WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron on "Avatar" Sequels

Posted: June 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron on "Avatar" SequelsSubmit Comment
Fox News caught up with James Cameron and spoke about the upcoming two "Avatar" sequels, which the director will shoot back-to-back and release them in theaters in December of 2014 and December of 2015.

"We're shooting two films back-to-back, so I'm writing two scripts, not one, which will complete a [three]-film story arc not really a trilogy, but just an overall character arc so I'm pretty excited about that," he said. "We're doing a lot of preliminary work right now on new software and new animation techniques and so on. We're creating a new facility in Manhattan Beach so everybody that's not already dead is coming back."

Cameron also spoke about the pressure of trying to top "Avatar," which became the highest-grossing film of all time with $2.78 billion. "There's always an expectation," he explained. "I had to deal with that after 'The Terminator' back in 1984. All of a sudden I had a big hit movie and it was 'what are you doing next?' But my job is to take the audience on a journey and entertain them."

Source: Fox News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 8:58:36 PM

Take us on another journey Cameron

One that doesnt involve blue creatures
minkowski writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 8:58:42 PM

Shove em up your ass, James, along with your Hummer firetruck.

"But my job is to take the audience on a journey and entertain them."

Your job is to make the studios, and you of course, big cash. You don't give a sh*t about the audience and you haven't for fifteen years. f*ck off and die.
patman2011 writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:03:11 PM

cool
The Fat Friar writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:25:22 PM

I like that cameron is more worried about entertaining the audience then making a profit. He is one of the last good directors to care about the movie and not the money. With the terminator trilogy he did very well and just about matched or exceeded the previous movie. As long as he takes pride in his movies, i'll go see them in theatres, in 3d.
minkowski writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:31:14 PM

^^What drug are you on?

Anyway, we should all fight Global Warming by staying home, rather than driving those heavily polluting cars to see Avatar 2 and 3. James Cameron would agree.
boogiel writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:34:03 PM

Avatar is great if you watch it with low sound volume and eating some shrooms. THAT what james cameron really good at.
Bluegirl285 writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:36:57 PM

December 2014 and December 2015? That's if we survive December 2012...
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:42:48 PM

Smurfs pt 2 and 3, can't wait!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 9:53:45 PM

or is that Pochahantas pts 2 and 3
coldplayesence writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 10:01:04 PM

I'm more than willing to give you and the 3D theater my money, mr. Cameron.
generalmac writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 10:12:04 PM

"... which will complete a [three] film story arc- not really a trilogy..."?
then what is the definition of a "trilogy"?
WV-Films writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 11:41:25 PM

Headline should read: James Cameron on being smug and pompous.
mpiper821 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:15:23 AM

Awesome! James Cameron is the man!
polardeficit writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:34:42 AM

I hope I don't burn in hell for saying this, but for once Minkowski is completely right. Fat friar what in gods holy name are you blathering on about you psychotic bastard. Since when has cameron made a movie that wasnt purely driven for profit since the first f*cking terminator. and he made one sequel not a trilogy you god damn idiot. Go suck camerons d*ck... IN 3D, you punk bitch.
rocketman writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:38:05 AM

Yawn,not even going to bother on DVD.
rabid writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:39:08 AM

Damn, just film it already Cameron. Strike while the iron is still hot.
I'm looking forward to more Avatar stories, but I really wish we could fastforward to that BattleAngel movie he's gabbed about for so long.
sri_91 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:57:47 AM

Ofcourse everyone's now waiting for the world to end next year!
Damon242 writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 2:18:02 AM

Well, the sequels will hopefully be more original than the first film.

I accept that you wrote the script for Avatar 15 years ago, Cameron, but that was no excuse to not update it after similar films were released.

Make these original. You have an entire history of great films, original films.

Don't turn into another M. Night Shyamalan.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 4:03:36 AM

"We're shooting two films back-to-back, so I'm writing two scripts, not one, which will complete a [three]-film story arc not really a trilogy, but just an overall character arc so I'm pretty excited about that," he said.


Two scripts?

He didn't have one for the first!

Character arc?

My god he thinks he is writing dome kind of Shakesperian tradegy.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 5:04:06 AM

like that cameron is more worried about entertaining the audience then making a profit. He is one of the last good directors to care about the movie and not the money. With the terminator trilogy he did very well and just about matched or exceeded the previous movie. As long as he takes pride in his movies, i'll go see them in theatres, in 3d.

That was the most backwards wrong comment I've ever read on here. Takes pride in his movies? Because the characters were so well developed and the script was so well written and not full of cliches and the relation to brazilian tribes was so subtle that he really cared right? The only part he cared about was the visuals but there's only so many floating mountains you can see before you get bored.
markoz writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 5:51:33 AM

I've noticed that Fat Friar is writing some seriously mistaken comments.On Angela Basset news he was talking about Marvel the way that I was just waiting for him to say he's from Marvel PR management,and now this.
Kill-the-director writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 5:59:16 AM

do us a favour cameron and just do it it 2D
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 6:06:20 AM

Do us a favour Cameron and just die... a slow and painful death... in 3D f*ck it! I'd watch that!
SeWerin writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 7:21:46 AM

Direct movies all you want, but please stop writing scripts
SACdaddy writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 9:06:18 AM

Can't wait for Avatar 2. Cameron has always been good with sequels.
rabid writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 12:02:04 PM

Cameron might be a douche in his personal life, but the man has the golden touch, and he hasn't made a stinker yet.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 1:23:21 PM

When other filmmakers follow the path he cut into new territory none of you are gonna complain. Definitely looking forward to what he and his army of artists come up with for the sequels.
TheFilmmaker writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 4:10:46 PM

It was a sh*t movie and all James Cameron was out to do was beat his own personal best, which was Titanic. Both were horrible movies and they were purely for profit and nothing else. James Cameron can only do special effects well and in the long run I prefer an actual good movie over some flashy effects.
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2011 at 8:07:05 PM

New territory? Which was what? 3D? An evolution on the old? Motion capture, another evolution on the cold? Updated graphics, another evolution on the old? The story which was a very old retread of leftist tripe?

New territory. Whatever.
mgraybop writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 10:52:30 AM

Terminator, T2, and Aliens are the ONLY movies that are worth a sh*t from Cam-moron. He should get back to those types of movies... Battle Angel should be his next movie, not Fagatar
Kurskij writes:
on June 23rd, 2011 at 9:28:20 PM

a
seveltoto writes:
on November 6th, 2017 at 4:28:32 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved