WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Kate Beckinsale Confirmed for "Underworld 5," to Begin Shooting in October
May 15th, 2015
Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson to Return for "Shanghai Dawn"
May 15th, 2015
New Trailer for "Minions" Arrives Online
May 15th, 2015
Trailer for HBO's "True Detective" Season 2, with Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn
May 15th, 2015
Trailer for DC's "Legends of Tomorrow" Comic Book TV Series
May 15th, 2015
Posters for "American Ultra" Action Comedy, with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
May 15th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise Confirmed to Play Jack Reacher in "One Shot" Thriller

Posted: July 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise Confirmed to Play Jack Reacher in "One Shot" ThrillerSubmit Comment
About a month ago, we reported that Paramount Pictures was in negotiations with Tom Cruise to star in "One Shot," a thriller based on the Lee Child book series about former military policeman-turned-drifter Jack Reacher. Christopher McQuarrie ("Valkyrie" writer) was on board to direct from his own script with plans to begin filming in the fall.

Now comes word that the studio has officially signed Cruise to play Reacher, who is described in the books as being 6'5 tall and 250 pounds. The plan is to shoot "One Shot" and give the actor enough time to prepare for "Oblivion" sci-fi film, which begin shooting early next year.

In the books, Reacher drifts around the country, carrying nothing more than a toothbrush, the clothes on his back, his passport and access to his military pension. He finds his way into all kinds of misadventures but usually winds up using his brawn and his brains from years of military experience to solve conspiracies for underdogs.

In "One Shot," Reacher investigates a case in which a lone sniper murders five victims before being captured. Reacher discovers it's more than a simple case.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 2:57:51 AM

The only time Cruise has been 6.5 ft was when he was jumping up and down on oprah's sofa.
superman writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:26:04 AM

Cruise is a crap actor. He should stick to films with no acting demands.
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:41:04 AM

Tom C. When did he had an drama film? I have seen him in a drama film. What about Magnolia? Is that a drama movie? I did not see him being so dramatic in that movie.
trailertrash writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:44:40 AM

Nice to see Paramount want to jump back into bed with Tom Cruise again...

Really he should tell them to go f*ck themselves
trailertrash writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:46:54 AM

Supersweetguy

I will have a couple of beers and come back to your post fella ..
PaulX7 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 7:27:35 AM

I like Tom Cruise. He's credible in action movies and he knows how to choose his roles, and over the past 10 years, he starred in some really very good movies (Minority Report, Last Samurai, Collateral). But 6'5 tall?? Not really, he's even shorter than his wife who's just 5' 9...
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:31:10 AM

@tt - if Tom wasn't so starved for attention, and had a working pair of testicles, he would. It feels like Paramount has 'instructed' other studios to stay clear of him otherwise Paramount would crush them, because why didn't other studios jump in and hire Tom the second Paramount canned his ass?

Tom peaked in the 80's with 'Born on the 4th of July.'
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:42:20 AM

TT-lol
So lots of angle shots to make him appear taller and a box to step on so he's at least the same height as his co-stars.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:54:43 AM

Tom peaked in the 80s? You're lucky a lightning bolt from Xenu didn't just strike you down for making such a false statement :)

You obviously didn't see Tropic Thunder.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 11:54:08 AM

4th of july was political bullsh*t and boring. He peaked.... Uh he hasnt. He still draws people even to crapfests like knight and day. Looks like hes starring in uncharted and mi: gp looks sick.
Yea i'd say he's FAR from peaking. Badchad, please take a second to take a step back and literally f*ck yourself.
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 12:21:46 PM

^What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it. I don't like it any more than you men.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:01:16 PM

Dude-Roses are red, violets are blue, I have 5 fingers, the 3rd ones for you!
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:08:27 PM

Dude-Life is but a game, and let me tell you, you suck at it! Now surprise me say something intelligent.
Avirex writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:13:24 PM

Heeey at least he matches the physical description of the character.

Oh wait, you mean this Jack character is 6'5 and not 5'6??
Johnnyb writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:37:10 PM

What else Tommy can play beside Ethan Hunt and doing his own stunts in movies.... A f*ckING DRIFTER... For God sake.... Get a drama film and stop doing this crap movies, man!!!!
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 2:04:29 PM

@BC - Tom is a star... he doesn't stand on boxes (to make himself look taller)... they dig a trench for all his co-stars to walk in.

@Dude- re: Tom hasn't peaked. Well out of his 30 year career it's easy to pick his 'peak' If a person had only been in 1 movie with nothing to compare that would be tougher. So Tom hasn't peaked in YOUR eyes is what you're saying then? Gotcha. And I wasn't reviewing Born on the 4th of July... didn't imply as to whether I liked it or not. Tom's intensity in it was good. I don't believe I offered up an opinion of it beyond that, nor did I ask for yours.

BadChadB33 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 2:09:16 PM

Ranger-A trench would make more sense. Too bad that can't do that with Lohan and leave her there.
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:53:40 PM

Thomas Jane would have been a far, far better pick IMO. Not trashing Cruise, he's still impressive just being himself, but Jane looks the part and has the gritty intensity.

Besides, he needs to eat after getting kicked off Headshot.
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 4:55:40 PM

TJ I like. It seems I'm one of the few that liked him as The Punisher (even though I'm still wondering what Travolta was doing in it), and in The Mist. Typical Steven King movie fare (= blah), but he was good in it.
Rambo writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 4:56:32 PM

^the only problem is that Thomas Jane is a box office poison.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 5:08:15 PM

Trailer Trash

thats a double LOL on the jumping up and down on Oprahs sofa comment


First thing that came to my mind was Cruise standing on Shia La Doofs shoulders that should come close to 6ft 5in
Avirex writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 6:10:23 PM

Tom Jane has never been given the projects he deserves. Stander was an excellent film imo. Saw the guy once at an autograph signing and he was sporting a mohawk with a bowler hat. Interesting fellow that guy.
Roadimus writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 9:24:40 PM

his movie will officially be a piece of sh*t now. The books are awesome, but not only is Cruise the wrong size/build for the role, he is a sh*t actor. Highly disappointing decision Paramount. Highly disappointing indeed.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:30:08 PM

Tom Cruise. Jack Reacher. Do i really need to make any jokes here? They just seem lying right in front of me.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:34:50 PM

I completely forgot I saw Knight and Day. sh*t,there are a ton of jokes i can use for that, like how the title, as far as i can remember, had nothing to do with the movie, The awful dialogue, even the reasoning, if any that i had for seeing a movie with Cameron Diaz, let alone Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz.
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 2:46:12 AM

Ranger

Yeah you would have thought Warners or Sony would have been doing their best to sign him on a long studio deal, he has made both those studios a lot of money in the past.

It's a shmae he couldn't make United Artists with Paula Wagner a greater success and maybe he wouldn't have needed to go back to Paramount.

The guy not matter how good the movie is ( he got Vanilla Sky to $100mil US boxoffice) they will always make money and his worldwide appeal is still very strong at the boxoffice.

For me pretty much anything he's made since Rainman in 1988 (not including Far And Away) as been top notch in my book and there aren't many actors out there today i would say that about.
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 2:54:33 AM

Thanks CH and Bad
SACdaddy writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 12:00:08 PM

Lol why do people have such a hard time loving Cruise? He's the little good guy that made it big and didn't have to sh*t on anyone in the process. He doesn't dime his directors for the few failures he's made like Shia Lebitch. He doesn't do gay showtunes like Hugh Jackoff. He doesn't show up for films (and $$$) whenever it suits him once every 10-15 years like Harrison Ford. And he doesn't need steroids or CGI to make him a badass like Sly, Arnold, and the Rock. The guy just keeps working and only cares about entertaining an audience. He's the James Brown of Hollywood! Whats not to like?
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:18:17 PM

SAC

Im not hating on him, In my opinion I think he's one of the best actors in our generation.
And your right he hasnt crapped on anyone to do it

He's made great films unlike people like George Loony who gets love from the media and more publicity as if he is some Marlon Brando or a Charlton Heston
Ranger writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 1:05:43 AM

@tt - nice post. I liked Rainman a lot. It went through a few directors to get done. And Cruise being the force of nature he is saw to it that it did get done (as he did his ego serving Top Gun on wheels - Days of Thunder (which I also liked). I think it's pretty sh*tty of Paramount to fire him blaming sofa-jumping and bad box office numbers on M.I.3 (which as I remember weren't all that bad), and having a problem with his 'religion' but not from Will Smith or John Travolta - double-standards much Paramount?!

Yep... Tom is still very watchable and bankable.

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin
xobd2.co.uk
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved