WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Welling Wants "Smallville" Movie

Posted: June 20th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Welling Wants "Smallville" MovieSubmit Comment
OnTheRedCarpet caught up with Tom Welling to find out if there are any plans for a "Smallville" movie. The actor said that there's nothing currently in the works, but a film almost happened many years ago.

"We talked about that between season three and four, when the characters were moving from high school to college," said Welling. "And we played with the idea and what we found is it wasn't time. But I think that it would have been fun to do a transition movie for those characters. Who knows in the future."

When asked if he would want to reprise his role if a "Smallville" movie ever happens, Welling replied: "Sure, why not."

About two years ago, there were rumors that Warner Bros was planning a "Smallville" film. We never go to find out if it was going to air on TV or was meant for the big screen.

Source: OnTheRedCarpet


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 6:39:14 AM

Yeah make it, it's not like it would interfere with any other big superman projects coming up soon so it makes total sense.
Rambo writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 6:40:07 AM

f*ck off tom
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 6:43:09 AM

Don't be harsh on him, he's got no work anymore. Unemployment is a bitch.
boogiel writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 8:04:54 AM

When asked if he would want to reprise his role if a "Smallville" movie ever happens, Welling replied: "Sure, why not."


Yeah right. Keep dreaming, Tom.
trailertrash writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 8:16:18 AM

Another American TV show i haven't seen, Seems to have been around forever ..
coldplayesence writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 8:20:49 AM

Acting lessons never killed a dude, Tom, try some first.
trailertrash writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 8:27:21 AM

Maybe he could take those acting lessons in betwwen jaw line retention classes.
trailertrash writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 8:28:12 AM

(in-between)
markoz writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 8:34:18 AM

The article never actually says that he WANTS a Smallville movie.Only that if offered he would take the part
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 8:56:46 AM

markoz- We have to assume by his predictable desperation and lack of other roles that he would want any movie role.
kiki83 writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 9:06:24 AM

Tom Welling was only being polite. What was he supposed to say - 'No freaking way'?! I would watch a Smallville movie, but I'd a lot less enthusiastic for it if Allison Mack and Cassidy Freeman were going to be involved - freaking loathe their over-acting the annoying characters they play.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 10:01:35 AM

Tell you what Tom you can make a Smallville movie with you can your friends in the back yard.
catoc writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 10:24:41 AM

@kiki83 - well said.

Doubt it will ever happen but if it does, I'll watch it for Erica Durance alone!
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 11:55:50 AM

All good posts.

And agreed on Mack's and Freeman's over-acting.

Yes on Durance... what a body on that woman!

And Welling was only being polite. No where does he say he wants a Smallville movie. Another mis-leading headline.

I give the producers of Smallville all the credit in the world. Only about 1 of 3 episodes was 'on message' (ie: Supes destiny, Fortress, Jor-El, etc.), the other 2 episodes between was always filler crap. Yet the managed an even 10-year run. Pricey box-sets with tons of 'special features' (gag) coming to Smallville fan's wallets soon.

rocketman writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 12:10:57 PM

Dream on chump.
markoz writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 12:29:40 PM

@ Cinema

Very true,but a couple of months ago he stated that he is focusing on producing stuff,not acting.He has been for a while now an executive producer on some TV shows
markoz writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 12:29:42 PM

@ Cinema

Very true,but a couple of months ago he stated that he is focusing on producing stuff,not acting.He has been for a while now an executive producer on some TV shows
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 12:35:57 PM

"And Welling was only being polite. No where does he say he wants a Smallville movie. Another mis-leading headline."

Well, then, there's two alternatives. He doesn't want a movie, which isn't supported by his statements, or he's ambivalent, which is a hell of a lot less contentious.

I think Alex here is just taking the guy's ambivalency and choosing a fork in the road, saying yes, he wants one, because let's face it, if WB decided to make a Smallville film, Welling, with his lack of current career opportunities, would jump at the chance, and you and I and Alex know this to be quite true.
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 12:43:52 PM

"Very true,but a couple of months ago he stated that he is focusing on producing stuff,not acting.He has been for a while now an executive producer on some TV shows"

Only because, and this is welling known fact, thr acting gigs aren't rolling in.

Fact is, a guy his age should be doing all he can to build a solid and diversified acting resume, and one would think that after all his years on Smallville, the offers would've rolled in after the show ended. They didn't and I think he saw the writing on the wall, to use that biblical cliche, and realized there isn't much of a future for him in acting.

Producing is where spent actors, and empty directors, go to croak.

Either that, and I don't buy the possibility, Smallville simply wore him out, but I haven't heard d*ck about anyone even thinking of offering him a role in so much as a toothpaste commercial. Have you?
rabid writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 1:55:09 PM

manufactured story. That interview is months old, and his comments don't really suggest he wants anything other than a paying gig.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 1:58:37 PM

You know I need to set the record straight on this. Smallville didn't have the greatest performances but Tom Welling played Clark Kent just like he was suupose to, naive but ridiculously noble. I'm not exactly looking forward to the new Superman film because I feel Zack Snyder won't get that part right. See Batman is menat to be dark and gritty in realism. Superman is meant to be that sense of out-of-reach hope that we all dare to have. There is no deeper understanding to it, it's a just a man who does the right thing without a second thought. That's why he is an alien, because humans aren't believed to do that. And if Tom Welling brought back that naive sense of justice I would welcome it in a world where we try to make everything as dark as hell. While Christopher Nolan has done a great job with the Batman films, I grow tired of that consuming everything else in cinema. And besides Zack Snyder is basically ripping off Smallville anyway because Superman finding his place in the world is what Smallville did for 10 years!!!
jamster99 writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 2:55:27 PM

Wow. So much hate for Tom Welling on this site. Is it really because you think he's a bad actor, or is it really because you don't like that his character Clark Kent doesn't end up with Lana or Chloe. Or is it because of his well-publicized reluctance to wear the spandex suit? Either way Tom Welling is awesome and the show wouldn't have lasted 10 episodes, let alone 10 years if he wasn't on board. Kristin Kreuk can't get a long term gig and all Allison Mack can manage is low-paid theater and web-based acting work. Unlike them I think TW will have a successful career post-Smallville. Deservedly so.
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 4:44:48 PM

So go suck his d*ck, jamster, none of us care about Welling or his sh*tty-assed show. Except you.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 5:02:22 PM

no f*cking way. not after that terrible, just f*cking awful series finale.
markoz writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 5:15:31 PM

Yeah,ok,I am a fan of Smallville.Guilty
DeVries writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 5:16:16 PM

go find a real job, faggot
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 5:20:32 PM

And Markoz.
c-prime writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 6:12:02 PM

jamster99's comment provided me with the day's heartiest laugh.
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 6:36:43 PM

Welling is currently producing Hellcats, some sh*t about cheerleaders.

Funny thing is, the guy *wanted* to act, rather than model, because he said acting gave him the chance to express his emotions.

Now? Now he wants to produce.

He either knows he has no future, or he's just burnt out.

Either way, loser.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:12:14 PM

Tom Welling Wants "Smallville" Movie ... So ?

I'd like to Michael Bay/ Brett Ratner/ Uwe Boll to wind up with a serious case of genetal warts so bad they'd have to amputate their testicles off, but I don't always get what I want and neither will you, Tom.
markoz writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:25:22 PM

Well,I always said Smallville was the representation of Superman for this generation.If someone didn't like the teen-drama-sci-fi Superman,that's just a matter of taste.And you don't discuss taste.Every generation has its own representation of a certain character.Take Joker for example.
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:27:38 PM

@jam - I never said I disliked Welling in the slightest. For Smallville (and what it was - 2 parts filler and 1 part Supes destiny) it wasn't a bad show. Fans kept it alive for 10 years. CLEARLY it found it's fan base.

@mink - lol.
markoz writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:27:47 PM

And thank you,mink for giving credit where it belongs
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 8:32:54 PM

You know I'm good for it...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved