WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Evil Dead" Remake Officially Announced

Posted: July 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Evil Dead" Remake Officially AnnouncedSubmit Comment
We've been hearing talks of "The Evil Dead" remake for years. And now comes word directly from Sam Raimi's Ghost House Pictures that the remake is officially in development.

Fede Alvarez ("Panic Attack!" short) has been hired to direct the new film. And Oscar-winning screenwriter Diablo Cody (Juno) is currently re-writing the script. Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell are producing.

"We are committed to making this movie and are inspired by the enduring popularity and enthusiasm for the 'Evil Dead' series," said Raimi and Campbell in a statement. "We can't wait to scare a new generation of moviegoers using filmmaking techniques that were not available to us thirty years ago as well as Fede bringing a fresh eye to the film's original elements."

The original "Evil Dead" film tells the story of five friends who become holed up in a remote cabin where they discover a Book Of The Dead. An archaeologist's tape recording reveals that the ancient text was discovered among the Khandarian ruins of a Sumerian civilization. Playing the taped incantations, the youths unwittingly summon up dormant demons living in the nearby woods, which possess the youngsters in succession until only one is left intact to fight for survival.

Click here to read more about "The Evil Dead."

Source: Ghost House Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 5:00:46 AM

Officially A bad f*ckin idea !!
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 5:21:37 AM

"We can't wait to scare a new generation of moviegoers using filmmaking techniques that were not available to us thirty years ago"

Thats half the charm of the Evil Dead films (1st 2) the fact you felt like you were there in the cabin or the woods with all Uncomfortable camera angles and close ups, the monsters veiw moving around the woods and no CGI.

The more money they throw at this the worse it will be IMO

You want to scare a new generation of moviegoers, just release the original again.

c-prime writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 5:27:12 AM

"We can't wait to scare a new generation of moviegoers using filmmaking techniques that were not available to us thirty years ago..."

So, does that mean we should expect a more realistic looking tree-rape scene then?
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 5:31:15 AM

Yes it will be more PC the tree will wear a condom this time
ikleesdekrant writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 5:47:10 AM

Pfff, not only is it a mistake of biblical proportions to remake the best horror franchise of all time IMO, but they're letting a stripper write the script.. If you HAVE to do Evil Dead, f*ckin' do a sequel to Army of Darkness.
Rambo writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:10:28 AM

shop smart,shot s-mart...
c-prime writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:14:42 AM

@ trailertrash: Assuming Diablo Cody writes this script with a feminist hand, the rapeé will likely press assault charges against the forest in the conclusion. The judge sentences the lustful woods to death by clearcutting. The plaintiff and her family tearfully embrace in the courtroom - their nightmare is over. A team of lumberjacks swiftly commence felling every last hardwood in the small Tennessee region. A gargantuan shopping mall is constructed in the trees' stead.

Roll credits.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:25:22 AM

Evil Dead according to Diablo Cody: I'll swallow your pole! I'll swallow your pole!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:33:51 AM

Wow, this is terrible news. Maybe they'll add Michael Bay to the production as well to oversee all the car crashes and explosions. They should probably add a military influence also. Maybe some aliens too
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:44:16 AM

f*ckKKK OFFF YOU c*ntTTSSSS!!!! One film I never thought I'd see on WP with the words remake next to it. Hollywoods sitting there thinking "Who's laughing now... WHO'S LAUGHING NOW ARRGGGHHH!!"
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 6:47:28 AM

The only thing I'd be interested in is Evil Dead 4 bring Ash out of retirement, don't go down the CGI route but use the budget to make better models and make up and only use effects when necessary , there is no Evil Dead without Ash and if they try to use another actor they're f*cking themselves in the face!
thereviewer writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:09:35 AM

No no no no no no no... leave it. Leave it alone.
Johnnyb writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:15:38 AM

Let me remind you Raimi, it doesnīt mean nothing even Cody won an Oscar. Just look how she ruined with her cheesy stupid horror comedy "Jenniferīs Body" (even Fox was a mess) and United States of Tara, even conceived by Spielberg it was not enough to endure at last.....
lppinto writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:23:02 AM

Let's f*cking remake all cult classics.. that's why we are going to pirate all your f*cking crappy remakes.. thank you hollywood for your cheap entertainment..
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:50:16 AM

Nothing is sacred.
boogiel writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:54:19 AM

This movie will fail....big time.
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:58:50 AM

WTF is this again? A really moronic idea of another classic horror movie. What would they remake next? Deadly Friend movie? Stop with this please!!!!
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:00:01 AM

Can't Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell pursue another idea of a horror movie? Bruce Campbell, why would you produce a remake that you yourself was the lead character? Are you bankrupt enough to remake a classic movie? You have this tv series, Burn Notice. Make another horror movie please!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:06:26 AM

f*ck YOU! YOU f*ckING f*ckS!!
SACdaddy writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:18:39 AM

Lol, this actually would be the second remake of Evil Dead. Evil Dead 2 was already a remake of Evil Dead. They did it because they had a bigger budget, better effects, and nobody saw the original outside of a couple drive-thru moviegoers. Why the f*ck would they remake it AGAIN knowing that every cult horror fan has already seen the first two films? Oh yeah, more f*cking money! Its a shame Sam Raimi just doesn't seem to care anymore.

BadChadB33 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:18:46 AM

WHY GOD WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY??????????????
coldplayesence writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:25:03 AM

God help us all.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:37:38 AM

SAC- Yep, plus all the other cast members walked off set in Evil Dead one hence Bruce Campbell being the last survivor for ages and 2 of the actors deaths happening really randomly. I never liked Army Of Darkness with the skeletons but Ash made it watchable, sadly fat bald ash won't have the same charisma.
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:49:15 AM

Evil Dead 2 was 1st part re-tell from the 1st movie because they couldn't get the rights to use footage from the original Evil Dead.

Then the story carried on, thats how i remember it anyway.

Agree on Army Cinema that was sh*t
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:51:21 AM

c-prime LOL nice

bandolero999 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:59:53 AM

Bruce Campbell will be always known for his Evil Dead movies and Spiderman 3 second cameos.How do you pay the bills Bruce?
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 10:06:00 AM

Hey dont forget Maniac Cop Band i always liked that movie.

They killed him at the start of part 2 and Robert Davi took over they were crap

And of course Bubba Ho-Tep, He should have made a sequel to that movie for sure.
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 10:11:19 AM

And he was in one of the best later episodes of The X files Terms of Endearment.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 10:27:44 AM

Yeah I don't think it was an official remake because they continued the story but Ash seemed to be oblivious of the previous events.

Bruce became a famous B- Movie actor, I don't think he ever wanted to be famous of even an actor did he, he was just Sams childhood friend who shared his vision. Like trailer said he made Bubba Ho Tep which was f*cking hilarious and My Name Is Bruce where he takes the piss out of himself. He was also one of my favourite characters in Xena and Hercules he's done enough to get by Bando.
rabid writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 10:41:17 AM

I love it when idiots flip out as if their memories are being pissed on. Nobody is going to destroy all original copies. You can still buy and own those, so a new take doesn't hurt anything. It merely opens up the concept for a new modern audience who doesn't feel like watching the terrible $500 student film project version by Raimi.
Is it a classic? without a doubt. But it's still a horribly made film.
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 10:42:06 AM

Your right there Cinema he's a reluctant movie star.

They are old buddies and Sam used Bruce in early short films he made because Bruce was better looking than anyone else, Thats how he told it on that J.Ross show i was telling you about the other week.
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 10:44:37 AM

Phew thank god they won't be destroying all the old copies of Evil Dead when they make this new movie.

Thanks for clearing that up rabid.
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 10:48:32 AM

I just think people don't want to see a film they have enjoyed for years get the Hollywood remake treatment and it ends up like the piece of Nightmare On Elm St from last year.

But let me guess Rabid you enjoyed that right ?
trailertrash writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 10:53:57 AM

Psycho
Halloween
The Hitcher
The Fog
Wicker Man


Just a few i can think of the world could have done without
PaulX7 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 10:56:52 AM

Can't believe Sam Raimi himself agrees with that stupid idea. Almost as stupid as George Lucas who changed original scenes in the original Star Wars trilogy. Pfff.... They already have more money than they can spend even if they lived another 10 lives, so no need to do that...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 11:08:30 AM

Rabid shut the f*ck up, imagine if someone remade one of your classic Batman comic books and turned Bruce Wayne into a bum bandit f*cking Robin up the ass and changing his suit to pink fighting for gay rights. Tell me you wouldn't be slightly pissed off. Evil Dead doesn't need to be remade!! It's timeless and beautiful as it is, what other reasons are there to remake it except money?? I mean I get Peter Jacksons King Kong bringing us special effects that they didn't have when the original was out. But what makes Evil Dead so good are the crappy effects and the crazy shots. So shut your mouth and get a jab.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 11:35:03 AM

Raimi needs to find a new project, hasn't he learned scary movie remakes/reboots always suck? always!
maddasahatter writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 12:11:26 PM

Wonder what they will do for the tree f*cking scene? Any ideas guys?
Shop Smart, shop S-Mart.
maddasahatter writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 12:12:52 PM

Sorry that wasn't PC at all I meant the Dendrophilia scene.
It's coming right for her.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 12:54:27 PM

"Assuredly Diablo Cody will write this script with a heavy feminist hand"

Fixed.

lmao@Cinema.

"Yes it will be more PC the tree will wear a condom this time"

More bark, less bite then.

"but they're letting a stripper whore write the script"

Fixed.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 1:08:47 PM

all these remakes and reboots...every time hollywood does stuff like this, they become less and less professional to even dumb americans that are easily entertained
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 1:21:07 PM

but oh well, let the people involved in these remakes honestly think their sh*t is so legendary, especially when they take credit for other people's performances...do they honestly believe fans think the remakes are so much better? yes, but the problem is, we actually don't...oh well
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 2:58:20 PM

Rabid.....ur an idiot....evil dead is no way a horribly made film!!

I'm a huge fan of the originals, I'm game for a modern version...although Bruce Campbell was a bit reason why they worked so well, his comic acting will be hard to replace..although Im interested to see what they come up with
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:04:57 PM

Don't remake it unless you're gunna have Sam Raimi direct, and make it even ballsier than the original, and try to bring it as close to NC-17 as possible.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:07:12 PM

I can already picture the horror movie remake line up for next year...
ThanksKilling
Troll
BasketCase
They Live....
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:22:19 PM

House.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 7:23:29 PM

People Under the Stairs.

Shocker.
mattjudge62 writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 8:21:50 PM

the original was great there are scenes in the movie that still give me the chills I can only hope the reboot is better then the original
Tyrkae writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:23:49 PM

Can they just make a new movie with Evil Dead themes in it with a diffrent name and i think the movie will be ok just not epic like it has to be
encoreyourface writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 11:49:15 PM

if it doesn't have Bruce Campbell it automatically gets a mediocre score in my book.
maddasahatter writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 11:57:29 PM

"Yes it will be more PC the tree will wear a condom this time"
More bark, less bite then."
Well put good sir, well put.
struck21 writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 7:04:20 PM

These movies were not good for the script or the graphics or the acting. They were GREAT for what they were all around. To try to remake them, you would lose one or more elements that made them what they are. Replacing Bruce Campell is near impossible. I am guessing it will be heavy in CGI, huge mistake if they do.

I can't find enough words to explain fully why this is a horrid idea. One that will drive fans away. I honestly hope the idea falls through before Raimi and Campell ruin their greatest works.
Raider writes:
on July 15th, 2011 at 10:50:37 PM

Dear Hollywood

Just where do you get off remaking this movie? Are you not aware that The Evil Dead series is one of the most respected horror films around? This is one of the many horror films you should'nt touch, Right up with The Godfather. The fact that you lack originality and are that retarded to remake movies that dont need to be is just ridiculous not to mention overly pointless. And by the way we the users on this fine website no EXACTLY what your dumb plan is. You'll probably find some faggy looking actor to portray ash. and then you'll come up with this halfassed excuse like "oh well you see we were doing this for the fans" Well I have news for you The fans dont want a remake we want a fourth installment! no remake. we didnt want the elm street remake and we certainly dont want this especially. To even joke about remaking this fine film is blasphemy. So tonight I shake my head slowly as i hear this terrible news.

Raider
SACdaddy writes:
on July 16th, 2011 at 10:05:28 PM

The only thing remakes are good for is advertisement for the original film. That being said they would be much better off just doing a 4th installment to the series. Nothing's wrong with an old Ash. Bruce proves on Burn Notice that he's still got all the charm and talent he had back in the day. Raimi proved that his old low budget crazy camera techniques still worked when he gave us Drag Me to Hell a couple years ago. That movie was GREAT! The only thing it lacked was Campbell. Raimi just needs to remember what made the series famous if he wants to advance it, and that's low budget high concept camerawork and Bruce f*cking Campbell.

@Rabid: I can't speak for anyone else, but I hate these remakes because I just think they lack respect for the artform and are a huge waste of money. Film should be an ever evolving product, and I have a problem with anything that stands in the way of that evolution. Remakes almost by definition regress. They rely on old ideas and concepts as their platform, not new more creative ways to advance the product. That makes them extremely lazy in my book. Don't get me wrong, Hwood used to make great remakes and modern adaptations, just not lately. The Thing, The Italian Job, and Ocean's Eleven are just a few examples of remakes that were better than their predecesors. But these films noticably put more effort in creating a better product than the original. They utilized established directors, higher budgets, and better talent in general to make better films. Name a remake in the last 6 years that's used that formula. When's the last time the remake has been better than the original?

I say it a huge waste of simply because it is. If your not gonna spend the time and effort to make a better product then your money wasted. Most of these remakes lately BOMB at the BO, but Hwood just keeps on making them. From a business standpoint this is the definition of insanity. Try something f*cking new for a chance and at least you can say you tried to put the money to good use.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved