It may be great and well made but still be a flop. He's rich why doesn't he make one, oh yeah because of the risk involved.

Universal need to consolidate and think of a new strategy going forward they have not been breaking even these last few years!
President Baltar writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 4:11:08 PM

@ SeWerin
I'm having a very hard time picturing Fichtner for this role, what are you basing this on?
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 4:12:13 PM

I love how he says he bears no ill will towards Universal, yet he says they probably like going towards those Fast & the Furious, with obvious spite.
SeWerin writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 4:25:00 PM

@President Baltar

I don't know really. Guess it's just my imagination. William has slim body, bony face, and that face that you can't read . I think he has a face of mystery and his structure is perfect for westerns. But that's just me. What is your pick?
President Baltar writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 4:55:57 PM

@ SeWerin

I don't know why they went away from Viggo, because I thought that he was a perfect choice. I'm kind of getting where you're coming from with Fichtner now, just couldn't picture it before.
That aside, Will's been under-utilized so many times, he should get his own vehicle soon. Guess this isn't going to happen.
Rambo writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 5:29:45 PM

I don't care what everyone else say but 'the langoliers' was one the best mini tv serirs of all time.
Kurskij writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 5:54:00 PM

^No sh*t.

Scary, atmospheric, well made and awesomely cast.

I didn't even know someone consideres "The Langoliers" to be bad.
Tyrkae writes:
on July 21st, 2011 at 9:07:56 PM

@ Black Dynamite
I think he meant the guys in Fast and Furious movie and not universal
Johnnyb writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 12:34:52 AM

".....those 'Fast and Furious' racing boys."

Stephen you really know how to deliver a low blow. I hope you can get one day TDT on big screen.....
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 1:50:19 AM

Stephen King For President <3
JohnZee writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 3:39:52 AM

Yep, say what you will about Stephen King, he isn't afraid to speak his mind. Honestly his articles were the only reason I ever read that celebrity pole-smoking rag Entertainment Weekly. And as soon as he announced that he would be taking a break from writing those EW articles I very quickly canceled my subscription.

In my opinion one of the best contemporary short story writers out there.
Rambo writes:
on July 22nd, 2011 at 4:23:02 AM

@Kurskij

check out IMDB,there are a lot of haters and it has a pretty low 5.9 user rating.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved