WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Franco Creating and Selling Invisible Art

Posted: June 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Franco Creating and Selling Invisible ArtSubmit Comment
James Franco has takes on lots of professions, including actor, musician, student, professor and now artist. But his art is unlike anything you've ever seen before, because it's invisible.

Franco teamed up with two other people in order to launch MONA (The Museum of Non-Visible Art), which is described as "an extravaganza of imagination." The goal of this museum is to create a "parallel world built of images and words [that is] not visible, but it is real, perhaps more real, in many ways, than the world of matter, and it is also for sale."

You can purchase this non-visible art (ranging from $20 to $10,000) via Kickstarter, where there is a clear warning that you won't actually be getting any art for you money. Instead, you'll get a museum-style title card to place under your invisible art and a certificate of authenticity. "The rest is up to you," states MONA.

Franco's non-visible art is actually a short film called "Red Leaves," which is based on a short story by William Falkner and is meant to be "a portrait of a culture on the brink of destruction."

The actor/artist explained why he decided to turn to the world of the invisible instead of actually shooting the short film. "I originally intended this to be a film that would go to festivals," he explained. "But it got so expensive, you know, the budget was so high back then that I never realized it. So I've finally been able to realize it for this museum and now I consider it a piece of art."

Since he's now selling his invisible short film, by that logic, he should be able to submit it to film festivals. But why bother, business is good. At this point, MONA has sold $12,500 worth of non-visible art. And that's real money.

If you're confused by all of this, check out the video below that explains everything. Although, it may confuse you more.

Video:


Source: KickStarter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 12:02:05 AM

'white widows' a helluva drug
teskens writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 12:07:24 AM

this is a joke, right? am i being punk'd....where's ashton u milf/gilf (whatever) bangin son of a bitch
secondbest writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 12:25:43 AM

So you pay anywhere from $20 to $10,000 for a card and a piece of paper. Right.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 12:45:44 AM

Yeah, you just keep on smokin' those splifs Franco.
sri_91 writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 1:15:19 AM

Yes, and i had invisible sex with Megan Fox!
gunner writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 1:24:12 AM

$12,500??

These people need to die a slow f*cking painful death. I mean they could have given the money to a charity but no, they will f*cking waste it on f*cking INVISIBLE "ART". Die you sons of bitches.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 1:41:17 AM

Got to be a joke.
pornfly writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 2:09:58 AM

My invisible check is in da mail
Rambo writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 2:27:08 AM

of course its a joke.can't you see franco acting worse then usual?
technoreaper writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 3:29:04 AM

This guy is a freak...is it the drugs?
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 3:36:23 AM

Maybe he caught the cougar rash from Kiki Drunkst in Spiderman III.
Avirex writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 4:40:05 AM

And that ladies and gentlemen is why he is my role model. Always doing something unexpected and amusing while everyone else stays predictably dull.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 4:41:35 AM

Art is, always has and will always be, horsesh*t. I'm not blaming Franco, he's a smart dude, exploiting those stupid art-loving f*ckheads, it's a great business plan.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 6:16:00 AM

I'll take what I previously said back, I had not seen the video then. This is f*cking retarded (that, however, is expected from these artsy folks) and it's actually more shameless than those Nigeria-letters.
JakeVermont writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 6:21:02 AM

whow i cant wait to pay a lot of money for something that noone can see. awesome! okay and this:

" The goal of this museum is to create a "parallel world built of images and words [that is] not visible, but it is real, perhaps more real, in many ways, than the world of matter, and it is also for sale."

perhaps more real in many ways than matter? Hm... I could throw some of your invisible art at your skull and I could throw a rock to compare what is more real. Let's see what cracks your bone.

But as Freudian said great buisness idea, I totally agree. The real idiots are those who pay their money in order to receive a "museum style title card".

DRzFiNe$T writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 6:55:59 AM

Damn! why didn't I think of that??!
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 11:27:18 AM

Im wonder if he over did it when filming Pineapple Express

DONT DO DRUGS People
TheFilmmaker writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 11:29:44 AM

James Franco may seem crazy from this, but I think he's a f*cking genius. He just made $12,500 for selling people name cards, he could sell a hobo out of his box at this rate.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 11:48:17 AM

@Avirex - I'm a fan of Franco. I won't be buying any invisible art (I have all my walls can handle right now), but I like everything I've seen him in.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 1:23:20 PM

Franco has finally smoked that trifecta spliff from Pineapple Express and had an ephiphany .... he's like Leo Decaprio, but schilling on the side to save up for when people realize he's a one trick phony.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 2:18:23 PM

This is what nihilism looks like when it's high on the drug of pretentiousness.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 3:24:16 PM

Since when is being a 'student' a 'profession'?

""a portrait of a culture on the brink of destruction."

So, you mean a window overlooking Malibu then.
calandradawn writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 5:17:51 PM

i think Sir James franco needs some assistance with his shirt.

someone needs to unbutton the shirt AND rebutton it.

i guess the assistant was not just invisible but, absent. maybe you should imagine A) the shirt starts with a button right under the collar B) second button right under the button under the collar C) next button and so on...anyway, i cannot hear this invisible art, so wow, i guess it is imaginary.

all you have to do james is nothing and it all turns to gold, i am jealous!!! you can do anything you want. i have to watch EVERYTHING I DO>i do not like this invisible art and i do not like that stupid joan of bark and there are a lot of other things i do not like Too because i am in a bad moooooooooooooooooooood!
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 5:47:10 PM

^^Wow. Just, wow.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 5:53:53 PM

James Franco Creating and Selling Invisible Art ... to Real RETARDS.

Wonder if he chipped in to have H(AIR)apocolypse play for the even with their AIR GUITARS.

Ladies and Gents, welcome to the Pet Rock of 2011.
calandradawn writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 6:25:03 PM

on a more upbeet note, at least someone can do what they want. this is the U.S.A. people should not be able to be date raped by a supermodel in an invisible cop uniform and then have their child torn from their arms because of a broke wheel stroller! a baby should stay with his mother and mickey mouse should be nice and carry the disney spirit and not say things about James's assist ANTS!!!
calandradawn writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 6:37:18 PM

and it is a person's first ammendment right to make up dumb things if they want to, as well as say whatever they want when they want, esp when they have nothing to lose. your number still 911? alrighty then!!! thanks for making my life a living hell, piece of ca ca nevada, i hate you nevada and since this is the worst reviews ever, i have to say this is the greediest, most evil, most anti-american state in the union, we need a natural disaster to destroy it, only not when my son is in it, I HATE YOU LAS VEGAS< I HATE YOU SO DEEPLY< I WANT YOUR LIGHTS TO EXPLODE IN A HUGE SAND storm, i hate hate hate, nevada, once i leave I WILL NEVER< EVER EVER COME BACK. there is my worst review ever.
calandradawn writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:03:31 PM

Congress passed ICWA in 1978 in response to the alarmingly high number of Indian children being removed from their homes by both public and private agencies. The intent of Congress under ICWA was to "protect the best interests of Indian children and to promote the stability and security of Indian tribes and families" (25 U.S.C. 1902). ICWA sets federal requirements that apply to state child custody proceedings involving an Indian child who is a member of or eligible for membership in a federally recognized tribe.
you better not mess with my baby nevada or else i is gonna slam with you a law suit because my great-grandpa hates you whities for taking my injun baby. and i do not like you baby daddy. you could have scooped him up, where are you now, sleeping with the enemy, i am so pissed off today, i just don't care. court case coming up this week and noone will see this anyway, cause dawn aint my last name. you think everything is about money noah's daddy, it is about substance, freakshow. you and your ho go to hell.
calandradawn writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 7:10:31 PM

um, this is the real calandra dawn and i did not right those things. how can i delete those. well, things can't get any worse so who cares anyway, obviously noone.
michelerena writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 8:42:18 PM

Ok then. Is James Franco jumping up and down on Tom Cruise's couch with him?? Maybe he is just smoking too much of that funny weed again?? Wow, this man has issues beyond explanation.
Johnnyb writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 10:28:13 PM

Maybe after smoking coke, pills drinks, marihuana, a lot of beating in me and a lot sex.... I will appreciate this, until then I will not.....
Avirex writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 11:36:15 PM

@Ranger -I'm not buying his sh*t either (or anyone else's) but I'll watch any film he's in. Was a fan even in the Spider-Man days.
Tavobore writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 1:57:13 PM

Now I believe he really uses Pineapple Express.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved