WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Two Directors in Talks for "300" Sequel

Posted: June 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Two Directors in Talks for "300" Sequel Submit Comment
Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) has been saying that if Frank Miller wrote a sequel to "300" graphic novel that he would direct a film based on it. Snyder is now hard at work on the "Superman" reboot and Warner Bros has decided to move forward with the "300" follow-up with out him.

Deadline has learned that the film is now called "300: Battle of Artemisia" and the studio has narrowed down its list of potential directors to Noam Murro (Smart People, Die Hard 5) and Jaume Collet-Serra (Unknown).

The script is written by Snyder and Kurt Johnstadt (300). The story is about Themistocles and the Battle of Artemisium, which happens during the exact same three days as the Battle of Thermopylae in "300."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 5:39:11 AM

Noam Murro (Smart People, Die Hard 5)?

Since when Die Hard 5?
gunner writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:12:41 AM

Horrible title. What was wrong with just calling it Xerxes.
Rambo writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:26:37 AM

wait for snyder a year or two..
Avirex writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:34:33 AM

Xerses the godlike transgender as portrayed in the film 300.

Pass.
Dirt writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:39:07 AM

This. Is. LESBOS!
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:52:11 AM

Avirex writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:34:33 AM
Xerses the godlike transgender as portrayed in the film 300.

Pass.

All living gods are transgender.....its in the handbook.
James Lipton T-Bag writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:52:43 AM

Good golly, Miss Molly!

I'm all ashiver over this!!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:11:01 AM

the sequel has been made already is called The Immortals with Henry Cavill
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:25:56 AM

Watch them try to beat 300 in every way while still using the same successful formula. What's the point of making a sequel without Snyder when his visual music video slow motion style was the signature of the first film?

If a director tries to copy this he's breaking the unwritten laws of auterism and mugging himself off. As much as I hated Sucker Punch I'm know Snyder can film well off a decent script and somebody else's vision.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:08:29 AM

@cinema: Other directors have been trying to duplicate Snyder style ever since 300 and have actually been pulling it off. For example, Showtime's Spartacus used the same techniques and visuals very successfully. Apparently this new Immortals film is using the same mold too. It won't be easy but I'm sure Zack can be replaced with the right eye behind the camera.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:16:12 AM

SAC- Yep and that's my problem, Spartacus might as well have been called 300: The Series as good as it was why do they feel the need to copy some one else. Immortals is another example of lack of originality and I'm sure it's not just Snyder to thank for 300s visuals but people need to start thinking about making poor mans versions of his films.
prowler writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:20:07 AM

with that names, they could even offer me a chance to direct
coldplayesence writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:22:55 AM

At least Frank Miller isn't directing but come on, those two guys sound meh...
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:45:57 AM

Thats great I'm happy for em. Will I see this? Nppe!
takai writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 10:14:25 AM

'Spartacus' comes nowhere near the production of 300. Not because they dropped the ball, but because the budget is drastically different.

As far as this movie is concerned, I hope that they do end up holding out for Snyder. While I'm glad that it's not Xerxes anymore (considering that it wouldn't even have Xerxes in the film), having '300' in the name is completely ridiculous. They should just call it 'Artemisia'.
pornfly writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 10:49:04 AM

@dirt, HA one of da best episodes
pornfly writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 10:49:33 AM

@dirt, HA one of da best episodes,wish i said it first
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 11:08:40 AM

Is that Michael Jackson? The picture is too high to see if he has a toddler's ass on his d*ck.
rocketman writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 11:51:11 AM

Crap title.
pornfly writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 12:25:39 PM

@ranger its a dude puffin weed in front of da police wit sum big balls on a wheel barrow,gyea
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 12:27:56 PM

lol.
shanesleeping writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 1:40:16 PM

guy richie gets my vote
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 2:46:57 PM

The 300 Spartans was a specific battle moment, during which 300 or so Spartans held off far better equipped and numerically superior Persians while the Greek army retreated.

So how can you make a sequel? By inventing a similar moment just to sell a movie? I mean, I know Frank Miller's 300 graphic novel isn't historical, and I know it's just very loosely based on the actual historical event, but still, it seems to me in order to have a 300 Part 2, you ha'd have to have some corresponding history. I guess not.
sri_91 writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 3:29:48 PM

300: Battle of schizopernia!
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 4:17:29 PM

@ Telur

Ive Heard about Die Hard 5 Being Made for awhile. Cant Wait. (f*ck you Mink in Advance lol)
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 4:45:41 PM

I really don't want to hear how you want to f*ck me, Tanman.

And it says on your profile you're a rapist. Well, good to know prison prepared you for a career in the sex crimes field.

But this is ain't the shower room, and I'm not the new fish with the bubble butt, so find some other dude to meat shank.
Frank_Castle writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 4:54:02 PM

I dont think I want to see this sequel/prequel anymore.
Rambo writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 5:39:53 PM

just saw 'transformers 3'.it sucked.not as horrendous as ROTF but pretty close.I'm done with this franchise.
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 5:59:13 PM

Did you see it in 3D Rambo ?
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:04:47 PM

LOL @ Mink nice come back !!
Rambo writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:05:03 PM

yes,trailer,it didn't add much to the movie.I think Bay's ended his career with the first transformers which was great but all the money he got for it squeezed out all his mojo.
Rambo writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:08:07 PM

seems like a poor summer blockbuster year.'Thor' was the only movie which had some juice in it but even that wasn't amazing.i don't give a sh*t about harry potter and captain america will suck for sure.
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:21:18 PM

Agree on the Summer Movies this year they have been so so.

I did like Super 8 but the last 15/20 minutes were a little bit of a let down to be honest.

MI:4 and the sequel to Sherlock Holmes are the next 2 films i'm looking forward too
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:23:30 PM

And Inbetweeners movie is going to be epic (British tv show) Not sure it will make to your sid of the pond though
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:24:30 PM

sid = side
Rambo writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:28:38 PM

I kinda miss the days of pre-cgi summer blockbusters like the first 3 indiana jones movies where you knew you're gonna have sh*t load of fun going to the cinema.
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:36:14 PM

Ahhh the Summer of '89 was a great year for summer movies
Rambo writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:45:06 PM

yes.good year.it was actually James Cameron that started the cgi trend in 1991 with terminator 2 which was awesome but at the same time led the way to some of the god-awful movies we are seeing in cinema nowadays...
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:52:07 PM

Rambo

Your pic has got me wanting another Predator movie with Ah-nald the baby machine
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:55:57 PM

trailer

Any summer in the 80's was a good summer not just the movies. Heck music was 10 times better

Now we have to endure Lady Garbage, Brittany Spears, Lil Kim, Lil Wayne, crap
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:01:31 PM

Your not wrong there Crazy,

Who would have thought Lady kaka and the rest of the sh*t music around today would make Culture Club sound good...
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:05:00 PM

Rambo

Terminator 2 is still the only movie i have ever seen at the cinema in England where the Audience were on their feet clapping and cheering at the end.

I know you guys in the US do that a lot more but it's a very rare occurrence indeed here.
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:06:41 PM

Xerxes : The Battle for La Cage aux Folles
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:10:26 PM

Crazyhorse writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 6:55:57 PM
trailer

Any summer in the 80's was a good summer not just the movies. Heck music was 10 times better

Now we have to endure Lady Garbage, Brittany Spears, Lil Kim, Lil Wayne, crap

@Crazyhorse
... compared to Madonna, Debbie Gibson/Belinda Carlisle/Samantha Fox/Tiffany, Roxanne Shante, LL Cool J/Whodini/Run DMC/UTFO/Kool Moe Dee, Wham!/A Flock of Seagulls/ Men at Work/Simple Minds/Tears for Fears, Kiss/Styx/Led Zeppelin/Rush/REO Speedwagon ...
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:11:18 PM

... and poor Carlos Santana ... he couldn't give away tickets...
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:26:43 PM

Lol, seriously, you think Tears for Fears suck? Half those singers/bands were, at one time, pretty goddamned awesome, and you could, still can, actually call their songs genuine music, whereas with Lady Garbage, you can't tell if the whore is trying to sing or just gargling c*m to the tune of Three Blind Mice.

"Ahhh the Summer of (insert any year between 1979 and 1991) was a great year for summer movies"

There. Corrected.

And thanks trailer for the reply. Silly trolls.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:28:55 PM

"Terminator 2 is still the only movie i have ever seen at the cinema in England where the Audience were on their feet clapping and cheering at the end."

Terminator 2, two decades later f*cking still *owns*. They should theatrically re-release THAT film in 3D instead of Titanic. But old hypocrite money-hungry whore Cameron just has to buy another submersible.
Johnnyb writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:10:37 PM

With this title and this 2 worthless directors, I only have 3 words: STRAIGHT 2 DVD, MF!!!!!
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 8:49:50 PM

minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:26:43 PM
Lol, seriously, you think Tears for Fears suck? Half those singers/bands were, at one time, pretty goddamned awesome, and you could, still can, actually call their songs genuine music, whereas with Lady Garbage, you can't tell if the whore is trying to sing or just gargling c*m to the tune of Three Blind Mice.

"Ahhh the Summer of (insert any year between 1979 and 1991) was a great year for summer movies"

There. Corrected.

And thanks trailer for the reply. Silly trolls.

@minkowski
Nope. I didn't think Tears for Fears sucked. I was just comparing 80's decade styles with modern decade styles, noting that history tends to repeat every once in a while (ex : Lady Gaga doing her Madonna or Lil' Kim doing her best to do Roxanne Shante) ... I just threw in bands that were listenable to show how far we've slid down now in quality.

It's like that Bill Hicks joke about Jimi Hendrix doing a duet with Debbie Gibson. Classic stuff.


Bottom line, this sequel with Xerxes is one of the worst ideas Hollywood has greenlit. Not to say they're NOT going to do it. But it's pretty f*cking bad.
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:01:50 PM

@minkowski

Sorry for the confusion. Most of the bands/singers now only WISH they had 1 1/16th of the talents REAL bands/singers had and still do.
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:06:17 PM

minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 7:28:55 PM

"Terminator 2 is still the only movie i have ever seen at the cinema in England where the Audience were on their feet clapping and cheering at the end."

Terminator 2, two decades later f*cking still *owns*. They should theatrically re-release THAT film in 3D instead of Titanic. But old hypocrite money-hungry whore Cameron just has to buy another submersible.

@minkowski

Terminator was revolutionary in the world in cinema for a number of reasons :

a. It utilized the technology Cameron used in The Abyss for creation of Robert Patrick's Terminator

b. It's the first movie to historically make $100 million (I think).

c. It showed a fluid connection between the first movie and the second with an even more fluid, but solid storyline.

d. It was a pinnacle in summer blockbuster, only closely matched by Independence Day or the Lord of the Ring trilogy.
Bandito dela Pepto Bismol writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 9:36:28 PM

^ Correction : Terminator 2 - Judgement Day.

Damn UNedit button. LOL.

My apologies again for desecrating Tears for Fears. They kicked ass as the final song for "Real Genius".
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 10:16:09 PM

I thought Tear for Fears got even better with Elemental, but then, hell, what do I know. Beiber's the new Elvis so everything I like I guess just sucks.

And sorry for being a bit hard. You're a good poster, not like the f*cking trolls, and you contribute. One two punch imo. KO.

"Bottom line, this sequel with Xerxes is one of the worst ideas Hollywood has greenlit. Not to say they're NOT going to do it. But it's pretty f*cking bad."

Agreed. I guess Sin City didn't make sh*t in theaters than, to not get a sequel...
SergioFX writes:
on June 29th, 2011 at 6:06:40 PM

Wasn't the story about Xerxes and his search for immortality or something?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved