WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Depp Wants Russell Brand for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"?

Posted: July 15th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny Depp Wants Russell Brand for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"?Submit Comment
Before "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" starting filming, Russell Brand (Arthur) was rumored to play Captain Jack Sparrow's brother in movie.

That obviously didn't work out, but the rumor has now re-surfaced. According to ShowbizSpy, Disney is planning to make Brand Sparrow's sidekick in the fifth installment.

"Johnny [Depp] is a big fan of Russell's and ultimately he has a big say in who he works with," said the website. "The idea is to give Jack a new sidekick - someone who will bring out a new side to the character."

Source: ShowbizSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 6:23:43 PM

f*ck. No.
Rambo writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 6:24:19 PM

^this
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 6:24:39 PM

It cant get any worse right?

It just did.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 6:24:56 PM

Oh no i just puked my quesadillas.What is the world coming to?
bandolero999 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 6:26:17 PM

Go back to England please with Katy Perry.
oklahomaer writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 6:30:11 PM

Why Johnny Why? Russell Brand is a c*nt and a waste of space.Maybe Russell Brand will get tongue cancer before the movie shoots.Then they end up having to remove his tongue.No tongue no more Russell Brand.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 6:32:58 PM

The thing about Katy Perry is, would I want her after she's been with Mr. Potato Head?
Electro Rock writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 7:47:07 PM

Wow! I thought I was the only one who hated this bozo. Im glad to see Im not alone.

Does everyone here hate Andy d*ck too?
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 7:50:43 PM

If only there was an ignore button in movies. They should just stop already.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 8:03:42 PM

Andy d*ck is a pretty sick individual but his career is in the toilet so hes not bothering anybody.
SeWerin writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 8:16:42 PM

And now something that will completely blow your minds. Childhood picture of Russell Brand:

http://unrealitymag.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/celebrity_childhood_11.jpg

It's not fake i assure you. Google it
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 8:49:59 PM

Katy Perry would be much better to look at

Mink

This now will end the saga of Pirates of Carribean.

Put Colin Failure in this and this will be a bust
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 9:04:37 PM

No Barbossa? Count me out.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 9:07:21 PM

I dunno, Crazy. With every film, the franchise grosses increasingly larger profits. Even if they threw in the entire Hangover cast I believe PoTC would break 500 mil.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 9:12:28 PM

PoTC 5....
Raider writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 9:15:02 PM

Or maybe abit more than that Mink.
masht7 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 9:21:06 PM

I have to bravely admit, Russell Brand is my guilty pleasure comedian. I find him rather funny but I do understand the hatred for him. And casting him in 'Pirates of the Caribbean 5' doesn't faze me at all. The result would be a very quirky, but that's the point of the series.
gunner writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 9:39:05 PM

i call this bullsh*t!! what's next? zach galifasnnjski or whatever his f*cking name is as barbossa's son?
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 9:47:07 PM

So...

I'm the only Brand fan on here?

C'mon folks... 'Get Him to the Greek' - the guy can carry a movie. Not saying that movie needed to be made, but he was good in it (for what it was).
boogiel writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 9:54:10 PM

Blah, heck no. But Katy Perry as a mermaid will do.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 10:16:01 PM

And if by 'Mermaid' you mean she give me a blow-job, I agree.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 10:18:25 PM

Not really Ranger, but I only like him as Aldous so it's not like i'm the biggest fan.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 10:21:37 PM

Well, that's honest. He's a hoot when he does the late night talk show circuit. He's sharp.
Champ1432 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 10:27:54 PM

I find him pretty funny as well, Ranger. He's good for what he does, playing the same type of character all the time, which is probably close to his real life personality. I must admit I've never seen any of his stand-up, so I don't know how that is.

He's a one trick pony, but he's pretty good at that one trick. I do understand how people wouldn't like him, though. I certainly won't blame anyone for that. I just think he's pretty humorous.

As for him being in PotC 5, I don't think it will matter either way. The franchise obviously doesn't need him to make money, and even with all his detractors, it will still make a ton of cash if he's in it.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 10:33:23 PM

Well said (even agree with the one-trick pony comment).
Johnnyb writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 10:56:06 PM

OMG.... The next thing with need Lady Gaga, the missing cousin or Amy Winehouse, the missing daughter!!!!! This franchise needs to die right now!!!!!
Rambo writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:24:15 AM

I did like him in 'forgetting sara marshall' but thats where it ended for me.
Carlos Spicy Wiener writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:58:55 AM

pdiddy was the only funny part about greek and thats saying something
superman writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:29:17 AM

Good thinking Johnny, Brand is an excellent choice.... if you want to end the franchise....
trailertrash writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 3:40:18 AM

Ranger

Yeah i don't have the hate for him that most people seem to on here.

He's stand up stuff is better than his films IMO.

But we have this tendency in the UK to build people up and then shoot them down in flames and i know Brand doesn't help himself sometimes but for me i like to see Brits doing well outside of the UK and Brand is doing that.
rocketman writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 4:18:23 AM

For the love of the Sky Daddy anyone but Brand i beg you.
j-man writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 6:13:54 AM

They shud put him inda movie and do a 'brandon lee'
nawtnt writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 6:33:55 AM

Russell Brand in POTC 5?

No sh*t way, the series has gone downhill and now Disney wants it to be more worse by having Brand in it, well that's great.

What's next, having Shia LeBeouf play Jack Sparrow's son.
PaulX7 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 7:17:41 AM

Russell Brand??? WTF... Please shoot that guy before it happens...
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:25:29 AM

@tt - building up a celeb then bashing them isn't exclusive to the UK my friend. I'd say the US leads in that category. Trump gets way more media attention when he does one of his regular 'Bankruptcy' things (it just keeps his creditors off his back for 3 months while he banks the cash and everyone loves to talk when they think he's on the outs). We've had tons of fun at Lohan's expense, and Sheen's.
Avirex writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:25:45 PM

They've been trying to sign him up for years so this doesn't surprise me one bit.

Next story please...
Loui Balfour writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:27:55 PM

Oh dear lord, I'm english and hate this twat. why cant they just do a darker movie like the first but without keira knightly
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 4:56:29 PM

'Oh dear lord, I'm English and hate this twat.' --- lol.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 11:59:38 AM

Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 10:21:37 PM

Well, that's honest. He's a hoot when he does the late night talk show circuit. He's sharp.




I've posted before that I like Brand's stand up routine and his interviews. I saw some of his work before he got famous in the US. Strange, I would have thought that David Walliams would have been more famous then Brand.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 18th, 2011 at 7:40:35 AM

Johnny Depp Wants Russell Brand for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"?


But do we though?

I mean he did so well in "Arthur", that was such a BO succes.
jikae writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 4:50:50 AM

The main consensus from the other articles is that you guys collectively already hate the PoTC series so I suppose it was inevitiable that you wouldn't like Russell Brand to be possibly added to the cast. I think Russell Brand is perfect for this type of film. He brings enough quirkiness to add something.

But, one thing they need to do as they continue, don't add Orlando Bloom/Kierra Knightly-type useless side love story. They did it again in "Stranger Tides" and it was pretty much useless...again.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved