WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why Did Disney Change "John Carter of Mars" Title to "John Carter"?

Posted: June 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why Did Disney Change "John Carter of Mars" Title to "John Carter"?Submit Comment
Disney has been working on a big screen adaptation of Edgar Rice Burroughs' "John Carter of Mars," but decided to shorten the title to "John Carter." The title change seems like an awful marketing strategy and confusing to people who are not familiar with Burroughs' work.

Now, in an interview with Movies website, Mark Strong (Green Lantern, Kick-Ass) explained the thought behind the decision. "'John Carter' had its titled changed. And there seems to be some kind of confusion as to why this should be, and I think the reason is brilliant," he said. "The reason is that he has to earn that title. If you call him John Carter of Mars, I think at the very beginning, all the work has been done and what [director] Andrew [Stanton] wants to do is introduce people to this first film, and by the end of it, he becomes John Carter of Mars, but not at the beginning. In the beginning he's John Carter."

That explanation makes sense, but doesn't make the title any less confusing. It's like calling "Lawrence of Arabia" just "Lawrence." Or calling "Batman" just "Man," because Bruce Wayne is not Batman in the beginning of the first film.

In related news, Stanton unveiled the first concept art for the film. Check it out below.

Question: Do you think it was a good idea to change "John Carter of Mars" to "John Carter"?

Concept Art: (click to enlarge)


Source: Movies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 8:50:56 PM

Perhaps because 'Mars Needs Moms' bombed? And I smell another sh*tty Disney franchise, ala Pirates and Tron. They just have to do what everyone else is doing, don't they? Build franchise sequels instead of actual films.

Yep.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 9:02:19 PM

Its from disney so i will avoid it
wonderBOY writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 9:06:30 PM

They should just do what Edgar Wright did for Hot Fuzz and show the title of the movie at the end. They didn't become Hot Fuzz until the end so it's pretty much the same thing.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 9:11:58 PM

Disney approaches film-making with the same f*cking corporate mindset they use to build theme parks. Tried to do the same thing with Witch Mountain.

Make movies, *ssholes, not amusement rides.

"Do you think it was a good idea to change "John Carter of Mars" to "John Carter"?"

Since I will never watch the film, the question is irrelevant.
Bob82 writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 9:16:23 PM

That's the most absurd explanation ever.

I'm gonna ask Mark Strong to explain reasons to my girlfriend when she caught me banging some other girl in our bed: "Well, you saw your boyfriend in the bed with another girl and there seems to be some confussion as to why he was doing that and I think the reason is brilliant..."
OneTime writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 9:37:34 PM

i dont know anything about this..but i like the art.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 9:48:59 PM

The top image is well done IMO, onetime.
Johnnyb writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 9:52:13 PM

I dont´ this is good idea of changing the title. People who doesn´t recognize the title characteror the writings of Burroughs, will think of this one as another stupid love story or something else.....
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 9:59:46 PM

Make that a rainbow bridge and you pretty much have Aasgard.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 10:33:17 PM

I'd love to see the original 1930s animated film cinematics rediscovered in the 1970s. Lots of beautiful rotoscoping, I hear.
kirkpaco writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 10:34:53 PM

It was a stupid idea and that was a bullsh*t excuse.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 10:41:24 PM

Here's some. Knew Youtube would have it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1H2ZdSbyHhQ

masht7 writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 11:12:04 PM

Walt Disney's ass is probably itching in his grave right now.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 12:04:40 AM

They probably changed it so it is not confused with....

"Jon Carpenter's Ghosts of Mars"
rabid writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 12:13:16 AM

I think it's obvious why they changed it. There are two other recent movies in the past two years titled "John Carter From Mars", one of which just released. Both are extremely low budget, but big enough to be floating around video stores. Disney probably doesn't want any confusion over which to buy.
i guess that's the problem when you're adapting something that's public domain. Anyone else can pop up and make a film of the same name at the same time.
SaulSilver writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 1:23:48 AM

The name change makes sense, doesn't it? I mean...isn't Mark Strong reading too much into it? Now I don't know much about the character, but wouldn't it be simple enough to just say that they changed it because in fact, John Carter isn't "of Mars" at all. He's from Earth and goes TO Mars, right?
telur writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 3:53:21 AM

... because they want make the sequel called John Carter of Jupiter

ended with trilogy John Carter of Pluto
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 12:37:02 PM

"I think it's obvious why they changed it. There are two other recent movies in the past two years titled "John Carter From Mars", one of which just released. Both are extremely low budget, but big enough to be floating around video stores. Disney probably doesn't want any confusion over which to buy."

That's a bullsh*t explanation, even if true. I'm very much interested in films, new movies, much more than the average viewer, and I've never heard of the two films you mention, so why would Disney think anyone else had either?
rabid writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 1:34:39 PM

They're extremely low budget, but you couldn't tell by the DVD covers since they all look the same. I remember one had Antonio Sabato Jr as John Carter, and the other was foreign, like French or German.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 4:39:47 PM

Yes, but besides you, who has actually heard of them? No one. Can't see how Disney could think anyone would confuse their film, which doesn't come out till next year, with other very obscure similarly titles films already sitting on shelves.

I think they titled it John Carter because they plan on making the next film, the sequel the 'On Mars' part. It's a franchise thing.
Kurskij writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 5:22:09 PM

Could be both.

It's a good thing to opt "...of Mars" for a sequel.

But people DO confuse DVD's. If they didn't - "Asylum" wouldn't exist, cause no one in their right mind would buy that sh*t on purpose.

For example, Asylum released their "War of the Worlds" on DVD shortly before Spielberg's "War" was released in theatres. Guess what? People bought Asylum's DVD thinking it's "that big summer movie I heard of" and then came back to stores complaining that they bought some useless sh*t in DVD pack.

Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2011 at 9:27:41 PM

They can't confuse an absolutely obscure film released last year with a big budget Disney film that won't get released till next year.

All of your (and Rabid's) standard cynicism aside, no one is that stupid. Not even American audiences.

And....as I said, I'm very much into films and I've never even heard of the two Rabid mentioned. I'm familiar with all the movie rental and sale venues too, so if *I* haven't even heard of these two sh*t John Carter films, there's like a 99% chance average viewers haven't either. Thus no chance for them to confus tem with a film that hasn't even been made.

Furthermore, recall the official explanation:

"If you call him John Carter of Mars, I think at the very beginning, all the work has been done and what [director] Andrew [Stanton] wants to do is introduce people to this first film, and by the end of it, he becomes John Carter of Mars, but not at the beginning. In the beginning he's John Carter.""

Clearly, they intend to save the 'of Mars' part for sequels, thus beginning a franchise like all the other studios.

QED.

Kurskij writes:
on June 19th, 2011 at 12:55:16 AM

Holy, well if you say so, be it QED.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved