WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

20th Century Fox Planning "X-Men: First Class" Sequel

Posted: July 5th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
20th Century Fox Planning "X-Men: First Class" SequelSubmit Comment
Before "X-Men: First Class" hit theaters, the cast talked about sequel ideas, but there was never actual interest from 20th Century Fox. Not until box office data was in.

Well, that data is in and it's not great. The film only grossed $139 million domestically on a $160 million budget. Overseas, "First Class" took in another $195 million, but the massive marketing budget ate into the profits.

Despite very mediocre results, the studio has decided that it will still pursue a sequel, blaming the lower-than-expected box office grosses on a very crowded calendar for blockbusters and on the absence of stars like Hugh Jackman and Halle Berry.

Fox believes that director Matthew Vaughn did a fantastic job and that a direct sequel to "First Class" can be more profitable than the first installment.

Source: The Geek Files


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:35:35 AM

'X-Men: Economy Class'.
velocityknown writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:35:55 AM

Hell yeah.
dbreuning writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:43:04 AM

Well, that's against their own (Hollywood) logic for the first time. Box office sales are not great but the movie WAS great so let's make a sequel! Hey Hollywood: welcome to the rationale of the rest of the world!

I really hope they will make a sequel though. Loved First Class and another one to bridge the gap between First Class and the first X-Men movie would be cool.

LOL @ masht7!
Rambo writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:45:58 AM

give us the movie we all want.'Magneto:Nazi Hunter'.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:15:49 AM

yea bring in Jackman

Thought the movie was better than those that were directed by Singer
Brody writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:30:07 AM

KICK ASS 2!!!!
japaninmotion writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:31:46 AM

it was a hell of a gamble and it paid off in a great movie. too bad the lack of mega stars and pop characters kept nurdists away
boogiel writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:34:05 AM

"Despite very mediocre results, the studio has decided that it will still pursue a sequel, blaming the lower-than-expected box office grosses on a very crowded calendar for blockbusters and on the absence of stars like Hugh Jackman and Halle Berry."

Boohoo...! Excuses, excuses. Grow up, Fox!

trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:00:16 AM

Good i thought this was the best of all the X Men films
Dirt writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:11:14 AM

Yes. What Rambo said.
japaninmotion writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:29:54 AM

non nurdists it should be
Kurskij writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:45:40 AM

How in hell did it cost $160mil?

Really, it looked like a $120mil movie at best.
trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:54:19 AM

$40 Mil went on Drink, Drugs and Hookers for all the brits on set Kurskij
Rambo writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 10:36:51 AM

that jackman cameo cost 40 mil
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 10:47:50 AM

TT-my thoughts exactly.
I'll def see it.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 11:27:36 AM

Eh. Not sure that's a very wise course, FOX. You and I know X-Men is a very well recognized franchise, so there's a reason the film failed to bring in massive revenue. I

I mean, you were outpaced by Alice in Wonderland and Pirate of the Caribbean by four times your gross. I mean, seriously, Alice. And a fourth film based on a f*cking park attraction.

I would suggest you better invite some top-tier actors if you proceed with a sequel, because, let's face it, many of those who watched First Class aren't likely to come back to the second film without a considerable draw.

But hey, throw your money away. Not like you're the smartest studio around anyway...
Zeroguy writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 11:34:23 AM

Good. Loved first one, I want a second.
And since there will be some time between the aftermath of this film and the writing/preproduction of the next one, it will allow sometime for the actors in this rise even more.
With the talk and release of Hunger Games, Jennifer Lawrence is going to become a popular name.
Nekros22 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 11:54:55 AM

Way to go, Hollywood. Blame mediocre film returns on the audience.

I didn't understand the hype at all. First Class was a B-minus film at best, all this "It gives Dark Knight a run for it's money" bullsh*t is beyond me.
nawtnt writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 12:04:49 PM

Yes, they should be a sequel for X-Men: First Class.

It was the best comic book movie of the year so far and maybe the greatest prequel ever.

The timeline was point on, the characters were great, the fight scenes were awesome and the direction from Matthew Vaughan was the best one yet.

Vaughan should return for X-M:FC 2, he did a excellent job.

I hope this one will be better than the first one.
pornfly writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 12:32:24 PM

Thor/first class were rushed,the marvel machine is stuck, mickey mouse is running it a lil fast
Kurskij writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 12:42:23 PM

@tt

Now that's life!

I def need to visit England.
Sweeney?! writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 1:29:47 PM

By the time the next sequel comes out McAvoy and Fassbender will be huge stars. Their talent is undeniable.
ilovebatman writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 3:25:34 PM

"An intentionally patriotic creation who was often depicted fighting the Axis powers of World War II, Captain America was Timely Comics' most popular character during the wartime period."-Wikipedia

THIS is what it matters when they rip out words and text from this movie. CA is an AMERICAN icon that helped fight off the baddies way back when; if you take out the American connotations it gives the non-American viewers (especially children) the idea that America wasn't as big an influence as it actually was. My opinion. Don't rip my head off please.
SuluNakamura writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 3:32:40 PM

Loved First Class, I was hoping they'd make a sequel.
ilovebatman writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 3:35:24 PM

BASTARD COMPUTER TRICKED ME!!!
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 4:53:15 PM

Those sneaky computers...
zyban03 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 4:58:11 PM

I wish the headline stated 'Fox plan on re-doing Beast since they f*cked it up the first time.'
drewsmit24 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 5:31:26 PM

Duh they made 3 sh*tty ones so of course greedy hollywood is gonna cash in on it first xmen with earned success!

google holly peers

ur welcome
jaz_mayor writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:06:58 PM

Minkowski and others that think that this movie needed better actors or more actors with pulling power (top-tier), please give me a f*cking break.

This movie had kevin Bacon as a villian that just looked impossible to beat. Also very boo-able. Well done for portraying that Bacon.

Michael (f*cking) Fassbender, the only thing (besides Christoph Waltz) that was good about Inglourious (f*cking)Basterds is in this as an actual believeable Magneto. A Magneto that in this story has real reason to be pissed at the world of X-men that. Aworld that the Singer versions sucked c*ck on a stick at to portray. Professor X though not in a wheelchair in the film had real character and did things that people would do if they had that gift. Basically all the cast had good roles with enough screen time besides 3 to come off really well. A hard thing to do, example being Singers X_MEN with an array of characters from the comics just dragged kicking and screaming in there for fan service. No fleshing out.

Singer versions were cartoon fodder with characters that had cereal box scripts to exist.

The reason why the film didn't preform so well is X-MEN 3 THE LAST STAND which people saw in millions just to be disappionted. Then if that wasn't enough X_MEN WOLVERINE came out that was horrible. People lost any faith to see another X_MEN film (me including, also the fact that FOX was behind this movie too) but boy was I shocked at how good this was. Any flaws are mild compared to what you saw before.

I guess you can call X-MEN FIRST CLASS the BATMAN BEGINS of the X-MEN movies. Not as dark but what did you expect its X-MEN penis breath.

Go watch the f*cking movie in a mother f*cking theatre.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:39:55 PM

20th Century Fox Planning "X-Men: First Class" Sequel


Nice to know Disney isn't the only one haphazardly churning out turds like Swai's mom defecating on a client's chest.

@masht7

f*ck that sh*t. I would say "X-Men: Coach", but the way I feel about that last movie, they oughta be stuck in the cargo bay with the luggage.

Kurskij writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:45:40 AM

How in hell did it cost $160mil?

Really, it looked like a $120mil movie at best.


A. All those fugly posters. And the sad part is they can't GIVE THEM AWAY. Even at the gas stations, with every full tank of gas.



Rambo writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 10:36:51 AM

that jackman cameo cost 40 mil

* And cost the audience too, I'm sure.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:11:51 PM

Kevin Bacon, that guy we all thought died back in 1995, James McAvoy who won't ever be more than only 'that guy', and Fassbender who'll probably kill himself one night drunk driving his motorbike into a brick well, and yet still won't get the recognition of the fat guy that flew his roman candle sports car into a tree trunk.

Why didn't X-Men: No Class do more at the BO? Because even though the X-Men property is quite popular, no one gave two shakes of a sh*t for the cast. That and The Last Stand may have butthurt the fanboys more than FOX will ever admit.
Swai writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:14:33 PM

Max just go f*ck your mother we dont wana hear your sh*t you f*cking twat ill bust your f*cking head open
Swai writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:43:40 PM

I hear theyre planning on filming The sequel in parts of max dead grandas vagina where they fight the scary and sinister mutant villain Lycandirf who lives in her vagina and can shoot menstral chunks when a pink and orange skinned mutant (That would be you max)comes out and rapes people.



Max why didnt you tell us about your role sooner?
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:47:18 PM

God I hate juggalos.
Zeroguy writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 10:01:39 PM

Something X:FC needed was a replacement for Emma Frost. January Jones was f*cking awful. And to hear Alice Eve was in line to play her but had contract issues "FUUUUUCK!"
She would have been AMAZING!
Swai writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 10:23:56 PM

Mink im not a juggalo never even said i was
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 10:46:10 PM

Hey Swai,

You might not be a Juggaho, but I bet your Mama was a Ho with a flappy set o' jugs.

When you take the turds out of your mouth, be sure to gargle with gasoline and light a match so we can watch you dedicate your next putrid comment to Ryan.

By the way, f*cknut. He's still dead as your f*cking grandmother, who I'm skull f*cking right now so I can squirt my seed in both eye sockets, so your dog will have something to slurp from later.
telur writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 3:05:10 AM

the best comment here is from masht7
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 5:05:13 AM

If that is the case, can I have my A Team sequel now?
seveltoto writes:
on November 6th, 2017 at 3:36:14 AM

sevelace writes:
on December 13th, 2017 at 10:37:14 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved