WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise May Play Jack Reacher in "One Shot" Thriller

Posted: June 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise May Play Jack Reacher in "One Shot" ThrillerSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures is in negotiations with Tom Cruise to star in "One Shot," a thriller based on the Lee Child book series about former military policeman-turned-drifter Jack Reacher. Christopher McQuarrie ("Valkyrie" writer) is on board to direct from his own script. The plan is to begin filming in the fall.

Cruise looks nothing like Jack Reacher, who is 6'5 tall and 250 pounds. "Reacher's size in the books is a metaphor for an unstoppable force, which Cruise portrays in his own way," said Child.

In the books, Reacher drifts around the country, carrying nothing more than a toothbrush, the clothes on his back, his passport and access to his military pension. He finds his way into all kinds of misadventures but usually winds up using his brawn and his brains from years of military experience to solve conspiracies for underdogs.

In "One Shot," Reacher investigates a case in which a lone sniper murders five victims before being captured. Reacher discovers it's more than a simple case.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Parasyte writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 5:06:10 AM

This is such a bad idea, totally miss-cast, there's no amount of cuban heels can me think TC can pull this off, the character is a man mountain!
Avirex writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 5:07:31 AM

Sounds more like a pilot for a television series.

Reminds of Bill Bixby walking along a road with his backpack as the sad Hulk music plays.
Coggsy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 6:31:32 AM

I've read all the Lee Child books .. and love Jack Reacher as a charactor.

Yet i dont think i have ever read about Jack Reacher .. jumping up and down screaming on the couch when he put a female charactor away.

Tom Cruise .. what a disgrace.

Lee Child .. please dont sell out like this.
darkknight1985 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 7:50:55 AM

This is one of the worst casting choices I've ever heard.
Child, through out the entirety of his novels went on to portray Reacher as this gorilla of a guy with a soft spot for the weak and feeble. Say nothing, do nothing, don't react unless provoked. And when he does react its an explosion of violence that leaves everyone down in a heap. Can't see Cruise in that role, ever.
Why the author likes it I have no idea, it could be money or recognition or both. My respect for Child just went down several notches.
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 9:10:20 AM

They already made these films.....

Rambo: First Blood
c-prime writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 11:06:16 AM

"Tom Cruise May Play Jack Reacher-Round in 'One Shot' Thriller"

Fixed it for you, WP.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 12:51:21 PM

Looks like Tom Cruise is going the Robert De niro route.

cruise control no longer
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 1:17:42 PM

Ugh. A Jack Reacher novel gets a film treatment, but still no big-screen adaptation of F. Paul Wilson's The Tomb, which is essentially an 80s action film in book form.
funseeker writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 2:46:33 PM

cruise is a hobbit and reacher is an imposing man, often biggest in the room, and then deceptively smart for a musclehead ... platform shoes cannot pump cruise into this role although i believe good drugs and talking to animals elevated his ego.
secondbest writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 3:00:51 PM

"Reacher's size in the books is a metaphor for an unstoppable force, which Cruise portrays in his own way," said Child.

I think this is what people call, "wishful thinking."
johnny_boy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 3:02:25 PM

Cruise playing Jack Reacher. How fitting. In real life he's called Jack Reacher-Around.
johnny_boy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 3:02:46 PM

Cruise playing Jack Reacher. How fitting. In real life he's called Jack Reach-Around.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 3:37:56 PM

I think c-prime already did that joke, johnny_boy. And I know, I did the same thing with the Papajohn guy. Terrible last name btw. Papajohn. I just hope he isn't a pimp. Or Shay.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 4:54:32 PM

Ithink Tom is a good actor, maybe a f*cked up person in real life, but as an actor he is far better than most around these days, and has usually given awesome performances and has a good eye for picking movies but this, NOPE, what ever happened to that Mountian madness film he was doing with del toro
johnny_boy writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 4:59:55 PM

Oh sh*t. I didn't read c primes post. Thanks for the heads up, Minkowski.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 5:53:01 PM

It was funny the first, and even funny the second, but I'll shoot whoever does it thrice.

"maybe a f*cked up person in real life"

maybe???
funseeker writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 6:09:30 PM

well, maybe ... you gotta give man some credit, i love tom cruise ever since: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxDqRy9bhtc

oh, lee child sold out :-( a metaphor - lame excuse, damn he should have just said cruise seemed taller when he saw him on the altar.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 3:43:08 AM

Sounds like "The Littlest Hobo" to me, wonder if they will do an update of the theme tune.
Valerie writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 6:12:17 AM

I think Cruise certainly has charisma, and can act, but damn he is soo wrong for this role!
struck21 writes:
on June 15th, 2011 at 10:12:22 PM

So Paramount already has decided to lose money on a this movie. I say it everytime I read an article that announces TC is staring a movie, Connecting him to a movie will ruin it's box office. People don't like him anymore.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved