WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Damon Lindelof Explains How "Prometheus" Ties Into "Alien" Films

Posted: June 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Damon Lindelof Explains How "Prometheus" Ties Into "Alien" FilmsSubmit Comment
Screenwriter Damon Lindelof (Cowboys and Aliens, "Lost") appeared on "The Kevin Pollak Chat Show" recently and spoke about Ridley Scott's "Alien" prequel, called "Prometheus," and how the new film is tied into the franchise.

"I've always felt that really good prequels should be original movies. And the sequels to those prequels should not be the movie which already exists," he said. "Show me something else which I can't guess the possible outcome of. There is no suspense in inevitability. So a true prequel should essentially proceed the events of the original film, but be about something entirely different, feature different characters, have an entirely different theme, although it takes place in that same world. That was my fundamental feeling about what this movie wanted to be."

Lindelof continued: "I feel that this movie is the movie I would want to see as a fanboy. [It takes] place in that 'Alien' universe, which precedes the events of the original 'Alien,' but is not necessarily burdened by all the tropes of that franchise with Facehuggers and Chestbursters, and all that stuff that I love. But its sorta like, 'we've seen it before, can we do something different this time?' And that's the movie that Ridley wanted to make."

Source: Kevin Pollak's Chat Show, /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:04:31 PM

This had better be good, motherf*cker, because you're screwing with a much-beloved film set.

It might be Ok to rape Predator with that AvP (x2) garbage, but at least we eventually got Predators which wasn't bad, but let's face it, there's only one true Predator film. The first one.

But anyway, this had better be good or no one worth a damn will ever forgive you.

(I expect lots of gore and nudity, next to nothing in story development. I'm taking bets now.)
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:19:21 PM

Im wanting another Predator

Ah-nold decides to quit the daycare center that he worked so hard over the years to build up with all his kids

He decides to strap on the M-60 and a dozen grenades to go out and hunt the thing thats haunted him the most and its not child support.

Its a predator

On July 1st 2015 Ah-nald is back and older than ever. But with the help of CGI he decides to kick A@# and take names
Johnnyb writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:23:52 PM

@ Minkowski:

Man I find very difficult to top the first 2 Alien films.... Even he said about creating a new movie unrelated-related to Alien universe... you would have to explain a lot of stuff that in the other movies doesn┤t explain but at the same time I think they are ruining cause they should give more suspense than explaining the reasons of the existence of the Alien....

Hard task this man have for writing something that can take too many place or situations in this story.... Even he believe his writing can top the original, I found it very hard to believe. Just look around the last episode of Lost... when people already know how this one is gonna end.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:27:52 PM

Rated R or GTFO.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:07:42 PM

Johnnyb, i agree with what you said, but you and I know they're doing this movie because they can't go forward with the Alien franchise as it is, and they may fear screwing it up even more than Resurrection did, so they've invented this 'sidquel' to make more money off the Giger look and all the space-marine murdering aliens without further f*cking up the original story, and I think they learned with the fourth film they just can't go on without Ripllley being riplley.

I mean they beat that to death, bringing her back as a hybrid and sending her down to earth at film's end, it was just all too f*cked up to continue, and they shouldn't have killed her character in the third.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:08:11 PM

*Ripley.
Raider writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:10:53 PM

The Alien series is a very big film franchise and to make another sequel let alone a prequel, They really have to have a brilliant script in their hands. Ridley Scott is directing again so really i think we all can trust him to make the film good.
Electro Rock writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:47:35 PM

Her death was the only thing I dindnt like about the third one. Im really hoping this is good.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:52:54 PM

Raider-Spot on my friend!
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 10:00:05 PM

Let's hope, Raider, let's hope. I keep forgetting Ridley is returning to helm. Really odd he's returning to his roots. Must be getting a bit how shall we say, desperate, now that's not exactly making blockbusters every other year.
pornfly writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 10:10:28 PM

'I expect lots of gore and nudity and next to nothing in story development.' WOW is there an echo in here?? f*ckn dejavu
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 11:09:15 PM

Well, I said that before remembering Ridley is directing...bit different now.
pornfly writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 11:24:26 PM

i didnt read da fine print,Im tellin cinemaisdead on u.lol
Damon242 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 12:27:34 AM

In Lindelof we trust.
Damon242 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 12:28:51 AM

@minkowski

Do you even know who he is? Trust me, nudity and gore with lack of character or story development will be the last things to expect from him.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 1:18:05 AM

Don't get your hopes up for too much. Ridley has been in a declining state for a while now, "Robin Hood" is an excellent proof of that. And we we all know how it turned out when Spielberg went back to his roots with "Indiana Jones" *shudder*

"I've always felt that really good prequels should be original movies"

Kind of an oxymoron?
Long Pants Tramp writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 1:40:08 AM

The whole point of this was that Prometheus is not part of the Alien franchise. We're not supposed to compare it to them and, thus, Prometheus can't ruin the series either. It's an original film.

Too bad it's already been marketed the wrong way.

Remember how Paul WS Anderson's Soldier took place in the same universe as Blade Runner?
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 2:21:53 AM

hey damon,why don't you explain how you f*cked all 'lost' fans in the ass with your bullsh*t script for season 6?
Bunny X writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 11:09:27 AM

I will give him credit. He understands that you cant tease folks with what they already know will happen. He did a good job of that on Lost with those flash forwards. At first I thought they were a horrible idea but they were handled great and still offered suspense being they were a glimpse of the future.
Hopefully he can bring that touch to this story because it is correct, there is nothing more that can be done with this franchise moving forward without destroying all integrity completely.
Johnnyb writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 11:12:29 AM

@ everybody:

Q: Can Ridley make this new movie be liked for the Alien fans or not┐?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved