WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Point Break" Remake is Moving Forward

Posted: July 5th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Point Break" Remake is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
In 2007, we learned that Peter Iliff ("Point Break" writer) was planning to write and direct a $20-$30 million sequel to "Point Break," the 1991 film that was directed by Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker) and starred Keanu Reeves and Patrick Swayze.

Then came word in 2008 that filming was about to begin with "Speed" director Jan de Bont in the helmers chair. That didn't happen, but the film kept moving forward. The following year, Australian actor Damian Walshe-Howling (Ned Kelly, Macbeth) revealed that he was cast as the villain in "Point Break: Indo." A few months later, the project was dead.

And now comes word that a follow-up is being discussed again, despite the fact that Swayze has passed away and Reeves is not interested in reprising his role. Twitch website claims that the studio has decided to develop a remake rather than a sequel. There is currently no director or actors on board, but there's a script by Kurt Wimmer (Salt, Total Recall).

Not much is known about the story except that it will focus on surfing and skiing, rather than surfing and sky diving as the original did.

Source: Twitch


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:46:29 AM

whoa
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:12:14 AM

Without Swayze and Reeves this will be as boring as Speed 2
Brody writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:30:44 AM

Even I wouldn't watch this sh*t.
trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:58:35 AM

It will be the first film ever to hold it's Premiere in Wal-Mart with the red carpet going straight up too the $5 bargin bin !
trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:59:31 AM

Crazy- This could make Speed 2 seem like an ok movie
SACdaddy writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:06:26 AM

Next on the remake list, Die Hard, Commando, and Rambo.

All jokes aside, someone needs to put an end to this extreme laziness that's fueling these remakes and killing the industry. Its like the writers strike never ended!
Dirt writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:13:38 AM

They are remaking Commando..
trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:44:02 AM

You're right Dirt, It's Lohan's c*m back movie

http://www.celebnipslipblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/09/lindsay_lohan_upskirt_913.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:44:39 AM

It's Rated URGH !!!
The Tall Man writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:56:20 AM

The studio is going to have a casting nightmare. No Reeves, Swayze and how the hell does the studio expect to lure us in without the (legend) Gary Busey?
catoc writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:57:19 AM

"I hate this Johnny. I really do."
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 10:50:07 AM

Wow this will defiantly be the 1st Dollar General premire!
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 11:21:24 AM

They can remake it all they want, but they can't make me watch it.
nawtnt writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 12:00:48 PM

Please no more remakes.

First they planning to remake Bloodsport, then Commando and now this, Hollywood and the studios are running out of ideas that it doesn't realise that they are so much video games that can be turn into movies.

Here are some games:
Halo
Metal Gear Solid
Call Of Duty
Assassin's Creed
and others more.

No more remakes, no more.
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 12:14:49 PM

I'm pretty sure there's no law that states anyone has to watch a remake, so it's not really a big deal.
pornfly writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 12:27:09 PM

Anthony keidis and lori petty will play surf instructors,word is they are very excited and are already promoting the film
bandolero999 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 1:55:51 PM

Next they're gonna remake Howard the duck and Big with Tom Hanks and cast Jayden Smith.

Delta Force will also be remade and cast Bradley Cooper
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 2:01:08 PM

maybe hollywood is pouring this crap down our throats to get us to make up our own sh*t?...i won't watch battleship as a movie, but i'll probably play the game again...on topic, i won't watch a remake, but if they showed the original in theaters i might see it....off topic, not sure i would watch games like call of duty or halo as a movie, not even zelda...hollywood has a reputation for ruining games to movies....not saying i can do better, but i'll certainly try...unlike the rich ass directors out there that have the opportunity and still do it wrong
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 2:11:15 PM

but even if you're trying to do something right and it's still not looking good, maybe it's just not meant to be a film...that happens a lot too...isn't that right aliens VS predator?...MAYBE if we saw a good 5-10 min of an army of aliens VS an army of predators, the movie would have had more worth to it...but no, they teased us with that in the trailer and again in the movie...i just wish i had a time travel device so i can go back to 90s before all this sh*t happened and give hollywood a serious wake up call because right now it's a nightmare
bandolero999 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 2:12:16 PM

I stopped caring years ago. out of 100 movies that Holly wood releases only 10 are good.Foreign movies are coming up like from Europe and Asia.Especially the action genre in Hong Kong is one of a kind like Legend of the Fist,Ip Man,Gallants,True Legend
SACdaddy writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 2:44:42 PM

Well at least we can predict Hwood's next step, the Casey Anthony Movie: Who Knew Getting Away with Murder Could Be So Fun.

The American Justice system is f*cked
minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 3:09:16 PM

Right, like you didn't cheer wen OJ walked free.
Mr.SandMan writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 4:31:08 PM

Why f*ck with it, just make a whole new flick with a different title ya bitch you!!
AYT BALL writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 4:47:23 PM

Utah, get me two!
AYT BALL writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 4:50:48 PM

Get Meatloaf and Busey in it!!! awesome showdown!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5oyV6La4ZWw
angelus5621 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 6:35:12 PM

They already remade this film, it was called the fast and the furious.
Tyrkae writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:08:54 PM

Anyone notice the that Point break and the 1st fast and furious are almost the EXACT SAME STORY
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:21:52 PM

SACdaddy writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 2:44:42 PM
Well at least we can predict Hwood's next step, the Casey Anthony Movie: Who Knew Getting Away with Murder Could Be So Fun.

The American Justice system is f*cked

@SACdaddy
Not really. Those real-life murder movies usually wind up now on the Lifetime Network. Or the Hallmark Channel.

Tyrkae writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:08:54 PM
Anyone notice the that Point break and the 1st fast and furious are almost the EXACT SAME STORY

angelus5621 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 6:35:12 PM
They already remade this film, it was called the fast and the furious.


Tyrkae, meet angelus5621. Angelus5621, meet Tyrkae.

To Hollywood:
Do you remember when you remade The Taking of Pelham 1 2 3? Or that the original was even decent?
Pleeeease stop remaking heist movies. Even POINT BLANK.

Oh, and the only way Gary Busey would be included is if they offered Snausages to him (knowing how scrambled his brains are) and even then, he might mistake it for 1991. If they want to really f*ck with the original, they oughta hire Jake Busey to do his father's role.


They basically remade this movie, only substituting The Former First Ladies ... remember, DOMINO ?


Oh and if they recreate the side lawn fight scene with the lawnmower, I'm gonna laugh f*cking hard at how to the letter they went.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:26:34 PM



nawtnt writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 12:00:48 PM
Please no more remakes.

First they planning to remake Bloodsport, then Commando and now this, Hollywood and the studios are running out of ideas that it doesn't realise that they are so much video games that can be turn into movies.

Here are some games:
Halo
Metal Gear Solid
Call Of Duty
Assassin's Creed
and others more.

No more remakes, no more.

@Nawtnt

They had HALO out there in developmental hell for some time. There are no memorable characters besides the Master Chief, who has his helmet on throughout the whole game, so it would be kinda pointless, unless you really want a remake of Wing Commander or Starship Troopers.

Metal Gear Solid ? They've already said no (the creators). Besides, Kurt Russell is againin' on years since his Snake Plissken impression in Escape from L.A.

Call of Duty ? It's simple. Just adapt another Tom Clancy novel, like they did with Clear & Present Danger.

Assassin's Creed ? It didn't work for Dungeons and Dragons with Jeremy f*cking Irons for God's sake, it won't work for A.C.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:27:46 PM

Why don't they just combine the plots of The Fast and the Furious and Point Break and call it Breakfast ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:30:11 PM

minkowski writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 3:09:16 PM

Right, like you didn't cheer wen OJ walked free.


@minkowski

All Swai remembers that year was missing his back to back episodes of Jerry Springer and Maury ... just to be sure he didn't recognize a tranny he may have accidentally slept with (on Springer) and to make sure he " wasn't the father " of his cousin's baby girl (on Maury).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 7:31:02 PM

I still think Nicole Brown Simpson and Ron Goldman slipped on their blood and fell on the knife ... oh, well ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 8:00:05 PM

What everyone else above me said.
Swai writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:17:57 PM

Well i know max would be excited for this knowing him and how he talks out of his ass all the time on here. Despite the fact that he has sh*tty taste in film and tries to sound pretentious when really his asburger medicine hasnt kicked ion so again he sounds sophmoric as usualy (classic max)Hes too busy jerking off to step up movies and fast and the furious and the films of michael bay.
Swai writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:21:47 PM

He hates like every movie he is one of the biggest trolls on here seriously. Max theres a world outside your mothers house just keep that in mind. he is that retarded that he thinks theres nothing wrong with him.
Swai writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:23:47 PM

I think max must be a schitzophrenic he assumes i'm a juggalo? when the hell did i ever say that? jesus christ what a f*cking sh*thead.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 10:38:54 PM

^
Ah, Hey Alex ... the toilet backed up again. Time to call the Roto Rooter man and unclog this turd from the comment site.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 10:40:26 PM

And by turd I mean buttnugget and when I mean buttnugget, everyone here knows it's code for S. W. A. I.

Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 11:02:21 PM

Swai writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:21:47 PM

" He hates like every movie he is one of the biggest trolls on here seriously. Max theres a world outside your mothers house just keep that in mind. he is that retarded that he thinks theres nothing wrong with him. "


Wow. It's the Porch Monkey calling the Negroid black.

This coming from a man who's commented on this site about cutting faces off, calling in mafia, burning down houses .... go f*cking get therapy. NOW. You are a f*cking mental case and the sooner you're in a rubber room on meds with a full-on lobotomy, the sooner the world will rest better, Hitler Jr.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 11:16:54 PM

So in conclusion, Swai's a closeted homosexual who's sexually attracted to ChappedAss aka TanBum, loves Mein Kamph and roasting a good Jew now and then, feels he really looks good in his scarlet Grand Dragon sheet and hood, threatens people on the Internet, has no social redeeming value, is the lead c*cksucker in a local punk band with limited aspirations or abilities and basically wishes he could sacrifice his mother to the Devil, in the way he talks about other peoples families so much.

Swai = Closeted case retarded.
Adamtheflash writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 2:25:32 AM

It seems like every Keanu Reeves movie from early in his career is in developmental limbo, whether he's in it or not (Bill and Ted 3?). Can't say I'm excited about any ideas at all...

There are plenty of movies that could be remade. This isn't one that needs it.
catoc writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 4:36:03 AM

@the studio - "...last time you had a feeling I had to kill a guy, and I hate that... It looks bad on my report."
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 6:06:15 AM

What is with all the remakes? Are you not tired of doing remakes. One day i would not be surprised to find out that a remake of your life story would be made. That would make me LMAO!!!!
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 6th, 2011 at 7:33:27 AM

I remember Jakey nightmare saying this is the most offensive sh*t i have read. This applies to this planned remake.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on July 7th, 2011 at 10:13:37 AM

Surfing and skiing? Wtf? What will they travel 90% of the movie between cali and vermont?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved