WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Cars 2" is Pixar's First Bad Movie

Posted: June 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Cars 2" is PixarSubmit Comment
Ever since "Toy Story" hit theaters back in 2005, Pixar went on to have all eleven of their films not only be well-received by critics, but also incredibly successful at the box office.

And now, that streak has ended and it's all thanks to the decision to make a sequel to "Cars," the worst-reviewed Pixar film. "Cars" has a fresh rating on RottenTomatoes of 74%, which is not bad. But every other film is at least 91%. So, I'm not sure why "Cars" deserved a sequel, especially since it's the third lowest grossing Pixar movie.

Well, that decision was a costly one, because "Cars 2" has now hit theaters and it has a fresh rating of 39% from 82 reviews. That means that "Cars 2" is the first negatively-reviewed Pixar movie. Now let's see if it will also be the lowest-grossing.

RottenTomatoes Fresh Ratings for Pixar Films:

* Toy Story (1995) - 100%

* A Bug's Life (1998) - 91%

* Toy Story 2 (1999) - 100%

* Monsters, Inc. (2001) - 95%

* Finding Nemo (2003) - 98%

* The Incredibles (2004) - 97%

* Cars (2006) - 74%

* Ratatouille (2007) - 96%

* WALL-E (2008) - 96%

* Up (2009) - 98%

* Toy Story 3 (2010) - 99%


Click here to read our "Cars 2" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Suckmycog1 writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:08:42 AM

The incredibles is the only sequel I want to see from pixar I mean they make numerous sequels but they can't make one to their best film come on. I didn't like the first cars so I probably won't waste money on the second one
coolguy writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:24:25 AM

lol Alex, its only costly in terms of critical success for pixar. On the business side of things merchandising from Cars is worth billions of dollars. Easy to see why they would want to make a sequel.

on a personal opinion, an Incresdibles sequel would be pretty good to see, besides the Toy Story films, its the only one which warrants one, all the other Pixar movies are fine as stand alone films.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:25:42 AM

^ Yep he's right The Incredibles is the only film that warrants a sequel. Monsters Inc's gonna go down the same route Disney needs to pull it's dildo out of Pixars ass holes and let them sh*t freely...
Kurskij writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:32:14 AM

Well, if you are going for the money - get ready to be f*cked, Lasseter.
Rambo writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:39:47 AM

the first movie sucked.i had to stop after 20 min cause it was so dumb.and,alex,you have a mistake in the beginning of the post...it's 1995 not 2005
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:41:14 AM

Praise be to Jesus!!!
jdl107 writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:43:30 AM

2005 huh? Well then I must have been 2 years old verrry recently. Huh, go figure.
Damon242 writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:45:58 AM

It was pretty bad...
nawtnt writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 7:01:20 AM

It has been a great year for Pixar, Toy Story 3 was released 14 years later after Toy Story 2.

It made lots of money and became the highest grossing movie of 2010 but not only that it had some awards and critics called the best trogily ever.

I watched Toy Story 3 and it is the best one of the series and the best trogily ever and a great way to end the
series.

Now that Cars 2 is the first most badly reviewed Pixar movie, I hope Pixar realises the mistakes it did and John Lasseter should understand that he should make a sequel if fans want one and not make one for the money.
Devil writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 7:14:37 AM

NO. CARS WAS THE FIRST BAD PIXAR MOVIE. THIS JUST PROVES LASSETER IS THE WEAKEST LINK IN PIXAR. HE THINKS THAT CARS IS THE BEST BECAUSE IT WAS HIS DREAM PROJECT. HE'S GOT TO REALIZE YOU CAN'T SIMPLY SAY YES TO ANY RANDOM IDEA. I'D LOVE TO SEE BATMAN IN A JUMP-ROPE CONTEST BUT THAT DOESN'T MEAN THE AUDIENCES NEED TO SEE IT. PIXAR'S FUTURE IS STARTING TO LOOK VERY DULL. NEXT MOVIE IS ALSO AN UNWANTED PREQUEL.
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 8:09:09 AM

Only ever watched the 1st Cars movie because of the late great Paul Newman

This one even has Michael Caine in it but i won't be catching this one

Fool me once, shame on you,fool me twice, shame on me ...
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 8:11:53 AM

im still going to c it
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 8:32:17 AM

^ Enjoy ...

And i agree Incredibles is the only Pixar movie that deserves and needs a sequel ...
Dark writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 8:46:06 AM

...and the Oscar for the best animated film goes to RANGO!
jtgodin writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 9:45:57 AM

1995, 1999, 2010. These were the release dates of the Toy story movies. NOT 2005! The person getting paid to write this article, should do his research. Also, the movie may or may not be good, but it is sure to make 100's of millions.
rabid writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 10:22:35 AM

considering Rotten Tomatoes rating for Green Lantern, I'd say the site has become unreliable for an unbiased viewpoint.
Not that I'd even watch Cars to begin with, but if I did I would't consort the opinions of a hundred amateur movie critics with an itch to write something negative.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 10:43:16 AM

Rabid what are you saying that Green Lanterns good?? f*ck about...
rabid writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 10:49:42 AM

It was.
pornfly writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 11:02:58 AM

Are u f*ckn tellin me that out of all the people with families that work @pixar NOOBODY says hey lets make more Incredibles???people are morons....MORONS $is the root of all dumbasses
gunner writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 11:25:14 AM

"considering Rotten Tomatoes rating for Green Lantern, I'd say the site has become unreliable for an unbiased viewpoint."

Come on son.
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 12:13:35 PM

"considering Rotten Tomatoes rating for Green Lantern, I'd say the site has become unreliable for an unbiased viewpoint."

Opinions are biased by their very nature, my silly boy.
IHateR writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 12:23:35 PM

I make my own opinion about movies i never take anybodies word cause people have sh*tty taste on this site and only have negative crap to say. Besides that the movie is for the kids so grow up and watch grown people movies. *ssholes!
rabid writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 12:33:41 PM

opinions are even stinkier when people get paid to espouse them. If you compare the film critics' reviews and the average audience reviews of the film, there's a huge difference in reception.
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 1:18:06 PM

Hey, I said the same thing about Shawshank and look what it got me? Three days of grief. And don't even get me started on the Ryan Dunn War.

"opinions are even stinkier when people get paid to espouse them."

So, then, you're saying here that Marvel paid all those critics to hate on Green Lantern?

Well f*ck, where's my check you cheeky bastards?

"If you compare the film critics' reviews and the average audience reviews of the film, there's a huge difference in reception."

Dunno. Could be that citics try to review films for technical and artistic merit, regular audiences go just to get out of the house and have a reason to eat ten dollar popcorn.

But it could all instead be just a vast conspiracy, I guess....
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 1:20:28 PM

"Cars 2" is Pixar's First Bad Movie"

So I guess even Pixar didn't watch the first one.
Cody Fairless-Lee writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 3:34:08 PM

TOY STORY came out in theaters in 1995....not in 2005!!!!
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 4:43:54 PM

Toy Story.

1995.

Got it.
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 5:02:23 PM

Thank god that's sorted out, Toy Story was 2005
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 5:03:26 PM

I mean 1995, I'm never gonna get used to that now
velocityknown writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:04:30 PM

Cars was their first bad movie, actually.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:48:43 PM

Alex, so you're saying Pixar's Cars 2 pulled a Ryan Dunn aka D.O.A.
Johnnyb writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 7:36:19 PM

I told you so, MF!!!!! You donīt have to watch the movie or downloaded. Is just that the concept of the movie is so bad and poor, that even donīt deserve a theatrical release. Suffer Pixar in the ass, I hope they rape you in the Box Office for making this worthless sequel!!!!!
Zeroguy writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 9:37:44 PM

Opinions are bullsh*t. Everyone is complex (or just stupid).

Critics tend to review based on art and story and all that. Bit sometimes their own feelings get in the way. Say if you just had a wife past away and then you watch What Dreams May Come. Pretty sure that critics is going to hate the film and not pull their shot together.

Everything is all mindset. I bet Cars 2 is amazing if you just beat the sh*t out of a skin head and got a bj from ScarJo. Try that first, then watch it. Probably a brilliant film now.

I guess Pixar can kiss their Best Animated Film oscar
Zeroguy writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 9:37:54 PM

Opinions are bullsh*t. Everyone is complex (or just stupid).

Critics tend to review based on art and story and all that. Bit sometimes their own feelings get in the way. Say if you just had a wife past away and then you watch What Dreams May Come. Pretty sure that critics is going to hate the film and not pull their shot together.

Everything is all mindset. I bet Cars 2 is amazing if you just beat the sh*t out of a skin head and got a bj from ScarJo. Try that first, then watch it. Probably a brilliant film now.

I guess Pixar can kiss their Best Animated Film oscar goodbye.
secondbest writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 9:53:30 PM

Whenever I've seen a commercial for a Pixar movie in the past, I'd get chills and the five year old in me would yell, "I WANNA SEE THAT." I never got that feeling from "Cars" and "Cars 2" is making my five year old self cringe. I feel like "Cars" and "Cars 2" were the only Pixar movies made specifically for selling merchandise, and that's why they're the least favorite Pixar movies.

Also - "Ever since 'Toy Story' hit theaters back in 2005..."
Um, might want to get an editor on that.
telur writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 12:48:17 AM

i want UP 2 or Wall-E 3
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 1:52:07 AM

'Only ever watched the 1st Cars movie because of the late great Paul Newman' --- yep. And I only saw that because I was at a friend's house and his kid was watching it.
manichispanic writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 3:59:39 AM

a couple of million idiots can't be wrong...
Whitelock84 writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 4:37:42 AM

I just got home from Cars 2; it wasn't terrible, but I think its biggest problem is that it's a disappointment when you line it up with the other Pixar movies. Is this film as great as the other films? No way, not by a longshot, but it's not terrible, I wouldn't call it a bad movie.
snoop writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 5:59:14 AM

No more of The Incredibles, plox. The first one was bad enough.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2011 at 3:16:05 PM

"a couple of million idiots can't be wrong..."

You must have missed Obama winning the election.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved