WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Battle: Los Angeles" Director to Helm Big-Budget Julius Caesar Film

Posted: July 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Battle: Los Angeles" Director to Helm Big-Budget Julius Caesar FilmSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has acquired a pitch for a big-budget film based on the general and Roman leader Gaius Julius Caesar that will be written by Chris Boal (writer of "23 Knives" play and brother of "The Hurt Locker" writer Mark Boal) and directed by Jonathan Liebesman (Battle: Los Angeles).

The new movie is not a biopic, but will cover the time in which Caesar was sent to Spain for a job no one else wanted. There, he built the 10th Legion fighting force that would eventually march on Rome, overrun the forces of his close friend-turned-rival Pompey, and establish Caesar as the unrivaled ruler of the empire.

The movie would end with Caesar's coronation, but leaves open the possibility of a second film, which would chronicle his trip to Egypt and eventual assassination.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PaulX7 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 5:39:02 AM

The plot sounds interesting. Let's hope the scenario and the directing will be good considering how rubbish "Battle: Los Angeles" was...
jdl107 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:03:45 AM

Jonathan Liebesman, are you f*ckin' serious? God... Battle: LA was a load of f*cking crap.
Rambo writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:18:27 AM

battle:LA was the worst movie of the year and one of the worst movies ever made.
jdl107 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:30:11 AM

Easily.
Johnnyb writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:56:24 AM

Looks to me after all, 300 left a great mark on every single movie after this..... I canīt imagine in some way Snyder interrupting in this one even in the directorīs chair. It doesnīt matter if he is doing "Man of Steel", he will find a way to enter in this one too....
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:02:22 AM

Johnnyb- Why would Snyder get involved just because he made a successful film about the Spartans? It's not like he has any right to say "hey I made a similar film let me join the production". If anything it's an excuse to stay away.
boogiel writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:05:26 AM

Hopefully, this wont be a flop like Colin Farrel's Alexander.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:55:49 AM

Sounds... Ok, a lot riding on who they cast. And although battle la was pretty lame story wise the action was pretty cool. There were far more sh*t movies than battle.
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 10:27:22 AM

Oh...

I thought this was a big budget 'Orange Julius' movie. But I'm sure that's being tossed around Hollywood like so many salads too.
rocketman writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 12:05:19 PM

Just put BattleLA in my bluray player not 5 mins ago......
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 12:40:40 PM

Battle LA was basically district 9 without the annoying political undertones. Dont know why so many hated it, sure the story was cookie cutter and the dialogue weak, but i was pretty entertained visually. The action was pretty well done and the acting was pretty ok. I wouldnt go buy it on dvd but it has some rewatch value.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 12:41:14 PM

Battle LA was basically district 9 without the annoying political undertones. Dont know why so many hated it, sure the story was cookie cutter and the dialogue weak, but i was pretty entertained visually. The action was pretty well done and the acting was pretty ok. I wouldnt go buy it on dvd but it has some rewatch value. Better than skyline anyway, that was garbage.
rocketman writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 12:53:46 PM

30 mins in and the action has started has just started,needs a bigger budget and it's cliche characters ahoy but i'm in....like me some war porn HUZAH
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 1:38:56 PM

Battle LA was one dumb-assed fun film. Great visuals, no doubt, but almost everything else just tanked. The dialogue was weak, the characterizations non-existent, the plot and story served only to advanced the repetitive set pieces, the music was manipulative and the concept was beyond stupid.

Why did aliens travel billion of miles/meters whatever just to engage humans in World War II style warfare? They had all that advanced technology, the kind of advanced technology that obviously allows them travel across the stars, but no nukes?

And how did the huge command center magically get buried underground? No one saw that happening? Reminds me of that Spielberg War of the Worlds nonsense. And then the military, Eckhart's character specifically, discovers how to destroy the aliens ala Independence Day, because any and all aliens coming to invade earth possess a hub-like command structure, and if you destroy the hub, naturally the entire alien army collapses.

The only thing the film did for me was make more real the imagery of humans engaging aliens in combat, and in that respect, Battle LA greatly exceeded even Avatar.
rocketman writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 1:54:53 PM

BA-LA is a beer/Persian rugs sorta film for late night on a Tuesday,can't be arsed to think brain switched off fall asleep half way through type film...
Wanted a true f*ck YEAH successor to Black Hawk,sads i d
rocketman writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 1:55:27 PM

....Didn't get it.^
rocketman writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 2:28:47 PM

@Mink yeah,it felt more immediate,but a little flat. Still OK guilty pleasure i guess.
rocketman writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 2:30:11 PM

^With regards to Avatar...soz little drinked :)
pornfly writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 2:49:13 PM

Wake me up when they 'reboot' Caligula
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 3:32:04 PM

Just do 'Nero and is Magical Fiddle', a Disney film.

And: Is that...Asterix? Saw the film. Great old school animation.
Elpomp writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:21:02 PM

Battle LA is just a movie ( A MOVIE!!!!!)for those of you who say "why don't the aliens use nukes?" well maybe because they are trying to use the planet and it's resources. Remember guys it's just a movie, don't try to dig to deep into it, if you don't like it don't watch it. and go choke yourselves too.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:48:05 PM

Yeah, they need the resources, but they don't f*cking need the humans or their building, right?

And if nukes are too much, they could use neutron bombs instead. But they're supposedly advanced, so why not have something a little less f*cking primitive and a bit more effective than hand to hand combat on Hollywood Boulevard?
Elpomp writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:52:56 PM

remember just a movie. Why don't you make your own version of it so everyone can tell you what a worthless piece of sh$t it is too. You can't please everyone.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:26:24 PM

Man, I f*cking wish I could make my own films, then I know I wouldn't have to watch trash.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 11:10:41 AM

This guy does realize a Julius Caesar movie will require a script with actual dialogue?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved