WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Green Lantern" Takes $52 Million This Weekend, Warners Isn't Happy

Posted: June 20th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Green Lantern" Takes $52 Million This Weekend, Warners IsnSubmit Comment
"Green Lantern" took first at the domestic box office this weekend with $52 million, but ended up on the low end of expectations. The studio was hoping to gross at least $55 million. Unfortunately, Saturday results were weak, likely due to the many negative reviews.

"I would have loved to see $55 million, but we have to let things play out," said Warners. "Schools are out now, so if we left anything on the table, we should pick it up during the week."

The film grossed another $17 million overseas, but with a $200 million budget, "Green Lantern" will likely not be a major hit for the studio.

Jim Carrey's "Mr. Popper's Penguins" was the other wide release of the weekend. It ended up in third place, behind "Super 8," with $18.2 million. The $55 million comedy is on track to make back its budget.

"It's a funny movie, and it's got penguins. You know how popular penguins are," said Fox. "And Jim Carrey has been in some of my favorite movies."

Meanwhile, "The Hangover Part II" grossed another $9.6 million to become the highest-grossing R-rated comedy of all time with a worldwide total of $488.7 million, surpassing the previous record holder, which happens to be the first "Hangover" film. And the sequel is by no means close to being finished.

Click here to read our "Green Lantern" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 11:33:17 PM

f*ck The Hangover 2!! What waste of time. GL wasn't much better, other than see Blake Lively.
Avirex writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 11:42:29 PM

Maybe if studios actually f*cking tried to make great films the profits wouldn't be going downhill like they have.
Kurskij writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 12:09:01 AM

"It's a funny movie, and it's got penguins. You know how popular penguins are," said Fox. "And Jim Carrey has been in some of my favorite movies."

Holy sh*t, I knew someday it will happen!

Fox developed a personality of its own!
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 1:43:59 AM

'Penguins are Nazi's... you can tell by the way they march.' - Megan Fox.

Spending $200 mil. for a CGI-based movie... hey, hardly a bigger Green Lantern fan on this site that me, and I'm thrilled they finally made it... even think Reynolds was a good pick (better were he The Flash though), but spend that kind of $'s on a flick... except to get Lohan'd on the deal.
rabid writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 2:00:48 AM

Why aren't they happy? They're only $2 million off from what WB projected for the opening. I just returned from seeing it again, and it was a full house. There seem to be a lot of people wanting this movie to sink, but it seems to be sailing along fine.
Rambo writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 2:01:19 AM

Martin Campbell is good with james bond movies but sucks in everything else which is not bond.
stlee writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 2:04:28 AM

Ah, don't worry Ranger. Now that Reynolds has been GL and after he's done with Deadpool, he'll move on to be Flash and maybe some other characters in between sequels. They'll just keep sh*tting where they sleep so long as they turn a profit.
bradjo72 writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 3:37:10 AM

oh well thats what happens when you don't make it a world wide release we have to wait til august 4th in australia ripped off we have to read all the neg results for a month and a half by the time it gets here there will be a good copy to download WB d*ckHEADS
technoreaper writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 4:58:14 AM

Hopefully, this destroys Ryan Reynolds and Blake Lively's careers for good.

As soon as I saw her, I refused to see the movie!!! She is one of the worst actresses in the business right now.
Benji writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 6:38:09 AM

f*ck you you f*ckin f*cks!!!! support a good film so we can have more? Ass munch bitch tit motherf*ckers! So sick of everything here being a joke between two little d*ck f*ck heads...they have been rebooting this sh*t since '84 when they figured out what a reboot was...it's a movie....different from the book and you have to accept some conceit....it HAPPENS!!!!!
LastActionHero writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 9:22:40 AM

Green Lantern is a second tier super hero with one of the dumbest names..what did they expect?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 9:36:40 AM

Well the negative feedback from my friends and trusted review sources has definitely worked on me. I was extremely hyped for Super 8 and GL until they actually came out, but the reviews seemed to reinforce my biggest fears about both films so I stayed away.

On the other hand, its great to see a R-rated film crushing the competion this year. Maybe the studios will realize that R films can do well at the Box Office too, so we can get less watered down material from Hwood.
beepboop writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 10:31:29 AM

I hope GL turns out to be a disappointment(financially, we know it's already one with the critics).
Make Spiderman movies, make Batman movies, fine, but don't waste 200 million on every sh*t-tier action hero.
LastActionHero writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 10:32:33 AM

@SAC - I agree. More R-Rated films, especially comedies and less children's sh*t.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 12:24:52 PM

Green Lantern is really a dumb hero. A lantern, powers a ring, your weakness is yellow...really? Come the f*ck on, you expect this to be a good movie? I saw it because my buddy wanted to see it and i was drunk anyway... It was better than i thought, but still stupid and the plot was dumb. Blake Lively or whatever her name is can't act worth a sh*t, but is super hot!
Bunny X writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 12:32:17 PM

They failed with this one right from the start. Although in the comic book circles, GL is a very well known and established character, outside, he's a nobody. So they take his story and use all the gimmicks in it. Toy tie ins, Ryan Reynolds, way too much CGI. Insert your one liners, fanboy nods, and thin love story, slap a PG-13 sticker on it and away we go.
But this is the growing problem of comic book movies. They're getting far too formulaic and there is less and less effort going into making these. It's like they want to ride on guaranteed money and not give a crap about actually making a great story. That's why producers aren't going to the Comic Cons as well. They know they are going to get that automatic number in the theaters so why bust their humps to do anything more.
But this will eventually be the death of the comic book movie as we see it today and I cannot wait. Studios will grow tired of the bad reviews and eventually the even worse returns. They slash budgets and then we'll be in sort of a renaissance where they'll need to make a great movie since they can't rely on CGI and crap.
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 1:13:42 PM

"Why aren't they happy? They're only $2 million off from what WB projected for the opening."

*Sigh*. They're three million off from the very low-end of expectations. They were hoping for at least 55 million, but realistically expected much higher revenue.

"but it seems to be sailing along fine."

Shaking my head.

"It's a funny movie, and it's got penguins. You know how popular penguins are," said Fox. "And Jim Carrey has been in some of my favorite movies."

Uh, ok, so did they interview Michael J. Fox, or is this a studio employee not only sounding terribly desperate, but also interjecting personal opinion into what should be a matter-of-fact state of the situation?

"And the sequel is by no means close to being finished."

Hangover, the new Saw, just not as funny.
Dr Fate writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 2:28:29 PM

If they want to invest all that money, 200mil for budget + 100mill for marketing, they better have a good screen writer....I enjoyed Green Lantern....but of course I noticed its flaws....too many villiains, too many story angles, and of course Ryan Reynolds same character he portrays in every damn film....The Dark Knight Rises has a 250+ million budget....but it has good screenwriters to back it up
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 3:21:04 PM

i see this sh*t today and sucks hardcore balls, lets see Green lantern Emerald knights was far more better tham this sh*t! this gay of Ryan gaynolds is the flash! no Green lantern!
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:00:13 PM

Look, it's a foregone conclusion that the studios will never feel pressue to make good movies as long as the moviegoing public continues to pay them to make dog poopy.

The film biz is a bit unusual in the world of corporate 'products' in that there is generally a linear relationship between marketing and box office tally. The more the studios spend on posters, ads, billboards, online, trailers- they will (in general, of course, there are always 'inexplicable' bombs) see a higher return. It doesn't matter if the movie is 2 hours of Minkowski sitting on the toilet taking a dump, people will still show up if the studios are relentless enough. It's not like clothing, or breakfast cereal, or a car- hell, I remember when Pontiac pushed that Aztek car HARD years ago, running tons of ads, tieing into the first season of Survivor- when it came down to it, the car was ugly and sucked and no one bought it. Not the case with movies.

So complain all you want, keep wishing for these films to crash, it won't do any good. With international box office added in, even GL is gonna make big bucks. Not sure why some studio exec is grousing about missing their projections, maybe it missed a target that gave him some bonus to cover his Ferrari payment. You can expect a GL2 and a Hangover 3, and you can expect them to make tons of money, even though they will be even worse than their predecessors...
anaheimducks writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 7:49:40 PM

Hope green lantern makes more money I want to see a sequel I enjoyed the movie it was cool and fun.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 1:17:01 AM

great movie. hope it makes more money cause i want to see a sequel. If agent cody banks gets a sequel why not this?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved