WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Dark Knight" Writer Hired for "Godzilla" Reboot

Posted: July 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Dark Knight" Writer Hired for "Godzilla" RebootSubmit Comment
Back in January it was announced that Gareth Edwards (Monsters) has signed on to direct Warner Bros' upcoming "Godzilla" reboot. Now comes word that David Goyer (The Dark Knight, Batman Begins) will write the script.

Back in September, producer Brian Rogers compared the live-action 3D "Godzilla" reboot to "Batman Begins" in how that film rebooted the Batman franchise. Maybe that's why Goyer was hired.

Rogers also previously revealed that the new Godzilla will have other monsters to fight with. "I think I can safely say that there will another monster or monsters that Godzilla will fight," he said. "I think traditionally those are kind of situations that the fanbase wants to see."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:18:41 AM

Haha show Godzilla as a baby lizard witnessing his parents get their tails ripped off by some inconsiderate Japanese 5 year old. He then swears vengeance on all of humanity. Get him to fight classic monsters from other films: The monster from Cloverfield, stay puff marshmallow man, Chuck Norris etc.
nawtnt writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:33:40 AM

David Goyer is a great writer so let's hope the reboot will be good and scary like Cloverfield.

Godzilla is a legendary character so hopefully they don't mess it up like the 1998 version.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:44:06 AM

GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT :) JEE WHIZZ ITS ALL GREAT
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:35:21 AM

Chuck Norris Vs Godzilla

Doesn't seem too fair on the giant lizard does it
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:49:58 AM

Yea ferris bueller chases godzilla was f*ckin dumb.
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:50:40 AM

Can anybody tell how good David Goyer is as a writer? Except of course the movie, The Dark Knight, how does he fare when he writes scripts for other movies?
nawtnt writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:58:48 AM

David Goyer is bad as a director but still good as a writer.

Maybe Christopher Nolan and his brother Jonathan must of penned the script by themselves and Goyer must of did a bit writing on the script.

I just hope this reboot works because Godzilla is a legendary character and the film should be scary as Cloverfield.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:16:16 AM

Interesting, but Emmerich's movie was flawless, f*ck all the haters!!!







Hope you know I'm messing with everyone on this!
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:21:20 AM

Emmerich's movies suck, all of them. I wish he'd be banned from using a camera.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:39:12 AM

I know Trailer you'd have to slow down all of Chucks shots obviously and feed him virgins to stop him tearing the set apart but maybe Godzilla will last longer than 46 seconds...
bandolero999 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:44:14 AM

did they not learn from the first time?

leave Godzilla to the Japs please
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 1:49:34 PM

The problem with any Godzilla film is that you cannot make the entire movie about the damned monster. It's there just to tear things down and provide calamity and impetus. So you have to have humans around which to revolve the film, and that's where this sh*t almost always fails. The humans.

If you cannot write a script where the human interaction is compelling in isolation of the monster, then the film will fail no matter who many Roland Emmerich falling buildings you throw in.

The monster should serve to ignite the human behavior, and prod the story along at intervals, but the drama, the center, must reside squarely on the core human characters.

This is the one good reason Emmerich's idiotic film failed.

I just don't see any way of making it work well, and I fear they're going to repeat the original trope Emmerich employed much to our widespread dismay.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 1:50:29 PM

"leave Godzilla to the Japs please"

Three things the Japs are good at: Godzilla, getting nuked and vending machine underwear.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 1:51:26 PM

how, not who.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 1:58:47 PM

"The monster should serve to ignite the human behavior, and prod the story along at intervals, but the drama, the center, must reside squarely on the core human characters."

I agree to some extent. I'm a pretty Godzilla fan, so I actually prefer a pretty serious amount of destruction. I'd say the best way is to have a tight human story where the characters can get involved in the destruction sequences and keep us emotionally involved during the lulls (for pacings sake).

What lots of movies are missing these days is the aspect of metaphor. Zombie movies almost always act as metaphors, and the original Gojira was a metaphor for the nuclear bombings. I think if they can find a fitting metaphor (war, natural disaster, energy, etc.) then they can build a successful story around it.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 2:16:04 PM

"I'd say the best way is to have a tight human story where the characters can get involved in the destruction sequences and keep us emotionally involved during the lull"

Well, that's essentially what I suggested except that your take wouldn't leave any time to actually develop a story around the humans, and all we would have is essentially Transformers with giant green lizards instead of bright ugly robots.

I was thinking earlier that Cloverfield did actually get this right, whereas Emmerich's Godzilla did not, so I believe there's something to learn from the former film and nothing from the latter.

I just don't see though how Goyer thinks he can extend his Batman remake magic to Godzilla. I really don't believe his algorithm is that fluid and pliable that it can be extended from a well-established human superhero to a radiative lizard that knocks over buildings.

I guess we'll see.

"What lots of movies are missing these days is the aspect of metaphor. Zombie movies almost always act as metaphors, and the original Gojira was a metaphor for the nuclear bombings. I think if they can find a fitting metaphor (war, natural disaster, energy, etc.) then they can build a successful story around it."

That would require some aspect of intelligence, and if you hadn't noticed, there's not much to be had these days.

Sure, they could have Godzilla stand in for Congress and make New York a metaphor for America, but in order for that to work, folks here would have to be a bit more peeved at the overlords in Washington than they are, and then there's the aspect that currently, and for the foreseeable future, most films are international in distribution, whereas early zombie and Japanese Godzilla films were not.

So you then must discover and develop a metaphor that's broadly cross-cultural.

In the end, I think this Godzilla film will be more about big booms and sh*t exploding, and less about selling a message or exploiting a cultural anxiety. That's just not terribly profitable these days.
Preditorian writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 3:36:39 PM

bandolero999 writes:

did they not learn from the first time?

leave Godzilla to the Japs please

Um what the hell do you mean? Did 98 Godzilla suck hairy monkey balls? YES! Did it make ass loads of money? YES, around 400 million if memory serves.

Did you forget that the almighty hollywood is only about the $$, so with in mind why would there be any learning about the first film?

Money is money to them.

Preditorian writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 3:37:41 PM

*that in mind.... edit :(
Zippo writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 3:49:24 PM

REBOOT REBOOT REBOOT

I'm absolutely f*cking sick of that word. Does hollywood have to reboot everything? Jesus Christ, what's next, Transformers?

Oh wait...
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 3:55:24 PM

It's quite funny. The word reboot is derived from the actions of a mindless machine that restarts just so it can end up where it began.

Remind you of anything?
Zippo writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 4:32:21 PM

Actually, it does.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:35:31 PM

And what would that be?
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:03:23 PM

"Well, that's essentially what I suggested except that your take wouldn't leave any time to actually develop a story around the humans, and all we would have is essentially Transformers with giant green lizards instead of bright ugly robots."

Thing is, nobody goes to see a giant monster movie to watch the people bumble around with their bullsh*t drama. Theres a hundred million dramas to go see instead. You have to somehow concisely fit a proper character arc into it that doesn't distract from the awe inspired by a giant monster attack. Also, it does not need to be a 3 hour movie, like transformers. 110 minutes MAX.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:10:45 PM

I was actually more interested in a Voltron movie than this.
Oh the previous movie was panned by critics, and fans who watched it felt alienated, but instead of doing another sequel, since no one likes being sh*tted on twice, we'll wait a decade or so, and reboot it, so hopefully no one will remember the previous sh*tpile of sh*tty sh*t.

minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:40:39 PM

"Thing is, nobody goes to see a giant monster movie to watch the people bumble around with their bullsh*t drama."

Then you're going to get what people want: a loud obnoxious film with an idiotic gigantic lizard knocking sh*t down.

Alas, I'd like to think that someone out there, someone not Michael Bay or Roland Emmerich, is interested in making films for adults, not children, and I can only hope that that person makes this Godzilla movie.

"Theres a hundred million dramas to go see instead."

So one more wouldn't hurt, right?

"You have to somehow concisely fit a proper character arc into it that doesn't distract from the awe inspired by a giant monster attack."

Precisely the dilemma I mentioned above, which is why I said it likely can't be done...

"Also, it does not need to be a 3 hour movie, like transformers. 110 minutes MAX."

Yep. Keep the repetitive destruction taut for the ubiquitous short attention spans. I definitely agree with you there.

Zippo writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 12:19:55 AM

A zippo lighter? *shruggs*

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved