WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Working on "Green Lantern" Sequel

Posted: June 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Working on "Green Lantern" SequelSubmit Comment
"Green Lantern" is not getting good reviews or performing well in theaters. In two weeks, it has grossed only $118 million in worldwide ticket sales on a $200 million budget. But Warners Bros is already planning a sequel.

On top of the hefty budget, sources claim that the studio has also set a record for having the biggest marketing budget. That could mean that marketing cost at least as much as $200 million.

While it's unlikely that "Green Lantern" will end up grossing over $400 million, Warners claims that it's common for films to drop off in their second week and then pick up again. Even if that was true, the film will have to compete with Paramount's "Transformers: Dark of the Moon," which hits theaters on Tuesday.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:24:41 PM

You just can't sure stupid.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:32:33 PM

*cure.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:39:53 PM

Well... I'm probably the biggest GL fan on here, and still I haven't busted my ass to get to the theater. So people that care about this character a lot less have even less reason to go watch it. It's a movie to be seen in the theater fo sho. I just don't want to have to tell 70% of the crowd to STFU! I may await the DVD and watch it at home.

But a sequel in planning on a paltry $118 mil. WORLDWIDE release for a movie costing twice that?!?!?!?!?!?!? Can I have some of what they've been smoking?
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:45:01 PM

Costing more than that, Ranger. I've heard anywhere from 300 to 400 mil total was wasted, I mean spent on this abomination, I uh, mean film.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:52:14 PM

Oi.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:54:17 PM

Well... it appears for some/most/all part of it they went the '89 Batman - campy, go slow, introduce it the the audience because the studio thinks their paying audience are morons and needs to be let into GL easily, as opposed to going full-blown, dive-in, head first, Matrix-like serious route (that I would have preferred... and by ticket sales... it appears it couldn't have done any worse to try and go that way).
MrHeck writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:55:42 PM

Playin' around with a sequel sounds damn necrophilic to me considering the movie became a corpse to the general public after the first trailer arrived.

Just let it rot WB. You can't milk a dead cows.
MrHeck writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:56:47 PM

i meant:

*can't milk dead cows

Sorry, human glitches. Sure everyone else has 'em.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:57:01 PM

You can milk a dead cow, sure, just hold up the glass and squeeze the maggots.
MrHeck writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:59:26 PM

Sadly enough, that image describes pretty accurately what Hollywood's been doing during the last couple years.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 8:11:46 PM

Yep. They just add sugar.

@Ranger: a more action packed romp would've been far better, and I have a feeling the new Superman may turn out the very same way. Lackluster.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 8:26:34 PM

Was Singer involved in this
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 8:28:27 PM

Yes if the guy who did Sucker Punch brings those crap ideas and Blue Screen effects to Superman;

It wont be a sucker punch, it will be a kick to the balls
The Tall Man writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 8:35:44 PM

With marketing included, the cost was at the $300 mil. mark.
Electro Rock writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:04:27 PM

He gets the ring from Jake the muss. You think that would have people rushing to see it. I liked it though. Not the GL movie I wanted but still pretty cool.
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:20:36 PM

Just retool it by giving it a cool song, a nice anthem like superman did and maybe people like mink could appreciate it a little and turn blake lively into my concubine...i mean wutever her villain name is and even people like mink will come
rabid writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:22:17 PM

There was so much setup necessary for the first one. I'm sure the sequel will have a lot more freedom. It will be interesting to see how they film the antimatter universe and perhaps who else joins Sinestro's yellow lantern corps.
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:24:26 PM

A les scene with black widow wouldnt hurt either
markoz writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:25:35 PM

@Ranger

I'm sure that we could compete for that biggest GL fan award. Anyway I didn't see it yet,because for some reason it's coming to Croatia on August 4th,while we had Thor a week before the US,and X-Men First class a week before US.And that's only this year's superhero movies
markoz writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:26:44 PM

And about the sequel I only have one thing to say:SINESTRO CORPS WAR!!And then part 3:BLACKEST NIGHT!!
Kain writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:33:12 PM

I love The GL, but have no intention of seeing this at the cinema.
Dr Fate writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:43:41 PM

Films have been known to get some revenue back from Blu rays and dvds which cost more then the average movie ticket
markoz writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:46:31 PM

Dr Fate,you can see the future.What can you tell us?
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:56:21 PM

I can't see the future but I can tell you they'll never make 200 mil on Bluray and DVD sales, just to break even.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 9:59:52 PM

Have to wonder if there's something about the color green. I mean, Marvel has their own Green Failure, the Hulk. Odd.
Electro Rock writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 10:05:00 PM

Another film I loved. Still amazed at how Hulk didnt make its money back. Shame really.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 10:24:10 PM

Which one, because the Ang Lee Hulk is beyond bad for the budget involved. The newer film is a hell of a lot better, but I've seen it twice and I still can't recall much of what happened.
Electro Rock writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 10:38:48 PM

Yeah I shouldve been clear with that. I meant the Ed Norton one. I thought it was good. The Ang Lee one...eh...Sam Elliot can only get you so far.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 10:40:18 PM

Yeah, the Norton film was vastly improved. Dunno what Lee was smoking with that one. And Sam Elliot will always be a cowboy to me.
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 11:01:42 PM

'FROGS'
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 11:01:48 PM

Warner is just as bad as Fox except Fox actually makes money off the comic movies they butcher! This shouldn't of been a tough movie to make. It's an origin movie and they already released First Flight which was good so what really happened with this?
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 11:11:36 PM

I really doubt I'll see this, the 1st was bad enough.
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 11:13:45 PM

I'd watch gl over any friggn transformers movie.even @mink cant argue the animated movie is still and alwayz be da sh*t...even if 'you got the touch' song is korny......ok judd nelson voice iz too
Suckmycog1 writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 2:11:32 AM

Well I'll still go see for my personal opinion it might not be great but I might enjoy somewhat.
ZenShark writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 5:37:39 AM

i saw this movie and it was good. people should go see it.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 5:48:08 AM

i posted a week or so back that i was sure that WB would plan a GL sequel because overseas boxoffice would make up for the lukewarm domestic. but f*ckin' hell, overseas sucks too; it's pretty mystifying to me how they could be seeing more money in this. some bean counter at WB must have a huge boner for GL and be fudging the numbers. :)
nawtnt writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 8:23:46 AM

Despie all negative reviews, I watched Green Lantern and I am disappointed by the film, it is not only the worst comic book movie of the year but also the worst one in years.

Thor and X-Men were awesome, the best two comic book movies of the year so far.

I hope Captain America: The First Avenger turns out to be great.

Shame on DC Comics.

Marvel Rules.

P.S No GL sequel, the first one was just awful.
nawtnt writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 8:26:02 AM

Despie all negative reviews, I watched Green Lantern and I am disappointed by the film, it is not only the worst comic book movie of the year but also the worst one in years.

Thor and X-Men: First Class were awesome, the best two comic book movies of the year so far.

I hope Captain America: The First Avenger turns out to be great.

Shame on DC Comics.

Marvel Rules.

P.S No GL sequel, the first one was just awful.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 9:14:03 AM

I just bit the bullet and saw Green Lantern and Super 8 this weekend. Both were big letdowns, Super 8 especially. Talk about a waste of time and money, both studios should be ashamed of themselves for throwing away so much potetial. That being said, I can defininetly see the second GL being much better than the first. The impending battle between Sinestro and Hal is what the comics were all about and it should give the filmmakers a chance to focus on the best part of the first film, Mark Strong (Sinestro) and the constructs. Origin films just suck balls.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 9:17:21 AM

I'm setting the bar real low for Captain America now.
Bunny X writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 1:29:54 PM

WB really thought they had this one in the bank. All the marketing, video game, toy and fast food tie ins couldn't make up for a crappy movie.
Dolts.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 1:35:46 PM

Yes, Transformers: The Movie rules.

That is all.
gunner writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 3:24:21 PM

Bad idea. Just make THE DARK KNIGHT RETURNS with Zack Snyder and Frank Miller when Nolan is done with TDKR.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 6:09:24 PM

The fact that this movie is worse than : Batman & Robin, Superman Returns or Hulk ... wow, that's saying something.

Everyone knows there's a sequel. They wouldn't have dropped a sh*tload of millions into correcting the suit (f*ck! They should've spent hours correcting the script!) and have their "DC Spoiler" at the end of having Sinestro get the "Yellow" ring (Sounds kinda pervy for a supervillian) to not have a sequel ... though it may bomb just as poorly if run roughshod like this one.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 9:15:29 PM

It's like Swai's/Watson's parents said after conceiving him and dumping him at the rest stop, " That sumabitch costs us our lives ... so we gotta make sure we do th' next one right! "
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 9:17:15 PM

minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:24:41 PM

You just can't cure stupid.


@minkowski

It didn't work when Swai's parents got gonorrhea and herpes soon after having his sick ass and it's not gonna work for Warner Brothers
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 10:55:32 PM

Just hope they can learn form their mistakes...but of course this is Hollywood.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved