WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise Confirmed to Play Jack Reacher in "One Shot" Thriller

Posted: July 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise Confirmed to Play Jack Reacher in "One Shot" ThrillerSubmit Comment
About a month ago, we reported that Paramount Pictures was in negotiations with Tom Cruise to star in "One Shot," a thriller based on the Lee Child book series about former military policeman-turned-drifter Jack Reacher. Christopher McQuarrie ("Valkyrie" writer) was on board to direct from his own script with plans to begin filming in the fall.

Now comes word that the studio has officially signed Cruise to play Reacher, who is described in the books as being 6'5 tall and 250 pounds. The plan is to shoot "One Shot" and give the actor enough time to prepare for "Oblivion" sci-fi film, which begin shooting early next year.

In the books, Reacher drifts around the country, carrying nothing more than a toothbrush, the clothes on his back, his passport and access to his military pension. He finds his way into all kinds of misadventures but usually winds up using his brawn and his brains from years of military experience to solve conspiracies for underdogs.

In "One Shot," Reacher investigates a case in which a lone sniper murders five victims before being captured. Reacher discovers it's more than a simple case.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 2:57:51 AM

The only time Cruise has been 6.5 ft was when he was jumping up and down on oprah's sofa.
superman writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:26:04 AM

Cruise is a crap actor. He should stick to films with no acting demands.
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:41:04 AM

Tom C. When did he had an drama film? I have seen him in a drama film. What about Magnolia? Is that a drama movie? I did not see him being so dramatic in that movie.
trailertrash writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:44:40 AM

Nice to see Paramount want to jump back into bed with Tom Cruise again...

Really he should tell them to go f*ck themselves
trailertrash writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:46:54 AM

Supersweetguy

I will have a couple of beers and come back to your post fella ..
PaulX7 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 7:27:35 AM

I like Tom Cruise. He's credible in action movies and he knows how to choose his roles, and over the past 10 years, he starred in some really very good movies (Minority Report, Last Samurai, Collateral). But 6'5 tall?? Not really, he's even shorter than his wife who's just 5' 9...
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:31:10 AM

@tt - if Tom wasn't so starved for attention, and had a working pair of testicles, he would. It feels like Paramount has 'instructed' other studios to stay clear of him otherwise Paramount would crush them, because why didn't other studios jump in and hire Tom the second Paramount canned his ass?

Tom peaked in the 80's with 'Born on the 4th of July.'
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:42:20 AM

TT-lol
So lots of angle shots to make him appear taller and a box to step on so he's at least the same height as his co-stars.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:54:43 AM

Tom peaked in the 80s? You're lucky a lightning bolt from Xenu didn't just strike you down for making such a false statement :)

You obviously didn't see Tropic Thunder.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 11:54:08 AM

4th of july was political bullsh*t and boring. He peaked.... Uh he hasnt. He still draws people even to crapfests like knight and day. Looks like hes starring in uncharted and mi: gp looks sick.
Yea i'd say he's FAR from peaking. Badchad, please take a second to take a step back and literally f*ck yourself.
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 12:21:46 PM

^What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it. I don't like it any more than you men.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:01:16 PM

Dude-Roses are red, violets are blue, I have 5 fingers, the 3rd ones for you!
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:08:27 PM

Dude-Life is but a game, and let me tell you, you suck at it! Now surprise me say something intelligent.
Avirex writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:13:24 PM

Heeey at least he matches the physical description of the character.

Oh wait, you mean this Jack character is 6'5 and not 5'6??
Johnnyb writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:37:10 PM

What else Tommy can play beside Ethan Hunt and doing his own stunts in movies.... A f*ckING DRIFTER... For God sake.... Get a drama film and stop doing this crap movies, man!!!!
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 2:04:29 PM

@BC - Tom is a star... he doesn't stand on boxes (to make himself look taller)... they dig a trench for all his co-stars to walk in.

@Dude- re: Tom hasn't peaked. Well out of his 30 year career it's easy to pick his 'peak' If a person had only been in 1 movie with nothing to compare that would be tougher. So Tom hasn't peaked in YOUR eyes is what you're saying then? Gotcha. And I wasn't reviewing Born on the 4th of July... didn't imply as to whether I liked it or not. Tom's intensity in it was good. I don't believe I offered up an opinion of it beyond that, nor did I ask for yours.

BadChadB33 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 2:09:16 PM

Ranger-A trench would make more sense. Too bad that can't do that with Lohan and leave her there.
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:53:40 PM

Thomas Jane would have been a far, far better pick IMO. Not trashing Cruise, he's still impressive just being himself, but Jane looks the part and has the gritty intensity.

Besides, he needs to eat after getting kicked off Headshot.
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 4:55:40 PM

TJ I like. It seems I'm one of the few that liked him as The Punisher (even though I'm still wondering what Travolta was doing in it), and in The Mist. Typical Steven King movie fare (= blah), but he was good in it.
Rambo writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 4:56:32 PM

^the only problem is that Thomas Jane is a box office poison.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 5:08:15 PM

Trailer Trash

thats a double LOL on the jumping up and down on Oprahs sofa comment


First thing that came to my mind was Cruise standing on Shia La Doofs shoulders that should come close to 6ft 5in
Avirex writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 6:10:23 PM

Tom Jane has never been given the projects he deserves. Stander was an excellent film imo. Saw the guy once at an autograph signing and he was sporting a mohawk with a bowler hat. Interesting fellow that guy.
Roadimus writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 9:24:40 PM

his movie will officially be a piece of sh*t now. The books are awesome, but not only is Cruise the wrong size/build for the role, he is a sh*t actor. Highly disappointing decision Paramount. Highly disappointing indeed.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:30:08 PM

Tom Cruise. Jack Reacher. Do i really need to make any jokes here? They just seem lying right in front of me.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:34:50 PM

I completely forgot I saw Knight and Day. sh*t,there are a ton of jokes i can use for that, like how the title, as far as i can remember, had nothing to do with the movie, The awful dialogue, even the reasoning, if any that i had for seeing a movie with Cameron Diaz, let alone Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz.
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 2:46:12 AM

Ranger

Yeah you would have thought Warners or Sony would have been doing their best to sign him on a long studio deal, he has made both those studios a lot of money in the past.

It's a shmae he couldn't make United Artists with Paula Wagner a greater success and maybe he wouldn't have needed to go back to Paramount.

The guy not matter how good the movie is ( he got Vanilla Sky to $100mil US boxoffice) they will always make money and his worldwide appeal is still very strong at the boxoffice.

For me pretty much anything he's made since Rainman in 1988 (not including Far And Away) as been top notch in my book and there aren't many actors out there today i would say that about.
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 2:54:33 AM

Thanks CH and Bad
SACdaddy writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 12:00:08 PM

Lol why do people have such a hard time loving Cruise? He's the little good guy that made it big and didn't have to sh*t on anyone in the process. He doesn't dime his directors for the few failures he's made like Shia Lebitch. He doesn't do gay showtunes like Hugh Jackoff. He doesn't show up for films (and $$$) whenever it suits him once every 10-15 years like Harrison Ford. And he doesn't need steroids or CGI to make him a badass like Sly, Arnold, and the Rock. The guy just keeps working and only cares about entertaining an audience. He's the James Brown of Hollywood! Whats not to like?
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 1:18:17 PM

SAC

Im not hating on him, In my opinion I think he's one of the best actors in our generation.
And your right he hasnt crapped on anyone to do it

He's made great films unlike people like George Loony who gets love from the media and more publicity as if he is some Marlon Brando or a Charlton Heston
Ranger writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 1:05:43 AM

@tt - nice post. I liked Rainman a lot. It went through a few directors to get done. And Cruise being the force of nature he is saw to it that it did get done (as he did his ego serving Top Gun on wheels - Days of Thunder (which I also liked). I think it's pretty sh*tty of Paramount to fire him blaming sofa-jumping and bad box office numbers on M.I.3 (which as I remember weren't all that bad), and having a problem with his 'religion' but not from Will Smith or John Travolta - double-standards much Paramount?!

Yep... Tom is still very watchable and bankable.

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved