WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" Crosses the $1 Billion Mark

Posted: July 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" Crosses the $1 Billion MarkSubmit Comment
Disney's "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides," the fourth installment in the franchise, has now surpassed the $1 billion mark at the worldwide box office over the weekend.

Only seven other films have crossed the milestone, including "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest," which has earned $1.1 billion. "On Stranger Tides" is certain to pass it.

The movie is also the third-highest grossing film internationally with $774 million and it is Disney's biggest international release ever. It is also the third film to break the $1 billion mark, with the third being "Alice in Wonderland" ($1.024 billion).

Click here to read our "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 7:32:45 AM

Cinema is dead!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 8:06:54 AM

I don't understand it, I just don't understand. It's easily the worst of the franchise, and a boring film in general, and the 3D was quite abominable.
For years have we, the international audience, mocked the US and its audience, however, this time the joke it's on us. While they met On Stranger's Tide with lukewarm reception, the rest of the world tossed money like crazy on this atrocity of a movie.

f*ck them, f*ck us, f*ck Jack Sparrow and, most of all, f*ck Denmark.
coolguy writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 8:14:52 AM

yeah cant believe sh*t like this and Alive in Wonderland made so much money. Both were terrible films.
MiniMe8188 writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 8:18:07 AM

See this is what happens when you charge 20 bucks a ticket
boogiel writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 8:22:34 AM

Popcorn movies rule!!! I guess it's the only way for Hollywood to make money these days.
masht7 writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 9:10:53 AM

People only see films like this for the visual, not storytelling. Films that are story driven don't gross as much becuase people would find it very boring and a waste of their time; I find story-driven films very fascinating.
trailertrash writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 9:24:30 AM

And who said you can't flog a dead horse !!!
trailertrash writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 9:34:16 AM

^ It Wasn't Disney, no sir ..
gunner writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 10:18:40 AM

WINNING!
witwicky-potter writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 10:43:44 AM

Yep.thats a big f*ck YOU to the people who doubted it
trailertrash writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 11:06:49 AM

^^ No one doubted the movie would make a lot of money, it was more along the lines of why bother with another Pirate Movie.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 11:10:25 AM

It's awfully nice to see that the Disney whoremachine is fully operational and financially able to dupe poor cinemagoers into submissively being brainwashed into buying whatever crap they've been churning out of the "Making Magic" Porcelain Bowl, much like the Third Reich did when they convinced an entire nation called France to submit themselves to the Nazi regime, all the while slaughtering millions of Jewish Germans for not being part of the "pure race" ... or as Swai likes to call it, his "bedtime stories", followed by his re-reading of both The Walt Disney Story and Mein Kamph.

Pirates of the Caribbean : On Stranger Tides ?
Cars 2 ?

Might as well just call this part of the Disney Dictatorship.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 11:12:03 AM

Well, the fact that a pirate movie is stealing lots of money from dupes is quite apripo.
Sev writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 11:31:10 AM

Very sad....*sigh*
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 1:55:15 PM

Arrh

Me thinks Pirates 5,6,7,8,9,10 are soon to come

How about adding Scarlett Johanson to one of those to keep my interest
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 2:09:18 PM

Ch-Amen to that!
How about a lady's pirate's movie for 3d porn, starring Scarlett, Megan Fox, and Jamie Chung.
Need some nice asian p*ssy on the screen :)
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 2:51:53 PM

"Yep.thats a big f*ck YOU to the people who doubted it"

This coming from a guy naming himself after two quite gay movie franchises.

Anyway, wow. Just like Alice In wonderland, I heard nothing about Pirates 4 even though it somehow made it across the 1 bil mark. Very stealthy.
trailertrash writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 3:01:14 PM

Agree on both counts there Mink ....

Alice in Wonderland is the 6th Biggest film of All-time how the hell does something like that happen ??!!
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 3:40:24 PM

Those damned Chinks must love them some Burton, I guess.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 3:56:36 PM

hollywood is really off their game these days, i still haven't seen pirates 4 or transformers 3, or the new harry potters, and as for alice in wonderland, the same thing applies...it's all hype...they hype it up, slap 3D on it, show you some cooler scenes of the movie in first looks or whatever...basically they tease you and steal your money unless it's really that good of a film...i think someone here said that michael bay and company will never get it right regarding a transformers movie more about robots instead of so much human involvement...i agree, it's why x-men as films suck because we'll never see it done right where fans wouldn't have to complain about so much sh*t changed...and then to top it all off, because these films make SO much money, they consider it the best films...no, the best films in my honest opinion would have to be the ones that get voted for by people who have class and taste, because those films wouldn't be titanic, or avatar, or the dark knight...entertaining yes, but not the best films hollywood has ever made...call it what you want hollywood, but money should never define what is best and what is art
SergioFX writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 5:59:12 PM

Oh no! I am an interesting person who only cares about deep movies that talk to my soul, so I have to bash this movie and how it crossed 1 billion worldwide, and I must state that I hated this and the two before it, even though I went like a little bitch and watched it at the cinema.

Oh and when they will release the 5th one? Because I sure as hell will go pay for it and then come here and bitch again!
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 6:46:50 PM

^^Stop crying.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 10:14:40 PM

Now to be fair, SergioFX is still having to pay back Netflix for his well worn out copies of Schindler's Fist, Saving Ryan's Privates, Plump Friction and Gullysucking Tess.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on July 4th, 2011 at 10:22:37 PM

^ and of course Swai/Watson's all time favourite: Harry-palming and the Hendersons.
Bloodshy writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 2:36:34 AM

Alice in Wonderland and now THIS. I can remember that the billion used to be something special...
pikeman1 writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 3:42:43 AM

Oh my God! A premonition for 2012?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 5:34:55 AM

What!?
Swai writes:
on July 5th, 2011 at 9:25:29 PM

Michael Maus is jerking off to this post as we speak cuz of his love for disney lmao

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved