WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith Wants Denzel Washington for "The American Can" Hurricane Katrina Film

Posted: June 29th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Smith Wants Denzel Washington for "The American Can" Hurricane Katrina FilmSubmit Comment
Will Smith has been working on the Hurricane Katrina drama "The American Can" for two years. He was planning to star, but has now decided to take a more behind-the-scenes role and is talking to Denzel Washington to take the lead role, a 6'7 ex-Marine named John Keller.

The film follows the real-life harrowing ordeal suffered by the residents of the American Can apartment complex when the levees broke. Trapped by eleven feet of fetid water for two days, Keller stayed behind to ward off looters and help care for the dozens of aged or infirm residents who couldn't evacuate. After spending two futile days trying to flag down help, Keller ultimately succeeded in getting desperately needed food, water and medical supplies air-dropped onto the complex only after finally moving dozens of aged and infirm -- and notably, white -- residents onto the rooftop of American Can to catch rescuers attention.

The story has already been told in the documentary "New Orleans: My Home, My Life, My Love." The script for "The American Can" has been written by John Lee Hancock (The Blind Side), who is also planning to direct.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:16:20 AM

Sure you can have Denzel... if you promise to stop whoring your kids out.
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:17:12 AM

Whoring was wrong. PIMPING is more like it!
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:18:15 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EqZGGqO6Eu0
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:50:14 AM

brilliant choice
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 3:57:31 AM

Well I guess Will Smith will never win an acting Oscar..so he is looking for best director,screenplay and movie.

As much as I love Denzel Washington I won't see this as long as Will Smith's grubby hands are all over it.
darkraven28 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 4:48:24 AM

And Denzel's thoughts in that picture arrrrre:

Yeah, that's right. I returned Tony Scott's calls 5 motherf*ckin' times. You gots one. Beeeeyotch!!!

Damn, bitch's ears are way bigger than mine!

Look me in the eye, god damn it!!!!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 6:34:38 AM

Blaxploitation. If I was Denzel I'd give The Fresh Prince a sharp swift jab to the appendix for even asking him to get involved with this.
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 7:47:23 AM

Why is it always a big deal if a black person helps a bunch of white people?

finally moving dozens of aged and infirm -- and notably, white


who gives a sh*t if they are white or not? f*cking Alex. always trying to stir sh*t up.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 8:20:12 AM

they're actually gonna make a movie about this sh*t
trailertrash writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 9:32:05 AM

Ali Vs Rubin "Hurricane" Carter
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 10:26:15 AM

f*cking Alex. always trying to stir sh*t up.

He is the gatekeeper AND the keymaster
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 10:26:45 AM

I always saw Alex as vietnamese/spanish.
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 11:12:10 AM

@Rambo - priceless clip!
Johnnyb writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 11:17:54 AM

@ Ranger:

Man, this days Pimpin ainīt easy even for kids.....
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 11:24:14 AM

well this is gonna suck as bad as the upcoming Alex Cross movie with TYLER Perry.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 11:44:51 AM

AS long as they reenact the Kanye West Scene when he says George "Bush doesnt care about black people".I'll have a chuckle
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9pVTrnxCZaQ
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 12:23:36 PM

I wonder if they will have a scene where George Bush is shown blowing up the levees

And also where Bush is shown on a Lousianna beach raising his hands to the sky saying:

"Bring a great storm to New Orleans because I hate black people"

I mean this a doc*mentary type film so it is well known he caused Katrina right
rabid writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 12:25:32 PM

or show George Bush stealing the tens of millions of dollars from the Army Corps of Engineers' levee-rebuilding budget to buy bullets for his useless war.
rabid writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 12:26:23 PM

Crazyhorse, see my comment if you don't understand why people fault him for the destruction and death.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 1:05:25 PM

Rabid

I guess its ok for people to fly planes into our buildings and we arent suppose to do nothing about it right

Like Clinton did when they bombed the Trade Center the first time, or USS Cole, or our embassy right

See if you dont punish these people they just keep doing it until you do dumbass
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 1:45:48 PM

"or show George Bush stealing the tens of millions of dollars from the Army Corps of Engineers' levee-rebuilding budget to buy bullets for his useless war."

That's an absolute lie and you know it, and I dare you to cite your source.

Fact is, Bush was blamed because of the 'allegedly' poor government response to the crisis, especially by blacks who blamed the government for not caring about poor blakcs living in New Orleans, even though most of them simply refused to leave when they should have, and despite the fact that a place like NO, being as it is below sea level, was a disaster waiting to happen.

And Rabid, you're hilarious. You spend all that time of your life memorizing garbage like comic book trash, and yet you refuse to meorize any useful facts that would assist you in understanding reality. You spend so much time in the world of fantasy, you, like so many others, can't tell fact from fiction.

For the folks that do not want to live in the world of batman and Wolverine, read the articles at Wiki, with sources, to get an idea why and how the levees failed.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurricane_Katrina

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2005_levee_failures_in_Greater_New_Orleans
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:01:54 PM

And the only reason these black people are making a big stink about this hurricane Katrina sh*t, and have been for six years, is because New Orleans was, is predominantly *black*.

If this had happened to a predominantly white city, Denzel and Kanye and Spike and all the other black celebs and loudmouths wouldn't give a sh*t, just like after Hurricane Andrew tore up the south and not one black person said a thing.

Fact of the matter is, and you can deny this till doomsday, most black Americans really don't care about white people, and when they say 'Bush doesn't care about black people' (even though the guy had the most diverse cabinet and gave more money to Africa than anyone else), they're really talking about how they feel about whites instead.

"they're actually gonna make a movie about this sh*t"

Black people have already made at least two movies, so I guess painting blacks as victims to some government conspiracy, like Farrakhan claimed, rather than just a few thousand more dead at the hands of mother nature every year (how many die every year in Asia from monsoons and typhoons?), makes good for the 'poor old negro' mentality.

Let's face it, let's get this over with, the Army Corp of Engineers was reponsible for fixing the levees, per the 1965 Flood Act, and New Orleans was responsible for inspecting them and reporting back to the ACoE what repairs were needed. That didn't happen like it should have. The levees were old and in disrepair, and NO failed it's citizens by demanding the proper repairs.

And the ACoE had more than enough money to make the repairs IF they had been compelled to do so. They were not.

And Katrina was NOT fueled by Global Warming. Simple but powerful hurricane that hit a poorly prepared and defended below-sea-level city square on. Nothing sinister there. And the government did all it could. It's government. Ever been to the DMV? That's bureaucracy. It sucks and it's slow and it usually f*cks up, like when Challenger went boom and Columbia exploded. Bunch of dead white folks, and under Reagan and Bush. No conspiracy and no 'Bush hates black people' nonsense needed.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:13:43 PM

I can care less, Katrina Hit Florida pretty bad too but not like Lousiana.Should of hit pointless states like Jersey,Detroit and West Virginia (trailertrash town of inbred christians)

Mink dont go on a rampage for black people youll be called the Lars Von Trier of WP.Just blame it all on Joel Silver for the Headshot decision
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:29:13 PM

Not going on a rampage at all, bando, I'm just telling it like it is.

The facts, they speak for themselves, really.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:33:52 PM

...by NOT demanding...
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:38:28 PM

mink

Its dumbasses like rabid and some of the others that will be on here shortly is the reason why 911 happened and that is:

Too chicken sh*t to punch the enemy in the mouth they being a liberal want to throw money at the problem like New Orleans instead of demanding they get off your sorry ass and go to work or demanding like China you commit a terrorist act we'll blow you to oblvion

bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:44:09 PM

yes some people that live with mommy and daddy cant really let go of Batman,WOLverine,Xbox,and Transformers movies
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:52:30 PM

I don't take anything rabid says with even an ounce of seriousness. He's almost not even real. Have to wonder if all that comic book gobbledegook he spouts is even correct. He'll be on here in a minute to tell us that fire can't melt steel, I'm sure, and that George Bush funded the fake moon landing back in 1969.

The real issue is back to what he claimed, that Bush 'stole' money from the ACoE so they couldn't make the repairs, and that's not remotely true, and in fact a search of google with those terms turned up nothing.

He's simply a liar and a fantastical fabricator of nonsense.

"yes some people that live with mommy and daddy cant really let go of Batman,WOLverine,Xbox,and Transformers movies"

There's nothing wrong with all that, bando, in moderation, right? But when you're f*cking 29 years old and you act like your ten and the only struggle you have in life is finding time to see the latest Transformers film or play the latest Halo game, you're really not an adult, you're a man-child, and we have way too many of those kinds of folks on here, and on the internet in general.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:53:12 PM

THe funniest sh*t ever about living in a fantasy world and not knowing the real facts about life:

HERMAN SAYS
And Rabid, you're hilarious. You spend all that time of your life memorizing garbage like comic book trash, and yet you refuse to memorize any useful facts that would assist you in understanding reality. You spend so much time in the world of fantasy, you, like so many others, can't tell fact from fiction.

bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:55:06 PM

IS either Internet Trolls that spoiled juggaloes like Swai and Watson or people listening to Pittbull and the Latest Lady GAGA album
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:57:31 PM

DOnt Forget IMDB when youre not sure about a movie just go to the movie page there and see what the IMDB users rated the latest Transformers movie or the Hangover sequel to see if its worth spending 20 dollars on 3d or IMAX
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:57:58 PM

that are
Captain America writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 6:06:07 PM

It's called a floodplain for a reason.

It f*cking floods. Move elsewhere. It's not some big white government conspiracy; it's nature, and it's been happening for years and years and years.

If you live below sea level and by a river that f*cking big, when a huge storm comes through, you shouldn't expect things to go well.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 6:21:17 PM

Captain America

Correct 25 ft below sea level thats good enough for Captain NEMO to sail through
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 7:20:33 PM

Exactly Caps. Spot on.
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 7:33:05 PM

Considering how f*cked up Hurricane Katrina's destruction was, should they call this movie "The American sh*t~Can" ?

So we can guess that Denzel Washington is the third, unacknowledged adopted child of Will and Jada ?
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 7:42:53 PM

I could go out there and say something like, well, New Orleans sits in what's essentially a bowl, and Katrina was just God flushing the toilet, but I think I have enough people on here wanting to kill me, so I won't say any of that.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 8:11:03 PM

Is the home of the Cashmoney rappers and Lil Wayne God doesnt cause disasters for a reason.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 8:16:46 PM

minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 7:42:53 PM

I could go out there and say something like, well, New Orleans sits in what's essentially a bowl, and Katrina was just God flushing the toilet, but I think I have enough people on here wanting to kill me, so I won't say any of that.


@minkowski

And with that one small act, you've done so much more for the city of New Orleans than former President George W Douche did during his Emergency visit.
Kooky SpunkCaked writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 4:08:37 AM

So if Will Smith is taking a backseat role on this project, we should be expecting a cameo by Jaden and Willow Smith ?

God I hope not.
Kooky SpunkCaked writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 4:09:46 AM

When they say Willow looks just like her Dad, that's not a good sign.
rabid writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 1:41:10 PM

Crazyhorse seems to be confused. Iraqis flew planes into our buildings? News to me.
rabid writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 1:46:42 PM

and a strong hurricane season was predicted a year in advance, and George Bush was even briefed on the damages that would be done if the ACoE didn't repair the levees (it's an annual maintenance that has been federally budgeted for over 70 years). The city had always been relatively safe from flooding as long as the repair funds were there.
Bush emptied those funds and replaced them with $7 million of state funds, to add to the defense budget and to fund the Dept of Homeland Security. He knowingly weighed his initiative against the lives and wellbeing of millions and the economies they support. And in the end he showed nothing for his efforts as thousands died and a million lives were ruined.
What a sc*mbag.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved