WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bob Hoskins Really Hates "Super Mario Brothers" Movie

Posted: June 22nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bob Hoskins Really Hates "Super Mario Brothers" MovieSubmit Comment
The Guardian caught up with Bob Hoskins and asked him a bunch of questions about his 40-year career that includes such movies as "Mona Lisa," "Who Framed Roger Rabbit," "Hook," "Nixon," "A Christmas Carol" and many others.

Some of the questions were about what makes him happy and his great fear, just basic stuff. And to those questions, he gave very standard answers. However, he did say something surprising when the questions became about regret.

What is the worst job you've done?
Super Mario Brothers.

What has been your biggest disappointment?
Super Mario Brothers.

If you could edit your past, what would you change?
I wouldn't do Super Mario Brothers.

It seems that Hoskins is not a fan of the "Super Mario Brothers." And while many would agree that it's cheesy, I'm not sure it's a film one would hate.

Questions: Do you think "Super Mario Brothers" is an awful movie?

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 3:10:06 AM

Can't even remember the movie to be honest
trailertrash writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 3:11:01 AM

But the Long Good Friday f*ckin Awesome, which makes up for any crap he has been in....
chent4403 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 3:12:23 AM

Hey the cheese is what made that movie ok. It never was gonna be the best there ever was. That still it is on the better half of the sad game-to-movie genre.
Kurskij writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 3:23:48 AM

Awful? Nah...

It's an abortion.

It's pretty much as bad a big studio picture can get.

It's not "Lohan home video" awful, though it also involves reptiles and sh*t, but still pretty awful.
Kurskij writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 3:25:11 AM

@tt

"But the Long Good Friday f*ckin Awesome"

Amen.
Rambo writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 4:05:06 AM

it has 3.8 rating on IMDB,and thats about 3.8 more then it deserves.
masht7 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 4:09:59 AM

Question: Do you think "Super Mario Brothers" is an awful movie?

My Answer = f*ckIN A!.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 4:46:37 AM

@trailer

"Long Good Friday f*ckin Awesome"

You aint wrong there mate.


On topic..

I have tried several times to watch "Super Mario Bros" and just can't sit through it.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 5:18:44 AM

I loved it when I was 6 and haven't seen it since. Super Mario Brothers 3 on the NES is still the BEST. VIDEO GAME. EVER!
Johnnyb writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 5:22:51 AM

I don´t hate the movie but the canon they present in this one it was so stupid that everything that was created for the video games looks awful and meaningless.... The movie sucked big time cause it couldn´t construct a great plot and a great world based on the SMBS and also it was a little bit of dark in comparison with the games that was excellent in it´s moment!!!!
telur writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 5:52:45 AM

Bob Hoskins must be love Super Mario Brothers so he always talked about it again and again
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 5:59:11 AM

telur you so crazy!
Kurskij writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 6:21:41 AM

Telur awesome is

WP the same be wouldn't him without
ilovemovies82 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 6:29:24 AM

I haven't seen it since I was a kid. But I did enjoy it. Not sure if I would still feel the same now. Will have to give that one a re-watch.
YoungChris writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 6:37:07 AM

I did like SMB ... if I see it on blueray (cheap of course) I will buy it
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 6:38:00 AM

haha telur reminds me of a young clint eastwood
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 7:07:19 AM

Looks like we have our own Yoda guys.
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 8:14:15 AM

I just loaded SMB ROMS into my MAME cabinet. Some of the best games from the past IMO
bennett31182 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 8:26:48 AM

My QUESTION IS THIS. Don't You realize its a terrible movie as you are asked to belt out those horrible lines??? Act in those horrible scenes??? Yes there are contracts but you know what an actor also has dignity....He lost his during that film and he is just sorry he didn't say something during the fimling. He's a big f*cking p*ssy.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 8:35:05 AM

He's just mad bc there was never a sequel.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 9:32:44 AM

I havent seen it but it cant be that bad it had Dennis Hopper as Koopa.

They havent mentioned that turd that was Double Dragon and Mortal Kombat Annilihation
Dre-EL writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 9:59:44 AM

God yes, its the worst thing I've ever seen with actors I really like. That movie almost put a end to bringing video games to the big screan. Like Highlander 2 lets try to pretend this movie doesnt exist.

Other movies that dont exist:
Superman 4
FF2 Rise of the surfer
Wolverine
Batman and Robin
Star Trek the motion picture
Battlestar Galactica 1980 (I know its not a movie, but as a fan of the series I have to tune this out cause its painful to think about it, ouch.)
Bunny X writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 10:13:25 AM

I guess we can file this story in the No-sh*t-Sherlock folder. Super Mario Bros. was a disastrous movie. Nothing about it worked. I would watch the Double Dragon movie twice before ever watching SMB.

And @Cinemaisdead, I agree 100% Best Game Ever!!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 12:30:49 PM

Asa matter of fact i read where they are supposed to remake Mario 3 for the WII 2
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:28:48 PM

"I loved it when I was 6 and haven't seen it since. Super Mario Brothers 3 on the NES is still the BEST. VIDEO GAME. EVER!"

If you're lying I'm dying.

"Asa matter of fact i read where they are supposed to remake Mario 3 for the WII 2"

We will see about that. The guy that did New Super Mario Brothers claimed that all he wanted to do was remake the original. He also claims he has no plans to remake another Mario game.

I hope he's wrong. Super Mario Brothers is in fact one of the best games ever made. It's as close to perfection as a game can get IMO.

As for the film, haven't seen it, but I doubt it's as bad as he says.
brigulon13 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:29:25 PM

If they just made that movie and did not reference Super Mario in any way, I may have liked it more. Bad use of license if you are looking for Super Mario World the Movie. Picked it up in the cheapo bin at Wal-Fart not too long ago. Watched the entire movie again. So it held my interest. Kids liked it.
The Real Joker writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:40:04 PM

The movie works better now, Was really bad when it came out. But now I really can watch it. I even own a copy of it on DvD(a)
secondbest writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 3:15:10 PM

I liked it the last time I saw it. Then again, I was 7 or 8 years old.
WV-Films writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 4:26:19 PM

This movie is more surreal than awful. It's so out there and bizarre, that that in and of itself is what makes the movie as highly/lowly regarded as it is.

It follows in line with the 90's neon cyberpunk film genre similar to The Fifth Element, or Total Recall. I wouldn't say it's as good as those, but it's blend of 80's game meme's, and 90's cultural references make me think someday this movie will be just as loved and revered as Howard the Duck or Buckaroo Banzai by some future hipster audience.
meccano writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 5:42:59 PM

It was a kid’s movie and Hoskins did it for the money. What was he expecting? I'm not convinced that Bob Hoskins holds his grudge against this movie simply because he thinks it is a bad movie. I'm willing to guess that he has never even seen it. The thing is, the shoot was a nightmare and it was rough on Hoskins. He never thought this was going to be some great classic, but he did think it was going to be an easy payday. It wasn't. Not that he made the shoot go any easier mind you. He hated and openly despised the directors which only added to the tensions and problems on the set. Was it all their fault? Maybe but maybe not. Keep in mind, Joffé as producer with his production co. really had no idea what they were doing from the get go. Where did all that money from the budget go anyway? Didn't end up on the screen in the form of amazing post efx work that's for sure. If you are going to make a big budget Hollywood film then why shuffle off to film it in a abandoned concrete factory in North Carolina? Another Joffé move. There is a great deal about the whole shoot that has never made sense frankly. Great movie. No, not even close. Terrible shoot and horrible experience for many of the people who worked on it? Assuredly yes.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 7:27:16 PM

Really, Bob!

You took this f*cking long to admit it ?

C'mon Bob,

Don't breat Swai's heart. He loves this movie. This and THE PEST.

Seriously, this could've killed Dennis Hopper more than Dennis' actual death.

I blame this for Ryan Dunn's death. This and of course, Ryan Dunn.

Oh, and Ryan Dunn ? Still deader than Swai's d*ck in his mom's p*ssy.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 10:03:18 PM

THe pest has got to be one of the most painful horrific pieces of bloodsh*t ever
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 11:35:21 PM

Theres a Super Mario Brothers Movie !?
Swai writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 12:33:56 AM

Max is obviously filled with angst. What's wrong Max? Did your Gimp Boyfriend cheat on you? Were you to narcisistic for him? Stop Being Pretentious because you are nowwhere near being it you fail.
thisisntme writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 1:07:00 AM

They had an English man and a Latino play Italians. That's wrong right there.
Nprnuno writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 4:05:54 PM

So Super Mario Bros is terrible enough that Mr
Nprnuno writes:
on June 24th, 2011 at 4:08:27 PM

So Super Mario Bros is terrible enough that he would erase it from his career if he could. How about his participation on the disaster that was The son of the Mask?
seveltoto writes:
on November 6th, 2017 at 4:26:19 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved