WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Cartoon Network's "Ben 10" to Become a Live-Action Film

Posted: June 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Cartoon NetworkSubmit Comment
Producer Joel Silver (Sherlock Holmes, The Matrix) has signed on to develop a live-action feature film based on Cartoon Network's "Ben 10" sci-fi cartoon series, which revolves around Ben Tennyson, a boy who can transform into 10 different alien creatures with the help of a glove-like device called the Omnitrix.

"I think we have to try something fresh and go at it in a way that stays true to the original material," said Silver. "I have a 5-year-old and a 9-year-old, so it's somewhere between them. I tried to do [something similar] with 'Speed Racer' and failed miserably. You always learn more from the ones that don't work than the ones that do work."

The plan is to turn the show into a big-budget tentpole movie with hopes of it becoming a film franchise. Silver is currently searching for writers.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 4:44:20 AM

What? Getting a movie idea from something on tv that's widely popular(from what I hear) cuz there seems to be no more room for originality? That's not the Hollywood I know
Avirex writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 5:13:37 AM

Mark my words. This will be "I Am Number Four" all over again.
coolguy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 6:52:22 AM

this reminds me of a little movie last year called 'The Last Airbender'. They f*cked that up, im pretty sure theyll do the same here.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 7:14:24 AM

I tried to do [something similar] with 'Speed Racer' and failed miserably

Don't be too hard on yourself... Speed Racer was awesome (on acid)
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 7:26:39 AM

works as a cartoon...LEAVE IT THE f*ck ALONE!
boogiel writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 8:52:43 AM

I thought they already made Ben 10 into live-action movie couple of years ago. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lCGKn0hUMo
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 9:12:00 AM

"I have a 5-year-old and a 9-year-old, so it's somewhere between them" -Michael Jackson


rabid writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 12:53:47 PM

I definitely wouldn't count Speed Racer among his failures. It was a really well-made film.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 1:33:18 PM

Speed Racer failed with audiences, it failed financially and it failed with critics, but it succeeded with you. I would call that a failure any day of the week. And then some.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 1:57:18 PM

But darn where those cars bright and colourful... so many wonderful colours!
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 3:44:48 PM

Monkeys like shiny, pretty things, cinema. They also love to fling sh*t.

In other news, after his bang-up job on The Last Airbender, M. Night Stupidass is in talks to helm the film.
DexterMorgan writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 4:54:31 PM

the show sucked and so will this
rabid writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 6:39:33 PM

So? Plenty of great movies do sh*tty in the theaters and with critics... Event Horizon, 2010, Office Space, Buckaroo Banzai... now we call them classics.
Bladerunner was a complete box office bomb, and I don't anyone these days who could attack that film.
lostguy20 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 7:11:49 PM

they made a one already.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1327701/
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 8:50:10 PM

Yes, but Speed Racer was unpopular with *everyone*. Critics hated it, most audiences, save a tiny minority of people such as yourself, hated it, and it made litle money.

You said it wasn't a failure, and yet, by every indication, by every concievable yardstick, save that you liked it, Speed Racer was a failure.

It also has unimpressive DVD and BluRay sales. and yes, I'm aware of it's IMDb rating, ex post facto it's very dismal theatrical performance.

And here's the thing, for every person such as yourself, there's at least three like me that despised the film. That's NOT a success, by any defintion of the word.

Speed Racer was, is, a failure. Fact. As for Blade Runner, it wasn't reviewed nearly as negatively as Speed Racer, and I think you're being silly if you think that the latter will somehow miraculously enjoy a cult classic resurgence some time down the road in the near future. Don't see that happening. The people have spoken.

Oh, and 2010 is only marginally more watchable than 2001. Buckaroo Banzai sucks, and Office Space may have tanked but it resonates very well with people who've worked in an office milieu, this its moderate appeal. Event Horison can be best described as Paul Anderson's best film; that's not a crowning achievement.
shamusot00le writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 12:02:00 AM

I have a 10yo son who loves Ben 10. The producers have done something I don't think I've seen before in a cartoon series and let him grow up. If they do this movie they should continue that, let him grow up a bit more, but there's no way they'll make this rate higher than PG, which is a shame. But, they will do that in 10 years time ala Transformers when current tweens/teens have more disposable income.
Matiax writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 12:02:40 AM

Ben 10 has not one, but TWO live-action movies! "Ben 10: Race Against Time" and "Ben 10: Alien Swarm", both directed by Alex Winters (Bill from Bill and Ted)
sri_91 writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 1:50:40 AM

Speed Racer was about average.... until i saw Emile Hirsk! So thats about 10 seconds then!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 3:37:36 AM

So they want to do a toned down version of "The Green Lantern"?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved