WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Australian "Captain America" Trailer Removes Words "Heroes are Made in America"

Posted: July 5th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Australian "Captain America" Trailer Removes Words "Heroes are Made in America"Submit Comment
We already heard that "Captain America: The First Avenger" will be called "The First Avenger" in Russia and China. But today we have an Australian trailer for the film that shows that Marvel changed their marketing campaign in foreign countries.

The trailer below is very similar to the one released domestically on July 23rd, but instead of showing the words "Heroes are made in America," the Australian version says "When evil rises, a hero will stand."

Clearly talking big about America won't sell many tickets in Australia and only time will tell whether a movie with a title like "Captain America" can be successful overseas at all.

Australian Trailer:


Click here to read more about "Captain America: The First Avenger."

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
j-man writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:33:48 AM

So will he nt be called captain america anywere in the film?
Rambo writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:47:24 AM

too bad they can't remove joe johnston also
dbreuning writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:54:44 AM

Oh come on. Why can't we all grow up?
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:07:10 AM

Liberals in holy-wood what do you expect

Communists
boogiel writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:46:27 AM

I don't care about those taglines. I wanna see some frickin' Nazis!! Show me the god damned nazis!
Dirt writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:05:31 AM

So.. Who cares if it was removed. "Heroes are made in America" sounds wankerish anyways. Unless you live in America.
Kurskij writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:40:28 AM

Captain No-sh*t stands guard.

Worldwide they should've changed it to "Heroes are made in wherever you are. Please give us your money".

LeeMaca writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:42:03 AM

Lol America
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 11:15:51 AM

The movie's going to blow anyway, so who the hell cares what words they put where. Put the entire film in the trash and save us some grief instead.
nawtnt writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 11:54:44 AM

I understand why they remove the words Heroes are made in America because everyone is a hero in their own countries, like soldiers from China, Russia, Pakistan, India, Japan and many more.

But come on, calling the film The First Avenger instead of Captain America in Russia and China because it is insulting.

How is it insulting? That's the main hero's name.

Now what is going to happen if the film is called Captain
America? Russia and China are going to declare World War 3 on America, come on.

It is just a character's name, everyone should grow up and hopefully enjoy the movie.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 1:40:18 PM

Even the Australians hate us, apparently.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 1:42:06 PM

^yeah, because leaving Batman out of the title of The Dark Knight really hurt that movie
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 1:43:19 PM

That was pointed at nawnt, not you Mink
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 1:46:37 PM

The name change makes sense to me. It's the least we can do for the Asians after casting a white girl as Goku in that awful Dragonball movie.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 1:51:53 PM

Well I hate Sam the c*nt Worthington and he's Australian

bandolero999 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 2:18:04 PM

BTW the dragon ball movie was made by the Taiwanese in the 90s and was 100 times better than the American one.
If Japan hasnt made it then is not important like the Akira anime
rocketman writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 3:31:35 PM

I think Marvel should just go for it,no need to hold back...f*ck em.Whinging foreigners who would object are hardly going to see it anyway.
Kabul drive in on a Saturday night? Be like world war f*cking 3.
I hope they use the tagline on the (not they would make one but)Captain Britain film
Captain Britain:Kiss my balls you f*cking wogs*



*apologies for the casual racism :)
ilovebatman writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 3:35:58 PM

"An intentionally patriotic creation who was often depicted fighting the Axis powers of World War II, Captain America was Timely Comics' most popular character during the wartime period."-Wikipedia

THIS is what it matters when they rip out words and text from this movie. CA is an AMERICAN icon that helped fight off the baddies way back when; if you take out the American connotations it gives the non-American viewers (especially children) the idea that America wasn't as big an influence as it actually was. My opinion. Don't rip my head off please.

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=22200#ixzz1RGGLgZW6
rocketman writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 3:41:02 PM

Good point^
ilovebatman writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 3:46:34 PM

It's only fair someone stand up for this movie(even if it is gonna suck. Thanks Jonston). Hollywood clearly doesn't have the balls. Though I wonder if they tried, if certain foreign markets would even release this film. Like China, North Korea. They hate us more than broken chop sticks.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 5:01:14 PM

I think the thing that bothers me most isn't that they're downplaying the American origins of Caps overseas, it's that they're playing it up here in the US. I think they should be consistent, because to me it makes them look like they care about nothing else but making money....
Electro Rock writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 6:43:47 PM

Thats why they shouldve went with DVDA for the main Theme.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:32:50 PM

Australian "Captain America" Trailer Removes Words "Heroes are Made in America" ... well, that's not necessarily true ... the only thing America has made recently is quite a bit of debt and irritation (under former president George W Douche Jr.)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:33:54 PM

Australian "Captain America" Trailer Removes Words "Heroes are Made in America"

Actually, the materials are shipped by Wal-Mart to China for cheap labor and assembled overseas.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:35:33 PM

They could always change the tagline to "Well, at least Stan Lee won't have a cameo."

Even the f*cking French could be relieved about that one. And you can never appease the French. Just ask the Nazis.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:53:10 PM

Just hope I can see it in China.
telur writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 3:04:39 AM

off course American won't see Captain China too
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 10:29:40 AM

Yeah I would say it's the other way around, that they added the phrase into the American version to shamelessly appeal to the more nationalistically minded among us...
technoreaper writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 5:52:11 AM

Aussies HATE America. I have no idea how it started, but I know that those people probably hate Americans just a tad less than the Taliban do. They would always hear my accent and say, "Yo a Yank, eh?" Then they would launch into a diatribe about the Iraq War...sigh.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved