WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Transformers: Dark of the Moon" Dominates Box Office Again

Posted: July 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Transformers: Dark of the Moon" Dominates Box Office AgainSubmit Comment
In its second weekend, "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" remained in first place at the domestic box office. The film grossed an additional $47 million for a domestic total of $261 million, making it the highest-grossing movie of this year (domestically).

Overseas, "Dark of the Moon," which cost $195 million to make, took another $93 million for a worldwide total of $645 million. It is still behind "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" which grossed $1.02 billion.

Meanwhile, "Horrible Bosses" beat expectations by taking in $28.1 million on a $37 million budget. The R-rated comedy landed in second place at the box office. "It's a concept we can all relate too. We've all heard about the mythical boss from hell, even if we've never had one," said Warner Bros. "We'll be around for a long time."

The other new wide release of the weekend was Kevin James' $80 million "Zookeeper," which fell short of expectations, grossing $21 million domestically and another $7.5 million from foreign markets. The comedy will struggle to make its money back.

"We are happy not only with the results of the opening, but with how audiences are embracing the film," said Sony, despite the fact that the movie has a 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Click here to read our "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
secondbest writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 4:26:21 PM

If Transformers is making this much money, it'll be interesting to see how much Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 makes.
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 4:41:13 PM

HP will be the biggest box office hit of this summer.
TheFilmmaker writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 4:52:56 PM

Horrible Bosses was hilarious and definitely worth the 7 dollars.
acreshakers writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 5:09:38 PM

Transformers dominates??? What the f*ck else was out?? Zookeeper...ya right?? Name one movie out now that's worth going to see? Green lantern sucked, Cars, Larry Crow??? So basically Trans4 won by default!!
I agree with rambo...it's the last Harry P so every snot nose kid here to Shanghi will be there! That being said bring on The First Avenger!
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 6:28:19 PM

What a terrible, terrible year for film.

"HP will be the biggest box office hit of this summer."

Sadly, I concur.
SaulSilver writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 6:46:03 PM

it cost 80 f*cking million dollars to make zookeeper?

god damn, might as well just bring on Ragnarok now instead of waiting until next year.
SaulSilver writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 6:47:46 PM

I shudder to say this, but the HP finale is a much more worth box office champion than f*cking Pirates 4 or TF3. It makes me want to vomit that this is the discussion, though.
SaulSilver writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 6:48:13 PM

CAP AMERICA, f*ck YEAH!
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 7:32:36 PM

Eh, don't care. I'm not seeing "TF3". I'm not contributing to Michael Bay's hypocrisy and p*ssy pussness (in reference to the "Transformers" sketch on "Robot Chicken" back in '07). Now I hear Rosie Huntington-Whiteley pulling a Megan Fox boner. What does that f*cking tell you about this Bay character?

Speaking of "Th First Avenger: Captain America", the Razzies have a discussion board open already on their website. YIKES! Turns out even if you have the rights of every character back at Marvel, pieces of sh*t are bound to come.
Dr Fate writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 9:11:01 PM

hoping 2011 will mark. The death of 3D. If you take off the surcharge of 3D, the box office gross is much lower and ticket sales as well. The only positive that came out of this year for me was Xmen First Class, Thor and the end of JewBoy, Shia Lebeouf
gunfighterii writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 9:33:55 PM

I predict HP will even dare i say go beyond TDK's total...:(
lebowski writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 9:40:51 PM

i can never hate bay because of the rock,the man can do action like nobody else
boogiel writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 10:50:08 PM

TF3 will come up short from POTC4 gross revenue, so it'll never topple Avatar and HP definitely will be this year's biggest box office.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 10th, 2011 at 11:07:58 PM

I'm wondering what HP's massive total will be?
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 1:15:36 AM

I certain HP would be the biggest too, before this weekend. Now I'm a bit unsure- Transformers is making some pretty f*cking crazy big boxoffice internationally. I wonder if the HP franchise is suffering from long-term burnout.

Given the choice- and no, it's not much of a choice- I'd still like to see HP perform better. Who the f*ck knows.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 1:16:11 AM

^^ I WAS certain... ^^

i'm getting sleepy
witwicky-potter writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 1:47:49 AM

its done pretty good but its unlikely that itl beat PC4,cant see it grossing that much
jikae writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 2:28:48 AM

Transformers was a good film for what it's worth and it's a franchise that's been around. It'll make money. Horrible Bosses, I thought, was funnier than Hangover 2. In fact, I may go on a limb and say that it's the funniest movie of the year thus far.

What I have a problem is that Sony actually thought the Zookeeper would do well. Why does Kevin James continue to make movies? He's the male version of Jennifer Aniston.
Avirex writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 3:17:04 AM

@jikae

If he was the male Aniston that would make him f*ckable and attractive. No homo.

More likely he is a sad man's Chris Farley without the humor, strippers and coke.
nawtnt writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 7:15:18 AM

Transformers: Dark Of The Moon was great, better than the second one but not as great as the first one.

The best movie of the year.

I wish HP7 will destory the box office and become the highest grossing movie of the year hopefully.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 11th, 2011 at 9:34:11 AM

All of this brainless "fun" entertainment is funding Michael Bays sick porn habits in which he puts grenades up girls asses just as he's c*mming and watches them explode. All you people who saw Transformers should feel very guilty.
Cody Fairless-Lee writes:
on July 12th, 2011 at 10:45:45 PM

This sucks for ZOOKEEPER! It could've at least come in 2nd....WOW!!!! >:-(

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved