WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Neil Burger Talks "Uncharted" Movie

Posted: July 19th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Neil Burger Talks "Uncharted" MovieSubmit Comment
At one point, Mark Wahlberg was set to star and David O Russell (The Fighter) was set to direct a big screen version of "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune" video game. During several interviews it became clear that Russell didn't know much about the game and ended up dropping the project.

Neil Burger (Limitless) quickly stepped in to replace him and is now speaking about the plan and the possibility of casting fan-favorite Nathan Fillion (Serenity) as the lead.

"Mainly we're beginning from scratch and going back to the video game," he explained. "It's really one of the most cinematic video games, and one that has really developed characters. There's a lot of cool, really intense things that, if they work for the film's story, I want to use them."

He continued: "It's really up to date in its own way. 'The Bourne Identity' isn't your father's Cold War movie and this is a very different kind of treasure hunt movie. It's very real and it has kind of an insane, wild feeling that comes out of the character; Nate being this con man and a bit of a hustler, living by his wits, ballsy and capable of anything."

And regarding Fillion, the helmer said: "I think he's a good actor, [but] there's a lot of really good actors who don't even look like [Nathan Drake] who could play [the role]. Where we are right now is that we're literally starting from scratch on the screenplay, and I think that once we finish it, then we'll go to actors and see who's available and who's right for the parts."

Source: CraveOnline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 4:15:41 AM

It's not about looking like Drake, it's about BEING Drake, embody him. That why Fillion is the man for this role.
Sev writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 4:53:46 AM

I'd like to see Bradley Cooper playing this part, has a little of the look but the guy's voice is really similar too. He could probably pull off Drake's wit and charm whilst being able to handle action as well.

I dunno, could be wrong, but I guess we'll see who they choose.
coolguy writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 4:58:21 AM

^^agree with Sev

Cooper would make a good Drake, his acting in limitless proves that. Fillion would have been a good choice ten years ago, he's too old now.
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 5:20:59 AM

Glad the director realises the the game has a good story of of its own. I think Cooper would be a much better option than Fillion.
lppinto writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 5:42:53 AM

Nathan Fillion, back to the treadmill..
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 6:33:41 AM

Guess either would be a good choice but as I have never played the game wouldn't really know who is best.
Kurskij writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 7:41:13 AM

Never played the game, so don't really know what's all the hype is about.

Fillion is a great, charismatic actor. Not a box-office draw in any known way though.

Guess Marky Mark got his $10mil. in a pay-or-play deal.
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 8:33:15 AM

Kurskij i'm with you bud, Never played the game.

Looks like a guy's version of Tomb Raider which we don't really need because we already have for good or bad Indiana Jones.
velocityknown writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 8:41:46 AM

Sounds like he has a better idea for it than David O Russell ever did. He was going away from the video games, this guy seems to realize they're cinematic enough to straight adapt them.

I think aside from just sharing a name and basic look as Nathan Drake, Nathan Fillion's acting persona would fit really well. He would have to lose the gut though.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 8:48:41 AM

"and the possibility of casting fan-favorite Nathan Fillion (Serenity) as the lead."

That's what I like to hear, he's the bollocks. I'm actually excited about this film now, he might be able to make us like the character no matter how bad the script is as a pose to cartoon character Marky Mark.

President Baltar writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 1:14:05 PM

Nate 4 Nate!
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 11:49:14 PM

@coolguy Nathan Fillian is only 4 years older than Bradley Cooper and they both look about the same age.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved