WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jamie Foxx is the Lead in Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained"

Posted: June 23rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jamie Foxx is the Lead in Quentin TarantinoSubmit Comment
Jamie Foxx has officially signed on to star in Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained," beating out Will Smith, who was previously rumored for the role.

Django is a slave who is liberated by a German dentist-turned-bounty hunter and taught the tricks of the trade by his mentor. Django's major goal in life is to recover his wife, and to do it he needs to get past the villainous ranch owner Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio), who runs Candyland, a despicable club and plantation in Mississippi where female slaves are exploited as sex objects and males are pitted against each other in death matches. Candie is a slave's worst nightmare, and that is where Django's wife Broomhilda is an abused slave.

Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds) will play the bounty hunter, Leonardo Dicaprio will be the ranch owner. Kerry Washington will play Broomhilda. And Samuel L. Jackson is also on board to play Stephen, Candie's valet who keeps the slaves in line.

Production is set to begin in November.

Source: Variety, Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:32:42 AM

Idris Elba would've been a better choice, but Tarantino has brought us good performances from washed out actors before.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:38:00 AM

Will Smith is pissssedddd!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:39:54 AM

Is this good news or bad?

I just can't decide.
Serpico1988 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 6:45:15 AM

My dream cast for this role is finally COMPLETE - Jamie Foxx awesome !!
Let's face it, I know it's not out yet, but Will Smith can easily ruin this film.
coolguy writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:40:56 AM

was really hoping Idris Elba would be cast instead, but i guess Tarantino knows how to bring the best out of his cast, have to wait and see how this turns out
Rambo writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:55:12 AM

FAIL
KillerCOck writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:59:28 AM

I think Foxx is better suited for a QT film then Smith is.
Adsamalam123 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:15:58 AM

That's a shame, it'd be good to see a strong Will Smith comeback
bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:19:50 AM

I cant picture FOXX doing a serious role.He'll always be in In Living Color doing comedy skits. Still a better choice though than Smith.

Dicaprio is laughable and frail anyone can kick his pudgy little ass
boogiel writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:40:01 AM

Jamie Foxx is a good comedian whose only talent is as an impersonator of another actor. He looks ridiculous in action movie.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:49:09 AM

exactly
zyban03 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:16:30 AM

@Freudian.. Good Point!
I think this might work out ok.
jdl107 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:33:04 AM

I will admit, this is interesting.

Quirky filmmaking, Tarantino dialogue, and Jamie Foxx as the lead? f*ck it, I'm in.
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:40:07 AM

bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 8:19:50 AM
I cant picture FOXX doing a serious role.He'll always be in In Living Color doing comedy skits. Still a better choice though than Smith.

Dicaprio is laughable and frail anyone can kick his pudgy little ass



Get some knowledge. Foxx is good but not the caliber of Smith in anyway. And Foxx has come along way from his in living color days. check out

Any Given Sunday
Ali
Collateral
Jarhead
Ray
Dreamgirls
The soloist ( very under rated film IMO)



Big_Daddy writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:40:43 AM

^thats at you too boogiel
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 10:04:49 AM

Should've gotten Carl Weathers. That would be the classic Tarantino career revival.
OneTime writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 10:24:16 AM

On another note, I watch I am legend last night for umpteenth time.....poor dog :(
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 10:28:56 AM

Big_Daddy- Are you serious? Foxx may not be all that but he's better than Will Smith IMO although it doesn't take much. What's Will Smith the fresh prince? The guy with attitude? He's not in any caliber he's a likeable comedian.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 10:53:08 AM

Big daddy i seen those movies with foxx and the only one he Did good on was Ray,all others anyone could've played it.his music is sh*t also

Think u got some mandingo crush on him
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 11:00:20 AM

Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 10:28:56 AM
Big_Daddy- Are you serious? Foxx may not be all that but he's better than Will Smith IMO although it doesn't take much. What's Will Smith the fresh prince? The guy with attitude? He's not in any caliber he's a likeable comedian.


Yes I'm serious. eight consecutive #1 openings and eight consecutive movies grossing over $100 million, Smith is a sure thing, or I should say more of a sure thing than Foxx. Seems like a "caliber" to me.

"he's a likeable comedian."

yeah, he was real funny in

Enemy of the state
Independence day
I Robot
Six degrees of separation
Ali
The pursuit of Happyness ( one of his best IMO)
Seven Pounds

Big_Daddy writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 11:02:39 AM

,all others anyone could've played it.his music is sh*t also


careful, your treading on the word "token"

and who doesn't like

Blame it on the a a a a a alcohol
Blame it on the a a a a a a alcohol

LOL!

bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 11:45:25 AM

No that song is really annoying and hip-hop isnt music and either is pop music. is a catchy beat made in a computer with some *sshole in the background saying sh*t that rhymes.

Adam Sandler also makes movies that gross over a hundred million but is he really funny?
bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 11:46:46 AM

Neither
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 12:20:36 PM

Enemy of the state
Independence day
I Robot
Six degrees of separation
Ali
The pursuit of Happyness ( one of his best IMO)
Seven Pounds

Yes he was hilarious in all of them, because he was trying to be a serious actor. Avatar was the highest grossing film of all time but it's an average film at best. Adam Sandler's films open with loads of money but does that mean he's a good actor... f*ck NO. They're both sh*t and let's leave it at that because money means nothing it jsut means he has likeability.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 12:25:57 PM

haha didn't even see bandos adam sandler comment nice
pornfly writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 12:28:26 PM

I think Q just likes a challenge good call freud dude on idris elba he was the highlight of thor,but i'd watch an instructional video on how to clip toe nails if Q directed
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 12:55:15 PM

You know, Jeremy Piven is likable....I don't see him in a lot of movies. I guess that whole "money thing" is important to the studios in some way after all. And we all know your ass was front and center for AVATURD 3 times don't lie I have the pics.

Also Sandler hasn't been funny since Happy Gilmore. Also blame it on the alcohol is sh*t I was kidding but its a lot better than this sh*t:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iw1MiOlNGVs
AshTrey writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 1:46:53 PM

I NEED TO READ THIS SCRIPT..... SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!!! it will be for my eyes only!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 2:18:03 PM

Jeremy Piven is horrible all he does is cry and gets his ass beat.someone is doing the right thing by keeping him out of movies.he reminds be of Blank who's vagina is always itching
Bob82 writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 3:04:29 PM

Well, I always prefered Will Smith for the role, but Jamie Foxx it's a 50/50 to me, and I believe Tarantino has a real talent in directing actors.
HideousSecretion writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 4:39:24 PM

Man, Quentin can afford some good drugs. There wasn't one sentence in that synopsis that wasn't fueled by primo coke. Candyland? Broomhilda? Jamie Foxx? Hilarious.
Narkle of Gary writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 7:53:10 PM

Stupid! Definately should have gone with Idris Elba. His acting in Luther is phenomenal. If anyone hasn't seen it, its worth checking out.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved