WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Thomas Jane on Being Fired from "Headshot" and His New Werewolf Film

Posted: June 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Thomas Jane on Being Fired from "Headshot" and His New Werewolf FilmSubmit Comment
Thomas Jane was recently replaced in Sylvester Stallone "Headshot" for being too white. But he's not letting this bring him down. In an interview with Collider, the actor revealed what's he's working on next.

"I'm doing a werewolf movie called 'The Lycan,'" said Jane. "Which is a gothic werewolf romance set in the late 1700s. It's basically 'Alien,' set in a castle, with werewolves."

And regarding "Headshot," here is what Jane says happened: "[Director] Wayne Kramer brought me into the project and when Wayne left the project I suggested Walter Hill to Stallone and the next week they hired Walter Hill and I was very happy about that because I've always wanted to work with him. [Then producer] Joel Silver came onboard the project and said that he has a formula for these buddy movies and it has to be a white guy and an ethnic guy. And they relieved me of duty and basically paid me off, which I was really upset about. I didn't get a call from Stallone. I was a little upset about that."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:41:46 PM

There you go, Joel f*cking Silver, the *sshole that panders to black people by creating affirmative action in films, rather than letting a black lead earn it, he f*cking shoves them into the mix like he did in Die Hard whether they should be there or not.

*sshole. He's been a problem for going on twenty years. And before anyone says something like oh you're racist, Out of Time is one of my favorite films. I f*cking love Washington, period. But he's earned his place at the table, he didn't have some f*cking liberal pandering piece of sh*t put him there because he thought he couldn't get there on talent and ability.

Hey, Joel, if you're reading this, eat a d*ck f*cker!
alexgi writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:01:29 PM

@minkowski: They replaced Jane with an Asian guy Sung Kang.
lebowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:04:14 PM

cant hate silver because he gve us lethal weapon,but firing jane like that was not ok but then again he got paid at least.dont like jane that much but he was in thursday
lebowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:05:03 PM

meant to say he was great in thursday
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:10:54 PM

Yeah, I know, Alex, but that's Joel Silver's MO. He thinks he can make stars out of minorities by heaving them onto the screen, and lemme ask you, where's the black guys from Die Hard 1 and 2? Nowhere. Should have sent them a welfare check instead. Would've been less an insult.

And now Silver thinks he can do the same with Asians, who are 'under-represented' in American cinema, by tossing this slant-eyed nobody up on the screen.

Face it, Jane has done the work, he's earned the right to get the role, and to have Silver Jettison him to put in an Asian is without a doubt point blank *racist*, don't care how you look at it, because if that sh*t happened anywhere else there'd be a lawsuit. And rightly so.

If I was Jane, I'd be really pissed, because like I said, he's done his time, he's earned his keep, and there's no damned no reason to jettison him for some no-name Asian.

And liberals call themselves rational and tolerant. Bah! Biggest bunch of f*cking condescending hypocrites.
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:21:03 PM

^
@minkowski

Based on those last interviews with Joel Silver, it looks like he not eats a lot of d*ck, but also probably busloads of young boys as well. That stomach must be able to hold the Mormon Tabernacle Choir at this point.

And I wouldn't count out Thomas Jane just yet. He reminds me of Steve Buscemi or Harry Dean Stanton in regards to being able to land on his feet with decent work now and again.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:28:26 PM

Hope so.

Pisses me off that he got canned like that just to make way for affirmative action and the dovetailing of some greed.

Not a huge fan of him or hos work by any means, but no one deserves to have a role they were good for one morning taken from them the next because some *sshole like Silver shows up and decides the film needs 'more color'.

What is this, the 1920s, but inverted?

I hope Headshot fails spectacularly. And I hope Stallone grows a pair because he could've pulled rank and saved Jane from getting canned.

Not cool at all.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:31:45 PM

I mean, f*ck, I've heard of sending our jobs to China, but bringing China to our jobs, now that's something new...
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:54:49 PM

It's ok folks, I won't bite. You can comment.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:12:15 PM

It would be ironic if Joel Silver got robbed and killed by a black guy and and an asian.

But we know that would never happen. Asians don't commit crimes.
Narkle of Gary writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:17:06 PM

You have a solid point Mink, but I believe the Black guys from Die Hard 1 & 2 still relish the fact that they were in those movies. I mean the chubby bub from Family Matters actually saved John McLane. Who was Silver gonna hire instead? John Candy!
bandolero999 writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:17:59 PM

Maybe silver didnt like the punisher with john travolta.

How is it that Bad boys got away with having both Smith and martin lawrence?had support from Bay and bruckheimer

And out of all the Asians they picked the scrawniest one,could've picked Jackie chan,jet Li,Donnie Yen.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:19:31 PM

And the BET awards were yesterday and Alex couldnt put the winners
Dirt writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:25:12 PM

f*ck I like Jane. Stallone should cast him in The Expendables. Even if its a small role like an illegal guns runner. If people like the character give him a bigger role, Id prefer this guy than Randy Couture or Chuck Norris.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:30:15 PM

That sucks and f*ck You Silver!!
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:34:36 PM

If Silver had pulled that sh*t with Bad Boys, making one of them white, I would've told him to eat a d*ck. Bad Boys is perfect the ways it is.

As for the guy from Family Matters, that was a good show, but the fact is, in both Die Hard 1 nd Die Hard 2, the black roles were invented just to give a black guy a job. They were not needed and in fact weighed the film down.

You can tell they don't belong, like a splinter in your hand, but Joel insisted they get thrown into the film.

And in Die hard 3, Silver went full retard and turned an action movie into a debate on racism. Goddamned liberals are always screwing something up in their attempts to 'do good'. And they end up doing just the opposite.

And finally, notice how Die Hard 4, no Joel Silver, no rammed down your throat minority, just that Buy a Mac asshat Justin Long. Who would've thought. I guess Silver thinks black people won't watch an action film unless a black guy shows up. Kind of racist IMO.
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:43:58 PM

minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:34:36 PM

If Silver had pulled that sh*t with Bad Boys, making one of them white, I would've told him to eat a d*ck. Bad Boys is perfect the ways it is.

As for the guy from Family Matters, that was a good show, but the fact is, in both Die Hard 1 and Die Hard 2, the black roles were invented just to give a black guy a job. They were not needed and in fact weighed the film down.

You can tell they don't belong, like a splinter in your hand, but Joel insisted they get thrown into the film.

And in Die hard 3, Silver went full retard and turned an action movie into a debate on racism. Goddamned liberals are always screwing something up in their attempts to 'do good'. And they end up doing just the opposite.

And finally, notice how Die Hard 4, no Joel Silver, no rammed down your throat minority, just that Buy a Mac asshat Justin Long. Who would've thought. I guess Silver thinks black people won't watch an action film unless a black guy shows up. Kind of racist IMO.


@minkowski

Didn't he sorta try to do that with The Last Boyscout ? (regarding a buddy movie with a black guy and a white guy) ... besides as far as cops go, it was done pretty nicely with Shane Black's intrepreation of Martin and Riggs, so Joel Silver is as sleazy as anything that crawled out of Robert Evans' ass during his coke-snorting years.

It's pretty ironic that Reginald Johnson played a cop on Family Matters and also in the Die Hard series. Given the television/movie time/space continuum, would that have made his characters' identical twins ? (Since one is in Los Angeles and the other in Chicago) ... just pondering...

Joel Silver, isn't he Jewish ? If so, then racism is in his blood and your change is in his chubby hands (and pockets).
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:54:05 PM

lol

The Last Boyscout's script originally called for a white guy to play the footballer, but Joel changed it so we had to sit through an hour and a half of a Wayans brother making a fool of himself.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 10:20:25 PM

"I'm doing a werewolf movie called 'The Lycan,'" said Jane. "Which is a gothic werewolf romance set in the late 1700s. It's basically 'Alien,' set in a castle, with werewolves."

Uh. Huh. Dunno where you lost me, the werewolf thing, the romance thing, the 1700s thing or the really wierd comparison to Alien.

I like you, Jane, but seriously, get better work dude. I'm starting to feel sorry for you.
LeeMaca writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 10:20:26 PM

eh is that not kind of racist or have all us white folk played our racism card already
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 10:41:57 PM

^^If your boss came to you one day and said, leeMaca, we need you to clean out your desk, your fired, we've hired a nice little Asian to do your job, how would you feel?
bandolero999 writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 11:19:05 PM

Is called downsizing and i guess its also happening on Hollywood
Schrute Farms writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 11:23:04 PM

So who is it now?..... Stallone and George Lopez.... Lame Formula there Joel!
Dirt writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 11:25:35 PM

That's not downsizing, they're replacing a perfectly suitable white actor for an Asian.

You reverse this, it's considered racist.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 11:36:08 PM

I forgot to mention that Jane is being replaced *because he's white*, and no other reason. But hey, they bribed him, I mean paid him off, I mean, well f*ck, whatever, they got away with it.

And lol@George Lopez. Wouldn't that be just absolutely awful.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 12:45:01 AM

Affirmative Action can just f*ck right off!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 1:34:16 AM

"Which is a gothic werewolf romance set in the late 1700s. It's basically 'Alien,' set in a castle, with werewolves."

Don't ever change, Jane. He might not be the greatest of actors and his films might not be the best, but god damnit, they are entertaining.

And, yeah, this replacementsh*t is f*cked. Jane would've been a perfect match to Stallone, better than this little Asian fellow. I know he is supposed to be the only good part of "F&F: Tokyo Drift" (I wouldn't know), but he did next to nothing in the latest movies.
Avirex writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 5:25:18 AM

One Asian guy getting a role doesn't mean the other 1,000,000 white guys are going to lose their jobs. I mean till' this day its almost impossible to get Asians a lead starring vehicle in theaters. Even the first Jet Li/Jackie Chan team-up set in ancient China was forced to have a random white kid as the star in spite of their fame. Not to mention, its always the same five people from any color group who can get anything decent in Hollywood. Even then its still kind of f*cked up. Terence Howard plays a pimp to get nominated, Denzel a crooked cop and Foxx a drug abuser. While Berry has to f*ck a white an old white guy who executes her husband. Smith who is the most popular plays a ' black superhero' who is a homeless alchoholic and also a black scientist who kills the entire human population in 'I Am Legend'.

Still, its f*cked up they fired Jane. The role was already his and rather than throw in a sh*tty Asian American actor in the last minute they should have put him in a role that wasn't already f*cking taken.
LastActionHero writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 6:56:11 AM

You were horrible as the Punisher would be a good enough reason.
rocketman writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 12:10:34 PM

Expected a bit more from Stallone.
And this reverse racism from Silver is disgraceful.Best actor for the role regardless of race.That's what auditions are for Joel,so you can see if they can act or not.
Tip. Hold open auditions next time and then if a one legged Inuit transgender drag queen seal clubber acts De Nero off the stage give him the f*cking job.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 3:23:21 PM

If Sung Kang is the best part of Fast and Furious 3, then that film has no good parts at all.
Bluegirl285 writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 10:49:19 PM

"Aliens, set in a castle, with werewolves"
So does this mean that at some point in the movie, little werewolf cubs will come bursting out of peoples' chests?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 30th, 2011 at 11:48:25 PM

Maybe its kind of hard for Joel to go away from a formula that's made him one of the top producers of alltime. After 48 Hours, Die Hard, and Lethal Weapon why the f*ck would he change something that works so well? If it makes you feel any better, he produced plenty of films that didn't have any black people or Asians in them at all :)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved