WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Chris Pine is Top Choice for "Robocop" Remake

Posted: July 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Chris Pine is Top Choice for "Robocop" RemakeSubmit Comment
The upcoming "Robocop" remake is a high priority for MGM. Brazilian director Jose Padilha (Elite Squad) was recently hired and now the studio is looking to cast an actor to play the lead, a near-death police officer who becomes a powerful cyborg cop haunted by his memories.

Twitch has learned that Chris Pine (Unstoppable, Star Trek) is MGM's top choice to play Officer Alex J. Murphy/Robocop. This is a surprising choice, since Pine is a full decade younger than Peter Weller was back in the 1987 original film.

Padilha has yet to approve the choice, so things can still change. And there is still plenty of time for things to change, since the remake is set to hit theaters in 2013.

Source: Twitch


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 4:19:34 AM

come with me or there will be...
telur writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 4:31:42 AM

RoboCop is like Iron Man with police job
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 4:50:14 AM

The original 1987 Robocop was good, but the other 2 sequel was not good. How would Chris Pine fit into this role? Will he suffocate? The actor, Peter Weller almost suffocated while wearing the Robocop costume. That is if my memory serves me right.
Sev writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 5:07:45 AM

Bad choice!!
bandolero999 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 6:13:52 AM

Hes too pretty and soft to be a Robocop.Detroit is one vicious city they'll eat him up for breakfast.He looks more like San Francisco or Beverly Hills police material.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 6:14:47 AM

Let's hope it changes so much that they don't do it in the end.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 6:30:20 AM

How would Chris Pine fit into this role? Will he suffocate? The actor, Peter Weller almost suffocated while wearing the Robocop costume

I'm sure technology and funding has increased enough to let him wear a new suit or they'll probably just do it with CGI.

At least now he has an excuse to act like a robot.
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 7:13:52 AM

@Cinemaisdead:Back in the day, it was reported that Peter Weller, the actor portraying Robocop suffocated while being under the steel. But you're right, it would be an excuse for him to act like a robot.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 7:45:32 AM

Kinda soft for robocop, but when it comes to another remake, who gives a sh*t. Another 5 dollar dvd bin movie.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 8:52:05 AM

God I hope this never happens, he should be playing Nathan Drake and that's it.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 8:58:08 AM

I'm not arguing with that I'm just why you think it would happen again 30 years later when the budget has increased for a better suit and CGI is the route most film makers go down?
boogiel writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 9:00:16 AM

Chris Pine as Robocop? Nope. Fail!
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 9:01:36 AM

YES another remake :(P) not! f*ck the remakes!
trailertrash writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 9:21:38 AM

Sam Worthington would be perfect don't you think Trueman
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 9:40:38 AM

Micky rourke.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 9:55:41 AM

TT- Don't get Trueman started lol
I don't see Pine getting 2 franchises.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 10:21:21 AM

Mickey is a way better choice over Pine (although Pine did a fab. job in Star Trek... but that's another ball of wax).

@SSG - The Robo costume wasn't steel my friend... it was vacuum-formed plastic with a plastic chrome finish.

And already said... the first was CLASSIC... whilst the sequels AND TV show sucked farts outta dead cows! Sweet Jesus were they ever bad!

I'm up for this 're-make' (ugh!). If... IF they do this Matrix-like, 21st century, money well spent kind of a thing. The first was campy. Make this one realistic and nasty!

ED209 wanna f*ck with Robo? Maybe Robo will f*ck up ED BIG TIME (but to pay homage to the original, leave in ED's pig squeals... priceless)!
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 10:35:21 AM

I could see a ironman/die hard mash up possibly working. Get keeanu to play him, it be casting heaven.

"i know kung foo", "stop, in the name of the law".
nawtnt writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 10:42:51 AM

Chris Pine as Robocop?

He was great in Unstoppable but I think he is not that great of a actor yet, he is still young but if he is picked to play the role then I hope he does a great job in the role.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 11:00:42 AM

Mickey Rourke looks like melted cheese these days
c-prime writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 11:16:10 AM

"Chris Pine is Top Choice for 'Robocop' Remake"

Eh, fine by me. Pine's perfect. The guy's performances are some of the stiffest, most apathetic and mechanical acting I've witnessed in recent years.
Cannon writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 12:10:21 PM

Pine’s alright. I actually think he’s one of the few young stars, unlike Tatum, who’s got some genuine screen charisma. But if they’re gonna' have him play RoboCop then they should probably take the premise in a whole new direction. They should probably do that anyways. Better yet, make something else altogether--that isn’t RoboCop.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 12:54:33 PM

f*ck me. You people easily and happily accepted this pretty boy idiot as the galaxy's greatest hero, but now you say he can't play a garbage-can wearing veggie cop? Give me a f*cking break.

And f*ck this choice. Chris Pine SUCKS. Carriers, Unstoppable, Star Trek, he ruins everything he touches. Get him the f*ck out of the project and hire a real actor with a fully descended set of balls.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 1:01:14 PM

Mink you forgot just My luck with Lindsay the virgin Lohan.

Why not cast Jason Statham since he's Hollywood's last action hero.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 1:13:27 PM

Never saw that trash, Bando. I can't stand Pine. Couldn't stand him in Star Trek where he seemed to demand the entire film be about him and his looks.

There's so many better actors out there that, if you just MUST reboot Robocop to dig your buried ass out of bankruptcy, you should never have to settle for someone so untalented as this hack boytoy.

I mean, did he test for the role, or did MGM just shoot a wad when he showed up for the audition? Like, OMG, it's him, it's Chris Pine, we have to have him because we have to have some pretty face in our whore-out turd reboots and garbage remakes because we're such a sh*tty-assed film company we can't help but go tits up ten times in five years.

MGM should have just died when they had the chance and sold off the rights to all their once great titles to far more competent people that still have enough brain matter to use them properly.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 1:20:46 PM

You can blame the women for having the pretty boys as the lead actors.they dont care If they can act or not just like them for their physique.Just look at Chris Evans do you think he'll pull a Steve Mqueen in Cpt América hell no.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 1:24:12 PM

@mink - Pine was just playing on Kirk's ego, looks, voice and mannerisms... as we all knew he had in The Academy. I thought he did a good job mimicking Kirk (as did Quinto as Spock, not to mention Bones McCoy).
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 1:41:42 PM

Kirk didn't act that way. He had more polish and charm. We has a true classical hero, not some snot-nosed little punk who thought the universe owed him something because his daddy died, and that's how the writer's chalked it up too. His dad died and Kirk became a different person, and yet somehow managed, through this preposterous Rube Goldbergian plot contrivance, to end up helming the Enterprise.

They should have let it alone, but no, they had to reboot the series for the Bieber Generation. And the motherf*cker doesn't even look or talk anything like a young William Shatner.

I won't go into Quinto, except to say that he did alright in fits, but his characterization was way, way off from Roddenberry's vision of the perfect alien, and if you're a Trek fan as you say, you'll understand what I mean concerning both.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 1:48:12 PM

+was.
rabid writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 1:48:35 PM

of course Mink hates it. He's like the opposite of Mikey the cereal boy.
I think Pine's a decent choice. I wouldn't mind seeing a direct reboot of it over a continuation. The costume definitely needs an update.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 1:50:28 PM

The new star trek was fun to watch, and the story although swiss cheese like was decent. They could have done a lot worse. This was a re-imagined star trek while still keeping the main principles in tact. Accept change or get left behind. Just like connery they'll never be another bond. As with shatner, but the kids got personality... Which is a lot more than most the new faces in hollywood. Almost all his movies (recent) are over 85% on RT. how exactly that crap? It isnt.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 1:58:02 PM

Of course you would like it, Rabid, because it was written for comicbook-reading children. You you've liked it even more if Kirk had been wearing spandex and showing off his crotch bump, I bet.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 1:59:57 PM

@mink - it was an 'alternate universe' story (with Vulcan blowing up). And we were all a lot more snot-nosed when we were younger. Years tend to mellow a person out.

So being a huge skeptic of Star Trek with Pine and others... I did like it.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 2:02:29 PM

"They could have done a lot worse."

It's funny that your attitude is always 'they could have done a lot worse', yet you champion a man like Nolan who, according to your own words, takes precisely the very opposite attitude.

I'm glad Cameron didn't go through his career making mediocre trash, saying, "well hell boys and girls, I could have done a lot worse, so what's the problem?". Or Leonardo da Vinci, for an example outside of cinema.

Because aiming for average is always an excuse, right? Just ask rabid. It's his dream. Along with a Wolvie, Sabretooth and Gambit gangbang.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 2:06:49 PM

"@mink - it was an 'alternate universe' story (with Vulcan blowing up). And we were all a lot more snot-nosed when we were younger. Years tend to mellow a person out."

lol. Come on, there couldn't have been more than a ten year difference between TOS Kirk and the 2009 Kirk. Trust me, people don't radically change personalities in ten years unless they get hit by bus.

And yeah, it was an 'alternate universe' which was a nice, neat catch-all for doing an incredible amount of silly sh*t. Such an alternate universe even the Romulans looked like the guys from American Chopper.

Gene Roddenberry would have sh*t a brick if he knew what they were doing to his vision, but luckily the poor bastard croaked before they could rape him alive.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 2:08:01 PM

+a +in
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 2:35:35 PM

The whole notion of remaking Robocop sickens me. 80s/90s-era Verhoeven material is some of the best of that time frame. Let me guess- they're gonna take a top-notch allegory about technology and humanity and dumb it down into some boneheaded action flick.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 2:47:37 PM

Yea cause camerons ripoff (avatar) and plot holed terminators are genius works. Lets face it, it could have ruined the franchise yet what did it do? as i recall it brought it back, for non trekkies and trekkies to enjoy. Than again there are the minks of the world who hate everything unless its exactly what they want. So you dislike nolans batman, the new star trek, and essencially ( from what i see) every movie ever made. Star trek was awesome. Stop hating cause it wasnt like the old boring ones. Hating something just cause its new and different, you sound like a grumpy old f*ck trying to open his email box. Go jerk it to wrath of khan and leave us alone mink. You are seriously the biggest debbie downer i've ever seen on a comment thread. Your condescending grammer sh*t is so old. Its a damn internet comment threa yet you treat it like your grading a godamn 8th grade book report (which god forbid you ever did, that paper would have more *sshole critiques and corrections than one of your posts).you think your some kind of genius overlord, yet you come off as uber creepy. You look sh*t up ob wiki and pass it off as mink knowledge, its quite obvious and pathetic. Keep your miserable comments to yourself (which lets face it, you neve will) and your cornball humor away. You have the personality of a turkey sandwich and think your hot stinking sh*t. You are a failure as a human and as a troll.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 2:48:56 PM

The original was never the meditation of man and machine people claim to remember, either. It was mostly grimy action, not shot terribly well, with moments of exploration into his remaining shattered humanity.

Admittedly, that's more than you'll get today.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 2:58:14 PM

What Star Trek 2009 did what make the name marketable again. That's all.

Because people like you couldn't give a sh*t about the themes explored throughout the series, especially during TNG where real issues were debated and considered, like whether machines can ever be sentient and the legal ramifications of machine replication. Issues that have a bearing on our future. Blowing up Vulcan with red matter and tattooed freaks in laughable warships that looked like they were ripped from rejected Babylon Five scenes isn't ponderous or eighty sci-fi. It's fodder for inferior minds. Like yours, if it exists.

"Yea cause camerons ripoff (avatar) and plot holed terminators are genius works"

Don't care for Avatar. That's more your style. Coloring book aliens and floating mountains. Nickelodeon sh*t for you, I think.

And the first two Terminator films speak for themselves. They need not my defense.

"Than again there are the minks of the world who hate everything unless its exactly what they want."

And there's the people of the world like yourself who inveterately hate people that aren't illiterate simpletons.

I'll take being me, thank you very much.

As for the endless remaining stream of unbroken insults...SNIP.

Have a nice, hot day.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 2:59:27 PM

-what +was
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 3:04:40 PM

Dude, seriously go jump off that high ass horse. I knew youd babble some trekkie nonsense about voyeger or some sh*t. Your the ceo, chairman, and president of TOOL inc.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 3:35:20 PM

^^And you'd like to buy some penny stock, apparently.
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 3:41:12 PM

Well, then, my work here is done.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 4:08:06 PM

Mink, you tireless job of being a know it all prick is never done. Troll on.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 4:16:05 PM

I don't know. Pine has the jaw for the role but his voice is a little juvenile if you ask me. There are so few roles that are made for Keanu Reeves, but this seems almost perfect for his talents (or lack there of). I could actually see him being a much better fit.

Oh and the original Robocop was pure 80s genius! Don't get it twisted, that film blows away anything I've seen in the last 10 years. Wtf happened to Verhoven anyway?
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 4:17:17 PM

"Troll on."

Thank you, kind master.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 5:16:53 PM

SAC- I don't think Keanu wants to get type cast any more. Saw him in A Scanner Darkly the other day and wonder how he even got a job as an actor. He's not even 1 dimensional more like a half. I could see Michael Fassbenders chin in the robocop suit.
iceskateuphill writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 5:44:23 PM

peter weller did an awesome job as the charismatic murphy and the rather dry by comparison robocop and while chris pine is very charismatic, and i enjoy him as an actor, can he also portray the robocop in that way?
minkowski writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 7:18:38 PM

Chris Pine is no Peter Weller. Hell Chris Pine is no Chris Pine. Weller owned that film, and always will. Pine can go f*ck a goat.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 8:23:44 PM

Okay, I admit that I may be overreaching when I talk about the allegorical strength of the original RoboCop. But unlike most directors of action flicks, Verhoeven always managed to get SOME point of view in there. Something of substance. Same for Total Recall, and Starship Troopers- Verhoeven was able to make gory action popcorn flicks that had at least one more layer to them beyond the explosions. Which, considering the general landscape for action cinema, is a real credit to his directorial skill. I think its a tragedy that these studios are crapping all over these films for a quick buck.
bill the butcher writes:
on July 14th, 2011 at 9:40:53 AM

cillian murphy
would be perfect as robocop
in INCEPTION he had that haunted
look about him
and he even looks like peter weller

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved