WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Wars" Live-Action TV Series On Hold, Plot Details Revealed

Posted: June 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Wars" Live-Action TV Series On Hold, Plot Details RevealedSubmit Comment
It's been many years since George Lucas announced that he's working on a live-action "Star Wars" TV series. Now, "Star Wars" producer Rick McCallum revealed that the series will take at least three more years to come together and a total of five years before the first episode airs.

"The TV series is on hold. It has to do with [the episodes being] so ambitious," he said. "We have 50 hours of third-draft scripts, but the problem we have is there is a lot of digital animation; we don;t have the technology yet to be able to do them at a price that is safe for television. Since we would be financing them, it would be suicide for us to do this [now]. So we are going to wait three or four years."

McCallum added that he and Lucas will take a look at the state of the entertainment business in three years and will then decide whether to proceed with the show. He said: "Network television and cable television as we know it are completely imploding, so we're not really sure that in five years time we can release a dramatic one-hour episode because it is all reality TV now."

The producer also spoke about the plot of the show, which takes place between "Episode II" and "Episode IV," but will not focus on Luke. McCallum explained: "Basically, it is like 'The Godfather'; it's the Empire slowly building up its power base around the galaxy, what happens in Coruscant, which is the major capital, and itís [about] a group of underground bosses who live there and control drugs, prostitution."

Source: CeskaPozice, BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 4:37:40 AM

You had me at prostitution
Avirex writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 5:12:09 AM

This is what they call development hell.
supaflywill writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 5:31:45 AM

DIDNT MR LUCAS SAY THE WORLD WAS GOING TO END IN 2012 HAHAHAH
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 6:23:39 AM

@Alex - if you wanna keep our attention through such a long and boring article, try putting the two best words at the beginning, not the end
bloodgear writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 6:29:12 AM

I've been waiting since word was first out, think it was 05 but I remember hearing rumours in 98. I doubt it'll ever happen.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 7:02:47 AM

It could be a really good show if they do it from the point of view of a Storm Trooper, show the psychology of space combat and what not.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 7:24:34 AM

hookers in star wars-ville?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 7:31:38 AM

Action- Princess Leia? Return Of The Jedi? Jabbas Bitch... you know he didn't just look at her! He gave her a slimy beef injection, I'll leave you all with that mental image.
Rambo writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 8:19:08 AM

jabba de lucas should make episodes 7,8,9 and retire.
boogiel writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 8:59:48 AM

Keep milking the franchise, Lucas. The end is near.
Bunny X writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 9:19:34 AM

I wouldn't mind those side stories like they showcased in the "Rouge" video games. We've been beaten to death with the main folks for so long, why not highlight some of these side stories.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 10:40:57 AM

So we'll get to see Aunt Beru work to pay the bills?
Donyae 420 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 11:14:09 AM

Go to SuperShadow wed site,7,8,9 will be in theaters around 2022....30yrs after the battle of Endor!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 11:27:12 AM

really, it's on hold? i think maybe some might have guessed that not hearing about it in like 4 years.
bloodgear writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 12:38:51 PM

@Cinema - some of the Clone Wars series actually did that for the Clones in a band of brothers style. Dark at points.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 12:42:13 PM

"Basically, it is like 'The Godfather'"

Because Italian mob bosses vying for power back in the early 20th century on earth has d*ck to do with what happens on a city-planet in a time long ago in a galaxy far, far away.

Next up, Michael Bay says Transformers Dark of the Moon is like Godfather. Bumblebee comes to Megatron to ask for help in financing his marriage to Shia.

"So we are going to wait three or four years."

Hold my ass, that's a death. Yeah, hey, I'm going to shoot you through the head, blow your brains all over this ugly wallpaper here, but no worries, you're not dead, you're just on hold.
rabid writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 1:37:12 PM

It's Star Wars, so of course it's going to be expensive. They said from the start that they were only going to make it if they could afford to shoot two seasons at once. That would be like a 40-hours-long Star Wars movie... not something you'd just jump into, I understand that.
If they can't match the classic fx, then the more spoiled cynics and critics will sh*t on it. But it was always a serial... and in my opinion always destined for tv.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 1:50:44 PM

bloodgear- Sounds good I've caught a few of those clone wars and they do seem to have dark undertones considering the young target audience. It's a shame lucas couldn't pull that off for the prequels.
rocketman writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 2:39:34 PM

So we are not getting Darth Vader in his cool mask n suit traveling the galaxy with battalion of storm troopers and Boba Fett looking for the remaining scattered Jedi so he can kill them in varying cool ways for 100 episodes?
Lucas...you make me f*cking sick.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 2:42:37 PM

@ supaflywill...yea but he figured 'f*ck it, even if it doesn't end i'll still continue ruining star wars and indiana jones'
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 2:50:27 PM

just like transformers should be rebooted and be about robots rather than shia ladouche's character, how about we get star wars with effects that look more like the 2nd trilogy w/episodes 4, 5, and 6?...yea hollywood knows what their audience wants my ass
retardicon 101 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 2:51:54 PM

the farce is srong with this one.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 3:18:48 PM

"If they can't match the classic fx, then the more spoiled cynics and critics will sh*t on it."

The original trilogy used handcrafted analogue models, the sequels used digital props. They're going with the latter, not the former which is why they're bemoaning the high costs.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 3:48:01 PM

Id personally Rather see another Sequel Trilogy,, But onlt if they movies were really really good
AYT BALL writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 5:04:57 PM

Going the CGI route is pretty dumb, it looked crap on the new movies and the ones we all know and love were based on cool characters in low budget locations with a little cheap rotoscoping to make lightsabers, go back to basics and use the characters and universe that made you your billions in the first place
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 5:24:42 PM

2D post-production light sabers are cheap, but Lucas and his merry band of CG idiots would try to do them in texture-mapped incandescent 3D, which is why the fool is bitching about costs.
rabid writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 6:24:12 PM

Most of the CGI will probably be environments. Since it's television, I could see them returning to some practical effects like models, animatronics and costumes. Some of those things take years to devise and create, even when dealing with the environments. It's nothing but a good sign that they're taking the time to do it right. After all, they are sitting on top of one of the most successful celluloid franchises of all time.
darthraige writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 11:21:45 PM

I'm betting this will never happen, or in 3-5 years it will go on hold for another 3-5 years, repeat.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 1:36:36 AM

I would like to see this happen, hopefulyl gets a smaller budget so Lucas won't have to have 99% of the film f*cking CGI
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 4:22:15 AM

He will change his mind when the mulla comes in for the Bluray dvd box sets of the Saga in November.

Man in Black writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 7:37:13 PM

Just keep it on hold and the world will be a better place.
Orias writes:
on June 16th, 2011 at 6:54:52 PM

Sounds f*cking great over all, its time to bring the franchis eback from candy-kiddy Playland cartoons and bring back the grime, slime and sex for the odler adult audience.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved