WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Angela Bassett Wants Dr. Amanda Waller to be DC's Version of Nick Fury

Posted: June 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Angela Bassett Wants Dr. Amanda Waller to be DCSubmit Comment
"Green Lantern" hit theaters last weekend and failed to reach the expected opening numbers that Warner Bros set. It was also trashed by critics. But Angela Bassett, who plays Dr. Amanda Waller in the movie, not only wants to return for the potential sequel, but for other DC Comics properties, similar to how Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) has been appearing in many Marvel films.

"I didn't want to just come out and ask [the studio] that, but maybe I should have. It wasn't set up that way." said the actress. "[But] it's just so different from anything that I've done before. It's great to just be a part of this really unique and larger-than-life world."

When asked about how big her character in the DC world actually is, Bassett replied: "It's true and we thought about it, but they didn't really want to go that way."

Source: PopcornBiz


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Fat Friar writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 8:57:00 PM

DC just looks pathetic with their attempts to mimic what goes well for Marvel. The fact is, Marvel has better characters and better movies because of the story. i.e. thor was a great adaptation with a lot of well known characters, on the other hand Green Lantern had an aweful character, dumb villian and the other characters were not well done. DC is like a little kid trying to mimic his cool older brother, but failing miserably and looking dumber the harder he trys.
minkowski writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 8:57:12 PM

Of course she does. She wants more work, not she has earned it.

Just get welfare instead, lady. Acting is too good for you.

And I like how she mentions Nick Fury, you know, because he's currently played by a black guy. Like she's good enough to suck Jackson's d*ck.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:13:13 PM

yes get welfare

America needs a spokeswoman on why 300 million people need to be on welfare and have government healthcare, and live in government housing

that way we have enough time to see James Cameron's AVA TARD 1235 and 6
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:45:13 PM

Of course she does, shes gotta pay the bills somehow.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:46:02 PM

Shes a great actress in my book and should get more roles.Very strong woman and her role in Strange Days and being Laurence Fishburne's punching bag in Whats' love have to do with it was great.
minkowski writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:47:14 PM

Amanda Waller is a squat lady but they get sexy Bassett instead. Whatever.

"It's great to just be a part of this really unique and larger-than-life world."

How sad. She has absolutely no self-respect. No dignity either, whoring herself out just to get included in the sequels.
minkowski writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:50:56 PM

Bando, Strange Days was utter trash. Dunno how you or anyone else could watch that film without rinsing your brain out with Drano Dahmer-style afterwards. Worse thing to have Cameron attached in any capacity since Piranha 2.

And Bassett, she was good in like one film, that black love story film written by that black woman, or man or something, dunno, and I say that only because that's all I've ever heard.

She's been pretty much typecast as a bureaucratic lackey ever since. And not a very good one.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:58:08 PM

I like that movie and it has some great performances by Ralph Fiennes,Tom Sizemore,Vincent Dnofrio,William Fichtner, and back then it was the mid 90s so everyone was making some bullsh*t story about that Y2k sh*t and the world ending in the 2000s

I have the movie and I saw it years ago I'll give it a go again to see if it was dumb or not now that i'm older.Katrhyn Bigelow directed that BTW
SaulSilver writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 10:52:50 PM

WTF was Amanda Waller doing debuting in a Green Lantern movie, anyway? If she didn't say her name out loud...no one would have realized that it was even her.
Ranger writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 11:06:48 PM

I'd tap that.
polardeficit writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:37:17 AM

BREAKING NEWS: An actress who hasn't done anything worthwhile in 10 years, wait, scratch that, EVER, wants to be featured in a highly profitable series of films for the "Love of the Character"
rocketman writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:41:48 AM

Looks like Prince and Uhura ad a sprog,
rabid writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:47:09 AM

Bassett is still hot after all these years, even when she's portraying the dikey Amanda Waller. Geoff Johns recently made a comment about their intention to use her to bridge the films in the way that Marvel uses Fury. It makes good filmsense to use a federal entity to bridge all these superheroes since it would quickly happen that way in real life.

They've already given this Amanda Waller a great backstory in the movie comics. She's a vet of the first Gulf War where she encountered Abin Sur and an alien criminal he was hunting and was recruited to top secret CIA program, hence her interests when they later find Abin's corpse in the movie.
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 2:42:25 AM

i disagree with some of u.
Bassett has a good body of work under her belt. She has worked with a LOT of great people in the industry. I dont think she NEEDS the money or work like some of u are claiming. Its not like she's a nobody. She most likely has more money in da bank than all of us. It could be that she just f*ckin enjoyed being a part of a project that big. i think any actor would. like she said, she never really been in anything like that. no reason to disrespect her
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 4:29:10 AM

^^to add to that..Bassett will next be in "This Means War" co-starring Chris Pine, Tom Hardy, and Reese Witherspoon..she again will play a government agent
markoz writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 6:00:07 AM

@Fat Friar

Marvel is DC's older brother?Marvel has better movies?First of all DC predates Marvel for about 20 years.And let's take a look at some Marvel movies(trash):Ghost Rider,Daredevil,Elektra,Fantastic Four series,Spider-Man 3,Howard the Duck.Now DC:Batman & Robin,Superman 3,4 and Returns.That's all I can think of.
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 7:45:36 AM

@ Markoz

Returns is better than all of those bad marvel movies u mentioned combined
Bunny X writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 10:08:42 AM

She's pretty solid as an actress. Even taking sub-par material and making it better.
She's not bringing up Nick Fury because of race comparisons, she's mentioning Fury because Waller is just about as close to DC's version of Fury. It makes sense to have Waller in most of the DC movies because (at least in the animated versions of her) she's interwoven into them all some way or another.
And are you going to blame her for wanting more work? You'd have to be an idiot sitting on a mountain of cash to not want to petition some extra work your way.
So can any of you who chastise her for this say that you wouldn't push for more work if you were in her shoes? DC hero movie franchise potential and what? You're going to say, "Naw, I'm good. I don't need to be in any more of those films." Yeah sure.

Personally, I love the Amanda Waller character. I'm not too well known of her in the comics, but in the animated works, they've shaped her into a very key figure in almost every DC hero's story. And aside from the amazing voice acting by C.C.H. Pounder, the character herself is very very good. One of the most memorable "non-heroes" showcased.
I haven't seen GL, but my friend told me about it and said for them to put Waller in the way they did was a disservice to the character.
But that's what I said the problem with GL was. Outside of the comic book circles, he is pretty much unknown. Like a tier 3 I guess. So of course any characters around GL would be even more forgettable.
rabid writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 11:58:52 AM

I wouldn't say it's a disservice to the character of Waller. Bassett got quite a lot of facetime in the viral marketing. They didn't use her to the extent they could have in the film, but in the viral ads and the prequel comics, you get lots of good bits... such as how the other members of her ET study team include Professor Ivo and Jack "Starman" Knight.
I have a feeling her role in Green Lantern was a preface to the Man of Steel movie, and that we will next see her working with General Lane trying to capture Superman. Hopefully she'll end up being a love interest of Lex Luthor's.
dolamite35 writes:
on November 27th, 2011 at 6:18:36 PM

Couldn't of picked a better person for the job

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved