WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer: "The Thing" Prequel

Posted: July 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer: "The Thing" PrequelSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures has unveiled the official trailer for the prequel to John Carpenter's "The Thing," which stars Mary Elizabeth Winstead (Scott Pilgrim vs. the World) and Joel Edgerton (Animal Kingdom). Check it out below.

Plot: At an Antarctica research site, the discovery of an alien craft leads to a confrontation between graduate student Kate Lloyd (Winstead) and scientist Dr. Sander Halvorson (Ulrich Thomsen).

The new movie is directed by Matthijs van Heijningen Jr and is set to hit theaters on October 14th.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Source: Universal Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sc_kg writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:18:07 PM

Looks more like shot by shot remake with female lead, than prequel.
Bob82 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:20:02 PM

Is it me or this prequel looks exactly like a remake?
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:20:30 PM

So basically they took a claasic sci fi thriller featuring kurt russel (who owned), and replaced him with a screaming bitch from scott pilgrem?
Even for hollywood, thats just awful.
Sucks to see one of my all time favs be torn open and crapped on.
Bob82 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:21:00 PM

@sc_kg: HA! We thought of it and said it at the same time.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:23:34 PM

Btw how can this be a prequel when its set (i assume from the trailer) in modern day?
Couldnt they at least get a dude for the lead, like i dont know.... Someone relevant.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:25:54 PM

Horrible i hope it bombs
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:29:58 PM

I love how she just jumped to the conclusion that "some one wasn't who they seem" because some one got attacked. That would be like the bottom of my list of crazy ideas after I thought of logical explanations like some one else was with them. But this is Hollywood where rule number 2= f*ck LOGIC (Rule 1= the customer is always wrong).
Imation writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:32:17 PM

this will be good because of the norwegian actor's! :D
buttabean writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:36:12 PM

LAME!

I knew when they announced this it would be crap. Wasn't Ronald D Moore from battlestar galactic supposed to be making this?

*Edit* nevermind he just wrote the stupid thing.
Rambo writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:39:22 PM

where the hell is wilford brimley???
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:41:46 PM

Brimly not in it, than why would anyone go see it?
That scene whete he flips sh*t with the gun is still hilarious.
Rambo writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:45:54 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=la-3aIPHA9g
Evil_Disco writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 5:49:55 PM

Prequel?
Yeah. Right.
How stupid does Hollywood think movie-goers are?
It looks just like John Carpenter's The Thing, accept that they've replaced Kurt Russel with some.. Twilight chick..

Hollywood: From Sweden with Love - Go to Hell.
Cain writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:09:41 PM

Wonder how many movie goers will see the promo Poster, and think it's a fantastic four spinoff?
coldplayesence writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:15:22 PM

Whatever guys, I'm looking forward to it and I don't care if it bombs or sucks, i've been waiting for anything at least related to The Thing so I'm watching no matter what.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:22:11 PM

Suckers. You thought you were getting a prequel and instead they sneaked in a remake. lol


Gabriel: Have you ever heard of Harry Houdini? Well he wasn't like today's magicians who are only interested in television ratings. He was an artist. He could make an elephant disappear in the middle of a theater filled with people, and do you know how he did that? Misdirection.

Stanley: What the f*ck are you talking about?

Gabriel: Misdirection. What the eyes see and the ears hear, the mind believes.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:36:39 PM

^ yep, I was in denial when I tought it was a prequel, it does look like a remake.

And it's kind of ironic, the remake it's hidden in a prequel, it asimilated it haha

Anyway, like I said, I'll watch it no questions asked.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:39:14 PM

"And it's kind of ironic, the remake it's hidden in a prequel, it asimilated it haha"

That's f*cked up.
Sev writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:53:58 PM

The remake's assimilated the Prequel...dont trust it!!! :O


What a heap of f*ck! Dodgy CG as well on that dude's face, and Mary's dialogue "now I must say stuff that reminds you of Carpenter's movie, RAAAA!! f*ck you audience!"
PaulX7 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:14:09 PM

Haha. It's a prequel with exactly the same scenario as the original, so basically... it's just a remake! That being said, although I like some John Carpenter's movies, I must admit that what annoys me in his movies is the music (same indigestible music that gives me a headache all the time I watch Halloween or The Thing). One of the rare moments I might be excited about seeing a remake - again because the music in the original one really gets on my nerves...
The Tall Man writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:18:54 PM

For starters, this film fails in the manliness category. A female character should never have been written into the script.

minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:21:18 PM

"I must admit that what annoys me in his movies is the music (same indigestible music that gives me a headache all the time I watch Halloween or The Thing)"

You do know he did the music to many of his earlier films, right?

And while I'm impressed with Carpenter's spread of talent, most of his music, iconic in retrospect, is just f*cking awful and amateurish.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:25:56 PM

"For starters, this film fails in the manliness category. A female character should never have been written into the script."

You can blame James Cameron and Walter Hill for this sh*t.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:35:32 PM

After seeing this, i would rather go see a movie, when Doctor Doom mercilessly murders most of the Fantastic Four, and nearly kills the Thing, with the Thing forging a path of vengeance for his comrades, and ends up going on a Punisher-esque rampage through most of Latveria looking for Doom, until he eventually kills him and spends the rest of his days as a dairy farmer in Switzerland.
justintaylor9 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:36:42 PM

So a Remake of a Remake? Hollywood has completely ran out of unique ideas... You can't do any better than the special effects from the 80's remake with Kurt Russell and Wilford Brimley
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:45:22 PM

Wilford Brimley makes me want to eat oatmeal.
mattjudge62 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:26:37 PM

I like the trailer it seems to be alot like a remake then a prequel, I know I'll go and see it anyway
DAH1968 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:29:02 PM

Wow! That looks soooooooo good!

Yeah, I'm joking. It looks sh*te!
DAH1968 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:34:14 PM

And Hollywood wonder why cinema numbers are dwindling...??? STOP MAKING REMAKES,PREQUELS, 'RE-IMAGINGS' AND SUPERHERO BULLsh*t, YOU DUMB YANK BASTARDS!!! There is a wealth of new talent (scriptwriters!) waiting to have their voice heard.

I have finished :o)
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:19:16 PM

Mink- Oatmeal lol
I'll only see the b/c I love MEW.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:25:33 PM

What other reason is there?
Johnnyb writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:44:19 PM

Who ever said this was a prequel, was a MF liar! Just check out the trailer and you will see what Im talking about, is not a prequel is a f*cking REMAKE!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:59:59 PM

Isn't the prequel to this story when the alien... oh screw it... zzzzzz...
encoreyourface writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 11:32:19 PM

uhh ... don't we know how this ends? they all get slaughtered, roll credits play the original.also the acting looked really sh*tty, i couldn't even finish the trailer.
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 11:38:36 PM

Better than me. I didn't even watch the trailer.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 1:22:24 AM

So they have taken the best parts of "The Thing" and turned it into this bastard child.
jdl107 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 1:33:00 AM

God... it was painful to watch this. They turned an awesome concept (That still probably shoudn't have been used) and just turned it into a generic f*ckin' scream fest.

The original was strong because that isolated, paranoid atmosphere is what gave the film is scary edge, accompanied by the convincing acting. This is one is just teen thriller, hand-comes-out-of-nowhere-cue-shriek-music sh*t.

Damn...
trailertrash writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 3:07:51 AM

I think i will just watch The Thing again and maybe catch this on Sky at some point.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 4:20:13 AM

How many times do people wanna repeat the same point on this thread? It's a prequel not a remake hmmmmk?
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 4:26:49 AM

So what Universal Studios did was to copy the exact movie they did 29 years ago. What a stupid idea? Why remake this in the first place? Hollywood has run out of new ideas!!!
MrSnugglez84 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 4:52:25 AM

SPOILER ALERT: The Alien escapes as a Dog!!!!
Del writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 5:00:39 AM

i just want to defend Carpenters music, i thinks its great, sets the atmospheric tone of most of his films, 'halloween', 'assault on 13 precinct' etc. also the music in 'The Thing' was done by none other than Ennio Morricone who appartently wasnt happy with the final result, but nevertheless i still loved it and felt it suited the movie perfectly.

P.s This remake/prequel looks rubbish
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 9:50:42 AM

What did yall expect? If you saw the original you knew if they ever told the Norwegians' story that it would be very similar to the Americans' situation. Their story was layed out in the original in 5 minutes and you already know how it ends. I'm actually OK with the plot being the same for this prequel. The isolation of Antarctica and the paranoia was half of what made Carpenter's film great, and this film seems to play on both well. You all would have been bitching even more if they changed the setting and mood of the film, so give it a break. Its the creature itself (and the character's reactions to it) that made Carpenter's film an untouchable classic (probably the best monster/horror film ever made IMO). It will make or break this film too.
gunner writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 10:04:07 AM

Mary Elizabeth Winstead is the hottest woman on this planet.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 10:17:34 AM

True that^^^
charmed23 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 11:47:24 AM

Mary Elizabeth Winstead, I would go see any movie, just any, that you starred in. cant wait
Dre-EL writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 5:15:47 PM

not really impressed
PaulX7 writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 8:34:03 AM

I didn't know Carpenter did his own music for his earlier movies. Now that explains why... Maybe he should have hired a musician instead. That's my opinion anyway
Loui Balfour writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 1:26:22 PM

why can i never view anything now, thanks windows 7
iceskateuphill writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 11:32:01 PM

so if this is a prequel how come it looks all to similar to carpenters version and how come its just called The Thing in the trailer? shouldn't a prequel have a different name to differentiate from the original? anyways this does not look good
Philst79 writes:
on July 17th, 2011 at 4:12:41 PM

Cant believe i'm looking forward to this
citysims writes:
on July 18th, 2011 at 8:25:37 AM

SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS! SUCKS!
Frank_Castle writes:
on July 18th, 2011 at 9:23:10 PM

I'll deffinately see this.. pretty sure its either gona b bootleg though or wait for the DVD. :'
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 19th, 2011 at 3:03:26 AM

oddly enough mink is right..

Think about it.. in the original they got to antartica to find everyone dead. Then they get killed off 1 by 1. so "Lets make a movie about how the original people died" So... lets make a film about people going to antartica and getting killed off 1 by 1 by an alien... Same sh*t lol
puyen58 writes:
on July 25th, 2011 at 9:19:37 PM

Anone who watched the official teaser trailer and came to the conclusion that "this is more like a remake with a female lead" is an idiot. If you didn't like the trailer, fine. But at least be reasonable and base your comments on reality, and don't jump to unfounded conclusions. It is more reasonable to say, "I didn't like her delivery when she said such and such," or "I don't think she's a good enough actress to pull this off."

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved