WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Green Lantern" - What Did You Think?

Posted: June 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Green Lantern" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Warner Bros' "Green Lantern," starring Ryan Reynolds, is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying an embarrassing 23% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the film is a mess story-wise and is quite dull most of the time.

"Green Lantern" grossed around $3.35 million from its midnight showings, which is similar to what "X-Men: First Class" took in from its midnight screenings two weeks ago. "First Class" went on to open to $55 million. Come back on Sunday to see how "Green Lantern" performed over the weekend.

Click here to read our "Green Lantern" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Benji writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 6:13:47 AM

Liked it...not blown away but a solid origin story...looked bad ass though!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 6:28:39 AM

What do I think?

Don't know, haven't seen it yet.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 6:52:20 AM

I think I'm glad I don't have any ambition to see this movie. Jew-fro Hal Jordan in his glowstick Spawn costume can go suck a f*ck.
hoohoo3000 writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 7:01:08 AM

THIS was boring? No, THOR was boring. THIS was fun.
Kill-the-director writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 7:05:20 AM

pretty good but not brilliant. The CGI is tones better than the trailers. cool end credits scene.

got bored as a fan but that is only because I have read the origin story over and over again.

Reynolds is brilliant as Hal Jordan in my opinion.

Peter Sarsguard is awesome as hector hammond.

I think a sequel has the potential to be far better now the origin story is out of the way and done with.

Hellboy0628 writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 7:08:26 AM

I'm like Benji I wasn't blown away it certainly isn't a Dark Knight but I enjoyed it and the suit looks amazing! Will look great on Blu Ray and I think it'll be like the beginning of the X-men trilogy ok start and once established the sequel will be much better. I also think the critics have been overly harsh on this film but I may have my comic goggles on....
The Derp Knight writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 7:29:53 AM

23% is a f*cking sham. There is no way Thor deserves a 77% if that's the case. Thor was great, but I honestly prefer GL (the character and the movie).

And Blake Lively

dat ass
mpiper821 writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 8:01:13 AM

Definitely better than Thor!
supaflywill writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 8:07:07 AM

A PILE OF SH';T !! HORRENDOUS AND PREDICTABLE STORY - DID NOT NEED ALOVE STORY ALL THE WAY THROUGH IT - TWICE IT RIPPED THE BEGINNING OF THE SUPERMAN MUSIC OFF WHEN HE TURNED INTO THE GREEN LATERN - EFFECTS GOOD - HARDLEYS ANY ACTION - NOT FUNNY IN ANY WAY BUT IT TRIES ITS HARDEST ...I WAS LEFT VERY DISAPPOINTED AS I WAS REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO IT ...IF YOUR OVER 6 YEARS OLD ..DONT GO SEE IT .
boogiel writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 8:24:20 AM

Do I like it? No. Do I hate it? No. Will I see it again? Probably. Positive things about this movie: Hal Jordan's suit and Mark Strong as sinestro. Negative things: The plot/the script is a piece of crap. There, I've said it.
rocketman writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 9:02:10 AM

Hmm,guess I'll wait for Bluray.Shame i was looking forward to this.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 9:20:25 AM

I wasn't impressed, coulda been better. I feel asleep at one point.
velocityknown writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 10:35:54 AM

$200 million dollar budget, negative buzz, I'm feeling a flop.
Devil writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 10:38:33 AM

IT FAILED SO f*ckING BAD. I will start with the obvious one, CGI was f*cking sh*t. Even a 1990's movie could have done a better job and the make up of some actors were worse than the make up on the frost giants from Thor. Plot was ridiculous. The only good thing about this sh*t fest is Mark Strong and Peter Sarsgaard. It's no where near XFC and THOR. Its on the level of Transformers movies. BRING ON THE REBOOT.
Devil writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 10:44:01 AM

Ryan Reynolds is a curse for superhero movies.

1- Blade: Trinity
2- X-Men Origins: Wolverine
3- Green Lantern

And it's funny how everyone thought this was going to be the best flick out of the four superhero movies of this year.
sri_91 writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 10:44:12 AM

2D or 3D? What do u recommend, amigos?
manichispanic writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 10:48:11 AM

i'm not gonna see it
Dark writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 11:00:13 AM

DC can't feel too good about staring at a huge swing and a miss with Green Lantern while Marvel is looking at going 3-for-3 this summer.
Kill-the-director writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 11:01:33 AM

@sri_91 I saw it in 2D. no need to bother with the 3D
teuperman writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 11:51:49 AM

It was good Huge DC fan!!! Dont know alot about Green Lantern But for what it was It was pretty good. Wanted to see more with Blake livley though!!!! Somikin
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 12:32:11 PM

"2D or 3D? What do u recommend, amigos?"

0D.
Sinestro writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 1:02:20 PM

This movie sucks d*ck!
sri_91 writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 1:26:53 PM

Kill-The-Director: Aightt! :)
Mink: 0D? Erm, thx for that!
SergioFX writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 1:50:53 PM

Its not what people are making out to be. It was a good fun film with good CGI and some good moments. Sure, it was slow at some points, but this is an origin story and I cannot wait to see the sequel, I will watch it. f*ck the critics, this was a good superhero fun film.
nawtnt writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 2:11:19 PM

Green Lantern might be the next Batman and Robin without nipples on the cgi suit and Joel Schumacher directing it.

Thor and X-Men: First Class were great and awesome, the best comic book movie of the summer so yet.

I hope Captain America: The First Avenger will better than Thor and X-Men: First Class.

The summer has great movies in store, I hope it ends well.
Trip Maverick writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 3:01:08 PM

Good film but tried to cram in too many characters. Special effects were god. Fun summer movie. Sequel should be awesome.
reach110 writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 3:02:46 PM

God, this was bad. A first-draft script full of sub-par CG that served no real purpose. This is a movie featuring a ring that can do ANYTHING, yet we're treated to constructs that seem to have been dreamed up by a nine year-old. Why did we not learn from the Dark Knight? Why do we still not realize that you can make a successful movie that's actually GOOD? One that has a coherent plot and believable characters?
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 3:17:39 PM

http://cache.gawker.com/assets/images/comment/4/2011/06/4906e85c27e3e9c58ffcd46494aa3659/original.jpg

Posted here too. Ryan Reynolds related.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 3:19:16 PM

Ah, damn. That I didn't mean to to do. But I can assure, it is Green Lantern related.
trailertrash writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 3:49:55 PM

Is that the reason Reynolds really won't give a sh*t if this film fails !!

In the words of Fred Dryer "Works For Me"
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 3:58:50 PM

mark strong was good in it, he actually does know how to act. I do think though they got the wrong actor to play greenlantern, personally I think he (ryan reynolds)should have played the flash, while Bradley Cooper would have been better suited for this character imo only. The script was weak, way too much use of cgi, the GL's suit should of had been real. But the other GL's were good aswell. I do think Martin Campbell did what he could and honestly I couldnt blame or Reynolds, he did his part, even though its not that good, i blame the casting directors, they had the responsibility to get the right people for the right job... This could of been a lot more bad ass. Bottom line I would give it a 7.5
triggax writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 7:54:19 PM

Adecquate for what it was. you guys were expecting what exactly? If you enjoyed the trailers you enjoyed the movie. thin plot boring visuals. OA looked pretty rad and most of the voice overs were spot on. Not the greatest movie but looking expensive means more than anything nowadays...
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 8:21:00 PM

"you guys were expecting what exactly?"

Perhaps a good movie, considering the damned thing cost at least 200 mil, and you can get a fantastic film for a fraction of that cost.

Should have been an animated film and left at that.

Oh, wait, they made an animated film, didn't they?

Oops.
Sinestro writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 12:20:06 AM

I hated this movie and all, but honestly, it's not that far behind the other comic adaptations. Most are terrible, terrible movies.
Johnnyb writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 1:48:34 AM

Like I said before I will say it again.... The superheroe´s film decade is coming to a circle. One point or another there will be superheroes that can be bring it to the big screen. Simply cause they are not attractive enough with the audience, impossible to adapt and sometimes condense a big running story plot of a superhero in a film of just 2 hrs., sometimes get more plot holes than solving the whole in just one film. Even studios try hard to make sequel, trilogies or prequels, one way or another they will fail cause at some point people get tired of thing that can be real and sometimes absorbing in their on life. That´s all.....
Dark writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 2:21:52 AM

^ Nothing can or will stop the genre. The only thing that slowed it down was Schumacher's Batman and at that time Marvel was not making any movies. Now everyone is doing it from Dark Horse to DC, Marvel. Next year will be the biggest year of comic book movies. The Amazing Spider-Man, The Dark Knight Rises & Man of Steel. Three of the biggest super heroes. So there's no slowing down.
hunter207 writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 5:37:20 AM

Goin tomorrow to see it, I'll let you all know
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 6:02:38 AM

What will slow down the genre is the general realization by people that most of these types of movies suck. I dunno, maybe I'm giving the general moviegoing populace too much credit, but I think there will come a time when this genre fades away- perhaps not entirely, but it will at least stop being the center of attention for summer tentpoles...
woody32095 writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 8:20:05 AM

FIRST OF ALL I AM A COMIC FAN SINCE 74 AND HAVE ALWAYS LOVED D.C COMICS....i WENT AN SEEN THE MOVIE SAT. NIGHT WITH MY FREINDS AND FAMILY ( SOME KNOWING THE G.L AND SOME NOT ) AND WE ALL LOVED THE MOVIE . WE LEFT FEELING WE GOT OUR MONEYS WORTH . THE ONLY COMPLAINT I HAVE IS IF EVER THERE WAS A COMIC MOVIE WHERE THE COSTUME WAS SCREEN READY IT WAS G.L NO NEED FOR THE C.G COSTUMES
Adamtheflash writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 8:34:32 AM

It was middle of the road on the spectrum of superhero movies. It wasn't as good as the Dark Knight or Iron Man, but better than X3, Wolverine or Spidey 3.

I guess I went in with really low expectations, which helped. If I had been sporting wood over this movie from the start, I would have been disappointed. It was a fun campy movie.

However, I was sporting wood for Blake Lively, that sexy minx....
eximius007 writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 11:02:24 AM

Rushed, I believe this entire movie was rushed. This movie stank of Hollywood hoping to push out another sequel. I'm pretty sure there were parts in the movie that either a)needed to be explained better or b)just not be in there. Also some of the lines in the movie, i guess they were suppose to be funny, sure as heck weren't. Ryan go back to your not funny man drama/comedies. Martin Campbell, you have disappointed. As for the ending scene after the credits? Expected, and needless to say not at all needed. This only further proves that HW is trying to count their chickens before they hatch.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 2:50:18 PM

Green Lantern is just silly. I can't believe they made a movie out of this. Go Marvel! Can't wait for Captain America.
Bunny X writes:
on June 20th, 2011 at 11:01:03 AM

Next time you spend $200 million on a film, divert some of those funds away from the overblown CGI and hire some good writers
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on June 21st, 2011 at 1:25:46 AM

good movie. very entertaining.
majorziggy writes:
on June 28th, 2011 at 2:58:12 PM

here's a look into why rottentomatoes top critics gave this film an unfair rating-
http://slava-tomatostomping.blogspot.com/2011/06/green-lantern.html

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved