WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Con Air" Director to Helm "The Expendables" Sequel

Posted: June 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Con Air" Director to Helm "The Expendables" SequelSubmit Comment
We already know that Sylvester Stallone won't be returning to direct "The Expendables" sequel, despite still starring in the film. The plan has been to begin filming this summer, which is why Lionsgate has been searching for Stallone's replacement.

Now comes word that Simon West (Con Air, Lara Croft: Tomb Raider) has signed on to direct. He recently helmed "The Mechanic," which means that he'll be re-uniting with Jason Statham. "The Expendables 2" is set to hit theaters on August 17th, 2012.

We've been hearing a lot about potential casting. Several actors rumored to appear in the sequel are Jean-Claude Van Damme, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Bruce Willis and Dwayne Johnson.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 6:22:54 AM

i want LARS VON TIERS!!!!
Rambo writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 6:27:40 AM

good pick.con air is one of the best movies of all time.f*ck the godfather.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 6:51:03 AM

Con Air is/was a good piece of fun cinema, so I am fine with this, eventhough I hated Lara Croft (but that is because I hate Jolie)
LastActionHero writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 7:09:19 AM

Someone that can actually make a Nic Cage movie watchable... I'm in.
YoungChris writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 7:17:32 AM

f*ck yeah !!!
bandolero999 writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 8:09:37 AM

sounds decent but not the Rumor of the Rock
sri_91 writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 8:38:13 AM

Awesomeness!
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 8:55:54 AM

Nickys

I'm a retarded southern army vet voice did not work for me.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 9:11:31 AM

The mechanic was ok, they better start filming this soon before stalone explodes. Maybe get Arnies son involved in a cameo start getting him ready for his role as you terminator
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 9:16:38 AM

I'm down, Con Air was good. Loved Steve Buscemei in it.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 10:42:09 AM

Great news indeed.
nawtnt writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 10:58:04 AM

Con Air was the best action movie ever and it is a classic.

I hope every hero and every villain gets a fair amount of screentime.

This is my list for The Expendables 2:
http://www.imdb.com/list/GjFtifuSlxU/
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 11:28:21 AM

Good news!

Con*Air was one of my picks with that 27 movie Blockbuster going out of business sale this week.

Must be weird for Stallone usually having (wanting and getting) so much control on a set, to be confident enough to hand the reins of his newest baby franchise The Expendables. Good for him I say.
HideousSecretion writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 2:15:06 PM

"That's a rock!" Con Air was fun. Good choice. Hope this film is even better. Oh and West, less Jet Li talking (mumbling) and more Jet Li kicking. And we need more of Crews and Couture. Interesting characters that weren't given enough screen time.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 3:32:22 PM

Cinema: The Mechanic was garbage. I've never seen someone collect an easier paycheck than Statham, and the ending, entirely predictable. Lousy stunts, short on action, entirely forgettable, a movie simply meant to wipe a Statham fan's ass. Far inferior to the original Bronson flick of the same name.

As for this, yeah, Con Air was good, but West has only crafted one film worth watching, and the Expendables is really not worth even a sequel. First film was fine but nothing I would ever watch more than twice. None of that comedica bravera from such seminal 80s classics like Commando and Tango and Cash. Lots of heavy-handed action, lots of exploding bodies, light on the character development, non-existent humor and cardboard cliches.

Started off ok, but lost itself during the second act and ultimately, overall failed by the third.

Killing off Rourke's character isn't helping this nascent 'franchise' either.
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 4:38:41 PM

i've never seen con air is any good?
mpiper821 writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 4:47:39 PM

I just hope that it's not true about killing off Rourke's character in the sequel, His character was probably the best one out of the bunch.
Avirex writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 9:52:07 PM

I enjoyed Mechanic, minus the tacked on ending. ----->Spoiler: Statham should have stayed dead.
The Tall Man writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 10:00:10 PM

West was able to direct a motley crue of characters in Con Air, and I'm sure he can pull this film off.
patman2011 writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 11:53:54 PM

gonna be badass !!!!!!!! =)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved