WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Super 8" Outperforms Expectations with $37 Million

Posted: June 12th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Super 8" Outperforms Expectations with $37 MillionSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures wasn't sure how "Super 8," directed by JJ Abrams (Star Trek) and produced by Steven Spielberg, would perform in theaters. Early tracking showed that the film would land somewhere between $25 and $30 million domestically. But it turns out that "Super 8" grossed $37 million, plus an additional $1 million from Thursday previews. That was good enough for first place at the domestic box office.

Overseas, "Super 8" took another $6.7 million after launching in a handful of markets. "I think we accomplished what we set out to do," said the studio. "It was never positioned as a big blockbuster, but as a smaller movie. We used the sneaks to infuse the marketplace with great word-of-mouth, and it certainly looks like it paid off."

"X-Men: First Class" took second place with another $25 million, for a new worldwide total of $223 million. The superhero film cost $160 million to make. "The Hangover Part II" landed in third place with $18.5 million. The $80 million film has now grossed a total of $431 million. Meanwhile, "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" took fifth with $16.6 million for a new total of $886 million.

The only other new wide release was the family film "Judy Moody and the NOT Bummer Summer," which grossed $6 million, lower than expectations. The $20 million movie is on its way to make its movie back, especially since Disney just paid to have the film eventually premiere on the network in 2013.

Click here to read our "Super 8" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Tall Man writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 6:34:05 PM

Even though this film is getting rave reviews, and is one that I intend on seeing, $37 mil. seems low for this much hyped summer film.

Paramount said that 71% of the audience was over 25 years old. Kinda starnge that more younger kids didn't show up for this type film with a PG-13 rating attached to it.
YoungChris writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 6:48:01 PM

no comment ...
Watson writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 7:09:55 PM

Super 8 Outperforms Expectations with $37 Million While Max goes around asking for money for booze cuz he lost his welfare checks.
minkowski writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 7:35:54 PM

"It was never positioned as a big blockbuster, but as a smaller movie."

Whatever. The film cost a mere 50 mil, but I think that was the point. Spend little up front, attach Spielberg and throw Abrams into the mix, hook people with the nostalgia factor and play off sentimentality rather than blatant costly VFX and set-pieces.

And it didn't work as hoped, doing the low-investment, high acttractivity thing, and I bet this is last we'll see of these retro films for a while, unless Super 8 goes on to bang away big numbers somehow.
-Chewy- writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 7:43:12 PM

Good for Super 8.

It was a very good movie. Potentially the best movie of the summer.
lebowski writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 7:48:24 PM

can i have some of that money mr spielberg?in the form of a loan ofcourse
mpiper821 writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 7:48:56 PM

What do you mean "it didn't work as hoped" it made more than they projected it would, so something worked.
minkowski writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 7:52:40 PM

Either pay attention or leave, dude.

It made more money than early tracking predicted, not as much as they likely hoped when they thought the idea up.

It's like explaining investment accounting to roadkill on here.

f*ck.

mpiper821 writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 8:04:49 PM

hahahaha!!!
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 8:06:05 PM

The movie was...OK, not great and not really good...just well OK. Honestly expected more from a comming of age type of SciFi movie. I was kinda bored through the whole film and it really didn't move me at all:(
mpiper821 writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 8:08:52 PM

chill "dude"
minkowski writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 8:13:42 PM

Why are you laughing?
mpiper821 writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 8:15:47 PM

haha!

cause i feel like it...
minkowski writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 8:19:29 PM

And yet, by all accounts, your incorrigible stupidity is entirely involuntary.

My condolences.
mpiper821 writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 8:22:55 PM

give it up for minkowski, a funny, funny guy!!
minkowski writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 8:27:51 PM

The joke's all you, bro.
mpiper821 writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 8:30:46 PM

roger..
masKritic writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:23:12 AM

I loved this movie. It's going to be hard for a summer movie to outperform this to me. Easily a favorite.
masKritic writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:23:55 AM

But for a summer weekend it does seem low.
telur writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 3:04:04 AM

hugh jackman cameo in xmen first class way better than stan lee

i bet he do it for free

Rambo writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 3:29:43 AM

outperfroms my ass.a movie directed by j.j and produced by spielberg should make 70 mil minimum.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 4:14:04 AM

The picture makes it look like the kids about to sniff a big pile of cocaine. Now that would be an interesting movie.
Rambo writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 4:22:28 AM

^LOL

that would be the best movie of the year.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 4:34:49 AM

Super 8 grams of pure Columbian heaven. Now we know who's in the truck it's Spielberg on the marching powder that sly fox doing a hitchc*ck with the cameo.
rabid writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 11:33:06 AM

The film was much better than I was expecting. It'll sell like hotcakes on dvd. I'll probably buy a few for stocking stuffers.
KindredMac writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 11:46:37 AM

Super 8 was the second film in the two movie line up at the drive-in this weekend and after watching it I wished that we had gone home so I could have slept the two hours instead of watching it.

The movie went no where and was extremely predictable. The storyline flow was choppy at best. How can you have the kid see the ruckus at the garage but then NOT go investigate what the hell is going on?
minkowski writes:
on June 13th, 2011 at 1:02:19 PM

Do hotcakes still sell like hotcakes?

Is it still 1912? I mean, what the f*ck is a hotcake? I guess saying something will sell like a pancake isn't any better because who the f*ck rushes out to buy a pancake? Can you imagine that? "I have to leave honey, I've got get some pancakes before Waffle House runs out, because they're really selling now!".

It's a good question, I think.
seveltoto writes:
on November 6th, 2017 at 5:27:29 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved