WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Spike Lee in Talks to Direct "Oldboy" Remake

Posted: July 6th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Spike Lee in Talks to Direct "Oldboy" RemakeSubmit Comment
In 2008, Steven Spielberg and Will Smith were looking to remake Park Chan-wook's "Oldboy," but the project eventually fell apart due to rights issues.

A year later, Mark Protosevich (I Am Legend) turned in a script to Mandate Pictures that the studio loved. Mandate tried to re-engage Spielberg, but the helmer has become too busy, so Matthew Vaughn (X-Men: First Class) and Danny Boyle (127 Hours) were approached.

Now comes word that Spielberg, Vaughn and Boyle have all passed on the remake, and that Spike Lee (Inside Man, Do the Right Thing) is in talks to direct the film. No word if Smith is still attached.

Plot: With no clue how he came to be imprisoned, drugged and tortured for 15 years — and no one to hold accountable for his suffering — a desperate businessman seeks revenge on his captors, relying on assistance from a friendly waitress.

Source: TwitchFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ceerow writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:12:24 AM

Spike Lee??!! .. f*ck ... i would like to see Quentin Tarantino remaking this one ... It would be a masterpiece
Rambo writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:21:00 AM

spike lee sucks
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:28:50 AM

Dear Hollywood

Please stop remaking good foreign films, spend the millions of dollars on educating these retards and teaching them how to read subtitles.

Yours Sincerely
Cinema
boogiel writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:31:11 AM

Nah...he should make Inside Man 2 instead.
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:34:08 AM

How about a newboy remake? Hahhahaha.... I feel like a moron...
Johnnyb writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:34:50 AM

I don´t have nothing against the man, but this guy instead of developing a good plot about how the guy get imprisoned or the reason of imprisonment, what we will got it will be something like power to the black people stuff, or black black, black, black cast, black situations, etc. We don´t racial stuff or racial plots, what we need is someone focus on giving a different turn of this interested story and not just focus on useless POV racial stuff!!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:48:58 AM

Just watch the Korean versión and the ending is disturbing.Hollywood would water down This movie anyway
trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 8:10:07 AM

How friendly was the waitress .......
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 8:17:13 AM

TT-lol Very friendly I take it.

This will blow massive c*ck, f*ck you Spike!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 8:26:06 AM

You would hope so mate for her 20% tip ...
trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 8:26:34 AM

Spielberg, Vaughn and Boyle have all passed on the remake

And Smiling up from the bottom of the directors barrel is Spike Lee
Brody writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 8:42:32 AM

Remake is doomed, I have time for Spike Lee (25th Hour, Summer of Sam, Do The Right Thing) but there is absolutely no way this could work on a critical level with the original as the marker.

Might make money though and that's good enough for the studio.

@bandolero999
The ending was disturbing.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 9:06:25 AM

Disturbing ending? I've never understood the disturbing part and neither has my mom.
trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 9:15:53 AM

Is the original worth a watch ???
Rambo writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:11:16 AM

its overrated,the ending was surprising but i wouldn't call it disturbing unless you are not into incest...
bandolero999 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:22:16 AM

Unless you like incest and live in Alabama,south carolina,west virginia,montana,then is normal for you because it happens all the time while sipping on some bourbon.just ask Blankxx hes got six fingers and a snaggletooth
SeWerin writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:29:01 AM

This movie is masterpiece. In top 5 best movies ever (for me).

That hallway fight scene is fantastic peace of cinema.

Don't believe it? Watch it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnT0EgNZ7Kg

That lead guy should have gotten at least 3 Oscars for that role only.

He was also in I Saw The Devil which was awesome too.

Please don't remake masterpieces and f*ck off. Thank you
SeWerin writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:30:04 AM

peace = piece*
bandolero999 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:33:56 AM

Korean cinema is coming up as well with movies like Musa the warrior,Bichunmoo,Arahan,good the bad and the weird,Restless
bandolero999 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:35:26 AM

City of violence and fighter in the wind
zyban03 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:36:18 AM

I wish this midget would go away.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 11:02:41 AM

Let me take a guess here, in Spike Lee's version the reason why he got kidnapped and tortured was pure racism by white guys.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 12:36:39 PM

This film will have one or both of two tropes: the black man getting beat down by 'The Man', or someone getting shipped off to prison. That's all Spike Lee knows, prison and racism, it's all he will ever know, and he quite apparently doesn't give a sh*t.
Blank x25 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 1:23:57 PM

Bandy, you try to hard. And it still cracks me up that nobody even pays attention to you.
I love when rent-a-cops try to be cool. But you're a rent-a-cop, which is the exact opposite of cool.

But you try so hard, so I'll give you a solid "B" for effort. Now go get em, rent-a-cop!!

minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 1:33:13 PM

No offense to Bando, but most security gaurds are total d*cks. They try to be like cops, always sniffing your ass, staring at you, over-compensating for the lack of power they crave, the real power cops are given, so it always annoys the f*ck out of me when I'm out and about in this sh*t and crime-filled city of mine, walking the publuc venues, witnessing some d*ckless security fag playing RoboCop.

Again, no offense to Bando, that's just how they act where I live. Maybe they're different elsewhere?
bandolero999 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 2:24:17 PM

Hahaha i Love it i poke fun at Blankxx and he comes out when summoned is a Lovely routine.i asked you like the 3rd time Blankxx Wat do u do for a living besides f*cking your underage sisters and living in the trailer park? You never seem to answer like if youre some kind of trailertrash royalty.Mr Im obssessed with Adam West the gayest Batman of life,thank God for TIM burton.

Yea that sucks for you Mink most guards are d*cks and i Have fun at my job,i dont wanna do law enforcement is just a job to me while attending college and Miami is a pretty expensive City to live on your own.

ikleesdekrant writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 2:48:48 PM

1) Don't f*cking re-do the movie.

2) f*ck you, supersweetguy.. f*ck you.
Kurskij writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 4:54:52 PM

@tt

Yes. If for the hammer scene alone. Though it happens near the end. Still a great flick.


On topic:

"For 15 years he was locked by The Man.
For no crime, no sin, my brodas!
Now he's outta and thirsty for revenge!
So hide those white asses, cause that brotha ain't no gonna take no hostages!"
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 4:58:09 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare

"Disturbing ending? I've never understood the disturbing part and neither has my mom."

Was that a muscle man reference?
PaulX7 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 4:58:17 PM

Oh no... No remakes please... The original version is a masterpiece! Hollywood, try to come with original ideas and stories for a change, instead of just remaking other people's works...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 5:54:43 PM

Dude, remaking this movie is the greatest idea ever. Just like when Psycho was remade. f*ckin cinema gold.

I wonder how Spielberg would feel if someone decided to remake Raiders of the Lost Ark. Or if someone decided to remake Do The Right Thing.

These f*cking arrogant directors need to back the f*ck off and leave well enough alone.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 6:20:30 PM

I gotcha Bando. You sound like a cool guy to me. Just don't be a d*ck like so many of those other sad motherf*ckers in their goofy little carts ad their wannabe Dirty Harry mentality.

And you and Blank, wow, you two should pool your resources, take down some of the trolls instead of cutting each other up. Don't know where the sh*t started, I think with Blank, but time to 'bury the hatchet'.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:07:03 PM

mink

your 12:36 quote is true, you should add that it will also consist of a nike advertisment whether the check is worn as a t-shirt, shoes, on teeth, is painted on cars , spinning rims, or on guns that are aimed sideways
struck21 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:14:40 PM

So, it will star a black guy be a racist movie? why even remake this? Why can't hollywood make it's own movies anymore, so sick of hearing "reboot" and "remake" and "Prequel" and "Sequel" before every movie release anymore.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:31:40 PM

Originality requires imagination. Imagination requires taking risks. Risk involves losing money. Losing money bad, thus Hollywood has no imagination thus you get reboots, sequels and all this other sh*t.

Crazy: yeah I agree. All his movies are the same. They all have that strain of what I've called the Poor Ole Negro mentality, although Summer of Sam was supposedly about Sam Berkowitz IIRC, a white serial killer, so I have to wonder how he jammed racism into that one. Can't believe he didn't do a film on the Atlanta child murderer instead. Much more his 'style'.
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:56:22 PM

@ikleesdekrant: I said it was a f*cking joke, you imbecile!!!
Raider writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 12:29:34 AM

I never actually have seen a Spike Lee film. Is he good or bad? Is he a dumbass?
KillerCOck writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 4:05:57 AM

I'd be talking sh*t if I said I wouldn't wanna see this. I'm actually very interested to see how he would make it.
I am a fan of the original doh and feel that Boyle would've made an awesome choice for this remake since its going to get made anyway. I think he would stay true to the original if he hadn't passed on it.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 4:08:17 AM

Wouldn't be happy if Smith was the star at all.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 9:02:07 AM

supersweetguy, i wasn't referring to your comment. I just can't stand YOU, period. Byebye.
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 9:06:47 AM

@ikleesdekrant: If you cant stand me, then its your problem. Why the f*ck should you bother to comment on what i was or gotta saying? If you cant stand me, fine. I dont give a f*ck what you would say.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 2:09:39 PM

Mink- you're mostly right about spike lee's movies, except for Inside Man, which is a) very un-Spike Lee and b) probably my favorite film of his because of this. solid heist flick...
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 2:30:59 PM

You forget, Inside Man was very much about racism. Did you forget that?
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 2:35:37 PM

From Rottentomatoes:

"Spike Lee's energetic and clever bank-heist thriller touches on questions of race and class..."
bandolero999 writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 3:33:21 PM

I like Spike Lee I really dont care about the racism sh*t.There's worse things like Tyler Perry

I like Clockers,Miracle in St.Anna,She Hate Me,He got Game,Inside Man.Havent seen 25th hour

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved