WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jamie Foxx to Replace Will Smith in Tarantino's "Django Unchained"

Posted: June 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jamie Foxx to Replace Will Smith in TarantinoSubmit Comment
We recently learned that Will Smith was the frontrunner to star in Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained." But now comes word that Smith may pass on the role, because Jamie Foxx is now in talks to replace him.

If cast, Foxx will play Django, a freed slave who seeks to reunite with his slave wife, a journey that will see him team with a German bounty hunter (Christoph Waltz) to take down an evil plantation owner Monsieur Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio).

Idris Elba and Samuel L. Jackson are also attached, while DiCaprio is officially on board. The plan is to begin filming this fall.

Source: Showbiz411


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 9:00:00 PM

Good news. I like Foxx, and I used to like SMith until he became just another Hollywood *sshole. I would have preferred Denzel as that man really doesn't get the work he deserves. He's like the black Tom Cruise. But I actually like him.
BigUnit writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 9:00:07 PM


Will Smith, WHY IN THE WORLD WOULD YOU PASS TO BE IN A TARANTINO FILM! go make more hanc*cks. wow i cant beleive that.
patman2011 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 9:00:54 PM

this is EPIC !!! =)
masKritic writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 9:21:47 PM

lol if you arent logged it it censors "hanc*cks"

Jamie Foxx is alright i really wanted to see smith in that role though.
The First Rule writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 9:23:29 PM

I agree Denzel is the obvious choice, but hes getting older, but seriously Denzel +Tarantino screenwriting would produce some classic lines
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 9:27:21 PM

Out of Time is an instant classic. I can watch that film repeatedly, but that Mighty Quinn sh*t can suck it.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 9:56:01 PM

a better choice but I still have that image of Foxx in comedy when he was in living color.I just cant picture him in dramatic roles like Jim Carrey and Will Ferrell.

I would of prefered Don Cheadle.But if Foxx starts in this movie it will be more marketable and more people will watch it.
Dr Fate writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 10:09:41 PM

Mink get a f'n life....you post on all these stories. I can't even enjoy reading it without seeing your fat face
Rambo writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 10:12:26 PM

Not so sure about the cast.Waltz sounds great but foxx as the main lead and dicaprio as the bad guy?could think of better choices then these...
WV-Films writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 10:17:07 PM

That story sounds awesome!
lebowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 10:17:11 PM

smith could become likable again in this movie ,work with dicaprio and waltz but instead we get jamie fox,who is not a bad thing but i would like to hear some cool tarantino lines from will smith.well done will
Avirex writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 10:32:32 PM

He still looks like that transgender character Wanda he used to play. I'm going to pass on this just like Smith did.
johnny_boy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 10:43:59 PM

Good. Tired off Smith. And who knows, since Foxx is good buddies with RDJ he might get him to have a small part in this just like Foxx appeared in that he did with Galafacknackd*cksuckus.
Dirt writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 10:53:09 PM

Whatever, they should cast Pierce Brosnan. I want to see him in a Tarantino film.
elrei writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 10:57:16 PM

This is actually good news
Bob82 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 11:06:07 PM

Hmmm, having mixed feelings about this.

Not that I don't like Jamie Foxx, cause he was good in some movies, but he wasn't so good in 'Due Date' and I think his performance in 'Ray' is way overreated. I yet have to see him in 'The Soloist' and 'Law Abiding Citizen'.

I really liked Will Smith as the lead, but I trust Tarantino directing skills with Foxx.

The rest of the cast is perfect. Di Caprio as the villian sounds awesome.

And I totally agree with Dirt: Pierce Brosnan would do great in a Tarantino movie.
Zeroguy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 11:44:00 PM

Thought I'm hoping Elba would get te lead and this would be his big break, I am okay with Foxx though.
filmaddict24 writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 12:28:55 AM

Leonardo Dicaprio playing a villain? Oh this will definitely be interesting.
darkraven28 writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 1:03:40 AM

Denzel won his first of two Oscars playing a slave. Jamie Foxx has an Oscar. Will Smith should have taken this chance to shake up his image and perhaps even bag that Oscar too. Because many Tarantino movies have been like Oscar magnets regardless of whatever issues they might have.
sri_91 writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 2:08:10 AM

Idris Elba is epic!
rocketman writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 3:36:00 AM

Owts better than Smith,would have preferred Idris Elba though.
c-prime writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 4:07:00 AM

Well, sh*t. Smith could've used a role like this. I imagine Tarantino would've pushed him as an actor more than the director of whatever project he'll end up accepting in this movie's stead. Given the fact that his next film is part of the "Men in Black" franchise and his two-and-a-half year absence from acting altogether, it seems to me that Big Will's opted to work inside his comfort zone. He'd rather commit to an established, sure box-office thing than take a gamble on an original project (of course, there's really no such thing as a gamble in filmmaking when Will Smith is involved, so that argument's useless - guess we'll just have to attribute the cause to artistic indolence).

Frankly, I wish Smith would reconsider because I foresee him lamenting his decision in the same way he laments passing on "The Matrix". Moreover, I think it would be great PR for the guy, given that many people out there (including myself) have lost a great deal of respect for him, largely due to the oversaturation of his children in our film and music outlets. I don't fault the guy for being attentive to his offspring and pushing them to be their very best (Lord knows it's more than most other black folks in the country would do - for those that don't know the difference, the preceding remark was an expression of my ethnic self-deprecation, NOT racism). Rather, I just don't find his kids as precious as everybody else, thus making the media's relentless efforts to endear his kids to me hopelessly ineffective.

I think a lot of the anger at Will is misplaced, truth be told. I think the blame lies more with his wife, Jada Pinkett (who, in roughly twenty years of intermittent work, has demonstrated absolutely nothing of merit in a single motion picture). In interviews, she supposedly takes all the credit for their kids stardom (despite the fact that her hubby makes every cent and, if he were to dump her ass tomorrow, we'd be seeing her, dirt poor and bleary from her gigs in pornographic films, on a future season of "Celebrity Rehab" [then again, I should probably change the pronoun "we'd" because I'd never be caught dead watching that derivative "reality TV" drivel]). Methinks she's got him whipped, and he's so outrageously enervated by her that he can't exert so much as one modest opinion in the household. A relative of mine and I were discussing this once; she informed that the Smiths (Will, Jada, the two annoying youngsters, and Will's eldest son from his first marriage) were on an episode of "Oprah" about last year. During the entire episode, she said that Jada Pinkett basically bragged about HER biological brood for 45 minutes while saying nothing flattering at all about her stepson (who I heard favors athletics over acting). I was quite flummoxed when I heard about this, but it caused me to look at the situation from an entirely different perspective. Fellas, I don't think it'll surprise you to consider that the real scapegoat in this whole frustrating affair is, like in so many other controversies, a woman.

I'm trying real hard to remain a fan of Will Smith, but this announcement makes it damn challenging. (I expect his reasoning for passing on this film will, no doubt, be because he was setting up another starring vehicle for his kid or, worse yet, Justin Beiber). I mean, in light of the emasculating appearance of his marriage and the critical failures of 2008's "Hanc*ck" and "Seven Pounds", the guy could really stand to make something uniquely special for his big comeback (along the lines of what Quentin appears to be crafting). Moreover, I've always found him to be a more affable presence than Jamie Foxx (who is surely capable as a performer but not nearly as benign as his "Ali" co-star).
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 4:41:56 AM

Great place one white guy with an even whiter guy.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 4:47:42 AM

place= replace
Valerie writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 6:14:00 AM

This sounds exciting, and i just lovee that Leo agreed to play a bad guy!
jdl107 writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 6:37:15 AM

Ahaha, Foxx?


Well, whatever. If he's the only one you can think of, Quentin.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 9:08:41 AM

Well if he had to be replaced they certainly picked a good actor. Smith needs to take his head out of his self-loving ass and do a solid movie. Men in black 3 is a sure hit (in the $$$ department) and he jumped at that. But this could have breathed new life into his acting career. I'll never understand why somebody would turn down working with Quentin, the man is a genius whether you like him as a person or not. After seeing Bastards I now know that he is a movie making God.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 11:20:17 AM

Will Smith would have been great playing a slave.


He gets to practice it every day being married to Jada.
Bunny X writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 12:40:42 PM

I thought Foxx did his best playing against Cruise so hopefully lightning will strike twice with him playing against DiCaprio.
mjbodnarek@gmail.com writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 3:48:11 PM

I don't like this. Will Smith is going to have a lot more chemistry with Waltz than Foxx.
Captain Bennett writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 10:10:08 PM

Idris Alba would probably be better than both for that role. He may pick sh*tty projects most of the time, but I think he's very underrated.
triggax writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 12:34:34 AM

Michael Mann brought out the best in both, Jamie Foxx and Will Smith.

Other than, Ali and Collateral. Both of them are highly over rated.

It almost seems like a bad move, like they're settling for Will Smith Version 2.0

Narkle of Gary writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 5:57:22 AM

Stupid. Give the role to Idris!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved