WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Depp Close to a Deal for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"

Posted: July 6th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny Depp Close to a Deal for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"Submit Comment
It took a lot to get Johnny Depp to return for "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides." And now that the film has broken the billion dollar mark and is the seventh highest-grossing film of all-time, Disney is once again trying to convince Depp to reprise his role.

The Wrap has learned that this time, the actor is eager to sign on and is currently in negotiations to return for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5." Apparently his return will heavily depend on the script, which has been written but is still very rough.

Producer Jerry Bruckheimer has been meeting with writers to get it into shape. And since "On Stranger Tides" has a lousy 33% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, Depp is clearly not looking for a masterpiece. He may just be eager to return to a franchise that has earned him $350 million.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 6:31:30 AM

Script didn't bother him last time, It's the zero's on the paycheque is all he's worried about ..
trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 6:32:15 AM

Easy way to earn upwards of $50mil i guess
Rambo writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 6:37:24 AM

who blames him?i would do 20 more movies for this amount of money
trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 6:42:26 AM

Not me mate, I would watch a Pirate movie for $50 bucks
Johnnyb writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:23:28 AM

Writers just donīt think too much... Just write something like Pirates of the Caribbean: Sparrow on Royal Throne or something like that... As far as I remember logical plots since Pirates 2, doesnīt have it. So go on and write something stupid, so we can enjoyed more Depp drunkness in big screen!!!!!
boogiel writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:24:57 AM

Keep on milking the franchise until it's dry, Disney. Depp probably at his 60 by that time.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:26:31 AM

I watched a doc*mentary on Depp the other day showing his philosophy in early years to chose characters that challenged him as an actor and also made sure he wasn't type cast as a pretty boy. It seems his old morals have been thrown overboard as he walks Hollywoods metaphorical plank into an ocean of moneyyss. The films are just getting worse and worse, you'd think that much money would give you the freedom as an actor to chose lower budget films and prove your worth but maybe he's not the cool guy I thought he was he's just seeing green nowdays.

Supersweetguy writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:36:29 AM

@CinemaisdeadL When did that doc*mentary aired? I have never seen it. If that is true, then i would lament what he is doing right now. Throwing his morals.
lebowski writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 8:08:20 AM

cant blame depp for taking the big fat paycheck,anyone in his position would do it without moral issues.besides depp has done a lot of artistic movies and worked with some of the best people of the industry but i doupt that he made any real money from them.last pirates movie wasnt good but i dont think that the script sucked,it was ok at least,the big problem was the director who had no idea how to shoot an action scene,four movies and i still havent seen sparrow in a great swordfight ,maybe in the fifth.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 8:19:08 AM

Who says money doesn't talk?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 8:23:15 AM

No idea my bird was watching it was quite an old one though because it ended with him signing a deal for the second and third pirates films. It's a well known fact that he wanted to be taken seriously as an actor, if you're making 100s of millions on one film alone surely that's enough to keep you going while you make propaaaa films.
trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 9:17:07 AM

My bird, you classy guy you .... lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:30:36 AM

Me bitch? lol it's alright she'll never read this, she moans at me for checking it outside of work haha
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:35:46 AM

He'll get $50mil. + a take of ticket sales.

They can't afford not to pay him that.
trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 11:16:35 AM

Your right there, No Depp and the Pirate movies are no more than a Disney Channel TVM Premiere special !!

trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 11:30:24 AM

Cinema - lol i hear pal ...
trailertrash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 11:30:48 AM

^ya ..
nawtnt writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 11:34:52 AM

No Depp, No Pirates Of The Caribbean.

It started with him and it ends with him.

Pirates Of The Caribbean 4 was a confusing and long movie but still it was good.

I hope Depp returns for 5th one.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 12:50:17 PM

As long as they stop at 6...
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 1:28:46 PM

... or 7, or 8... or...
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 1:37:13 PM

Disney stated a good while back that they had plans to make a second trilogy. The fourth film was built to test the waters, pun intended, and with that one making over a bil, at least two more films are a done deal.

Depp is a huge draw overseas, apparently. Must be the Eurotrash look he has going on.
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 2:11:41 PM

Plus his living in France gives the Euro's the feel he's an ex-patriot. That'll get the French dripping.
Champ1432 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 4:12:50 PM

Wow, I knew he made a lot of money on these films, but that figure is staggering.

Can't blame him for continuing to come back, for that amount of money, who wouldn't in all honesty? He's done his share of films that establish him as a legit good actor. This is his cash cow, can't blame him for a second.
PaulX7 writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 4:56:17 PM

Let's stop being hypocrites: everyone is Depp's position would do the same: who would be stupid enough to decline a big pay check for a few months of work, no matter how bad the script is or how many sequels there are to the Pirates franchise?? And the success of the last episode of the franchise just proved that there are still LOTS of fans out there...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 5:50:38 PM

Jesus, that is a lot of money to pay someone for dressing up like a f*cking pirate. Seriously. Does no one else see the absurdity in all of this?
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 6:23:30 PM

I do, but then I'm not human.
GIST writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 8:10:49 PM

@mustardayonnaise

I still find it absurd that they pay Julia Roberts $20 mil per film dressing up as herself.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 8:59:33 PM

Why? How much was the moo cow paid for her Ocean's 12 role? A million per tooth?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved