WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spy Kids 4" Will Actually Use Smell-O-Vision

Posted: June 25th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spy Kids 4" Will Actually Use Smell-O-VisionSubmit Comment
When posters for Robert Rodriguez's "Spy Kids: All the Time in the World" began coming out, they all said "in 4D." I didn't pay much attention to that, thinking that it's referring to the fact that this is now the fourth installment in the franchise. But that's not the case. Apparently, there will be a fourth dimension... smell.

This is nothing new however. Theater owners have used smell during showings of many movies, like "The Scent of Mystery," John Waters' "Polyester" and even Terrence Malick's "The New World." Some theaters would use pipes to release odors during specific scenes, others would have scratch-and-sniff cards that you had to use.

"Spy Kids 4" will have cards loaded with eight different smells, which will be handed out for free at both 2D and 3D showings of the film. "After 'Spy Kids 3,' I had to do something new, add another surprise," said Rodriguez. "It's very fun and interactive since you never know where and when a smell will come next. It adds a lot of extra laughs."

Before the movie begins playing, Ricky Gervais will appear on screen to explain how to use the cards, which you don't have to scratch. Instead, you wipe a finger over the scene the way you do with an iPhone.

Poster:


Click here to read more about "Spy Kids: All the Time in the World."

Source: USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 12:52:43 AM

I had a DQ Peanut Buster Parfait today (by my very comment it's evident I'm lactose intolerant). Ewwww... just let me in that theater... I'll give'em 'Smell-o-Vision'!
triggax writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 12:57:14 AM

I hope they film the 3rd batman in aroma scope.
gunner writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 1:03:44 AM

Well can't wait to smell that p*ssy, Alba.
telur writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 1:09:29 AM

what you can expect? It's a Kids movie
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 1:20:58 AM

What gunner said.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 1:33:13 AM

I don't need "Aromascope" to know this movie is and smells like sh*t.
secondbest writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 1:34:20 AM

Considering this movie looks like sh*t, I don't think I want to smell it.
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 1:43:47 AM

I'm gonna smell the sh*t out of this film.
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 1:48:31 AM

Show off!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 2:23:05 AM

Stupid. With children's attention span they won't be able to focus on the movie because they will be busy playing with their sniff cards.

Oh, know I see what you're trying to do, Robert. Smart move, douche-y, but smart move.
Rambo writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 2:24:56 AM

thank god Lohan isn't in this movie...
Damon242 writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 2:26:41 AM

How about we just scrap all the gimmicks and just get a watch a decent film for once? Is that really so much to ask?
manichispanic writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 3:57:38 AM

i'm a huge rodriguez fan, but let's just make a good movie, ok?
darkraven28 writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 4:22:39 AM

Do we really need another f*cking Spy Kids movie? I prefer a Rodriguez movie that's violent and f*cked up.
Rambo writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 5:05:32 AM

But Rodriguez prefer a kiddie movie with big fat pay check
boogiel writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 8:04:45 AM

"Theater owners have used smell during showings of many movies, like "The Scent of Mystery," John Waters' "Polyester" and even Terrence Malick's "The New World." Some theaters would use pipes to release odors during specific scenes, others would have scratch-and-sniff cards that you had to use"

Not a very good idea if there's fart scene in the movie.
Eben1277 writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 9:10:18 AM

Blazing Saddles should re-release in aromascope
JakeVermont writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 9:34:54 AM

I get the scent pipes thats okay I guess in movies in which scent plays a big role or is important in any way. Buf sniff cards??

They give you a couple of cards which you have to scratch and smell them and then they call that a 4D movie? are you f*cking kidding me?? What the f*ck is wrong with the world...

as Freudian nightmare said, even for children it will be just stupid. they wont pay attention and play around with their cards.

sniff cards.... one of the dumbest ideas in the history of movie ideas.

For martial arts movies they should install mechanical fists in the front seats which come out and punch you in the face. Thats a new dimension as well... cuz you will be touched by stuff...

*rolling eyes* god give them some sense please..
nitishbhat writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 9:35:35 AM

if u add smell to 2D, that would make the movie 3D. dumbasses......

"I had to do something new, add another surprise,' said Rodriguez"....... which is to say, "nothin else worked in this stupid movie, so i had to think o a gimmick to lour stupid kids n their parents to pay me money to buy some toilet paper........ which i would use to wipe my ass after unloading this huge pile of crape.... "
bandolero999 writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 11:14:24 AM

Jessica Alba looks like shes 40 in that pic her looks are fading.Rodriguez has the most stupid excuse to make kids movies,he says is for the paycheck but he knows is bullsh*t.He's trying to prove that he can do all type of genres when it comes to horror,kid flicks,and action.And please stop putting your Cousin Danny Trejo in all your movies it gives me a f*cking headache,theres like a million other Mexicans in Texas but you seem to have a boner for him.
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 11:39:35 AM

'They give you a couple of cards which you have to scratch and smell them and then they call that a 4D movie? are you f*cking kidding me?? What the f*ck is wrong with the world...' --- well said.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 11:57:28 AM

Smell-o-vision. Eh. If they just combined aromatic piping with climate control, they'd have an effective means to render a reasonable facsimile of specific environments.

like say a low dry hot wind with the odor of sagebrush for a desert scene.

It could work if done right.
TheFilmmaker writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 4:18:20 PM

I'm officially giving up on Rodriguez. He's never going to get around to Sin City 2 because he loves to just make sh*tty kids movies. f*ck off Rodriguez, make Sin City 2 or at least a decent movie and maybe I'll respect you again.
JakeVermont writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 5:29:28 PM

@minkowski

yes I'm all with you here. I said i get those scent pipes and if it's really done well and not distracting you too much it can add up to the movie feeling, as you said the deset scene for example. It would extend the movie experience yes when used right.

But what really annoyes are those sniff cards. Come on you hand out 8 cards with the movie ticket that have some smell on them and that gives you the right to make advertisement with a new dimension? thats bullsh*tting people!
The usual dude sees that and thinks whoow awesome a 4D movie lets try that. Then they probably charge you 3 dollars more cuz is a new dimension after all so you pay around 15 bucks and all you get is probably a converted movie with 8 cards in your hand that smell like the sh*tload of money the studio is going to make with this crap.

I'm not a fan of the 3D sh*t anyways. Hate the glasses! And now sniff cards. f*ck...

where is this going?
JakeVermont writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 5:30:31 PM

annoys me*
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 5:48:00 PM

I admit, charging three to five more dollars for ten cents worth of cards *is* one hell of a rip-off.
thereviewer writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 9:45:05 PM

I work at a cinema... guess I'll be handing out the cards and glasses then, grr...
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 3:42:51 AM

Drag them over your up-wiped ass first. Then when people complain after the movie say: 'Hey... didn't the card tell you this movie is sh*t!?'
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 3:05:45 PM

You could actually get arrested for that. Screwing with anything intended for 'consumption', whether it be food, drink or something aromatic, can be considered 'assault'. If you put chloroform into unpurchased perfume bottles, that would be both product tampering and poisoning.

Just a tip there kids.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 5:47:57 PM

Well, that just canned my first date M.O.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved