WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Mangold to Direct "Wolverine" Sequel

Posted: June 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Mangold to Direct "Wolverine" SequelSubmit Comment
As Hugh Jackman prepares to star in "Les Miserables" film, 20th Century Fox is making sure that by the time he is done filming, he can jump right into the sequel to "X-Men Origins: Wolverine."

We recently heard that eight directors were in talks to replace Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan). That list was recently narrowed to three choices, James Mangold (3:10 to Yuma), Gavin O'Connor (Miracle) and Antoine Fuqua (Training Day).

Now comes word that the studio and Jackman have decided that Mangold is the man to take over the franchise. Negotiations are about to start, but those close to Mangold say that he's eager to direct the sequel. The plan is to begin filming in the fall.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 6:22:27 AM

Knight and Day is not that good... They should hires Doug Liman
telur writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 6:24:20 AM

still.. is Emma Stone will be in Wolverine sequel?

last time i know she's everywhere...
Rambo writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 6:28:55 AM

good pick.knight and day sucked because of bad script and poor casting.much better then gavin hood thats for sure.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 6:53:39 AM

Never seen "3:10 To Yuma" but heard great things about it so this could work.
Taco writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 7:23:29 AM

@ Telur
I like Doug Liman too, but he did make "Jumper"!
coolguy writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 7:26:22 AM

310 to yuma was a great film, out of the directors listed Mangold is definately the best choice
boogiel writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 8:19:06 AM

I'll give it a chance,but I'm not expecting too much from fox.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 8:53:11 AM

But if they make a sequel, even if it's good, they're encouraging people to see the first origins. It's not even worth it...
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 8:54:01 AM

@ Dave

good solid film.

Never miss it if I'm channel surfing kind of movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 9:14:59 AM

There is hope afterall.
nawtnt writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 11:08:23 AM

James Mangold directing the sequel means one thing:

Wolverine doing a sing-a-long, jsut kidding I hope Mangold does the film well because the fans deserve better.

First it was a reboot when Darren Aronofsky was attached to direct it now that he opted out, it is a seuqel.

I wish this is a reboot because X-Men Origins: Wolverine was not that great with character develpoment and timelines, it was confusing but the action was awesome.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 12:48:40 PM

3:10 To Yuma was good. Not great. And Knight and Day was utterly forgettable.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 12:49:43 PM

mangold also directed Identity,Walk the Line,and Copland with Sly so it has a good chance
patman2011 writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 1:24:16 PM

has long has this movie is good i dont care who directs it
HideousSecretion writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 2:12:06 PM

3:10 was a damn good flick. Hope this Wolverine movie isn't as sh*t as the first.
rocketman writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 2:31:44 PM

Not seen any of his film so i can't really comment....is he any good?
rabid writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 2:40:03 PM

I liked 3:10 and Identity. The script for Knight and Day was terrible, but I thought it was well-directed. The action scenes were well thought out, so there's that for hope.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 3:24:52 PM

There was nothing wrong with Knight and Day's script. Silly insipid story but that was the point and people I think missed the fact that it wasn't a solid and serious actioner but a semi-comedic romp for Cruise to be Cruise, and it worked.

Not only that but the direction, well, let me just say I would like to ask anyone if they could do the sly and fast cuts like he Mangold did in that film, because it was great, and the film hardly stopped for a second to ponder much. Perhaps forgettable, but a fun ride only really ruined by Cameron Diaz's goofy quizzical face and atrocious acting.

Mangold is one of the few who have actually improved over the years, instead of getting fat and lazy once they suceeded. Identity was taut and 3:10 was solidly told through the use of solid shots, though the underlying story was pretty thin.

Good choice, really. But He's wasting his time on Wolverine. It's pretty much radioactive, no pun intended. I wouldn't do it unless I needed to pay the mortgage.
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 3:29:29 PM

rocketman i love your avatar
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 4:19:38 PM

-solidly
technoreaper writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 8:58:42 PM

YESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYES!!!!!!!!!
technoreaper writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 8:59:23 PM

BTW, I didn't think Knight and Day was that bad...
Avirex writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 9:44:19 PM

I thought the first Wolverine was already directed by a Mongoloid...
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 5:52:58 PM

lol...a mongoloid moron.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on June 17th, 2011 at 7:28:29 PM

I'll wait for the trailers and decide if this is a movie I will watch online.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved