WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writer Talks About Original "Green Lantern" Version with Jack Black

Posted: June 20th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writer Talks About Original "Green Lantern" Version with Jack BlackSubmit Comment
Back in 2006, Warner Bros was considering casting Jack Black as the lead in a "Green Lantern" film, which was written by Robert Smigel ("SNL"). The idea was eventually scrapped and Ryan Reynolds was brought on for a more serious take. Today, Smigel spoke about his comedic version.

"When the idea was pitched to me to do a comedy about Green Lantern I did a quick review of the specifics of Green Lantern. And I thought, well, of course this could be a comedy," he said. "Basically just the premise that the wrong guy gets the ring and can do all kinds of goofy visual jokes because the visuals are so potentially ridiculous."

Smigel added: "What appealed to me about it on a comedic level was that, in order to be a superhero, this requires no physical skill or talent. All it requires is owning this ring. Automatically, that's a comedic premise. [But] there were a lot of Internet angry reactions just to the idea of Jack Black."

After writing the first draft, that ended up online, Warners started to re-thing the entire thing. The studio even wondered if the movie even needs to be about Green Lantern. Maybe it can be some other made-up superhero. At that point, Smigel knew that his comedic version was falling apart.

"I meet with Jack and the producer. Jack gives a long list of directors that he would be happy to work with. And then there's just no traction," he explained. "It just sort of petered out and we found out that they just changed their minds and wanted to do a serious Green Lantern. I never got a direct phone call about it. That's sort of how Hollywood works."

Source: Vanity Fair


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Champ1432 writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:07:46 PM

Wow, I guess once every hundred years or so, Hollywood actually has some sense.......

Green Lantern with Jack Black....... frightening
Champ1432 writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:08:58 PM

I mean honestly, who even initially thinks that's a good idea, for even a second? Besides Robert Smigel, apparently.

Maybe try to make SNL good like it used to be, I don't know....................
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:09:16 PM

I dunno if this movie would've been any good (it certainly could be no worse than the current GL).. perhaps some ideas are better left on paper and not committed to the camera. But I really like Robert Smigel. Triumph the comic insult dog is awesome.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:15:00 PM

Jack Crack as Green Lantern ?

So basically you're trying to do the movie that John Belushi would've done had he still survived the overdose, lost all reputable respect as a comic and took jobs just to schill on his reputation, so he could keep some club up and running that is a tourist trap (Quicksand included), if ever there was one ....

Oh, that sounds just like Dan Ackroyd.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:16:08 PM

When Jack Crack gets that coronary heart attack, can we all just mutually sh*t on this grave ?

It's only the LEAST we could do.
shayhiri writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:27:40 PM

You're probably much fatter than he is - and most certainly more stupid, so I'm betting you're gonna die first.
Blank x25 writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:29:35 PM

@Shay

This is WP. These are rocket scientists giving their superb cinematic opinions. Didn't you know that?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:32:36 PM

^ Nice to see Larry and Curly shemping out moe jokes.

N'yuk, n'yuk, n'yuk.
YoungChris writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:35:13 PM

Well, we have to thank God that didn't happen
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 8:14:42 PM

To re-thing the entire thing? Wow. Spell-check snafu.

And I love how they're now telling us how much worse it could have been. Or better, depending on where you're coming from.

@Blank: if you hate it here so much, just leave. You make everything worse by bitching about how much you hate the place. You don't post sh*t but gripes, so what's the point? Either be part of the solution or stop being part of the problem. f*ck.
boogiel writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 9:53:44 PM

Come to think of it, I'm glad they make the ryan reynolds version despite the movie is not so good. It's better than having the jack black's version being made. Hell, that would made the Reynolds' green lantern look like the godfather.
freebasedog writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 10:57:33 PM

Green Lantern is such a wacky idea I think it makes just as much sense to admit that and go comedy as it does to pretend it's premise is not inherently silly. Truth is this would have never been made in it's current form either if Iron Man did not give the studios unrealistic hopes for second tier comic characters.

P.S. I am curious if the comedy angle came up due to his powers seeming pretty similar to the Mask
jdl107 writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 11:27:22 PM

I would be okay with doing that Max... but if you don't mind I don't think I would want to look at your sh*t.

At least let me go first, man.
Swai writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 11:51:53 PM

Max is it that time of the month for you?
telur writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 1:57:27 AM

can't be worst than Puff Daddy as James Bond
trailertrash writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 3:07:56 AM

Swai you should know your a c*nt !!
Mister Leary writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 3:49:49 AM

probably be more entertaining than the crap film that's currently playing. poor Sarsgaard is the only redeeming thing about that film.
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 7:55:31 AM

It was better than THOR
nawtnt writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 1:41:13 PM

Jack Black as Green Lantern, WTF?

What's next, Dennis Rodman as Steel and Stallone as Superman.
yoshi187 writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 6:38:48 PM

Didn't they have the same idea when they made The Mask??

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved