WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jason Statham vs Clive Owen in "Killer Elite" Trailer

Posted: June 23rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jason Statham vs Clive Owen in "Killer Elite" TrailerSubmit Comment
Today we have the trailer for the upcoming action thriller "Killer Elite," starring Jason Statham, Clive Owen and Robert De Niro. Check it out below.

Plot: Based on a true story, "Killer Elite" races across the globe from Australia to Paris, London and the Middle East in the action-packed account of an ex-special ops agent (Statham) who is lured out of retirement to rescue his mentor (De Niro). To make the rescue, he must complete a near-impossible mission of killing three tough-as-nails assassins with a cunning leader (Owen).

The new movie is written and directed by Gary McKendry and is set to hit theaters on September 23rd.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read more about "Killer Elite."

Source: Yahoo! Movies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 96 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:39:53 AM

I take it they took some liberties with the true story?
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:43:00 AM

Awwyeaahhh this movie looks sickk.. Clive Owen does a quality villain.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:56:29 AM

That looks f*cking brilliant!!!

Good use of the song too!!


@freud

A lot of liberties...lol
nawtnt writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:11:40 AM

The film looks awesome, the trailer was great.

Statham, Owen and DeNiro in one film, that's going to be awesome.

I hope the film turns out to be great.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:12:44 AM

I thought I'll never see De Niro kicking ass again like he did in glorious "Ronin" and "Heat" days.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:16:55 AM

Clive Owen rocking the moustache like a proper gangster...
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:18:23 AM

Just going to say the same thing cinema

It's the Mickey Pearce look, right ??
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:20:41 AM

Kurskij-

Love to see De Niro make an action film half as good as Heat or Ronin, This looks ok but i'm not sure it will be in the class as those movies.
lppinto writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:22:28 AM

De Niro, took you some time to start ass woopin again..
masht7 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:23:59 AM

So '30 Minutes or Less' isn't based on a True Story and this is?
Devil writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:59:48 AM

Holy sh*t!
Rambo writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:05:04 AM

DON' YOU GO ROUNIN' ROUN TO RE RO
KillerCOck writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:06:42 AM

Clive is da sh*t!
prowler writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:07:10 AM

Thank God for Statham, cos with him old school action is back.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:12:22 AM

looks good but could Statham please use a wig or hire a hairdresser he looks the same in every f*ckING movie.He's typecasted with the same role all the time.Like in Revolver he looks different

Awesome Scorpions song Rock you like a Hurricane
bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:13:53 AM

Old School action never died is always been around dont know what the hell you mean by that sh*t.and Statham aint the reason either
boogiel writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:50:45 AM

Ok, I'm officially got interested with this movie.
lebowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:58:15 AM

great cast but not a great trailer,i just hope it will be better than the mechanic which ws sh*t
Dirt writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:16:50 AM

You know it's gonna be good when it has an 80s music in the trailer. All the best action movies had 80s music.
Bob82 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:20:35 AM

Haha, I love it how after the chair scene they say "based on a true story", come ooooooon!
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:21:24 AM

Dirt too true and thats because the best action movies were made in the 80's

The 80's the best decade for film and music IMO
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:27:05 AM

AHHHHH the 80s


like the 90s.....only better
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:40:23 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1SUzcDUERLo
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:49:06 AM

love that training scene, It sums up the 80's music and movies to me...
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:53:25 AM

LOl! funny thought the same thing as I pasted it into my browser!
Dre-EL writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 10:06:39 AM

looks interesting.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 10:07:23 AM

@tt

I was going to add "though it won't be half as good as those" but got lazy.

My thoughts exactly. Still it's great to see that Bob still got it.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 10:19:35 AM

Does look quite similar to The Mechanic and the Transporter and every other Statham film but I like Clive Owen and I like some mindless action so I'm in baby!
SaulSilver writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 10:36:59 AM

The real story here....
Yvonne Strahovski in something other than Chuck!
About damn time.
sri_91 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 11:06:45 AM

*waits for the obligatory hate comment from mink* *realises its a stafe movie so even HE will like it*
j-man writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 11:55:21 AM

3 overused lines in hollywood

'it ends.....tonight.

'i didnt sign up for this'

'this is way above your pay grade'

just thought id share, hope this films better than the mechanic, that film was unbelievably stupid and boring?
pornfly writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 12:15:56 PM

Hell yea let the war of the 5 o'clock shadows begin!
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 12:25:52 PM

The action looks good, but yeah, must they use the same goddamn cheeseball lines in every f*cking movie out there? Isn't there a writer out there who can think of something just a bit different?
rocketman writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 1:00:01 PM

Looks great,my sorta man film.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 2:06:20 PM

@jman
"your license's been revoked..." *bang*
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 3:58:15 PM

Kurskij got lazy or was it too much of that Russian Vodka again !!
triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 4:54:17 PM

Trailer!

Are you f*cking mental?!?! Okay, I'll agree the best music definitely came out in the 80's. Nothing I enjoy more than sittin down with a fat joint and some billy joel..

Kay but.. Movies? 80s? Come on man.. That was pretty much a dead era for film. There's nothing you can tell me to dispute that.

I would agree that there were "good films" made in the 80's but as far as the best decade for film. It holds about as much merit as the last 10 years. There were very few amazing films and a lot of absolute sh*t. Most of what came out in the 80s that wasn't spielberg was absolute trash. Bogus over the top trash. The only difference between now and then, is that we're taking all those bogus trashy films and remaking them. We've really run out of ideas.

The 90's my friends. The 90's is where it all happened.

Let's have a look shall we.

Heat. 95. Easily the best f*cking movie of the last 30 years. Since The Sting i'd say.

LA Confidential. 97
One of my personal favorites. f*cking amazing detective noir..

Wow breaking em apart like that will take all day.

Forrest Gump
Shawshank
Schindlers List
Saving Private Ryan
The Thin Red Line
Natural Born Killers
Pulp Fiction
Reservoir Dogs
The Insider
Quiz Show
Fargo
The Hudsucker Proxy
Breakdown
Nick of Time
Boyz in the Hood
DIE HARD f*ckING 3 (Easily the best of the series)
Terminator 2
Casino
Usual Suspects
Braveheart
The Patriot
Green Mile
A perfect world
Unforgiven
true crime
Last of the mohicans
Dances with Wolves
the fugitive
good will hunting
seven
fight club
(I could f*cking go on all day)
the matrix (thats iffy for me)
silence of the f*cking lambs (manhunter WAS better and probably sits with the very best of the 80's)
the big lebowski
barton fink...

I don't know how to end this list dude.

The 90s were easily the best decade for movies ever.

You want to get into logistics and argue any other decade thats all good. No other decade has ever hit the nail on the f*cking head as consistently as the 90s, bruva.

The 60s and 70s were ruled by Roy Hill and Sergio Leone for me. But the weight of a few masterpieces doesn't ever even come close to the weight of the amazing efforts made in the 1990's.

Thats all I wanted to say.

This movie looks bitchin'. Definitely nice to see DeNiro kickin some ass.

Oh and add f*cking Ronin to that list.
triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 5:02:08 PM

The most commonly used line in cinema, I'm pretty sure for the last 100 years is!... Wait for it..

"Lets get outta here"
rocketman writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 5:02:21 PM

Sittin down with a fat joint and some billy joel..

Nice ;)

triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 5:02:42 PM

Also, feel free to put goodfellas on that list.
triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 5:08:11 PM

Seriously Rocketman.

The moment I get off work, It's been a ritual. Fat Joint + Downeaster Alexa.

It's like achieving total awareness.. every time.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 5:15:13 PM

@tt

No, my friend, unfortunately it's still thursday. "Vodkend" starts on friday. As is whorekend. )

@trig

Damn, that's a nice post.

80's has it's masterpieces that, like them or not, made a huge influence on future filmmaking.

Terminator
Raging Bull
Raiders of the lost ark
Scarface
Full Metal Jacket
48 hours
Glory
The Road Warrior
Unlawfully forgotten The Stunt Man
The Color of Money (though The Hustler is superior imho)
The Untouchables
First Blood
Predator
Aliens
Platoon
The Thing
Escape from New York
Beverly Hills Cop
Lethal Weapon (though it's essentially 90's movie)
The Mission
The Fly
Empire of the sun
Cinema Paradiso
even f*cking Caddyshack
Back to the future
etc.

It was a good decade, though it spawned a lot of sh*tty movies. On the other hand, it was the 90's that gave the world "Nu Image" and most of its trash.


eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 5:18:57 PM

@trig - though not a fan personally, my dad was friends with Billy Joel in the 70's, before and after his tours in Nam. As the story goes, my dad was the bartender that inspired the "John at the bar" line in Piano Man. All I know for sure is they were friends and my dad did bartend at one of the dives Joel used to play at. And I too enjoy a nice blunt or a bowl after work with some music. Always helps put things in perspective.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 5:22:40 PM

BTW, Trig

You've mentioned watching "Tree of life" and I take it you're a fan of Malick.

Can you review it in short, I'm planning to watch it this weekend and those who already did tell me things like "there was no plot", "I didn't get what was it about", "what's the thing with that mask in the water" etc.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 5:30:50 PM

I think Clive Owen has the coolest role in the movie and the Porn Stache has some style
j-man writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 5:30:52 PM

@trailer
God love the mickey peirce look
Lol, legend!!!!
triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 5:45:38 PM

I honestly think that putzman addressed the issues with the movie pretty well in his review. Though slandered it far too much.

It was a f*cking cerebral masterpiece. Something the likes of which have never been filmed before I'd admit.

The problem with the movie is that it fails to expand on its unbelievable intense first half.

IF youre a huge Malick fan, you'll understand the purpose of the second half of the film and be able to gather a lot from it. If you're a f*cking retard like putzman and have probably never watched a terrence malick film. You'll think it's unnecessary and over long.

A lot of the photography in the film can be said to be over long and over used but the idea of that was to show the redundancy and hollowness of every day life after seeing the glory and awe that is the creation of it all.

It was a juxtaposition I guess, if you could call it that? I have a hard time even using that term for the film.

In one half it shows the absolute intensity and amazing efforts of the entire universe and just how awe inspiring that is but goes in a totally different direction afterward, not because malick "lost his way" as f*ckhead so eloquently put it. More so because this is life. The creation of it all is unrealistic in every way imaginable BUT the story of any given persons life, is... boring.. frustrating.. yet still visually enthralling and beautiful.. It seemed to me like the second half was an attempt to be able to show what this awe inspiring "big bang" that created the universe looked like after the dust had settled. Every day middle america. White picket fences and an overly aggressive father.

It's malick dude, if you sat through the thin red line and loved it like I did, you CAN'T be disappointed in The Tree of Life.

A career that spans half a century with only 5 films is almost unbelievable with the kind of talent the guy has.

This was better than anything he's ever done. Better than Days of Heaven. Better than The New World.

It's hard to explain the actual purpose to the story inside the story of The Tree of Life, unless youre malick himself. But that was the point. It was an amazing story set to the most amazing visuals you've ever witnessed. I can safely say it was the most beautiful film I've ever watched.

So go into it without expectations. Go into it like you want to see a Malick movie because its too few and far between and you wont be disappointed.

Putzmans a f*cking moron. What did he give it? 5/10

Probably the best filmmaker of all time.. gets a 5/10 for his masterpiece. But the f*cking mtv grip that directed Sex and the city 2 got... an 8/10?

Its Terrence Malick dude.. Don't listen to a single review, see it for yourself. You will never feel like it was not worth it.

triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:10:28 PM

Terminator (2nd was better, 90's wins)
Raging Bull (Just BARELY makes it to this list, from my recollection it's US release was actually 1979, plus his work in the 90's runs circles around this, last temptation of christ was terrible)
Raiders of the lost ark (agreed)
Scarface (terribly overrated drivel, i couldnt stand pacino in this boring novelty of a film, Carlitos way, from the 90s was a much better attempt at the same film)
Full Metal Jacket (again, I think ive talked about the flaws with this film on here recently, the setting and the long takes were too much to deal with in the second half)
48 hours (agreed)
Glory (matthew broderick ruined what could have been even my favorite civil war film, gods and generals, dances with wolves, gettysburg all in the 90s, put glory to shame)
The Road Warrior (again, overrated, Thunderdome spoke more to what they were trying to do with both of the first films, ill argue that to the death)
Unlawfully forgotten The Stunt Man(absolutely agreed)
The Color of Money (though The Hustler is superior imho)(The Hustler was WAY better and this film, next to maybe boxcar bertha is probably one of scorseses most feeble attempts, paul newman made it watchable)
The Untouchables(agreed, depalmas best movie)
First Blood(pffffft, lump that in with the bogus trash films that came out during the 80's, no better than tango and cash, which was still good.)
Predator(agreed)
Aliens(didnt like it, cameron failed on so many levels, I'll never understand the praise, ridley scott could give him a few pointers)
Platoon(agreed)
The Thing(definitely f*cking agreed)
Escape from New York(no, carpenter was all over the place with his vision here, although I appreciate the film, and the cast, overrated)
Beverly Hills Cop(hell ya)
Lethal Weapon (though it's essentially 90's movie)(yeah the first was the 80s, very good, but like you said they were 90s fare)
The Mission(eh, yeah, i didnt much like deniro in this one unfortunately, but damn good movie)
The Fly(no, the original was substantially better, cronenberg told the exact same story, but relied on gross out tactics to make it, "thought provoking")
Empire of the sun(good movie, not much else to it though)
Cinema Paradiso(very good)
even f*cking Caddyshack(oh f*ck yah)
Back to the future(that goes without saying, BttF Transcends time though, so you can't lump it into a decade of film)

Sorry I just felt like doing that to prove, if only to myself that the 90s still kicks the sh*t out of the 80s now matter how you list it.
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:18:03 PM

Very Nice List(s) there Trig and Kurskij.

By the looks of your list there trig the 90's has a lot more top quality cimema thats for sure Goodfellas, Saving Ryan etc etc, But for me the 80's was all about fun and family entertainment,it's what i grew up watching so i will always have a soft spot for that particular decade.
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:22:13 PM

Radiers Of The Lost Ark
Empire Strikes Back
Die Hard
Stir Crazy
Mississippi Burning
Silver Streak
SuperMan 2
CannonBall Run
For Your Eyes Only (the best bond film ever IMO)
Absence of Malice
Midnight Run
The Last Crusade
Stand By Me
Vacation films
Goonies
The Burbs
Bladerunner
Fast Times at Ridgemont High
Police Academy
Outsiders
Beverly Hills Cop
Ghostbusters
Gremlins
Karate Kid
Witness
Commando
Nighthawks
lost boys
Friday 13th
Nightmare on elm st
Brewsters Millions
Platoon
Aliens
Lethal Weapon 1 and 2
Cobra
Rainman

There are bloody hundreds more i could list :)
trailertrash writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:31:10 PM

J- Man - LOL !!
makingcircles writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:56:10 PM

Hell yes I'm seeing this.
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:56:46 PM

I'm pretty sure that anyone who says that race-baiting Joel Silver piece of sh*t Die Hard 3 was *easily* the best film out of the series is a total f*cknut.

And the same person also thinks the 90s had better films. Yeah, what the f*ck ever. Better films for the guy that likes to see sh*t go boom maybe, but for people that enjoy stories and like to believe they've watched something that made them feel better, well the 80s smash.

Just look through this list here and you can find no less than 100 films you like, easy. I know I can.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1980s_in_film

And I have a hard time taking someone's opinion when the person in question almost always and only pops up when you say the word 'Heat'.

Yeah, we get it, you *really* like that film but f*ck there's more to cinema than the two watchable films Michael Mann made. Christ. And he made sh*t before those two and he made total sh*t after. Public Enemies? Worthless drivel. The Insider? Virtually unwatchable without PCP. Miami Vice? Bland as f*ck, almost like it was made by Mann's retarded blind clone.

As for this film, they should have left DeNiro out. He's whored himself out so much for sh*tty comedies and awful drama all I can see when I look at him is the irritating *sshole from those Focker films.

And Statham is turning into something of a hack. And by something, I mean straight-up hack. Every film of his is him doing some action shots. He's got virtually zero f*cking range. Even Stallone and Arnold stepped outside their comfort zone early on, or at least *smiled* once in a while, but Statham's still doing the slightly improved Jean Claude van Damme thing. Easy f*cking paycheck I guess. Like for example The Mechanic.

Do a comedy for Christ's sake, Statham so I know you're human.

And no, I'mnot watching another gritty, dark, cliched action film. I did that with Unknown and said no thanks. old school action had some levity, the heroes were likable and they were human. They smiled, they cracked jokes and uettered cool sayings. These guys just blow sh*t up and open veins without even a hint of humor or a clever witticism. Takes the fun right the f*ck out of the action. Pass.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:14:25 PM

Yea SLy tried something different allright like Copland,Oscar,Stop or my mom will shoot,Over the top,Driven,SHade

Arnie did Junior,Twins,Jingle all the Way,Kindergarden Cop

Havent seen Statham in a comedy that'll be some weird sh*t
The Tall Man writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:21:55 PM

Statham / Owen / De Niro / The Scorpions = Gave me wood.
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:23:00 PM

Arnold also has his little role in The Villain early in his career, along with with his rather excellently balanced performance in True Lies. Stallone had Rocky very early on, where he played a fairly convincing semblance of a human being. Won awards if IIRC.

Statham? Just does f*cking kicks and moves that look good for the camera. He's been given it too easy because he has the MA skills and the accent, so no one is demanding he actually *act*. Also, no competition because he's standing next to losers like Diesel and The Rock.

Quit sliding by, do something outside your easy comfort zone. Jesus.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:45:46 PM

@trig

Thanks, man.

I'm not a "fan" of Malick's work. I just LOVE what he's doing. His movies, especially "Thin Red Line" and "Days of Heaven" is not so much movies, but a meditaion for me. I've been waiting for "Tree of Life" for 4 long years and sadly didn't have a chance to see it yet. Based on your review, I'll get whta I expected. That man never ceases to amaze me.
triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:50:56 PM

What I like and what I know about movies are completely different mink.

Although I will admit, I'm flattered to know you read my posts regardless of how retarded they may be. Enough to know I have a strange obsession with michael mann. I suppose if its all I post about, it must be obvious.

I'm a sucker for big boom movies. Sure, I can appreciate the louder things in life.

my knowledge of films isnt limited to my taste its the other way around. I've seen em' all, its been my job now going on since I was 11, so no need to be so "matter of fact" buddy, Die hard 3 had everything the first two were missing a black guy lead that wasn't a fat f*cking beat cop.

did you honestly not like The Insider?
triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:01:24 PM

youre always going on about the story, minky. Sometimes you gotta just give yourself a break man. Doesn't it get tiring being so full of sh*t all the time...
triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:06:13 PM

no offense dude, I dont really even have the time to talk about this tonight so no need to come back with a crazy response or anything. Yours is one of the few oppose I respect here at WP. Lets leave it at that.
triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:08:01 PM

Opinions = oppose.

See no time I'm on my phone as it is. Sorry to bitch and ditch.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:10:04 PM

Back to the discussion.

@tt
Out of your list "Nighthawks" is the only so-so movie imho. It has a surprisingly fresh performance by Stallone. But overall - just another B-movie. Though Sly in drag is woth a watch.

@trig

Terminator (2nd was better, 90's wins)- yeah, but you can't have a great second f*ck without having the first )

Raging Bull (Just BARELY makes it to this list, from my recollection it's US release was actually 1979, plus his work in the 90's runs circles around this, last temptation of christ was terrible) - 1) maybe 2) true

Raiders of the lost ark (agreed)

Scarface (terribly overrated drivel, i couldnt stand pacino in this boring novelty of a film, Carlitos way, from the 90s was a much better attempt at the same film) - sh*t, good point, but scarface still spawned a ton of wannabees and IMHO it's still a great movie on its own

Full Metal Jacket (again, I think ive talked about the flaws with this film on here recently, the setting and the long takes were too much to deal with in the second half)- true, it had its flaws, but still it's a great movie and had a truly enormous impact on filmmaking, "Saving..." included

48 hours (agreed)

Glory (matthew broderick ruined what could have been even my favorite civil war film, gods and generals, dances with wolves, gettysburg all in the 90s, put glory to shame) - Broderick was and always will be Broderick, but "Glory" is good enough for me to compensate for his persona )

The Road Warrior (again, overrated, Thunderdome spoke more to what they were trying to do with both of the first films, ill argue that to the death) - maybe, but I personally stand with the theory that "without a good first part there would never be a great second" (i.e. Terminator, Mad Max...)

Unlawfully forgotten The Stunt Man(absolutely agreed) - man, I love that movie. And eagerly waiting for Gosling-Refn's "Driver"

The Color of Money (though The Hustler is superior imho)(The Hustler was WAY better and this film, next to maybe boxcar bertha is probably one of scorseses most feeble attempts, paul newman made it watchable) -agreed

The Untouchables(agreed, depalmas best movie) p the motherf*cking - baby-stairs scene!!!

First Blood(pffffft, lump that in with the bogus trash films that came out during the 80's, no better than tango and cash, which was still good.)

Predator(agreed)

Aliens(didnt like it, cameron failed on so many levels, I'll never understand the praise, ridley scott could give him a few pointers) - I'll give it another watch. For now - completely different from the original, but absolutely brilliant sci-fi for me.

Platoon(agreed)

The Thing(definitely f*cking agreed) - OH YEAH!

Escape from New York(no, carpenter was all over the place with his vision here, although I appreciate the film, and the cast, overrated)

Beverly Hills Cop(hell ya) - I miss the times when Eddie was still funny AND badass. At the same f*cking time.

Lethal Weapon (though it's essentially 90's movie)(yeah the first was the 80s, very good, but like you said they were 90s fare)

The Mission(eh, yeah, i didnt much like deniro in this one unfortunately, but damn good movie)

The Fly(no, the original was substantially better, cronenberg told the exact same story, but relied on gross out tactics to make it, "thought provoking") - I confess, didn't see the original

Empire of the sun(good movie, not much else to it though) - I was impressed with the visuals, plus it's still Bale's best performance imho

Cinema Paradiso(very good)

even f*cking Caddyshack(oh f*ck yah)

Back to the future(that goes without saying, BttF Transcends time though, so you can't lump it into a decade of film)

Sorry I just felt like doing that to prove, if only to myself that the 90s still kicks the sh*t out of the 80s now matter how you list it.

I had an awesome time reviewing the list. Lots of movies I'll rewatch.



Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:14:50 PM

Ow, btw.

Die Hard 3 is EASILY the best film out of the series right behind the original Die Hard.

Cause it had:

1. Story that made sense.
2. Samuel L. Jackson. Playing a character called MF "Zeus"

minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:21:28 PM

Back the Future isn't an 80s film even though it was made in the 80s, because it 'transcends time'? lol. If it was **made** in the 80s, it's an 80's movie!

"Sorry I just felt like doing that to prove, if only to myself that the 90s still kicks the sh*t out of the 80s now matter how you list it."

So you bother to list *some* of the awesome 80s films only to then say, what, the 90s still kick the sh*t out of the 80s? WTF?

And hey, Trig, you very casually stated I was a c*nt, a remark that I would have to agree with, so hey, I'm just living up to your opinion of me. Can't have it both ways.
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:23:20 PM

It's the best behind Die Hard 1 because the Renny Harlin film was a piece of sh*t and the 4th isn't a Die Hard.

QED motherf*cker. Eat a d*ck.
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:29:27 PM

Hey Kurskij, you're not Rabid by chance? You two sure do 'think' alike.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:31:10 PM

@trailer

That's the word.
Soft spot.

Feel free to add:

Police Academy
Mississippi Burning
Absence of Malice
Midnight Run
The Last Crusade
Stand By Me
Bladerunner
Fast Times at Ridgemont High (oh, those Phoebe Cates curves...)
Ghostbusters - both this and Gremlins childhood classic
Gremlins
Witness - I think those who saw it can say one thing "They just don't make them like this anymore". Just like Ranger with modern underage hookers.

Cobra - pure trash by Cosmatos, but I still watch it every year or so. Cuttin pizza with scissors while wearing leather glove is f*cking epic.

Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:31:10 PM

@trailer

That's the word.
Soft spot.

Feel free to add:

Police Academy
Mississippi Burning
Absence of Malice
Midnight Run
The Last Crusade
Stand By Me
Bladerunner
Fast Times at Ridgemont High (oh, those Phoebe Cates curves...)
Ghostbusters - both this and Gremlins childhood classic
Gremlins
Witness - I think those who saw it can say one thing "They just don't make them like this anymore". Just like Ranger with modern underage hookers.

Cobra - pure trash by Cosmatos, but I still watch it every year or so. Cuttin pizza with scissors while wearing leather glove is f*cking epic.

minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:34:23 PM

"Die hard 3 had everything the first two were missing a black guy lead that wasn't a fat f*cking beat cop."

In other words, you liked it because it was affirmative action for film. Great.

And I thought you were past that liberal bullsh*t. Guess not. Where's c-prime, maybe he can add something intelligent.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:35:29 PM


"It's the best behind Die Hard 1 because the Renny Harlin film was a piece of sh*t and the 4th isn't a Die Hard"

What the f*ck was that?

"Hey Kurskij, you're not Rabid by chance? You two sure do 'think' alike."

No, Mink, I'm not, as far as I'm concerned. By chance.



minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:41:04 PM

The 90s films were darker, more foreboding, grimmer, less soulful and less entertaining. They were bleaker and far too serious. Perfect example: The Matrix. Even Heat had no levity, no humor, just tight-lipped grimness througout like filmmakers forgot how to have fun, instead making each and every film a heartless romp through the ugly vagaries of social negativity.

The 80s filem were far, far more upbeat, humorous, happy, ecstatic. They had brighter music and colors and they made you genuinely feel good. When I watch them, I can laugh and smile, but when I watch something fromt he 90s and on, I want seek out a therapist.

Most of the 90s films made you want to commit suicide. If you have no soul, no heart, than sure, 90s cinema is your deal, but if you like to live and if you're still alive somewhere, then the 80s films are by far incomparably superior works.

The 80s fillmaking era was an oasis between the sh*tstain, post-cultural revolution, finding its ass with both hands 70s and the pre-millennial emo-goth darkness of the 90s. A beacon of light on a dark highway was the 80s for sure. No comparison.
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:46:29 PM

"What the f*ck was that?"

What we here in reality call a 'fact'.

Die Hard: Excellent. Critics AND IMDb agrees.

Die hard 2: Bearable.

Die Hard 3: Better film than 2 but full of so much nonsensical liberal Joel Silver Sam Jackson racist sh*t no one with half a brain would ever think to watch it more than twice, the second time just to make sure they weren't mistaken when they thought the film they watched looked just like a NAACP-funded film thesis on 'How We Can All Just Get Along'.

Die Hard 4: Yeah, what the f*ck was that? This was the Indian Jones and the Kingdom of Bullsh*t version of Die Hard no one waited more than a decade for but we still got anyway because some *sshole somewhere thought it would be a good idea to have Grandpa McClean go chasing gun-wielding d*ckless nerds.
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:52:19 PM

The 80s. Best decade ever for film, music and television (but perhaps not so much on the latter).
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:58:17 PM

I agree on Die Hard 4: nicely shot action movie but not a Die Hard. Though it is "Crystal Bullsh*t" of Die Hard

Die Hard 1 : excellent.

Die Hard 2: same as Die Hard 4. sh*t blows up real good, but it's no Die Hard.

Die Hard 3: Great Die Hard. As for "NAACP" - I don't give a f*ck. I grew up in RF (Russian Federation). Spike Lee's bullsh*t doesn't bother me.
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:58:26 PM

"No, Mink, I'm not, as far as I'm concerned. By chance."

Just wondering dog, just wondering my brother cause you and him, man, you both be having that non sequitur thinking going on, know what I mean brah? Jus saying brah, no offense dog. Keep it real. Peace out.
Raider writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:59:13 PM

All 3 Indiana Jones
Stripes
Caddyshack
True Romance
Escape From New York
Point Break
Ghostbusters 1 & 2
Back To The Future trilogy
Predator 1 and 2
Terminor 1 & 2
Tango & Cash
Pulp Fiction
Reservoir Dogs
Desperado
From Dusk Till Dawn
Heat
Die Hard (I highly agree the 3rd one was the best no doubt)
The Running Man
Raising Arizona
Goodfellas
Alien
Aliens
Alien 3 I even enjoyed.
Johnny Mnemonic
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

That's really some of my favorite Films that came out during the 80s and 90s I apologize that there out of order abit. Let me know what you guys think of my list.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:02:34 PM

"Jus saying brah, no offense dog. Keep it real. Peace out."

^

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqyixwqiCag

No seriously. I thought I'm russian.
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:06:29 PM

"Spike Lee's bullsh*t doesn't bother me."

Well, it's an American film intended primarily for American audiences, not behind the Iron Curtain ain't-got-no-meat into-the-Gualag-with the-intellectuals commies, so because we 'Capitalist Pigs' have a long and varied and rather ugly history with both racism and slavery, we, the more intelligent and discriminating viewer, would rather not have that 'Spike Lee bullsh*t', as you so eloquently stated, rammed down our throats by a race-talking actor and a uber-liberal Jew producer whilst we watch what was SUPPOSED to have been an action film, not a diatribe on how whitey be dissing the black man and how the black man not be taking his sh*t anymore.

Know what I mean, Vern?

Oh and trig my brudda, you done outted yo'self good. Yessa you done outted yo'self good fo sho'.
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:08:30 PM

"Let me know what you guys think of my list.'

Your list is awesome, of course, and you're an awesome contributor. Except for Raising Arizona and Johnny Demonic. Not terrible films, just not this white motherf*ckers cup of tea, oh.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:13:34 PM

Wait a second. I'll try to digest it

Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:22:29 PM

"Well, it's an American film intended primarily for American audiences, not behind the Iron Curtain ain't-got-no-meat into-the-Gualag-with the-intellectuals commies, so because we 'Capitalist Pigs' have a long and varied and rather ugly history with both racism and slavery, we, the more intelligent and discriminating viewer, would rather not have that 'Spike Lee bullsh*t', as you so eloquently stated, rammed down our throats by a race-talking actor and a uber-liberal Jew producer whilst we watch what was SUPPOSED to have been an action film, not a diatribe on how whitey be dissing the black man and how the black man not be taking his sh*t anymore."

Oh, "me commie viewer got it" me thinks. But I still don't give a f*ck. Cause as Trailer and Cinema and many others get it (if I'm wring - correct me, guys): movies are not about audiences (be it american, russian, uk, chinese or mothef*ckinese) it's about experience.

I grew up on Die Hards (1-3). I like 1 and 3 of them the best. Motherf*cker, that's a shock, right? I like great amercian movies being a russian.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:23:25 PM

wring=wrong
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:28:07 PM

Yo've been a great sport, kurskij. I'm just screwing with ya. I'll let you be because you admit that we Americans have *something* to be proud of, specifically and namely films, but if you tell me you like our cars too, well then I know you're a goddamned liar.
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:33:23 PM

Your modern cars are sh*t.

Though I do love Shelby Cobra. And Corvette. And some other classics.

Need to have some sleep now. The "Vodkend" is tomorrow.
elrei writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:51:44 PM

f*ck YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!! Welcome Back De Niro! About f*cking time!
triggax writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:55:19 PM

Tarkovsky.

Russian cinema has its own amazing accomplishments to pick from.

Hell nobody ever talks about canadian films. Wanna know why? Because America swallows up any decent talent that comes out of here.

And atom agoyan is the most boring filmmaker on the planet.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 4:57:45 AM

It's all about the 1960s mother f*ckers!!

The Graduate
Dr Strangelove
Alfie
Lawrence Of Arabia
Psycho
2001
The Good The Bad & The Ugly
Planet Of The Apes
The Birds
The Great Escape
Bullitt
Branded To Kill
Any Kurosawa FILM
Any other Hitchc*ck films
Breathless and any other Jean-Luc Godard film f*ck it any french new wave film they all revolutionised cinema by going against Hollywoods conventions and setting the standard for making the most of a low budget.

BOSH!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 4:58:40 AM

Oh and 80s beats the 90s for one amazing reason... GHOSTBUSTERS!
rocketman writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 6:14:37 AM

Don't forget the 70'S
Godfather
Star Wars
Jaws
Debbie does Dallas
Omen
Exorcist
Close Encounters of The Third Kind
Rocky
Saturday Night Fever
Godfather 2
Apocalypse Now
Taxi Driver
Dear Hunter
Texas Chainsaw Massacre
Enter the Dragon
could go on......


jdl107 writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 7:00:28 AM

*Sighs* f*ckin decade picking... Each decade has the same amount of sh*t films and amazing films. What. Is. The. Deal.

Although I did like Minks observation, I stumbled upon the same thought about a year ago, is how movies these days are... f*ck, I want to say realistic. But I'll go with his dark and grim, add a little touch of grit. I do like that style though. Fight Club, Seven, Matrix, blah blah blah. I drink it, I drink it up.
trailertrash writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 9:44:41 AM

Cinema/ Rocket

Love the lists guys, Let's face it movies are awesome !!

Kurskij - Stallone in drag was scary stuff....

Thought Rutger Hauer was great in that movie
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 10:53:01 AM

Trailer- Cheers pal

Jdl- It's called a debate on a movie site deal with it sunshine
funseeker writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 12:58:30 PM

I see they have taken the doc*mentary approach to this true story.
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 12:25:04 PM

This looks like a fun picture.

But I must disagree with the claim that the '80s had the best films and music. For me personally, I think from the 19teens to about the 1950s had the best movies and music.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2011 at 4:13:31 PM

^^In a lot of ways, you're not wrong.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 27th, 2011 at 1:54:41 PM

I like them both... and f*ck it, I'm in.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved