WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Rambo's "First Blood" Bridge is Being Torn Down

Posted: July 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
RamboSubmit Comment
The original wooden bridge in Hope, British Columbia on which John Rambo (Sylvester Stallone) was arrested in the classic 1982 movie "First Blood" is to be torn down. Local residents of the town gathered on Sunday to celebrate the iconic, yet now rickety, "Rambo Bridge" before it is replaced with a new bridge.

"We wanted to get one last big splash to let the fans know that this is their last opportunity to see the bridge, walk on the bridge, photograph the bridge, celebrate the bridge," said manager of the Hope Visitor Center and Museum Complex. "We tried to save it, but because the bridge is made of creosote-soaked timbers, there are some environmental concerns."

The Kawkawa lake bridge, framed by lush forests and steep mountains, helped put Hope on the tourist map after it featured in a key opening sequence for "First Blood" where Stallone, playing a Vietnam war veteran and drifter, is barred from entering the town by local sheriff Will Teasle (Brian Dennehy). After John Rambo refuses to be run out of town, he's arrested and, before long, all hell breaks loose.

Below is a shot of the bridge from the movie and photos of random people posing next to it.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 5:20:27 AM

Well i'm speechless, what a sad sad day this is ...
trailertrash writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 5:24:43 AM

RIP

"Rambo's Bridge"
telur writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 6:28:09 AM

don't worry, they will remake it...
CuChullain writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 6:39:38 AM

Yep, and then fan-boys will have meltdowns about how some engineering company is raping their childhood.
nawtnt writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 7:20:53 AM

Rambo: First Blood is the greatest classic movie ever and the opening sequence for the bridge is also a classic.

So it is sad for a legendary part of a history film to be rebuilded.
Rambo writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 7:23:10 AM

murdock i'm coming to get you
oklahomaer writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 7:27:53 AM

Is it bad that i think this is sadder news then when Ryan Dumb went up in flames?
oklahomaer writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 7:33:30 AM

Sadder and much much more tragic.
Damon242 writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 7:43:57 AM

Why don't you just take part of the bridge at chuck it in one of the studio parks?

You do it with everything else.
trailertrash writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 7:47:16 AM

telur -

LOL !!!! Very Good ...
trailertrash writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 7:49:01 AM

And it will be an inferior bridge too i bet.
Big_Daddy writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 7:56:33 AM

^LOL

It will have a huge dance sequence I'm sure
bandolero999 writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 8:17:47 AM

Monday movies news Have never been so exciting
Avirex writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 8:22:56 AM

I'm more interested in the 'Rainbow Bridge'.
Rambo writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:02:20 AM

da bridge is oooouuuutttt!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:23:42 AM

telur- Lol with the bones of Jaden Smith or is that a bridge to far.
trailertrash writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:31:11 AM

^ Love that movie, I have never seen so many top movie stars in one film before.

You foget what a good director Richard Attenborough was.
trailertrash writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:31:40 AM

Rambo - lol
Johnnyb writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:54:09 AM

Im your worst nightmare
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 10:22:02 AM

Back when trailers were good.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtmC5ShalxM
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 10:53:40 AM

Watched 'First Blood' with my brother. And he said: 'I've been in that jail.' I replied: 'Do you think that's worth bragging about?'

@Rambo - lol.

As for this bridge... Stallone isn't taking the news well:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71vqGyWTs3c

Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 10:56:52 AM

@BadChad - great trailer. Easy to see why that (and Rocky) threw this man on top of the Action Hero pile (for decades now).
maddasahatter writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 12:23:41 PM

Wow this is old news, 2 years too old, I think the bridge is already gone guys. I guess I should put a piece of the bridge I got on Ebay.
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 12:38:43 PM

Or the bridge is coming down today.
Movie-V writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 12:39:22 PM

Its a looong rooaad... when youre on your own...
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 12:41:09 PM

Today, July 10th, 2011, HUNDREDS of people attended the "First Blood: The Final Take celebration" in Hope, BC, Canada. For "environmental reasons", Dismantling of the Kawkawa Bridge is scheduled to begin Monday, July 11th, 2011.
maddasahatter writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 2:45:50 PM

wow Ramger that's crazy. My family and I were out there a couple of years ago and they were supposed to blow it up then (Rambo style). I guess that's BC for you, they are always high in that province. Still glad I snagged a piece of the bridge definitely a keep sake.
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 2:57:51 PM

Yep...

Thx. for taking my post in the light in which it was intended. I only read this AM that your info. was a bit out-dated. So the bridge life had been extended these past 2 years.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 2:59:34 PM

Apparently, the bridge is not so much a danger to the environment as it is to people walking or driving across it. From what I can gather it's being torn down as a safety precaution, not because the creosote itself is a hazard to the environment. Apparently, the timbers are quite rotten and the creosote wasn't a viable longterm protectant from the raging waters underneath.
maddasahatter writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 3:09:47 PM

Ranger I never take anything you say seriously :D jk.
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 3:34:39 PM

Good man.
maddasahatter writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 4:51:29 PM

Oi Ranger I be a woman hear me freaking roar lol.
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 5:00:09 PM

Yes you are... sorry about that assumption (busy day here).
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 6:43:52 PM

PS: nice avatar from a great episode:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5nkdpKf-fY

Even if Kirk was holding a big d*ck made of stone.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 7:09:39 PM

The Bridge

I stood on the bridge at midnight,
As the clocks were striking the hour,
And the moon rose o'er the city,
Behind the dark church-tower.

I saw her bright reflection
In the waters under me,
Like a golden goblet falling
And sinking into the sea.

And far in the hazy distance
Of that lovely night in June,
The blaze of the flaming furnace
Gleamed redder than the moon.

Among the long, black rafters
The wavering shadows lay,
And the current that came from the ocean
Seemed to lift and bear them away;

As, sweeping and eddying through them,
Rose the belated tide,
And, streaming into the moonlight,
The seaweed floated wide.

And like those waters rushing
Among the wooden piers,
A flood of thoughts came o'er me
That filled my eyes with tears.

How often, oh, how often,
In the days that had gone by,
I had stood on that bridge at midnight
And gazed on that wave and sky!

How often, oh, how often,
I had wished that the ebbing tide
Would bear me away on its bosom
O'er the ocean wild and wide!

For my heart was hot and restless,
And my life was full of care,
And the burden laid upon me
Seemed greater than I could bear.

But now it has fallen from me,
It is buried in the sea;
And only the sorrow of others
Throws its shadow over me.

Yet whenever I cross the river
On its bridge with wooden piers,
Like the odor of brine from the ocean
Comes the thought of other years.

And I think how many thousands
Of care-enc*mbered men,
Each bearing his burden of sorrow,
Have crossed the bridge since then.

I see the long procession
Still passing to and fro,
The young heart hot and restless,
And the old subdued and slow!

And forever and forever,
As long as the river flows,
As long as the heart has passions,
As long as life has woes;

The moon and its broken reflection
And its shadows shall appear,
As the symbol of love in heaven,
And its wavering image here.

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

(what a very, very gay name for a poet....)
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 8:56:14 PM

So, these two guys were standing on this bridge and both had to take a leak.

The first guy hung it out, started to piss and commented... 'ohhhhhh, the water is cold.'

The next guy hung his out and commented, 'and it's deep too'.

Brokeback Bridge.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:21:51 PM

In my opinion probably the best movie of the 80's

At least action movie, Terminator a close 2nd

Its Just an opinion folks
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:27:40 PM

No, it's not just an opinion. Everything you say that I don't agree with or like hurts me like a knife. I could bleed to death just by you not liking what I like. So you better agree with or I'll die.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:28:10 PM

+me.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:42:24 PM

Mink

You didnt like first blood. I thought you would like that one
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:45:47 PM

I did like it. Great film. I liked them all up to point, even the fourth splatterhouse film.

You should read what I wrote with a sarcastic eye, not to you specifically, but WP in general, Crazy.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:57:33 PM

mink

sorry, been a long day, I have a skim reading habit; re-read and now see the sarcasm

I thought me, you and trailer trash had talked about this one in the past but maybe it was rang.

Anyway this is one rare film I literally can watch 50 times and not get bored with it.

Yea some people seem to get pissed with your opinions, as do a few of my opinions. I just dont get the hate its just your opinion
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 10:41:56 PM

Because those pussies have been raised by indulgent parents that made them believe their word was law. If anyone thinks differently than them they can't handle it. Good luck to them in life I say.

As for: 'probably the best movie of the 80's

At least action movie, Terminator a close 2nd' --- yep. Terminator is an all-time fav. of mine (the first one). I'd put these two neck n' neck (for different reasons).


trailertrash writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 5:14:12 AM

First Blood is one of the best Action movies from the 80's thats for sure.

And a little mention for Bennie E. Dobbins (RIP) the legendary stuntman who broke his back while filming the car chase scene and he did finsh the stunt before he went to hospital.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 10:28:47 AM

Hard to find a work ethic like that anymore.
teuperman writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 12:39:36 PM

They will just reboot it like everything else cause they cant freaking come up with their own crap

So no rebuild just reboot
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 2:50:11 PM

It Will be Missed :(
ChoiceZ writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 4:03:50 PM

@minkowski - I was touched by your poem - thanks for sharing! There are people that are trying to preserve the bridge - if you search "SaveHopeRamboBridge" you will find us, as well as pictures for the Final Take Event from Sunday!
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 11:29:58 PM

So you weren't successful (saving the bridge) we're to assume?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved