WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Luke Evans is Bard, Benedict Cumberbatch is Smaug in "The Hobbit"

Posted: June 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Luke Evans is Bard, Benedict Cumberbatch is Smaug in "The Hobbit"Submit Comment
Even though Peter Jackson has already started filming "The Hobbit" prequels, he is still hiring actors to join the ever-growing cast. Today, two more actors have been announced.

The first is Luke Evans (Clash of the Titans), who will play Bard the Grim, a skilled archer and the heir of King Girion of Dale. The king was killed by the talking dragon Smaug. The character has a much bigger part in the second film.

The second actor is Benedict Cumberbatch, who played the title role in the BBC TV series "Sherlock Holmes," opposite "The Hobbit" star Martin Freeman, who played Watson. Cumberbatch will voice Smaug and will portray the dragon via motion capture. He is already voicing the character Necromancer. So he's serve double duties.

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: Deadline, Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Skywalker121289 writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 2:30:22 AM

Sherlock is a dragon and an evil wizard.

What are them hobbits smoking now?
lol
Attos writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 3:12:57 AM

The two make a pretty damn good Sherlock and Watson though, especially for the modern revision.
markoz writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 3:33:46 AM

Benedict c*mberbatch is one very,very good actor
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 5:45:51 AM

I still don't get how they're gonna make this into two films unless they add extra parts between the second hobbit and the fellowship which would be an insult to Tolkein and my face.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 6:11:36 AM

@Cin - If I remember correctly, the Necromancer was only mentioned briefly in the book when Gandalf would disappear for a couple of chapters. Since they cast c*mberbatch to voice him I guess they are giving him a more prominent role. I'm sure theyll be doing that with most of the characters, including Bard
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 6:13:33 AM

Also, I think they will be adding things from the appendices, The Book of Lost Tales and the Sylmarillion
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 6:14:04 AM

You're not wrong there Attos.

Good actors joining another bunch of good actors, seems though these movies will be alright.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 6:46:39 AM

evil.kev- Fair play mate as long as they stick to the source material and accept that The Hobbit's not an epic saga like LOTR's It's all good in the hood.
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 8:24:18 AM

I'm looking forward to this in 2015
HideousSecretion writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 12:19:49 PM

Haven't seen Smaug-to-be in anything, but judging by the photo I doubt the ginger has the pipes to voice a menacing dragon. And I hate it when video games use voice actors for multiple characters. Why double up in the Hobbit? Pete Jackson couldn't find anyone else? Really? Is it a budget thing?
rocketman writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 1:06:27 PM

How the hell do you motion capture a dragon? i don't want some winged humanoid giant lizard man i wants Smaug like this...
http://tfgpoetry.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/the_death_of_smaug.jpg
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 2:56:00 PM

How do you animate a dragon through motion capture? I would assume prosthetic wings on the actor.

It's a damned good thing Tolkien is dead, because if not he'd pull a Rowling and write more sh*t and we'd never see the end of this franchise ever, though I do admit LOTRs is quite superior to that Hairy Pooper sh*t.
rocketman writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 4:14:39 PM

The Hobbit and Rings books are very dear too me from childhood but the films lack,I'm worried for my favorite kids book.
I can't do cowboy films myself,never got it?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved