WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Superman," "The Dark Knight Rises," and "The Avengers" Won't Appear at Comic-Con

Posted: June 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Superman," "The Dark Knight Rises," and "The Avengers" WonSubmit Comment
If you're expecting to hear some news or see some footage from "The Avengers," "Justice League of America" or most other superhero/comic book films during the San Diego Comic-Con 2011, you're out of luck.

NY Times has learned that Marvel, Warner Bros, Disney, DreamWorks and The Weinstein Company have decided not to attend the event this year, despite the fact that the biggest fans of their movies are at Comic-Con.

Part of the problem is that it costs money to attend this event and the attendees don't need convincing to see the films. In fact, if some of these attendees end up seeing something they don't like, they may end up damaging a film through negative word-of-mouth. And that could cost studios millions.

Plus, even if certain films are well-received, there have been countless examples of those films failing, like "Sucker Punch" and "Scott Pilgrim vs the World." Disney's "Tron Legacy" was at Comic-Con for three years and the movie ended up under-performing. Many believe it's better for the studio to just avoid all that.

Universal, Paramount, Sony and 20th Century Fox are still expected to show up. And with the absence of some of the big guys, smaller studios (Relativity, Lionsgate, Summit) will hope to get more exposure.

Source: NY Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 6:53:12 AM

In fact, if some of these attendees end up seeing something they don't like, they may end up damaging a film through negative word-of-mouth. And that could cost studios millions.

Oh know, you wouldn't want the target audience actually KNOWING that the films sh*t. You wouldn't want them to tell other people the TRUTH about the film and ruin your money making schemes now would ya. Then when everyone flocks to see the film all at once you can make a sequel because people must have liked the film considering they paid money to see it for the first time.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:09:15 AM

Which means that they are not sure about the quality of their products. If they had faith, they would've gone there, alas they don't.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:27:12 AM

They saw what happened after two years of Tron:Legacy trailers and said, "Why bother?"
PHURBY1984 writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:46:26 AM

I don't DC Comics and the WB have anything to worry about, The Dark Knight and Superman Returns for a much as it didnt follow Superman's Origens peformed really well in theaters...As for Marvel they should go because the only good superhero movie that has been good so far was Iron-Man 1....As far as being worried about the cost, it'a not like they cant afford it...
bandolero999 writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:48:50 AM

Sucker punch was horrible but at least all the bitches got killed.except for one of them

There ruined it for ya now it won't sell dvds
bandolero999 writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:51:43 AM

Your out if ur mind there phurby Xmen first class was outstanding better than all the others and Thor.
Rambo writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 8:01:18 AM

more internet porn time for the nerds.
DUDEabides87 writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 9:01:58 AM

I feel movies now a days in particular follow 2 paths.... They either invest in a good script/story and give a solid director the helm... Or they just throw all their $ into CGI and hype and hope for the best (Tron being an obvious example) I was stoked when I saw the first Tron trailer but I should have been more wise to the usual all flash no substance of such garbage. The visuals were amazing but about 50 percent through the filni realized the story was rubbish. And the acting, well let's just leave that for a whole other day. Pretty dissapointed none of these 3 movies will have any revelations this year at CC but not too shocked. 1 is still casting and the other two are just weeks into filming. Nolans film will have a teaser during the last harry potter so I'm happy. I'm sure they'll be 40 new comic book movies clips/trailers for fanboys to jerk it to in the meantime.
boogiel writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 10:11:00 AM

"Part of the problem is that it costs money to attend this event and the attendees don't need convincing to see the films. In fact, if some of these attendees end up seeing something they don't like, they may end up damaging a film through negative word-of-mouth. And that could cost studios millions."


Why don't just stick with the good ol fashioned marketing effort to promote the movie. That is, by trailers and tv spots. Not from some convention. Besides, people who attend movie-promoting convention (such as SDCC) are gonna asking for any clip or footage anyway.
Devil writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 10:36:28 AM

I don't give a sh*t about this nerd fest. So I'm glad this happened.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 10:38:35 AM

Comic-con, where old fat nerds go to asexually reproduce.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 10:39:18 AM

Why do I care???
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 10:51:12 AM

You don't.
JohnZee writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 11:19:18 AM

No surprise there. There's been talk of the movie industry abandoning the comic book/geek crowd ever since Matthew Vaughn and "Tits" McGee put out their first super hero movie intentionally catering and marketing solely to that crowd, as they certainly proved that particular niche market not only is completely full of sh*t, but getting there relentless support in no way means that a movie will be a success at the box office.
rabid writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 11:42:34 AM

There's no real reason to market the hell out of those three films, since they're all franchises that are impossible to fail. Even a sh*tty film like Superman Returns will rake in the profits, and Nolan's Batman hardly needs any advertising at this point. There's already ten or so other conventions they are covering and showing promo material, the Hero Complex Film Festival this past weekend for instance.

And anyone who thinks Comic-con is swarming with lard asses in sweat pants simply watches The Simpsons too much. Last time I went it was 90% beautiful people just like any other event in sunny California, and certainly no shortage of babes.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 11:53:51 AM

I guess I dreamt up those images taken at previous comic-cons, featuring sad pathetic overweight people in stupid-assed costumes parading around like certified imbeciles.

And beautiful? I guess ordinary is the new beautiful then, because that's the best I've ever seen. Just a bunch of sad losers with nothing better to do than indignify themselves with preposterous makeup. Yeah, another fat stooge in a Wolverine mask and some scrawny ugly asian chick pretending she's a character from Inuyasha. Nope, no losers there.

"Part of the problem is that it costs money to attend this event and the attendees don't need convincing to see the films."

Translation: f*ck the fans, we need to save money so we can buy more coke and hookers, and the stupid loser fans will buy a ticket no matter what, so screw em, they can see our sh*t when it hits just like all the other walking-wallet morons. Now back to the hookers and coke.

"In fact, if some of these attendees end up seeing something they don't like, they may end up damaging a film through negative word-of-mouth."

Because previewing a product in totality before you buy it, just to ensure you're not purchasing sh*t, is ethically and morally wrong.

Just hand over the cash, you suckered slaves!

"And that could cost studios millions."

God forbid. Some CEO might have to sell a yacht or something.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 12:06:36 PM

Rabid- I take it you're a regular attender of Comicon? Are you beautiful? I bet you are!
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 12:21:57 PM

He's as beautiful as he is intelligent. Take that for what you will.
rabid writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 12:22:04 PM

No, you just have an outmoded concept of what a modern day comic book fan looks like.
And yes Cinema , I am one of the beautiful people. They don't hire ugly people to work the booths.
Ranger writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 12:29:13 PM

Of course these superhero's won't be in attendance. They're out saving the world!

Duh!
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 12:32:09 PM

Well hell, it's a good thing all those fat ugly people have something better to do than hang out at Comic Con. Guess they all died back during the antiquated age of comic book conventions, you know the ones where George Reeves showed up wearing his Superman costume and the guy that drew Batman #1 not only wasn't dead he had all his hair. Way back when when people were fatter and more people were into dressing up in stupid costumes. You know, back in like 1998, because things are so different now, right, because they hire super models to sell poster shots of Green Lantern in his underwear.

Only in California can you be so f*cking stupid it's not only not something to be ashamed of, it's an occupational asset.
MrHeck writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 12:39:18 PM

Who cares? for us who don't attend B*tch-Con all we get are leaked spoilers and first impressions of the flicks, which in the end, they end up killing the big deal of the excitement. Big time.

"Comic-con, where old fat nerds go to asexually reproduce."

I lol'd.
MrHeck writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:03:22 PM

a big deal*
rabid writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:30:44 PM

Ten years ago, your stereotype would have been dead on.
Worst Previews should post that new Superman Returns clip. It's 8 and a half awesome minutes of footage of Superman travelling to the ruins of Krypton. It's probably the best scene in the entire film, and they left it in the cutting room. I've only seen it on one other film site, and WB is probably racing to pull it.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:35:18 PM

The planet blew up. How the f*ck does it have ruins?

And SR is 154 minutes too long in any viewer's opinion, so another eight minutes only digs the hole deeper.
Ranger writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:35:26 PM

'Superman traveling to the ruins of Krypton.'

I would have liked seeing that in the movie.
nawtnt writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:40:14 PM

Don't blame the studios, the fans should watch the films instead of meeting the cast of their favourite movies and they shouldn't get a sneak peek.

The campaign for comic book movies should be show on TV like may a early TV Spot of Ths Dark Knight Rises.
rabid writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:49:32 PM

@ Ranger
It is.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekL1SbrlBl0&feature=player_embedded
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:50:50 PM

Rabid, you *sshole, either share with people or STFU. You imply you know this or know that to look special and it get's very old very fast. You're not special and no one gives a sh*t what you won or saw or who you blew when and where.

Here's the scene ranger:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ekL1SbrlBl0
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:51:42 PM

Oh NOW you offer the link! What a douchebag.
rabid writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:58:50 PM

took a minute to find it elsewhere. It had already been removed from the other link I'd saved to my favorites.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 2:04:16 PM

Tooks me two SECONDS to find it and I didn't even know it existed until you said so, and I spent at least five MINUTES before that looking at the fan made sh*t from 2008...

I swear by Santa this place is infuriating.
rabid writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 2:04:17 PM

It's not in the script, but Superman's return to Krypton in the comics is prompted by a Green Lantern informing him that the planetary debris has been reassembling under the gravitational pull of the uranium core leftovers. The Uranium explosion is what created the Kryptonite. Supposedly the Uranium core is what made for extreme gravity, and what makes Supe's physiology so immune to the weak ass gravity on our planet.

There's another tale a million years in the future where Krypton has somewhat reassembled. Superman returns again to terraform it and transplant some alien lifeforms to evolve on it.
WV-Films writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 2:10:05 PM

Here's hoping that's the costume they use for The Dark Knight Rises....
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 2:13:28 PM

If they're talking uranium, that has to be from a very old comic book...
MrHeck writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 2:47:03 PM

That scene was meh.

Eight minutes its unnecessary long just to show us Superman nearly crash on a kryptonized wreckage of a planet.
But then again, so was the rest of the movie. Unnecessary.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 4:31:37 PM

Yes Rabid that is definitely how I picture you, I bet the female vulcans are all over you at the comic con. Sandbagging son of a bitch you old sailor you!
triggax writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 4:37:29 PM

"smaller studios (Relativity, Lionsgate, Summit) will hope to get more exposure."

I hope so. I mean comic book geeks lack one thing. Originality. Sorry losers. How many more f*cking times do you really want to dress up as Batman?

I say good, Warner Bros, and marvel shouldn't be ALLOWED to show up at comic con. Constantly remaking their own garbage year after year with all the same million sheep in the herd flocking to these recycled ideas vomited onto the big screen.

The small studios have no chance at publicity when you have WB(DC) And the Jewsteins(Marvel) stuffing up the expo.

What was once an expo for artists and writers has been nothing but an expo for the next pirates and Marvel sequel coming out the following summer. Its unfortunate. I like this decision. Bring it back to its roots. Where comic collectors and storyboard artists could get together to share ideas and possibly meet some of their idols.. Not Jewey Jewstein and his Clan of racists.

How many more times do you guys want to see RDJ pose like Iron Man? Slowly watch the guys nerves fall apart as he becomes a horrible joke of himself.

f*ck f*ck f*ck. I enjoy these films but they're f*cking with the mold.
I was almost half way excited to see where Chris Evans might end up next. Especially after his amazing performance in Sunshine... Look where that went.. Ooooh hes american? Oooh he has muscles you say? Well, lets offer him the chance to be on a slurpee cup, ruin his career and start back at square one when the idiot decided to take on Human Torch.

Comic book movies are cool and all.. But jesus.. Avengers will not work. Joss whedon.. Sorry man.. I really liked the serenity movie.. But not even you could make that mess of a f*cking movie work. MAYBE if it was split into a 10 part mini series on HBO..

At the end of the day... Its a bunch of overpaid cry babies running around in Pyjamas pretending to be super duper.. If that isnt the gayest thing next to f*cking swan lake I dont know what is..

I'm rambling.. I have no real reason to have my hate on for these films. They are entertaining and if done well can be quite gripping..

I just don't know why theyre shoving this sh*t down peoples throats all of a sudden... What are you going to do once you've done the avengers trilogy? Once you've finally caved and made a wonder woman movie.. A flash movie...

Lobo movies? I mean.. there are only 10 super heroes out there that most people would even give a sh*t about watching yet... they decide to release all 10 plus their respective sequels within a 10 year period?

What happens 10 years from now when theres no super heroes left? We reboot them? See if people want to waste their money AGAIN for the.... 4th time now? In a row.. I saw George Reeves Superman, Christopher Reeves Superman, Brandon Rouths superman.. I get it.. He can fly and break sh*t and heat stuff up with his f*cking eye lasers... Ive seen Adam Wests batman, michael keaton, val kilmer, george clooney, now christian bale.. I get it.. Hes a vigilante... Why not take ALL THAT f*ckING money and instead of trying to make a Batman film that pays homage to some of the best crime dramas to date. Write an original story of the same scale with that same affinity for crime dramas and see what you might get...

I'm still rambling. I have no real point. I just don't get the studios plans with these properties.. I guess its the general publics plans that I dont understand.. Why continue seeing the exact same f*cking movie over and over and over just done slightly different...?

Super Girl. Now thats a movie.
WV-Films writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 5:23:20 PM

^^ I was gonna say the exact same thing.
MrHeck writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 1:25:02 AM

@triggax

Well said.

Back to Superman Returns...
You ask me, the whole movie was a deleted scene.
rabid writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 2:39:35 PM

There goes the theory that WB is afraid to publicize their new Superman and Batman films. They just released a slew of promotional items, including a look at the new Superman symbol and the hint that it's Angela Bassett playing Amanda Waller that will tie the films together a la Marvel's Nick Fury.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 4:27:02 PM

I wonder if Angela Bassett ever gets tired of being typecast as some token flunky aide. lol.
rabid writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 6:35:23 PM

Well in Green Lantern she's pretty much playing George Bush, SR in his heyday... in other words: the (secret) Boss.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved