WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joe Johnston in Talks with George Lucas to Direct "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Posted: July 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joe Johnston in Talks with George Lucas to Direct "Star Wars" Spin-OffSubmit Comment
While promoting "Captain America: The First Avenger," director Joe Johnston was asked about his mentor George Lucas. In a surprise answer, the helmer revealed that he has been talking to Lucas about developing a "Star Wars" spin-off film.

"I'm trying to get George to make a feature based on Boba Fett," said Johnston. "I would like to [direct it]. It would be a lot of fun."

Johnson has a long working relationship with Lucas. He started working for him as a storyboard artist. Johnston then continued his career as Lucas' designer and visual effects art director on "Star Wars," "The Empire Strikes Back" and "Return of the Jedi."

He created the design for some of the franchise's most recognizable characters and vehicles, including Yoda, the Ewoks, The Millennium Falcon, The X-Wing Fighters, The Y-Wing Fighters, The Imperial Snow Walkers, The Imperial Star Destroyer, and Boba Fett.

Source: ScreenRant


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:01:42 AM

Spin-off? More like jack-off fest.
Raider writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:10:59 AM

You'd just do anything for more money won't you Mr. Lucas?
holtlt writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:13:40 AM

I don't know about Johnston, but Boba Fett absolutely needs a film
thomas deadison writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:17:55 AM

No, he doesn't.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:37:39 AM

Just die already Johnston, please!!!!
hunter207 writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:42:17 AM

idk, I'd be curious to see the story
Rambo writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:53:11 AM

Hey Lucas,I have and idea,why don't you move your fat ass and make your own movie?what do you think about that you fat f*ck?
Ranger writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 2:13:34 AM

A little late, and a lot early for April Fools.
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 3:08:41 AM

Hey this will most likely happen, We all know how much George likes to rape the arse out of his Star Wars Baby
Elpomp writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 3:45:02 AM

Fu$K Boba Fett he was in the movie for like two minutes and all these fans got there manginas wet for some lame ass character.
manichispanic writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 4:04:54 AM

wow, WP seriously put this as "in talks with GL"
Kain writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 4:34:41 AM

Boba Fett was ruined. Pass.
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 5:17:59 AM

If it's all about Princess Leia and she spent the whole movie in the outfit she wore at Jubba's place in Jedi then I'm in ...
rocketman writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 5:25:59 AM

I'm up fer it,Star Wars need redeeming ad if Johnston strikes the same tone as Rocketeer then it will be a damn sight better than the prequels.
Cap looks ace so whats the prob?
rocketman writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 5:27:07 AM

needs ^ and ^
sorry hungover
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 5:46:31 AM

It's Sunday mate aren't we all ....
rocketman writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 6:22:49 AM

tell me about it,woke up on my sofa at 5am,daylight...i'm like WTF?
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 7:22:46 AM

Ha ha

With a girl you don't remember you know its been a good night ;-)
rocketman writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 7:47:47 AM

lol yeah....sadly the only mistress i had last night was called Stella.
PaulX7 writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 8:16:26 AM

I'm a big Star Wars fan, and Boba Fett is a great character, so definitely I'd be excited! But please, Joe johnston ? The guy who directed the sh*t Wolfman?? Seriously?? First of all, find a good director and a good script, and we'll re-discuss that, ok?
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 8:33:21 AM

I don't see it happening.
boogiel writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 9:00:56 AM

ditto
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 9:10:04 AM

if it turns out like the prequals, with over the top CGI I think i'll pass. They all looked like computer games to me.
GuyBushwithWood writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 9:10:56 AM

I mean not that i'm against certain CGI, after all, that's what I do at college but I understand when it's used too much as well.
Johnnyb writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 10:37:20 AM

Well Johnston.... there goes your creativity.... Is ok you had made all and construct part of the Star Wars Universe... But letīs be straight, ypu career as director sucks....
SaulSilver writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 10:41:26 AM

As if Boba Fett wasn't pussified enough in ROTJ, they went and showed him as a petulant little child who misses his daddy even later. A big fat f*cking PASS for me. No interest in seeing this.

As for the people who keep talking sh*t about Johnston, I'd like to see you have a leg to stand on after how ridiculously f*cking awesome Captain America is going to be next week.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 11:28:15 AM



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfoR8SbFhy8
SACdaddy writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 11:39:22 AM

I had no idea Joe Johnson contributed so much to Star Wars. He just earned a couple of points in my book (for what thats worth).

I think I finally saw the Captain America trailer that sold me last night. If it turns out good JJ will finally earn the respect I've been trying to give in my defense of The Wolfman.
Ranger writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 12:58:52 PM

@SAC - ditto.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:09:28 PM

I rather see a Darth Vader between the timeline of the first 3 and last 3 and show why he was feared in the last 3 movies

Not some stupid portrayl of him being a whiny brat kid that couldnt be told what to do
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:24:07 PM

I see Harry Potter has beaten Dark Knights opening weekend with a $169 3 day hall .....
iceskateuphill writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:31:42 PM

all i gotta say is this guy created the rocketeer so as long as i can somehow ignore wolfman and jurassic park 3 i think i can probably enjoy whatever else he has coming out
Electro Rock writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:50:16 PM

Didnt he climb aboard wolfman after it was abandoned and had like a six week schedule to complete it?
Ranger writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 2:47:37 PM

I seem to remember something like that as well.

Good or bad... I'm pretty sure I'll enjoy all (or most of) Captain America.
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 2:58:15 PM

Yeah he took over from mark Romanak At the last minute.

Did you ever get round to seeing the green lantern in the end Ranger ?
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 3:00:00 PM

Rocket lol

Good old Stella she never let's you down ....
The Tall Man writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 3:27:59 PM

I call'em as I see'em:

The Rocketeer - A feel good classic.

Jurassic Park 3 - It had some entertaining parts, and I think Johnston did ok with what he had to work with. I don't think the studio was a 100% behind the production of this film with a running time of just 92 min.

Hidalgo - Good fun, but not great.

The Wolfman - I give it credit for some good decaps, but it's only a one time watch. Didn't Johnston take the helm of this film at the last minute due to production and previous director issues?


BlackDynamite writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 3:47:42 PM

If it was done right i'd see it, but Damn Lucas, you jsut love squeezing the sh*t out of Star Wars don't you.

Is there really no other movie ideas you have in that brain? I wish i could come up with soemthing so genius and universally liked (pun intended) that i could just rely on that to make me piles upon piles of money, that I could burn just so i can light my Kush blunt wrapped ina thin layer of 24k Gold.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 5:37:53 PM

Just remember, good Ol' Lucas needs to make "Star Whores" Before he can let the saga die.
Cannon writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 5:43:43 PM


Jesus, why is everyone jumping on Lucasí sh*t for this? Talk about knee-jerk reactions. Aside from the blatantly misleading headline, itís clear that this is something that Johnson has approached Lucas about, not the other way around. Honestly, it just sounds like idle talk from someone who thinks itíd be cool to make a Boba Fett movie. Lucas has long since made it clear that he has no intention of expanding the feature film saga beyond the six installments--which tell a single whole story.

So relax guys. This obviously isnít something thatís going to happen.
Ranger writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 5:50:37 PM

@tt - no I didn't. Up to my ass in alligators these days. How about you?
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 6:10:24 PM

Yes mate It was a freebie showing, Thought It was ok, I didn't really know anything about GL so I had no expectations to disappoint. I know you were looking forward to it ..
encoreyourface writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 6:24:04 PM

great, more news for you guys to bash star-wars with. i liked all six films. not equally of course as the second one was lacking something, but i still liked them. haha, i don't really know where i was going with this i'm just tired of hearing the starwars prequel hate. maybe it was because i wasn't born back then with the first trilogy came out, i dunno. but you guys even hated the revenge of the sith?
Ranger writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 9:18:53 PM

@encore - you're always honest... good post.

I was around with Star Wars came out in '77. My opinion... the first trilogy (now 4-6... sigh) rocked. The next 3 were just buried in cash and special effects. Even Return of the Jedi had more $'s spent on it than I would have liked.

Star Wars 1977 is a treasure. Empire was good (nice to see the 'good guys' get their ass's kicked now and again). 3rd. was like the 3rd. Matrix... whateve. The next 3 (1-3... oi!) I honestly haven't given it a fair chance. But what I did see... not for me.
velocityknown writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 9:55:55 PM

@Encore

I've always had mixed feelings on the prequels. For instance, the first one has the best lightsaber sequence that's ever been done. But it also has the most questionable acting and character additions (to say the least). The second was kind of dragged down by Hayden Christensen, but once again, great action and non-romantic plot stuff. Revenge of the Sith was fantastic, enough said.

The consistent miscasting of Anakin is the glaring weakness, but other things went very right such as villains (with the exception of killing Darth Maul too early) and Ewan McGreggor as Obi-Wan.

My problem with George Lucas, I just don't think he's a very good director. Or, he used to be, but got caught up in his own hype and thought every idea he had was a good one. Therefore thought that Ewoks/Gungans don't suck and that his ability to write romantic dialogue wouldn't cause people to gag. He's actually quite restrained in his use of the franchise. I mean, six live-action films for a franchise like Star Wars is pretty amazing. He's at least got some artistic integrity when it comes to his opus magnum and I respect that, I just wish he continued to let other people direct it, I believe the prequels would have turned out better had he.

Of course, Empire Strikes Back will always be my favorite.

As for this Boba Fett feature film idea, maybe you had to grow up with the original films, but I've never understood the hype behind the Fett man. In the two films he's included in he stands behind Darth Vader who single-handily apprehends Han Solo (with Lando's Benedict turn obviously) and then goes on to die in a way that almost seems to want to generate a laugh. If he does anything worthy of the fanboy love in between those moments, I am completely missing it.
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 10:09:52 PM

well I heard, (not sure if its true though) that Lucas wants to make a darker Star Wars about intergalactic mobsters and hookers. I'll welcome it, unless I can see Boba as the main character being a bounty hunter S/ASH pimp that he is.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 11:15:59 PM

you do have a point, Lucas does seem REALLY caught up with himself. not saying the prequel didn't have problems, but so did the original trilogy ... ewoks suck a lot of ass ... i mean just a lot.
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2011 at 3:04:27 AM

Ha Ha ewoks were cute little cannibals

I think you said it right encore you didn't grow up with the originals and maybe that lets you see those prequels in a different light.

It's like the last Indy movie my kids loved that movie but for me it was nowhere near as good as the original.

Episodes 1 and 2 were a little disapointing, even now i can't remember a thing about pt2.

You just wanted to skip straight to Episode 3 which was ok in my book, i felt that tied into the originals a little better.

If Lucas was ever going to make anymore Star Wars movies i would have liked to have seen what happened after Jedi not go back to the beginning of the series.

Have to agree with velocity Empire is on of the best sequels ever made and the best in the series, I bet that sticks in George's throat.
rabid writes:
on July 18th, 2011 at 11:10:49 AM

Boba Fett definitely needs a movie. The organized crime and the bounty hunting are the most likeable aspects of Star Wars.
jellyzero79 writes:
on July 18th, 2011 at 6:11:50 PM

How about "Joe Johnston" don't make this. The character was ruined in episode 2 - he is no longer mysterious or cool in my eyes. If you are going to make a spin off set it in another timeline.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved