WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Twilight Zone" Creator Rod Serling Biopic in the Works

Posted: June 30th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Twilight Zone" Creator Rod Serling Biopic in the WorksSubmit Comment
Summit Entertainment and Leonardo DiCaprio's Appian Way production company are both working on their own "Twilight Zone" movies. And now comes word that Moving Pictures has acquired rights to a movie about Rod Serling, who is the creator of the popular show. Serling's widow Carol Serling will produce.

Before he became an iconic TV figure, Serling had a life of struggle that included a stint as a paratrooper and member of the demolition squad in the Army during WWII. Stationed in the Philippines, he saw more than his share of death as the US battled the Japanese, and his experiences would inform much of what he would write later.

He worked his way into radio and then became a TV writer who found his niche with the CBS series "Twilight Zone," a series that elevated scripted television with thought-provoking science fiction tales, each with a great and unexpected plot twist.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 7:39:37 PM

There's nothing biopic worthy about Rod Sterling. He was born, he did the Twilight Zone narration, and he died.

"Serling had a life of struggle that included a stint as a paratrooper and member of the demolition squad in the Army during WWII. Stationed in the Philippines, he saw more than his share of death as the US battled the Japanese, and his experiences would inform much of what he would write later."

So did two million or more American combat troops. That doesn't justify a film. What's next, a biopic on the hand from the Addams family?
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 8:50:17 PM

Okay, I got to say this. You know who would make a perfect Rod Serling ?

Crispen Glover.

Case in point: His look as 'The Thin Man' in the Charlie's Angels movies.
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 8:52:39 PM

^ Or Adrien Brody. I heard he was pretty good as Salvador Dali in "Midnight In Paris".

From a creative standpoint, I could say I would watch a movie about Rod Serling, but only if they followed it up with a movie about either Stanley Kubrick (Color Me Kubrick doesn't count, though I found it oddly amusing.) or Alfred Hitchc*ck. Or Sam Fuller.
minkowski writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 8:53:33 PM

Glover would be a good Sterling, no doubt, but he'd never do this film. It's 'beneath him'.
minkowski writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 9:03:41 PM

Movies about people who make movies doesn't do much for me. If you want to know something about the director/writer, just watch the films they made. That, and most of them led, outside their directorial venue, pretty lackluster lives.

Then again, a Roman Polanski biopic would be worth it just for the rape scene, not because I want to see that sh*t, but because I want to see the look on his face when everyone else sees what he did.

Or how about fake biopics, say, one on the first man, err, I mean person, on Mars. Could be good. But will Americans want to watch a Chinese film? That's the question.
minkowski writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 9:04:57 PM

doesn't +don't.
pornfly writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 9:27:04 PM

still waitn for Benny Hill flick
The Tall Man writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 9:27:19 PM

Another 'Twilight Zone' 2 day marathon on Sy Fy starting Sunday. I'll watch a few episodes with my burger and New Castle.
minkowski writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 9:51:24 PM

Anyone ever see that new Twilight Zone sh*t? Terrible.
Bluegirl285 writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 9:52:05 PM

They should get that guy who plays Rod in the video on the Tower of Terror ride, he looks and sound just like him.
The Tall Man writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 10:55:41 PM

@ Mink

I've seen some of the newer Twilight Zone, and I just couldn't get into it.

Nothing will ever beat the old cigarette filled black and white episodes.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 11:04:22 PM

Docu-Film on tv would be better than an actual movie.
minkowski writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 11:10:59 PM

"Nothing will ever beat the old cigarette filled black and white episodes."

Absolutely. And they had the gaul to get Forest Whitaker to host. Should have been Tony Todd instead. There was also a series in the 80s, but I've never seen it.
The Tall Man writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 11:32:44 PM

@ Mink

Your right about Tony Todd. I can just imagine hearing his narrations with the use of his 'Candy Man' voice. This of course would be the only cool thing about the episodes.
Ranger writes:
on July 1st, 2011 at 4:01:09 AM

Old B+W Twilight Zone series with Rod narrating.. the stories, the actors that became huge in the biz... all fantastic!

Serling = GENIUS. His story would make a good doc*mentary (A&E's Biography must have covered him by now). I'm a huge fan of the man's work... but a simple (non-theatrical release) would suit me fine.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved