WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Campbell Says "Quantum of Solace" Was a Mess

Posted: June 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Campbell Says "Quantum of Solace" Was a MessSubmit Comment
When Daniel Craig became the new James Bond, Martin Campbell was brought back to direct the first film, "Casino Royale." The 21st installment in the franchise went on to gross almost $600 million and was loved by critics (94% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes).

But for Craig's second Bond film, "Quantum of Solace," the studio hired Marc Forster. And while the box office results were similar, the film was not by critics (64% fresh rating) or fans.

Now that Campbell is promoting "Green Lantern," CraveOnline asked him for his reaction to "Quantum of Solace." Campbell replied: "I thought it was lousy. The story was pretty uninteresting. I didn't think the action was related to the characters. I just thought overall it was a bit of a mess really."

But he has hope for the 23rd installment. "Hopefully this next one will be terrific," he said. "Sam Mendes is directing it and I'm sure itíll be terrific."

Source: CraveOnline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 6:57:15 AM

Quantum Of Solace was the most forgettable film I've ever seen. I watched it for the second time the other day and I must admit it wasn't as bad as I first thought the action was OK but what the f*ck was it about? What happened between the opening chase scene and the final scene in the arty mountain house. They better write a longer script none of this sequel bollocks and give me some memorable bond moments. Not a collection of deleted scenes edited by a frenchman.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:11:45 AM

I didn't hate it as much as everyone else, but it was very unengaging. And a Bond-movie is just as strong as its villain; QoS had a very weak villain.
Rambo writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:11:59 AM

while I agree that QOS was a mess I could also say the same on some of the non james bond movies Martin Campbell has done in his life(vertical limit for example)and I just hope the green lantern will turn out better then what we've seen so far in the trailers.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:21:31 AM

Green Lantern looks good in the trailers? lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:25:11 AM

Guess now every bad movie should come with a disclaimer :

" We really didn't need this project. If you felt insulted by it, so did we. We will let you know in a couple of months or years. "
bandolero999 writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:44:40 AM

casino royale was a total snoozefest to me and I forgot Quantom existed
coolguy writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:55:35 AM

quantum's story made no sense at all, but its actions scenes were decent. I think critics were a bit too harsh on the editing of the action scenes.

still think the bourne ultimatum was worse in terms of shaky camera overkill. (loved the movie though)
xtlhogciao writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 9:06:07 AM

I remember Ebert having a good review about the problem with Solace. He pointed out that Bond would rather sleep with women, gamble and drive fast cars rather than fight all of the time. Fighting terrorists is a nuisance. That was really Its problem. It took the updated realism of the action scenes in Casino Royale and then tried to make an entire two hour film out of the action alone. Cool action scenes work better when they're used sparingly and are backed up by a good storyline.
YoungChris writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 9:21:45 AM

Who care what he said ... I loved Qos ... Quantum of Solace Made $200 Mill Even Before US Premiere†Ö so F U
DUDEabides87 writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 9:38:32 AM

I remember someone asking me a few weeks after I watched this sub-par Bond movie what the premise was... I couldn't remember anything other than a deser with a cave and some water or something. Very lame and nothing stood out. Acting was ok but this movie was either rushed or just thrown together to strike while the money iron was still hot. Hope they put more thought and effort into the next script cause this film blew.
boogiel writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 9:52:46 AM

The only thing impresses me of QOS is the return of the classic gun barrel scene. The rest are piles of crap
SACdaddy writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 10:16:35 AM

Quantum was lame but Casino Royal didn't exactly live up to the hype either imo. It didn't meet any of the Connery films standards (well i guess it was better than Never Say Never Again), Moore's Octop*ssy and View to a Kill were better, and so was Dalton's License to Kill and Brosnan's Goldeneye. Craig is fine but those films are sub par imo. Bond needs a switch-flippin car, some gadgets, and a badass adversary, not Bruce Lee fighting skills and sensitive shower crying scenes.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 10:27:32 AM

Who the f*ck is Campbell to knock QoS? Like Casino Royale is a superb film. Here I thought he was knocking his own film, because I had no clue who directed Quantum nor do I care, but instead he's trashing another guy's work. Real classy and professional. Shut the f*ck up Campbell, you've made more than a few messes yourself.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 10:32:48 AM

Hey the guy set the tone for the last two Bond incarnations AND Zorro. I think he has earned the right to make some judgement.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 10:57:35 AM

"Hey the guy set the tone for the last two Bond incarnations AND Zorro. I think he has earned the right to make some judgement."

You're f*cking joking, right? Casino Royale's direction was bland and uninspired, but thankfully someone wrote a decent script for it.
rabid writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 11:09:26 AM

At least Campbell can admit that Quantum of Solace was terrible. It was probably the most boring forgettable Bond flick I've ever seen, coupled with some of the lamest product placements ever. He nearly killed the franchise with that one.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 11:40:44 AM

"At least Campbell can admit that Quantum of Solace was terrible."

Good for him. He can criticize other people's work while making sh*t himself. He's unprofessional and a hypcrite.

"It was probably the most boring forgettable Bond flick I've ever seen"

You haven't seen many then, because there's twenty-something of them and half downright suck. Remember that Lazenby sh*t?

"coupled with some of the lamest product placements ever."

Like the Sony Ericcson Titanium Silver C902 (realistic version of Ericcson phone from Tomorrow Never Dies) or the Omega 007 Seamaster Diver 300m (from Casino Royale) or the Aston Martin DBS (also similar from previous films)? Or perhaps it's Virgin Atlantic's product placement that's the problem (also seen in Casino Royale).

Yep, terrible product placement...

"He nearly killed the franchise with that one."

Doubtful. They've been making Bond sh*t for decades, so I doubt one guy is going to derail that fifty-ton behemoth. What could have potentially killed it was MGMs financial woes and a dwindling marketable audience.
Bunny X writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 11:43:42 AM

@cinemaisdead, you are absolutely correct. QoS was completely forgettable. I cannot for the life me remember one scene from it. I may watch it again but I'm in no serious urgency to do so.
Hopefully Mendes can repair the franchise enough for me to fully forget QoS because Craig certainly deserves a great run at Bond before he's through, which I fear due to the delays and staggered production timeline, may be after this next movie.
rabid writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 11:56:16 AM

I haven't seen many Bond films you say?
I own every f*cking one, tool. And the only one that come close to wreaking as sh*ttily as QoS was On Her Majesty's Secret Service.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 12:00:06 PM

"Hopefully Mendes can repair the franchise enough for me to fully forget QoS'

You said the film is 'completely forgettable' yet you later admit that you haven't completely forgotten the film. Odd.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 12:04:04 PM

Marc forster is a pretty good director he just cant handle big budget action which is weird why he failed with the story components because normaly he just focuses on storyline in most of his films.

Oh and I thought view to a kill was one of the worst bonds as much as i love christopher walken that was a pile of sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 12:06:18 PM

"I haven't seen many Bond films you say?"

It was something of a conditional statement, not an absolute declaration.

"I own every f*cking one, tool."

I too own every one. Tool.

"And the only one that come close to wreaking as sh*ttily as QoS was On Her Majesty's Secret Service."

IYO. IMO most of them are total outlandish trash; some of the worst are the later preposterous Inspector Gadget trash starring Pierce Brosnan. LOL@the ice castles and Halle Berry and the lousy Madonna theme song. Just for starters. Rather watch QoS a thousand times than suffer that childish and inane schlock once more.

But hey, I hear the new film will have that fugly black Sharkticon bitch, so between Comic-Con and that, you have some new wank material, rabid.
Ranger writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 12:27:24 PM

Band and SAC - agreed. I just watched Casino Royale withing the past couple of weeks. Aside from anyone being excited that Bond was back and he was kickn' ass n' takn' names... I invite ANYone to watch it again. The acting is VERY old-style comic bookish (60's TV Batman even - I know the corny lines are supposed to be there, but the bad guy's OBVIOUS giving of his 'tell' during poker, etc.). And I like QoS more than most. Bond was off mission. He was out for revenge. He wasn't out to serve the Queen. He was out to kill for himself. And he took 1 movie to do that. So, story aside, it was one of the more realistic (if one can say that about Bond stuff) Bond movie made.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 5:19:56 PM

And it was all just a bad dream....
Ranger writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 5:21:35 PM

Said Pamela Ewing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UvinAPPfyAQ
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 5:24:47 PM

lol@cinema. seriously. the site has been washed clean.
Ranger writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 5:34:18 PM

While you're at it WP... there's a ton of trash to clear out in the: 'Zach Galifianakis Reveals "The Hangover 3" Story Details' thread (if you want to keep it consistent).
Ranger writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 5:38:21 PM

Or here: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=21960
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 6:20:41 PM

Ranger that last link Alex already deleted loads it had over a hundred.
Ranger writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 6:22:25 PM

Yep. Watson is a waste of electricity.
triggax writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:23:40 PM

Hahahahahahahaha watsons a juggalo.
Too funny...

thanks for deleting that alex I almost died from laughing so hard.
Raider writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 7:48:52 PM

You know whats funny is right when i started to read all those comments then they got deleted. Did he really say he is a juggalo? lmfao
Raider writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 8:27:20 PM

You think Watson got banned? lol
filmgeek73 writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 11:43:39 PM

This critique coming from the guy who directed the gem known as "Edge of Darkness."
sri_91 writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 1:31:07 AM

This Watson guy is pure entertainment! I spilled my tea a couple of times after one of his rants LMFAO!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved