WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Is This the Future of Movies?

Posted: July 12th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Is This the Future of Movies?Submit Comment
Director DJ Caruso (I Am Number Four, Disturbia) and actress Emmy Rossum (The Day After Tomorrow) are developing a new film called "Inside" that will incorporate the audience by weaving elements of social media into the story. Check out the trailer below.

With social media being as popular as it is, filmmakers, studios and movie theaters have been looking for new ways to get fans involved in order to create a more interactive experience. One theater lets movie-goers text messages about the film which show up on the screen throughout the screening. But Caruso is taking this a step further.

He is actually working fan YouTube submissions, and Facebook and Twitter messages into the story to help the main character (Rossum) piece together her mystery. The whole thing definitely sounds interesting, but will movie-goers want to see some amateur YouTube videos in a movie? Who knows, but it worked for Ridley Scott's "Life In a Day." To get involved, visit the film's official site.

Plot: "Inside" revolves around Christina (Rossum), a 20-something girl who has been trapped in a room and left with a laptop and an untraceable Internet connection. Scared with no idea of what awaits her, she mobilizes her social network to help disseminate clues to figure out where she is being held and hopefully rescued.

Question: Will an interactive experience make movies more enjoyable for you?

Trailer:


Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 5:56:29 AM

"Is This the Future of Movies?"

God, I hope not!

"'Inside' revolves around Christina (Rossum), a 20-something girl who has been trapped in a room and left with a laptop and an untraceable Internet connection. Scared with no idea of what awaits her, she mobilizes her social network to help disseminate clues to figure out where she is being held and hopefully rescued."

She has access to the Internet and she decides to check her Facebook? ......

And I know the following comment will show up later on, but I thought I would just go ahead and say it: I want to be "Inside" of Emmy Rossum.
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 5:57:50 AM

PS - f*ck 3D.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 5:59:39 AM

No.

First of all, the description above doesn't make it sound interactive at all. It gives fans the chance to contribute to the final product, a product that will be shown in its entirety for an audience. Interactive to me is when you get the chance to participate during a showing, which has been experimented on before. I have never attended any of those, but the footage I have seen look very bad.

But I don't think this is the future, this is just PR. If you have been on the site, you can see that they are clearly promoting Toshiba and Intel. And even if this weren't a commercial, I would have said no. Some wannabe filmmakers would surely appreciate the opportunity, but in the end it wouldn't lead anywhere.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 6:05:32 AM

^ agreed, my idea of the future of movies would have to be more 'last action hero'-ish...if we all had a magic golden ticket that makes our movie world a reality, i would say that is the future of movies, UNFORTUNATELY none of us will ever get that...still, last action hero was one of the first movies to dive into that sort of idea or bring that idea back to life
Johnnyb writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 6:32:34 AM

When does porn interactive comes¿?
beepboop writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 6:37:57 AM

No. Videogames become more cinematic and if something becomes an interactive movie, it will be a videogame.
Facebook and Twitter messages aren't interactive, you just interfere with the enjoyment of other movie goers.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 7:06:03 AM

This can't be the future of movies because we already have this technology and no one has figured out a successful way of using it. Having random people message stuff in while a movie is playing is only going to end in disaster since the most popular age demographic for the cinema is teenagers. You think they'll take it seriously or just write "I wanna bum you!!" Movies are supposed to be art, an escape from reality through somebody else's vision. It's like having a book with a blank chapter saying "write what you want to happen next". I just don't see it working or increasing viewers enjoyment in any way.

beeppoop makes a good point. When technology is advanced enough and consoles are powerful enough to run games that are ultra-realistic down the even the persons face. You can put yourself as the protagonist alongside other movie stars and make your own decisions that influence the outcome of the movie. Obviously you would be limited in a number of ways but if done well it could be more intense than any film.
Big_Daddy writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 8:15:56 AM

Cool idea if it works but it doesn't so its not and never will be.

Johnnyb writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 6:32:34 AM
When does porn interactive comes¿?


those would be "short" films
bandolero999 writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 8:16:58 AM

movies from Hollywood are just getting worse by the minute.more Avatard sequels,more Sandler Jack and Jill movies,Pirates,Channing Tatum.
Brody writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 8:43:45 AM

Whatever shall be 'the future of film' it WILL NOT come from DJ Caruso.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 8:44:56 AM

The Alamo Drafthouse theater here in Austin has these interactive texting films probably about twice a month. They pick a really crappy movie like Twatlight and allow you to text your jokes and your hate for the film for fun. Its all a big joke and kind of funny but gets boring real quick. I don't see this being the future in any major way.

The Alamo actually has something cooler as far as being able to interact with the movie. Sometimes they show old school action films like Commando and add their own effects to them. They have pyrotechnics in the theater that go off during big explosions and they give they audience cap guns to shoot during gunfights. They also have Sing-alongs (for films like Mama Mia or Rocky Horror), Quote-alongs (for films like The Big Lebowski and Office Space), and many other fun things to beef up the movie experience.

All this is quirky and somewhat entertaining but not what I would consider the future of the industry. If you really want to interact with a film or a narrative, just pick up a FPS videogame. They're basically interactive films now and are definitely more entertaining than anything DJ Caruso could come up with.

If you're ever make sure to catch a flick at the Alamo. You won't be disappointed.

http://drafthouse.com/austin
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 9:39:12 AM

SAC- That sounds quite mad everyone quoting Big Lebowski haha and all the cap gun and pyrotechnics bit would never be allowed in england it's like a health and safety advisor's worst nightmare.
Kurskij writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 9:45:02 AM

Reminds me of Antoine Fuqua's "The Call" from 2006.

"Hollywood goes to Internet", "John Malkovich stars in a HWood picture to premiere in Net", "The Call is the future of movies?"

And it was just an expensive commercial for Pirelli. Also a short.
Bunny X writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 10:04:58 AM

What the hell is this?!?!?! Those MadLibs books made into a movie?!?! Spare me.
NunYoBusiness writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 10:16:13 AM

No, I already go to very few movies because of the Richard Heads who insist on using their cellphones or talking during movies. This is one sure way for Hollywood to lose even more money , stop now before it is to late.
trailertrash writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 10:32:29 AM

Try this with The new Twilight movie and we can all text in

"Kill the bitch and end this franchise"
trailertrash writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 10:36:02 AM

Cinema-

At the Empire it's all the hoodies with their BB Guns, Red dot lights and flick knives, Heath and Safty don't bother with Basildon, lol
trailertrash writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 10:38:03 AM

This sounds like it would be better incorporated into some theme park attraction than a movie going experience.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 11:11:28 AM

TT-lol
I wake up to this? This isn't the future of sh*t!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 11:56:39 AM

Trailer- At least there's comfortable seats though, you should see Movie Starr in Canvey it's like sitting in 1970 on wooden benches for an hour and a half.
Rambo writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 12:53:40 PM

I was bored by this article and stopped reading it after 2 sentences.
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 1:05:32 PM

No sh*t. As soon as they said social something or another I tuned out.

People want escapism with films, not internet interactivity. They go to turn the brains off, not turn them on for a trip to Facebook.

The future of films is, first, true photorealism, with fully digital characters as believable as real people, as seen in Avatar. Then next phase will be something I can't quite predict, but expect a revolution in both games and films with a convergence and or confluence between the two.

3D, fortunately, is just a fad, with some irritating longevity, cynically intending to make films more lucrative via the theatrical and retail markets, and once saturation is reached, I expect a drop off as cost of 3D exceeds expected profits. Won't be for a long while though, thanks to the James Cameron's spearheading.
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 1:07:22 PM

-the
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 1:13:37 PM

'...a 20-something girl who has been trapped in a room' --- I don't think it's wrong that sentence gave me an erection.
Maacho writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 1:47:03 PM

Well, if I was a total moron and hated movies, Then this would be very enjoyable...
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 2:15:37 PM

"and an untraceable Internet connection"

There's no such thing, and in fact, the very way the internet works makes it virtually impossible to not find a user (or in the case of WP trolls, a L-user), unless the ISP deletes their records constantly, which is a violation of the law in most places.

"Will an interactive experience make movies more enjoyable for you?"

Just talking about the possibility has ruined this article, so what do you think?

"With social media being as popular as it is"

Popular with children under the ages of 40, you mean.

Facebook, twitter, myspace? Don't have one. I'd throw my cellphone way if there was another way to call hookers.

"filmmakers, studios and movie theaters have been looking for new ways to get fans involved in order to create a more interactive experience."

Translation: people with money are looking to make more money by finding ways into your wallet.

"One theater lets movie-goers text messages about the film which show up on the screen throughout the screening."

This is, without a doubt, the worst idea in the entire history of the human race, and I imagine, if you had on hand the entire history of several technological extraterrestrial civilizations in addition, it would still be the worst idea across them all, even worse then the idea of an ejector seat on a helicopter. Even worse than:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MIfJQ3a7e1E

"Scared with no idea of what awaits her, she mobilizes her social network to help disseminate clues to figure out where she is being held and hopefully rescued."

So, basically Buried with the added addition that all the idiots in the audience will be ruining the otherwise already awful films with both the clattering of their electronic toys and the rattling of their already empty minds.
God writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 2:41:15 PM

Movies have no future, and neither do any of you. Just a heads up.
Kurskij writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 3:17:08 PM

"...a 20-something girl who has been trapped in a room"

Movie idea for Hollywood. Casual friday for Ranger.

Dr. ∞ writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 3:40:27 PM

The future of movies is texting? So the future after that is what, sexting? Sounds good to me.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 4:21:50 PM

The future of movies will be Mink with a megaphone and laserpointer standing in front of the theatre telling everone his opinion of every actor, director, best boy, and plot twist in the film. Mink-o-vision!
Dr. ∞ writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 5:40:51 PM

There's always the alternative broadcast: you in the background wearing a pink skirt, in pig-tails, vagina full of blood, whining and crying about my opinion: Troll-O-Vision.
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 5:52:54 PM

Well, well, well my evil twin has arrived.
Champ1432 writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 6:02:37 PM

This doesn't sound like it's going to start any trends to me. True interactivity is being able to shape the outcome, that's more along the lines of what video games are. @beepboop has a good point. People that want that want that kind of thing will go to video games, especially with how they're making them look these days. As games get better and better looking (more like movies), I think more people looking for this kind of experience will go that route. Most of the "epic" games these days have multiple storylines and many possible outcomes available. So is it the future of movies? No, I don't think so. I think that future is increasing the experience of the audience without involving them in the plot (the realism of the picture and characters, environmental enhancements similar to what SAC described). I think this is closer to the future of video games than movies. Although I could also see some sort of convergence between the two down the road.

@SAC- that theater sounds neat though. Pretty cool to have pyros going off around you when stuff is exploding onscreen. Too bad I don't live near Austin, that would be neat to see.
bloodgear writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 6:11:13 PM

But you forgot throwing spoons at the screen of "The Room".
Atemisk writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 8:03:22 PM

No this isn't the future of movies, anymore than 3D is the future of movies. This even less so than 3D if that's even possible, at least they can (and are) force feeding 3D. This is just a stupid f*cking idea. This is as interactive as people who go to sports games and yell "THROW THE BALL YOU JACKASS!"

But since we're going to go this route why don't we make all movies about 20mins long too? Science has proven that people today have a very short attention span, so why don't we play off that. Picture this: Action movie, but skip all that boring "exposition" sh*t we don't need to have background or an explaination of anything. Just blow something up. Next thing you know, the bad guy has kidnapped the good guy's girlfriend and tells him if he takes one more step the bad guy will shoot her. The good guy takes a step and instead of f*cking around the bad guy just shoots her in the face. The good guy shoots the bad guy. THE END
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Future of movies right there. Boom, we were done in about 10-15mins and now I can go off and tweet/facebook/shout at a baby that I'm eating a cheeseburger because the whole damn world is just that interested in my sad little life.
vwkombi writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 11:11:53 PM

A lot of people tell me that Video Games are becoming more like movies. I think it's the oppisite, Movies are becoming Video Games.

Seriously, if people want to be part of an interactive story, they can load up a PS3 and play Heavy Rain or something.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 11:19:14 PM

@Kursk - lol.
kmurg writes:
on July 13th, 2011 at 3:09:15 AM

No, I would say yellow bird is the future of film... well at least films on DVD.

Check it out. Its awesome.
http://www.yellowbirdsdonthavewingsbuttheyflytomakeyouexperiencea3dreality.com/showreel

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved